We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Chengdu hostels

Reviews of Dragon Town International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.27 Kuan Xiang Zi Street, Chengdu, China 610015

82.9% Overall Rating

37 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2010)

Matthew Sentry thinks…

"Comunal area was great and relaxing. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Tours booked through hostel was well organized and informative. Place had great atmosphere and in a good location. BEDS…"

Read all Dragon Town International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.99
  • Breakfast USD 2.60

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chengdu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chengdu

Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 93.9% 137 reviews
The Loft Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 91.1% 73 reviews
Sam's Guesthouse
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 60 reviews
Nova Traveller's Lodge
4.87 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 68 reviews
Chengdu Dengba Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
ChengDu Olive Inn
7.96 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mr.Panda youth hostel
4.06 USD

Hostel 91.3% 52 reviews
JinJiang Inn ( ChengDu WenShuFang Inn)
16.97 USD

Hostel 77.1% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

37 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragon Town International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Granados

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to get elsewhere in town.

Disliked: The toilets and showers are just as gross and jankey as you would expect if you've been in Chinese hostels before. Our rooms were the super duper budget, so the beds were little more than foam on plywood. Do yourself a favor and pay a little more for a better room. The cheapies are out in the entrance hallway and can be noisy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013

Liked: 1.Great location.

Disliked: 1. One staff I met wasn't trying to help at all when I was simply asking him how to access the pc in a room. 2. It's an really old building, and kind of smelly. 3. Some travellers closed doors with loud noise even late at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: services, location, comfrot (room, bed, heater)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was Well situated and the staff was realy Nice!

Disliked: It was a little humid in the room .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: Non

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011

Liked: Nice location.

Disliked: Staff is not friendly and room not clean. Matress is very thin and painful to sleep on.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: the price , too much

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roof to terrace with rooms

Disliked: Washing hanging up

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked practically everything, the location, the staff and the value for money

Disliked: The room smelt damp and musty. the toilet released bad smell quite badly at nite.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matthew Sentry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Comunal area was great and relaxing. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Tours booked through hostel was well organized and informative. Place had great atmosphere and in a good location. BEDS were ACTUALLY SOFT and comfortable!

Disliked: This place is quite clean when comparing to other Chinese places, but as I have found with most places in china, the property needs a coat of paint and a overal detail clean. In saying that, this did not deter from the great experience we had at this place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, near various restaurants and nightlife. Room are clean but funny odor. They have a restaurant and services to help you throughout your stay. But ten again location was excellent!

Disliked: funny odor on bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the nice courtyard and the many Chinese and International people to meet.

Disliked: But Internet was really slow, the dorm beds rather hard and the offered tours were well organized but rather expensive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Maria Luísa Ferreira Pires

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

18 August 2010

Liked: It's very well located, staff is friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: Rooms are very humid.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant location. The staff was really friendly and it was easy to book trips from the hostel. Good value for the money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

michael beauchot

11 February 2010 michael would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed here twice and both were during very emotional times in my life - the staff was very attentive to the special needs -both good and bad - I had during these times

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Dragon Town Hostel is located on a beautifull spot in Chengdu. The rooms are big, clean and the bathroom en suite at the dorm was great! The hostel, at this moment, offers no bar or kitchen service and the surrounding restaurants are pretty expensive. So when I get back in Chengdu, I'll book Loft Hostel, same area and with these facilities. Though, very friendly staff and the big room was really great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ying Xiao

02 October 2009 Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really wonderful with great location and decoratation and helpful staff.

Disliked: Ying left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Howlett

05 September 2009 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Dragontown is a really good hostel with great staff, the only problem we had was the noise from next door where a restaurant was being refurbished, it should be ok in a few weeks or months though. I would definitly go back again in the future once the works are finished.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Colin Barnes

29 August 2009 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: nice courtyard design with good communial areas, though the twin room had a bathroom which was glass fronted and a curtain door, which does not afford much privacy

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bathroom ;-)lobbylocation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Bergman

15 August 2009 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Street was absolutely lovely - most beautiful street we saw in all Chengdu! Lots of beautiful buildings, nice decorated with trees and lamps, many restaurants and shops, lots of people in the evening. The property was in old Chinese courtyard style and very charming. Staff was the most friendly and helpful people you can imagine. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others - in fact, I would say that people who travel to Chengdu are foolish if the do not choose this hostel.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: locationlobby street with many restaurants

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpfull staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Simon Adams

08 July 2009 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and DVDs, decent water pressure for showers, really helpful staff, has some character as Chengdu has none.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ward Henselmans

24 May 2009 Ward would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Ward left no negative feedback.


See all Chengdu hostels