We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Chengdu Dreams Travel International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.242, Wuhouci Road, Chengdu, China 610041

77.3% Overall Rating

31 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2012)

MONTSE GARCIA thinks…

"This is a home away from home... The staff is so nice and helpful that you can feel they really care about you. The help you anyway they can. And the place is so clean, bright, nice rooms, nice roof…"

Read all Chengdu Dreams Travel International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

Holly's Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 82.3% 47 reviews
Sam's Guesthouse
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 60 reviews
The Loft Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 91.1% 73 reviews
Dragon Town International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 82.9% 44 reviews
Nova Traveller's Lodge
4.87 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 68 reviews
Chengdu Mrs Panda Hostel
4.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Skylark Lodge
7.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 93.9% 137 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

31 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chengdu Dreams Travel International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, great hot showers, excellent and helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Standard Hostel in China Average Cleanliness Too few bathrooms and toilets and smelly Restaurant is not worth eating in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MONTSE GARCIA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 MONTSE would recommend this property

Liked: This is a home away from home... The staff is so nice and helpful that you can feel they really care about you. The help you anyway they can. And the place is so clean, bright, nice rooms, nice roof top terrace to chill out, hot showers that work all the time.... I have been there many times, and for sure it will be my option if I come back to Chengdu.

Disliked: There is nothing I did not like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, inexpensive.

Disliked: No problems, really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MONTSERRAT GARCIA SALITCHES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 MONTSERRAT would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great, with nice, clean and big rooms. The staff is the best I never meet, they will help you with anything you need. I have been in 3 hostels in Chengdu, and by far this is the best one. If you are going to Chengdu, this is a good bet to make your experience enjoyable.

Disliked: I like everything about the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRES PEREZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 ANDRES would recommend this property

Liked: I have been in 2 other hostels in Chengdu, but by far this is the best one. Very nice rooms, clean, good showers, and the best staff!

Disliked: --

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRES PEREZ BRULL

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 ANDRES would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big and clean rooms, the best staff any hostel can have. This is my 3rd time there, I will be back for sure!! I congratulate all the people that work there, they really help us when we had any problem. Thank you so much!

Disliked: Everything is all right

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Miller

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a bright airy triple room, the roof terrace was a nice feature and it seemed to a busy and varied mix of people.

Disliked: We put our packs in to storage and said we're going now... but they still tried to charge us for a day when we came to pick up our packs. Luckily the manager was reasonable and returned our Y100 deposit without any further fuss, but you should be aware they are very black and white about the checkout procedure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was really good

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Toilets and showers are just horrible, smelly and not maintained properly. Can't even find a single toilet paper around. And can you believe it they put the common sink just right outside the room? You can hear people washing and water dripping and flowing throughout the whole day!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special.

Disliked: Toilet and Bathroom: not clean

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Audrey Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I had booked and paid a deposit for a single room at the hostel, but when I arrived, they were not able to give me my room as the previous occupant refused to vacate it. They gave me a tent instead on their front porch. As I had no other options, I took the tent on the basis that they would give me the room by the next day, however, the room was still occupied, and I ended up staying at the staff dorm!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and comfortable beds. Good location close to temple and Jinli street.

Disliked: It was very cold in the communal areas, too cold to sit, and it didn't state on the website that dorms are single sex. So me and my boyfriend ended up in different rooms on different floors with no where to sit together on an evening.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had the best atmosphere I ever experienced in a hostel. We often sat together in the evenings and played games or just chat. It was very easy to get to know the other guests because they hab a centrqal meeting room with a fireplace and a video projector with a wide range of films. They had air-conditioning even in the 10 bed budget room and soap for handwashing!

Disliked: The showers weren't hot enough and the pressure too low. The lockers in the rooms were way too small. My 90l backpack didn't fit in and they even didn't have locks to lock the lockers That's so weird and unlogic.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ming hao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

29 November 2010

Liked: I like the balcony on the forth floor,it's a gorgeous place for people to stay,especially in summer.

Disliked: There did exist some bad smell in the living room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Zbiral

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Slow wi-fi

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Informative hostel reception

Disliked: It also has travel office arranging to book domestic air ticket but failure to secure seats even they charged for airfare already resulting in missing flight and suddenly changing in my travel schedule.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tamas Mezosi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010 Tamas would recommend this property

Liked: We spent days just sitting in the roof garden.

Disliked: Our room was a bit dark

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Touraya Kandelaar

25 June 2010 Touraya would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop garden was beautifull & the laundery facily is pretty good

Disliked: Touraya left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDREY SHINKEVICH

19 October 2009 ANDREY would recommend this property

Liked: It's very good hostel and friendly staff!

Disliked: ANDREY left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leah gillson

21 September 2009

Liked: not so good for westerners, great roof top bedroom, staff were friendly. The are is out of the centre, so you may struggle to find english menu's.

Disliked: leah left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emilie Brunelle

17 September 2009 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really nice place: nice terrasse et chachet. But if you choose it for the price, just be inform that nothing is included: neither towel, neither fan, neither the use of computer, neither toilet paper, neither laundry soap (of course you have to pay to wash your clothe). If you are aware of that, all is fine!Enjoy Chinese sense of humour!Voila!

Disliked: Emilie left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The movie room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chai Hwa Tang

03 June 2009 Chai Hwa would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are helpful and friendly

Disliked: Chai Hwa left no negative feedback.


See all Chengdu hostels