HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Chengdu Mix Hostel Backpackers

Hostel | Ren Jia Wan #23, Xing Hui Xi Lu Rd, Wan Fu Qiao, Chengdu, China 610081

89.0% Overall Rating

243 out of 257 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

Lina Tran thinks…

"They offer a lot of tours for all attractions in and around Chengdu. Also there's a lot of different food for a reasonable price and the staff was very nice and helpuf. It's a nice place to stay in,…"

Read all Chengdu Mix Hostel Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.97
  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

JinJiang Inn ( ChengDu WenShuFang Inn)
16.95 USD

Hostel 77.1% 7 reviews
ChengDu Olive Inn
6.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mr.Panda youth hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 91.4% 49 reviews
Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel 88.7% 231 reviews
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
8.11 USD

Hostel 92.7% 135 reviews
Henry's International Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chengdu Free Guys Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 89.9% 11 reviews
Nova Traveller's Lodge
7.30 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

243 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chengdu Mix Hostel Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 213 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lina Tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a lot of tours for all attractions in and around Chengdu. Also there's a lot of different food for a reasonable price and the staff was very nice and helpuf. It's a nice place to stay in, generelly speaking.

Disliked: It is a quite big hostel, probably the biggest i've stayed in so far. Sometimes it feels a bit like a hotel because of this but as far as i know most of the well known hostels in chengdu are pretty big. Also i would have liked to take part in some evening activities where one could get to know other travellers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facility, wifi everywhere, reasonably priced food, excellent staff (Karen rocks!), great tours (panda tour is much better than on your own; Tibet tour is cheapest around! Recommended!), nice atmosphere,...everything is great!

Disliked: More showers would be useful, although I didn't have to wait longer than a few minutes. Other than that, the place is awesome!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Wenshu temple and folk street. Also had cheaper beer than their other hostel flip flop

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sebastian Nistor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: a small breakfast and a beer in the evenning was included :)

Disliked: nothing special

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful grounds, clean, heated blanket, shared bathroom was nice with hot water in shower, and common area was nice.

Disliked: The girls at the front desk had an attitude problem.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Aida Karamesic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Aida would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfy

Disliked: Loud, only 4 showers and apparently Chinese like to take loooong showers even at hostels

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff and spacious rooms.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ZHANZHI LUO

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 May 2013 ZHANZHI would recommend this property

Liked: it's my 4th time to stay in Mix . surprisingly found out the price for a dorm has almost doubled since i stayed there 2 years ago the last . Yet still i got a sense of coziness and closeness . Although i had such a bad bad day in Chengdu during this trip , luckily i still found a little bit comfort in Mix . After reading those comments written on the wall in the bathroom , it made me wanna grab my backpack and hit the road again like what i did 2 yrs ago in SE Asia for 2 months hopefully things will work out soon .

Disliked: ZHANZHI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great ambiance and social space, nice clean rooms (on 2nd floor), hot showers and Karen and Landy speak great English and know the answer to any question you may have.

Disliked: Nothing really. Only 4 showers for everyone but we never had to queue.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jude Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Jude would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere. Good menu and reasonably priced food and drinks.

Disliked: The ice cold shower I had the first morning! Apparently there is 24hr hot water so make sure you test all the showers before getting in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Armstrong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: 1st of all would like to add that I stayed at The Flip Flop hostel as I wanted a single bedroom with private bathroom (this is listed on the website). This hostel was by far the best I have stayed in all my travels in Asia. For the price it's fantastic. My room was spacious enough and had all the facilities of a hotel. Very quiet and spotless. This hostel is also fairly new and is part of the Mix hostel chain. Whilst I didn't see the dorms everybody said they were really good. The staff take pride in their work and always there to help and give suggestions. They also speak EXCELLENT English. The common area was really cool and chilled but between 7-10 got busy and everybody really sociable. Bar shuts at 1030. The free walking tour was definitely a highlight with mix a must do when in Chengdu. The staff also can help you the booking tours as well as bus,train etc. they don't try to rip you off either and give you honest advise. They wrote out my train ticket info in Chinese to give when I got to the train station no charge. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this hostel to other travellers

Disliked: Wifi was pretty bad in room I had to stand in the hallway. Slow in common areas.But seriously who cares when it's that good? get out and enjoy Chengdu!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josephine Hermansson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: All the facilities that we choosed this place for was all there, which according to our experience is pretty rare when it comes to Chinese hostels. The staff was very friendly and the place was near to a channel and was quiet and very beautiful. Rooms were clean and nice.

Disliked: There was a formulary where guests was encouraged to rate the individual staff. We didn't like that part.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly

Disliked: Location a bit far from town

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anna Wilders

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff all spoke good English and were very helpful. For the first time so far in China the bar prices were reasonable! It was very quiet in our room - we were even able to sleep in :)

Disliked: The beds were rock hard - the hardest I think of all the hostels. Also the Wifi was really slow (I mean painfully!) so much so that it is pretty much impossible to use in the evening (as there are so many people trying to connect at the same time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

johanenleen Nel - Van de Steen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 johanenleen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff spoke good English and was very helpful en joyful. They let us use the telephone several times to book a flight ticket. It is a place full of character and many cozy corners. They do know what backpackers want. Shared toilets and showers were clean (cleaned every hour according to sheet in the bathroom). Rooms are simple but have all you need. Food reasonably priced and good.

Disliked: johanenleen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind staff, clean rooms and good location. Value for money. Hostel offered interesting activities for guests, like city bike tour, Chinese culinary course, etc. Unfortunately we didn’t use any of them due to tight time schedule.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room area and bar were great

Disliked: The rooms were a little run down

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gute Lage, nette Atmo

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timothy Randall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: goldfish and cat

Disliked: bus driver also did not let me see baby panda

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzzane Khaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Suzzane would recommend this property

Liked: It is obvious that the hostel has given much thought to making the place comfortable for its travellers. The decor, with the countless niches for travellers to lounge in; the fantastic photos, hand-drawn maps and grafitti on the wall; the free drink coupon for every first-timer etc. Staff are wonderful, rooms and toilets are clean. Very atmospheric. Makes it too tempting to give up touring the city and just stay in...

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liz Terry

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: Cute place with lots of character, pretty good location too. The staff are very helpful and speak great English. Clean room. We stayed on the top floor which was like being on the roof, no actual building roof, so for summer this was really nice. Cute setting too with plants everywhere. This place offers a few free activities, one of them being a night bike tour of Chengdu. We did this and it was heaps of fun, cool way to see the city at night. Really enjoyed the vibe here and the friendliness of everyone, definite highlight of my trip.

Disliked: The beds were very hard, although I know this is standard for China, but I found them extra hard here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really social vibe.

Disliked: Only four showers for the whole hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susanna Heinzel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2012 Susanna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice people, easy to meet other travellers...

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, clean rooms and very beautiful rooms offers the best muesli for breakfast in china :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ty Miranda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Ty would recommend this property

Liked: This property is amazing. So first of all the staff help you out in any way they can. Amy is awesome! Also, there's always something going on whether it is a dumpling party, walking tour, or Majong night. Food is super affordable, even the western food! Also, it's clean and easy to get everywhere.

Disliked: The beds were a bit hard.


See all Chengdu hostels