We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Nova Traveller's Lodge

Guesthouse | 10, taishengbeilu road, qingyang distrct Chengdu, China 610017

90.1% Overall Rating

65 out of 68 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"Basically everything is fine when the place is not under construction, which it is right now. The common room smells a little molded."

Read all Nova Traveller's Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.62
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

The Loft Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 91.1% 73 reviews
Sam's Guesthouse
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 60 reviews
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 93.9% 137 reviews
Mr.Panda youth hostel
4.06 USD

Hostel 91.3% 52 reviews
Dragon Town International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 82.9% 44 reviews
JinJiang Inn ( ChengDu WenShuFang Inn)
16.97 USD

Hostel 77.1% 7 reviews
ChengDu Olive Inn
7.96 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 94.5% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

65 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nova Traveller's Lodge'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 65 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room! Friendly helpfull staff

Disliked: Because of renovation no food available and no public area. However looks Nice what they are doing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: Basically everything is fine when the place is not under construction, which it is right now. The common room smells a little molded.

Disliked: There was construction of the lobby in full swing and the staff did not bother to tell us in advance, because I would have prefered not to stay there during this time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: reception area was really cozy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jui-hwa Hsu

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

21 February 2013 Jui-hwa would recommend this property

Liked: clean and quiet

Disliked: far away from the airport or some other famous tourist spots.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jui-hwa Hsu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Jui-hwa would recommend this property

Liked: Transportation would be taken into consideration before booking.

Disliked: Not much to see in walking distance.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pablo Tomas Haas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay some days in Chengdu. 6 Bed dorm ok with lamps in each bed, wify, plugs and water boiler. Staff was helpfull and food is ok and beer is cheap. Rooms get cheaper if you pay directly so better make reservation only for first night. Even close to the hostel there are good places to eat very cheap chinese/sichuan food.

Disliked: In november it was a bit cold at the reception/common area. Doors where all day open even when it was raining. Rest was ok.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Cox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice comfortable, clean beds. Good size room. Size of hostel not too big. Staff are amazing. Good English. Really helped us out with tours and independent day trips. When we over- paid on a tour, they got us our money back. Wifi in room. Good location, not too far from a metro stop. This is one of the best hostels we have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Just a small gripe really as this is a very good hostel.....you can smoke in the bedrooms, our room had an ashtray in it. The room and bedding DID NOT smell of smoke, but when people smoke outside and downstairs and leave the door open, you can smell smoke in the corridors and it gets under the door to your room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

johanenleen Nel - Van de Steen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 johanenleen would recommend this property

Liked: We are travelling the world for 8 months, and this is without doubt the best accommodation we stayed at in China. Staff speaks very good English and is extremely helpful. The rooms are very nice, with as seperate desk. They are by far the cleanest we have ever seen in China! The bathroom is big and has a seperate shower (very unusual in China but very much appreciated). There is a nice common area inside as well as outside and we loved the self-catering kitchen. If you plan on travelling to Chengdu, do not hesitate to stay at Nova's!!

Disliked: Not so easy to find, and in the middle of an apartment block (less privacy).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel we've stayed in in China so far. The people are SO friendly, cheerful and very helpful. Everything we asked for they could help us with no matter the time. Food is nice, good range of drinks etc. Good coffee- yay! They arrange tours easily and plenty on offer, all include transport and are well priced. Bikes for hire are good. Very clean rooms. We had the deluxe double and it was very spacious. Shower had seperate screen which is a rarity in China! Wifi connection is good, even on 3rd floor.

Disliked: Only criticism is that they need a better map. But the staff give good directions and advice on getting around.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice lobby/reception area. Fair prices for western and local food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Employees who speak english. They are very friendly and helpful. Good room with nice bathroom and ac. The kitchen had continental food and several options.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff upgraded our room. Clean and although the double with bathroom is tiny, it's arranged well enough that it is still very comfortable. Staff helpful with directions, good English. Saw that the dorms have huge individual lockers. A really nice stay.

Disliked: Seems like it would be a bit expensive if you paid the full price advertised at reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent and very very helpful. Very friendly hostel that was relatively clean and well located, depending on what you wanted to do. Convenient for shopping and walking around the centre, it was a bit out of the way to get to the bus station and some tourist sites.

Disliked: Noise carried a lot - it was very loud, often until quite late. A bit dusty, but well maintained.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to temple by the river. Friendly staff. Food was OK.

Disliked: Musty smell in hostel, including my room. I emailed Sopie at the hostel before arriving but received no reply.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel we've been in china very friendly and helpful staff clean room with really comfort beds (finally!) nice design all around the place there are some free events that the staff orginize (dumpling party etc.) best value for money if you book from Hostelbookers (if not, you will pay twice!)

Disliked: none!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, extra services offered

Disliked: the tours were expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super clean, friendly, nice room, bed and bathroom, hot water, heater (winter), nice lounge, good food, great value for money!!!

Disliked: all great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonia Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly here. I felt very welcome here. Kevin (I think) talked to my taxi driver to give him directions to the hostel. THe moment I arrived, I was greeted very warmly. Cathy showed me all the facilities and helped me with whatever I needed. Penny is a very lovely hostess. THe entire staff was wonderful. At this point, Nova was the best hostel I had stayed at in China. They offer several tours. They also provide stamps and delivery of postcards. The common are/cafe is very spacious.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard banh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very friendly! Close to the train station, easy to find. Mexican pizza was really good!

Disliked: It was noisy outside of my room at night, but that was the other guest.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Drew O'Brien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Airport pick up.

Disliked: Grimy walls on dorm. Paint peeling onto head and bed during night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Croker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Free pool and movies, and excellent, very friendly staff. It's within walkign distance of the city centre.

Disliked: It's quite quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The atmosphere, room, cleanliness, staff are just amazing...

Disliked: It would be great if the food served is slightly cheaper.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing


See all Chengdu hostels