HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.211 North Section 4, 1st Ring Rd, Chengdu, China 610081

88.6% Overall Rating

220 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/11/2013)

"nice seating atmosphere. Good food. Very informative staff. Near a great walking street."

Read all Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

Chengdu Mix Hostel Backpackers
6.47 USD

Hostel 88.1% 254 reviews
Free Guys Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 88.9% 10 reviews
JinJiang Inn ( ChengDu WenShuFang Inn)
16.91 USD

Hostel 77.1% 7 reviews
Mr.Panda youth hostel
6.47 USD

Hostel 92.3% 46 reviews
ChengDu Olive Inn
6.31 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 93.3% 130 reviews
Nova Traveller's Lodge
5.66 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 67 reviews
Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 92.4% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

220 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 212 of 221 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice seating atmosphere. Good food. Very informative staff. Near a great walking street.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shower and toilet in the room were clean and worked well. I never had a problem getting hot water.

Disliked: The wifi was a bit slow, and the lockers in the dorms were mostly broken and unusable. A recent raveller forgot his phone in the hostel, and posted a notice asking if anyone had found the phone. I saw another guest at the hotel conspicuously using the exact same model (a rather uncommon model and colour). Later, I found out that the person using that phone was actually a staff member. The person who lost the phone had asked for the CCTV footage of the place in the hotel (the lobby) where he forgot his phone. The staff at the hotel conveniently forgot to provide him with the footage. Coincidence? I'm not sure…..Regardless, maybe be careful of your belongings at this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linn Sjöde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Linn would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing special.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The information about the bus routes with a clear map of where the bus stops are nearby the hostel.

Disliked: A long walk from subway station and not much to do in the immediate area.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, super nice facility, good price, you name it, they got it...location may not be convenient for some, but was for me, right next to the Beinem bus station

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff spoke excellent English and the facilities of the Hostel were the best I've ever seen - there was a lot to do within the hostel, the bar and restaurant were amazing, and the hostel was able to arrange a variety of package tours that made it easy to get around and see lots of attractions - great value for money. The atmosphere of Sims Hostel was brilliant - only a step away from the main road but it felt like a secluded paradise, very tranquil and calming after a busy day rushing around the city. We were given small gifts for all the package tours we went on, as well as discounts for multiple bookings. We did a lot of our souvenir shopping at the hostel, where the gatekeeper sells boxes of 30 postcards for 10RMB - a real bargain! - as well as other gifts. One of the best hostels I've stayed in, we will be going back there in the future!

Disliked: The location of the hostel was great for getting around (near the bus, metro and trains) but quite far from the center of town and a lot of the recommended restaurants (recommended by the Hostel and by Rough Guide, Trip Adviser, etc) which were about 30 - 45 minutes away by taxi. The room we stayed in was very picturesque, but of an 'outdoor' type so that, even in Sept/Oct, it was a little cold which made the bedding feel damp. There was some mould on the ceiling and the room had some bugs in it, but these were minor problems and probably not an issue in every room, or indeed at every time of year.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Clean.

Disliked: They don't have electronic mosquito repeller. Mosquitoes in the rooms were a pain in the neck.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere. Friendly staff. Affordable tours.

Disliked: It is a very big hostel so it does get prety bussy at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Fallon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Sims cozy garden hostel aka hello chengdu We had a great time here at sims cozy hostel aka hello chengdu. We booked a triple room in the garden. Although the room is very small and smelt a little damp it was fine. The extra touch of the DVD player in the room and all the free DVDs in many languages to choose from was great for the evening times, after we played a few games of pool and table tennis in the games room. The food menu is on the pricey side, (for the average backpacker) , but you get great food every time and on check in you get a free drinks voucher an extra bonus! The staff here at sims a really amazing and very helpful even when you are not booking tours through them. The map you get here has all the bus numbers on it. It is easy to navigate around the city with the map and a little help from the wonderful staff at sims. It's amazing how when you have a bad experience at a hostel you can find enough words to write a small novel, and when you find a place that is great you only have to write a few words..... We cannot recommend this place enough to people !!!! they have really thought of everything for the traveller slash backpacker might want and installed it at sims, from the complimentary sweets at the front desk to rack of clothes other guest have left behind for new guests to take, to the extensive DVD library . Best hostel we stayed at in China

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a good place to stay and helpful staff.

