We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Mr.Panda youth hostel

Hostel | No. 107 Zhengfujie, Qingyang Drstrict, Chengdu, China N/A

91.3% Overall Rating

47 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"The staff. Vera in particular was amazing, really made our stay, so super awesome."

Read all Mr.Panda youth hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 93.9% 137 reviews
JinJiang Inn ( ChengDu WenShuFang Inn)
16.97 USD

Hostel 77.1% 7 reviews
ChengDu Olive Inn
7.96 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Chengdu Traffic Inn
7.31 USD

Hostel 90.3% 337 reviews
Chengdu Mix Hostel Backpackers
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.5% 259 reviews
Nova Traveller's Lodge
4.87 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 68 reviews
Dragon Town International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 82.9% 44 reviews
The Loft Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 91.1% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

47 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mr.Panda youth hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. Vera in particular was amazing, really made our stay, so super awesome.

Disliked: Booking was mixed up, toilet really did smell. Don't book on hostel bookers, book on hostel world as apparently hostel bookers doesn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Grochowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Everything just fine, as advertised on HB. Great location-1min from subway, shops around, hostel well managed and clean.

Disliked: Piotr left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ita Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Ita would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro line so easy to get about. Staff very friendly and spoke good English. Supermarket and restaurants all within 10min walk.

Disliked: Could do with a re vamp, few minor DIY jobs needed in room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Ramirez DeLeon

Alone

City break

30 April 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about it, to be honest. It was a good price, the people and the staff were excellent! I loved how many tour options they had and that it was so close to all the fun downtown stuff and metros. It was clean and not once did I feel like it was dangerous or anything negative.

Disliked: Our toilet kind of leaked when flushed. But that is DIY work that can be undertaken at any time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jaroslaw Szynkarewicz

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 March 2014 Jaroslaw would recommend this property

Liked: Lokalizacja jest ok.

Disliked: Słaba strona to czystość.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location (subway 1 minute), cheap room fare (we had double private for CNY120)

Disliked: Our toilet flush was broken and windows are not isolated at all (which was annoying because there was a kitchen somewhere near to our window)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, helpful staff and very cute kitten! Location and instructions on how to arrive were excellent

Disliked: Only one downside and that was that the 7am breakfast did not start at 7 because the chef had not arrived. Normally not a problem, but we had planned on (and mentioned) having breakfast at that time due to the need to get to Panda Breeding Centre AND Leshan in one day. In the end one of the other staff members kindly made us coffee and toast about 7:15 - no idea what time the cook actually did show.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, good position to have a look to the city. We did the Panda tour with them for Y118 each; although the guide didn't speak english and was a bit grumpy, it turned being a good choice as he took us to see thinghs before the crowd of other tourists found them out. The room wasn't great but if you want it to get cleaned, just put the sign out the door in the morning and they'll do it!!

Disliked: You can tell it's not a new building from the walls and the bathroom, but it's not such a big deal!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rahul Prakash

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2013 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Great location. Nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Rahul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such good value for money (we got a private twin room for about £5 / night each...), tasty food, really helpful staff, Mr Panda taught us to play mahjong, and the two tours we went on (panda tour and Sichuan opera) were fab and really good value for money. Really pleased all round!

Disliked: Only slight niggle was that the 'cheap international calls' actually means you go out and buy a phonecard (which was impossible as everywhere nearby had sold out)and then they let you use the reception phone... So that didn't work out - but only a small negative compared with all the positives!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Markus Juhn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest hostel so far in china, friendly staff, good infos ...

Disliked: Food etc is a little pricey

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Hancox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazingly helpful

Disliked: nothing paticular

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly and helpful staff and owner. Happy to give you advice for dig trips and do not try and make you do tours.

Disliked: luggage room was not secure. Bags are placed in room without a door which is off communal area. Saying that I left bags for 5 days and everything was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glynnis Hendra

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Glynnis would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent, so friendly and helpful. Place was spotlessly clean. Great atmosphere, good location and facilities. Nice food.One of the best hostels in China so much so that we extended our stay and then returned after a trip to Tibet.

Disliked: Sadly the chef was away on a course for a few days, but we were directed to good local alternatives.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fran Dobing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013 Fran would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful, anything you needed they would help you with! The dumpling party is also a really great idea and a good way to meet people if you are travelling alone!

Disliked: The dorm rooms on the first floor are a little noisy, but not too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Great English. Amazing food - try the spicy chinese dishes, they are better than in restaurants. Location is right near a subway, and is easy to get to from the train station. Cheap drinks

Disliked: Nothing. Best hostel I've stayed in across China.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin Joensuu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean place with friendly staff and great (free) dumpling party on saturdays. The guided tour at the Chengdu Panda Reserve was really worth the money.

Disliked: It is a bit pricey, but then again, you get what you pay for.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michelle Duport

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

24 March 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Do-it-yourself and dilapidation of sanitary installations

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

? ?

Alone

Business / conference

04 March 2013 ? would recommend this property

Liked: the staff there are super nice!

Disliked: ? left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mr Stefan Francis Donnelly

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Mr Stefan Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, staff very friendly and helpful. Also all staff spoke excelent English. In terms of value was also very good, highly reccomended.

Disliked: Mr Stefan Francis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice friendly hostel which organises lots of events and has exceptionally friendly staff who will help you organise anything. I would definitely recommend the hostel to anyone.

Disliked: There's not much negative to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh vennard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Staff all had good english and were extremely kind and helpful. Good at sorting tours and recommending good places to go. Good food and clean rooms.

Disliked: Ashleigh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harnpon Phungrassami

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Harnpon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near the Metro

Disliked: Harnpon left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Campbell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: A private double bedroom with an ensuite for 45 RMB each per per night. What isn't good about that!

Disliked: They have a washing machine but no dryer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were excellent and would go out of their way to help you. Room was comfortable and safe, and did not smell of cigarette smoke like some other Chinese places! The location was great - very close to a subway station and great restaurants nearby. Trips that the hostel organised to the Panda Centre and Sichuan Opera were very well done and and well priced.

Disliked: Comforter on bed was too heavy (though you could just remove it and sleep with the cover), wi-fi did not reach rooms.


See all Chengdu hostels