HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Beijing, China

Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House 94%

1. Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House

Hostel
57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 91%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

48 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House

12 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

The owner and staff were EXTREMELY nice. The place was very clean. The bathrooms were also very clean. These were two important factors for me. I also loved being in old Beijing. We had an authentic experience. I did not want something catered to westerners. This was the perfect mix between authentic experience ...... and clean beds and bathrooms!

would recommend this property

01 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Very friendly staff and nice courtyard to chill in.

would recommend this property

Read all Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House reviews
Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House 91%

2. Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House

Hostel
No.8 An Ping Alley Zhao Deng Yu Road, Xicheng District

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 96%

Value 87%

20 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House

15 Aug 2014 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

I love that atmosphere, and I love the rooftop.

would recommend this property

01 Aug 2014 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Lovely staff, we woke them up at 3am and they let us in, we are very sorry guys for the early wake. We waited in the reception area until the reception opened (our fault - didn't read description about reception hours, assumed 24 hours). Very helpful, although not necessarily 100% helpful, they really wanted to try and help and did all they could. Helped us book flights via ctrip. Cool to stay in a real Hutong rather than a sterile block of rooms :-)

would recommend this property

Read all Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House reviews
Saga Youth Hostel 90%

3. Saga Youth Hostel

Hostel
No,9 Shijia Hutong, Nanxiaojie, Dongcheng District

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 88%

Location 93%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 92%

30 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Saga Youth Hostel

06 Apr 2016 63%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

Location was great and very helpful staff

would recommend this property

01 Jan 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone

The staff are brilliant. Genuinely friendly and helpful. Very hard working.

would recommend this property

Read all Saga Youth Hostel reviews
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel 90%

4. Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

Hostel
NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 85%

54 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

01 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Such a clean hostel! I think they clean the common areas at least three times a day. Although the rooms and bathrooms are small, that's to be expected in Hong Kong. Great location as there are a lot of good options nearby, and about a <5 minute walk to the wan chai subway station.

would recommend this property

31 Aug 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

The staff was really nice. The courtyard in the hutong was also nice. I felt bad we were not going to be there for the noodle dinner, but it was our last night to have peking duck. In retrospect I would have booked the Great wall tour through the hostel instead of the company I did.

would recommend this property

Read all Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel reviews
Red Lantern House 89%

5. Red Lantern House

Hostel
No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 82%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 86%

157 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Red Lantern House

27 Mar 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 41+

Staff was friendly and nice setting.

would recommend this property

16 Oct 2015 77%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

We stayed 4 days, people and staff were really nice, location was very good, décoration is a success, you really arrive in a chinese environment.

Read all Red Lantern House reviews
Peking International Youth Hostel 89%

6. Peking International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No. 113-2 Nan Luo Gu Xiang, Dong Cheng District

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 82%

Location 92%

Safety 94%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

25 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Peking International Youth Hostel

01 Feb 2015 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

interior design, location, cleanliness

would recommend this property

22 Aug 2014 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Excellent location

would recommend this property

Read all Peking International Youth Hostel reviews
Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard 89%

7. Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard

Hostel
No.6 DengCao Hutong, DongCheng District

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

112 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard

05 Oct 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

O

would recommend this property

23 Jul 2015 77%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Visiting friends or family

Well the location is great, and it's a lovely characterful courtyard building, relatively easy to find in an old, preserved hutong. Efficient lady who was in charge (spent a lot of time helping and advising people with their travel plans, train tickets etc... Comfortable beds, expensive but very good coffee. But....

would recommend this property

Read all Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard reviews
Peking Yard Hostel 89%

8. Peking Yard Hostel

Hostel
No. Jia 28, Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsibei Street, Dongcheng Disctrict

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

73 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Peking Yard Hostel

20 Jun 2015 60%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Beautiful hostel, very well layed out and decorated with a very chill reception area and amazing natural surroundings.

17 May 2015 63%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break

It has a very nice common area and the food was good. Wifi was okay, not bad for Beijing.

would recommend this property

Read all Peking Yard Hostel reviews
Heyuan International Youth Hostel 88%

9. Heyuan International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.1 Zhi Qiang Bei Yuan, (Xiao Xi Tian), Wen Hui Yuan Rd,Hai Dian District

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 84%

Location 80%

Safety 91%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Heyuan International Youth Hostel

11 Aug 2014 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

I stayed in a single room. They cleaned it every day.

would recommend this property

31 Dec 2013 94%

Helpful, nice and mainly english speaking staff. Nice building in general. A lot of services offered at affordable costs. Close to a central subway station. Affordable.

would recommend this property

Read all Heyuan International Youth Hostel reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel 88%

10. Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel
29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang,Dong Cheng District.

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 84%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

97 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Happy Dragon Hostel

20 Mar 2016 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Family Holiday Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

Absolutely wonderful location, friendly staff and kind interesting local people and vegetable market outside. Close to subway station, 24 hour stores and cheap food. Comfy bed and pillows. Excellent.

would recommend this property

03 Sep 2015 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Interesting neighbourhood, market nearby, quite close to subway by chinese standards

would recommend this property

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Beijing hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Beijing. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Beijing

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Beijing. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!