Disliked: Room was not quite what was expected as booking. The room was clearly only set up for one person as it only had one pillow, towel, shower shoes etc so we think we should have been given a bigger room as the one we got was small. While the bathrooms were cleaned frequently, the showers are in urgent need of repair as the doorframe was off the wall and so not secure and overall was of poor quality.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Taylor

Alone

City break

30 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Relative to other hostels in Chengdu, the location is good. Staff were quite nice. Hostel was a good place to chill out and meet others. Wifi worked well for the most part.

Disliked: My room needed maintenance and repair. A lot of stuff in there looked broken, uncared for. I thought that most of the information available was designed to encourage you to take one of their tours, not much info for the independent traveller.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott fracalosy

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This place is incredible. Best hostel in the world. Definately stay here. They have everything!

Disliked: nothing bad at All!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, always going the extra mile to be helpful and accomodating. Excellent attitude of all employees. Many public areas to hang out in. Tons of info, and attention to even the smallest details.

Disliked: Location is just a bit out of the center, but compensated for by proximity to many bus routes as well as extremely detailed info on Sim's map for all bus stops and bus routes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, relaxed common area, very spacious dorm room and most importantly: the cutest kitten in the world

Disliked: had to wake up the poor nightguard every time we came back late, a keycard might have been easier and less cruel to him ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, the people in the travel desk doesn't mind helping you even tho you're want to arrange something by yourself. Great food in the restaurant and the atmosphere is really cosy. Nice place to hang out after being out all day.

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's quite a big hostel, but it still has an intimate atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms are small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoshitaka Mikami

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Yoshitaka would recommend this property

Liked: They advise about everything around Chengdu. And staffs speak English and Japanese.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramesh Radhakrishnan

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Ramesh would recommend this property

Liked: It is truly a nice hostel with great staff and fantastic international guests.

Disliked: Nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and lots of tour opportunities especially helpful for solo travellors!

Disliked: far away

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet single room with small clean bathroom. Helpful staff who speak English. Good food; cozy bar area. Handy for Beiman bus station (I needed to get an early bus to Langzhong)

Disliked: Such a shame they allow smoking in bar area.It was impossible for me to stay in tha bar, even though there was a good atmosphere. The smoke even difts upstairs to the non-smoking part.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly designed for travellers - everything from the helpful staff at the travel desk to the weather board that includes surrounding cities/towns - just made life all that much easier. They also provided the best local map with all transport info included in good detail. Plenty of communal areas but also quiet nooks to chill out and read a book.

Disliked: The Western breakfast wasn't the greatest - maybe best stick with local food.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Competent & helpful staff

Disliked: BEDBUGS in room 305! When we arrived the room was not cleaned and the door was broken. Room was cleaned quickly but door was still broken (not possible to lock) in the evening. Got a new private room, thanks to the staff. A couple of minutes after we moved to this room we saw different bugs incl. bedbugs all over the bed (while the light was still on). Complained, got a new single room with a large enough bed for two. While moving again we saw a dog taking a crap in the hallway, an hour late they eventually cleaned it. Next day we changed the room again, new private double room and from there on everything was fine except for the washing facilities. Dryer does not dry clothes after hours (5 shirts, 3 hours, still wet) and clothes did not 'fresh' after washing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Walters-Helps

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Without doubt the best hostel we've stayed in, in 9 months of travelling Asia and almost 3 months in China. An absolute delight - friendly, clean, safe, fun, good value for money, and with every amenity a hostel should have, from fantastic hot showers, lockers in the dorms, clean bedding and thick mattresses (in China!), western toilets, a good restaurant with cheap eats, cute puppy, beer for 6Y, hooks on the doors to hang your clothes, dorms with curtains on the beds for privacy (genius), helpful English speaking staff - I really can't fault the place. I highly recommend Sims and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: The only addition that would improve the hostel is perhaps a kitchen for guests to make their own food - but with a restaurant on site I can understand why this isn't a reality. There is nothing I can think of that would improve the hostel, it is great.


See all Chengdu hostels