HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel Chengdu Hostel

No.211, North Section 4, First Ring Road, Chengdu, China

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 77%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 12.89USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 77%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, lovely garden with fish and turtles to sit around, cheap food.

Disliked: We arranged an airport pickup for early hours of the morning, we were stranded as they didn't show but it turned out their system had an error and we were compensated for our troubles and they apologised so we would recommend them because of this!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: So cool place!!!You can find whatever you need here!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Staff are awesome, great facilities/services/tours on offer. Good location; short taxi ride to down town area. Very nice atmosphere. I would thoroughly recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The shower and toilet in the room were clean and worked well. I never had a problem getting hot water.

Disliked: The wifi was a bit slow, and the lockers in the dorms were mostly broken and unusable.A recent raveller forgot his phone in the hostel, and posted a notice asking if anyone had found the phone. I saw another guest at the hotel conspicuously using the exact same model (a rather uncommon model and colour). Later, I found out that the person using that phone was actually a staff member. The person who lost the phone had asked for the CCTV footage of the place in the hotel (the lobby) where he forgot his phone. The staff at the hotel conveniently forgot to provide him with the footage. Coincidence? I'm not sure…..Regardless, maybe be careful of your belongings at this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing special.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,
Thanks for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here! Hope you have a wonderful trip in China and see you in the future!^^

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, super nice facility, good price, you name it, they got it...location may not be convenient for some, but was for me, right next to the Beinem bus station

Disliked: nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice seating atmosphere. Good food. Very informative staff. Near a great walking street.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff spoke excellent English and the facilities of the Hostel were the best I've ever seen - there was a lot to do within the hostel, the bar and restaurant were amazing, and the hostel was able to arrange a variety of package tours that made it easy to get around and see lots of attractions - great value for money.The atmosphere of Sims Hostel was brilliant - only a step away from the main road but it felt like a secluded paradise, very tranquil and calming after a busy day rushing around the city.We were given small gifts for all the package tours we went on, as well as discounts for multiple bookings. We did a lot of our souvenir shopping at the hostel, where the gatekeeper sells boxes of 30 postcards for 10RMB - a real bargain! - as well as other gifts.One of the best hostels I've stayed in, we will be going back there in the future!

Disliked: The location of the hostel was great for getting around (near the bus, metro and trains) but quite far from the center of town and a lot of the recommended restaurants (recommended by the Hostel and by Rough Guide, Trip Adviser, etc) which were about 30 - 45 minutes away by taxi.The room we stayed in was very picturesque, but of an 'outdoor' type so that, even in Sept/Oct, it was a little cold which made the bedding feel damp. There was some mould on the ceiling and the room had some bugs in it, but these were minor problems and probably not an issue in every room, or indeed at every time of year.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The information about the bus routes with a clear map of where the bus stops are nearby the hostel.

Disliked: A long walk from subway station and not much to do in the immediate area.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,
Thanks for your feedback. It's unfortunate that your experience with us was unpleasant and we offer our apoligies to you. It is true that it would take about 15 mintes to the nearest subway station . But there is another subway line which has been constructing, just 5 mintes walking distance!so next time when you come back, I am sure you'll be impressived!^^Thank you again,we hope to see you again! Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel~~

Check Availability