We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yha Changsha International Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.61 Gongshang Lane, Dongfeng Road, Changsha, China 410000

76.5% Overall Rating

24 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2013)

Amelia Lambert thinks…

"The hostel itself is a really lovely place. A few large common rooms and an outdoor garden for enjoyment as well as friendly staff. And free Wi-Fi of course... I and a friend came together but…"

Read all Yha Changsha International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Changsha?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

24 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yha Changsha International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: It was hard to find and gave an uncomfortable vibe. The staff didn't speak English and the door to my room didn't even lock. There were no lockers in the dorms. Also they did not have our hostelbookers reservation or even know what the online deposit was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Lambert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 August 2013 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is a really lovely place. A few large common rooms and an outdoor garden for enjoyment as well as friendly staff. And free Wi-Fi of course... I and a friend came together but stayed in the separate gender dorms, which were both clean and fresh. The other backpackers were lovely but all had travel horror stories galore. We had to leave at a pretty unsociable hour for our train but the hostel guy woke up to open the door for us anyway. The showers were lovely, and the toilets were as to be expected of China. The separate wash rooms were very useful too. We were told it would take an hour to get to the station by taxi but it only took us 15 minutes. Very early for our train, but enjoyed a leisurely breakfast at the massive station.

Disliked: Nothing whatsoever.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MIGUEL SUAREZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 MIGUEL would recommend this property

Liked: It's ok for one nigh t!!!

Disliked: They cannot pick you up 2 squares away from the hostel if you cannot find it, even when you call them from a mobile.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 March 2013

Liked: Good price. A safe neighborhood.

Disliked: Not easy to find and not much to see around. So many rules in the hostel. Not very clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a small and cute garden where you can relax!

Disliked: The staff barely speaks English and can not give any information about what to see around, how to get to the train station/ airport or how to get to the hostel!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel for a stopover in Changsha, not too far away from the train station and main attractions. Nice to get in contact with people, especially with Chinese! Rooms clean.

Disliked: Some of the staff: Smile more, make guest more welcome. Please... ;) Shower could be cleaner.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A place to sleep on our long journey from Lushan to Guangzhou- anywhere would have been good!

Disliked: Down quite a dark small road in the middle of nowhere- we didn't explore Changsha much though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rohan Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Rohan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff speak good English and are knowledgeable about the area. There are a lot of booklets at the front desk to help travelers make the most out of their trip. Free lockers are available (with a 50RMB refundable key deposit). Laundry facilities are also available. There is a bus stop just outside the hostel on the main road, so it's easy to catch transportation to the city center (about 20 minutes), to the train station (about 40 minutes during moderate traffic) and to other locations and hotspots. Very homey atmosphere, spacious rooms and clean bathrooms! You can order lunch before 11am and eat with the staff at 1pm, you can also order dinner if you don't feel like eating out. Restaurants are nearby (local as well as KFC & McDonalds), but during my stay, most of the local restaurants were closed because of the holiday. Hey, take the bus if you arrive from the train station, the directions given are on point and it's much cheaper than taking a taxi. (When you get off at Xia Da Long, the instructions tell you to go to the intersection and turn right, but you will notice that there are two intersections so if you walk towards the one ahead of you (i.e. in the same direction as the bus) you will actually turn left instead. But if you get off the bus and take the turn at the intersection in the opposite direction, then you will turn right, in any case all roads lead to the hostel once you cross the intersection; print the map and take it with you). When you take the bus you can get to a quick view of others areas that you may want to visit during your stay!

Disliked: I wanted to make update my reservation to include another day and when I called, they had no idea I made a booking. (Would not like to know what would have happened if they didn't have any rooms after I paid to reserve mine!) Not nice if your allergic to animals since they had a puppy and maybe three kittens running around (but they are playful and do not bother or taunt the guests). Get used to waking up at 7AM to take a shower since hot water is only available for two hours in the morning and a few hours at night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christopher Siemen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012

Liked: the facilities had been nice, and i bet in summer there is a lot going on in the garden and so on

Disliked: - no central heating - why did the staff kicked the little dog, several times without apparent reason? - a beer bottle broke in our room and after "cleaning" it appeared more that the ayi just smeared all of the beer through the room, with her mob - hot water from 7 in the morning is not suitable for people getting up early - didn't found the free towl - restaurant?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good lobby! And very central to the major sights.

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Harvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Jenga

Disliked: Took a long time to get to any of the bus stations

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty standard hostel but nothing special - probably because the town itself isn't very touristy.

Disliked: Nothing really.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Paul Thorpe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2011

Liked: Staff stayed awake until 12am to guide us to hostel from train station.

Disliked: The rooms smell really bad (due to odours from the street). The bathrooms were dirty- the urinal leaks so that urine runs into the shower. They have a 'menu' but do not serve food. There is potential here, but the hostel is really badly maintained.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jaroslaw Kakolewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011

Liked: They can not speak English very well, only basics, Sometimes you have to explain them more times what you want. Reception not very helpful. On the first day I had to wait 30 min for the breakfast, on the next day more than an hour, because the lady who prepares it want somewhere and there was nobody in the hostel in the morning to prepare the breakfast.

Disliked: They can not speak English very well, only basics, Sometimes you have to explain them more times what you want. Reception not very helpful. On the first day I had to wait 30 min for the breakfast, on the next day more than an hour, because the lady who prepares it want somewhere and there was nobody in the hostel in the morning to prepare the breakfast. Rooms and toilets very, very dirty. Western toilet was broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The small garden behind lobby.

Disliked: 2nd floor is too high.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010

Liked: Staff was very helpful. Shower's water-pressure was good.

Disliked: Room is way overpriced considering it has a single bed, not highly effective A/C. Room smells very damp. Location is too far from the center to walk, and public transportation can be hell in rush hours.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff speak english very well. Xiao wu , She is very nice staff .We have a short trip in this city, next time we will stay in this Hostels.Thanks for your advise. From Thailand .

Disliked: No.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff spoke good english and we're happy to help or just chat to the guests. Other travellers we're friendly and they're was a good atmosphere at the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: freezing cold. you have to pay extra for aircon and it doesn't heat up at all. good in summer maybe....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a mix up with the price for the rooms but the staff was wonderful and helped us work it out. The rooms are gorgeous and clean, and once you get the hang of the buses even the location doesn't seem like such a big deal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we where in changsha it was pretty cold. The rooms had airco, for which they chatged extra. Staff was helpfull en very friendly. Not much other travellers, possibly because changsha has virtually no touristic sites.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good place to meet people or to have privacy...both options were available...close to the shopping area and train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was gorgeous and clean. Amenities were amazing, but even taxi drivers couldn't locate them when given directions and an address.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Abbott

05 October 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good place to stay. It's clean and it has good facilities. However, the staff are what make it great. All the girls here are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Nelson

28 July 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the shared meals, good way to socialise with others.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.