HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Beijing, China

Heyuan International Youth Hostel 88%

Heyuan International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.1 Zhi Qiang Bei Yuan, (Xiao Xi Tian), Wen Hui Yuan Rd,Hai Dian District
Atmosphere
90%
Cleanliness
90%
Facilities
84%
Location
80%
Safety
91%
Staff
91%
Value
89%

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Heyuan International Youth Hostel

11 Aug 2014 80%
Alone Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

I stayed in a single room. They cleaned it every day.

would recommend this property

31 Dec 2013 94%

Helpful, nice and mainly english speaking staff. Nice building in general. A lot of services offered at affordable costs. Close to a central subway station. Affordable.

would recommend this property

Read all Heyuan International Youth Hostel reviews

Courtyard View Hostel 87%

Courtyard View Hostel

Hostel
No.1, Xigongjie Hutong, Gulou Dongdajie Street, Dong Cheng Disctric
Atmosphere
93%
Cleanliness
73%
Facilities
73%
Location
93%
Safety
93%
Staff
87%
Value
73%

2 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Courtyard View Hostel

09 Dec 2011 100%
As a family with children Backpacking / gap year

this is a ole house in beijing and located in a hutong area, you can get many local cultrule in this palace is more like stay at you home

would recommend this property

09 Dec 2011 100%
As a family with children Backpacking / gap year

traditional chinese style hotel located in a hutong area

would recommend this property

Read all Courtyard View Hostel reviews

Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House 91%

Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House

Hostel
No.8 An Ping Alley Zhao Deng Yu Road, Xicheng District
Atmosphere
94%
Cleanliness
91%
Facilities
88%
Location
86%
Safety
95%
Staff
96%
Value
87%

20 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House

15 Aug 2014 94%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

I love that atmosphere, and I love the rooftop.

would recommend this property

01 Aug 2014 97%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Lovely staff, we woke them up at 3am and they let us in, we are very sorry guys for the early wake. We waited in the reception area until the reception opened (our fault - didn't read description about reception hours, assumed 24 hours). Very helpful, although not necessarily 100% helpful, they really wanted to try and help and did all they could. Helped us book flights via ctrip. Cool to stay in a real Hutong rather than a sterile block of rooms :-)

would recommend this property

Read all Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House reviews

Feel Inn 80%

Feel Inn

Hostel
No.2 Ci Qi Ku Hutong, Dongcheng District
Atmosphere
80%
Cleanliness
87%
Facilities
73%
Location
73%
Safety
87%
Staff
87%
Value
93%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Feel Inn

18 Jun 2015 69%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Nice enough for the money, easy to find

would recommend this property

12 Jun 2015 91%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

It was clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful!!!

would recommend this property

Read all Feel Inn reviews

Templeside Deluxe Hutong House 87%

Templeside Deluxe Hutong House

Hostel
No.2, Bai Ta Xiang ( inside An Ping Alley), Zhao Deng Yu Road, Xicheng District
Atmosphere
90%
Cleanliness
87%
Facilities
84%
Location
81%
Safety
91%
Staff
89%
Value
87%

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Templeside Deluxe Hutong House

18 Jul 2014 43%
Alone Sightseeing & culture

If you travel in a group so you can book the whole room, or if you just stay one night, I think you will be ok.

11 Jul 2014 97%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

i enjoyed the property and the location. very authentic chinese and i loved the fact it was away from the tourist scene.

would recommend this property

Read all Templeside Deluxe Hutong House reviews

Peking International Youth Hostel 89%

Peking International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No. 113-2 Nan Luo Gu Xiang, Dong Cheng District
Atmosphere
90%
Cleanliness
94%
Facilities
82%
Location
92%
Safety
94%
Staff
86%
Value
81%

25 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Peking International Youth Hostel

01 Feb 2015 94%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

interior design, location, cleanliness

would recommend this property

22 Aug 2014 97%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Excellent location

would recommend this property

Read all Peking International Youth Hostel reviews

Spring Time Hostel 87%

Spring Time Hostel

Hostel
Southwest Exit, Dongsi Subway Station, Dongcheng District
Atmosphere
83%
Cleanliness
91%
Facilities
81%
Location
92%
Safety
93%
Staff
87%
Value
86%

24 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spring Time Hostel

02 Aug 2014 94%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Sports, adventure or outdoor activities Visiting friends or family Work / volunteering

I had to change my reservation around and they did it without any trouble.When I came in, they gave me a toothbrush, comb, shampoo, soap (liquid and bar) and they replace it everyday (which I didn't know about). I was pleasantly surprised, it is quite do-able and affordable. I switched from a private to dorm room and the people were really nice and friendly, visitors and staff alike.

would recommend this property

21 Feb 2014 80%
With friends / other travellers Sightseeing & culture

I stayed at the hostel for 5 nights with my mother and overall we were satisfied with our experience but that was mostly due to the amazing location and the helpful staff at the front desk. The hostel lacked a "hostel feeling" as we only saw other Chinese people staying there and the restaurant and bar area was closed, which we were counting on for breakfast. Luckily one of the guys who worked there told us about their sister hostel close by so we could go there. The rooms were big enough and had plenty of storage space and everything was new, maintained, and clean. The Great Wall tour and acrobatics tour booked through the hostel were great. My only comment on the Great Wall tour is that the included English guide really isn't a guide but an escort to bring you to the wall and tell you where to meet after. This was fine with us as we wanted to experience the wall at our own pace. The convenient location, directly next to the metro (which is fabulous) and the front desk people made the stay for us:)

would recommend this property

Read all Spring Time Hostel reviews

Imperial Courtyard 73%

Imperial Courtyard

Hotel
No.16 Huanyuan Dongxiang, Andingmen Xijie
Atmosphere
80%
Cleanliness
67%
Facilities
73%
Location
67%
Safety
73%
Staff
80%
Value
80%

2 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Imperial Courtyard

14 Nov 2013 91%
With my spouse / partner Family Holiday

Getting there - Take the Airport Express Train to Dongzihimen Station 25yuan per person (easy). Then take the subway (line 2 circle line, Dark blue) to Anzhen Men subway station 2yuan per person (Youtube gives a good description of how to use the subway). Leave the subway by exit A and turn right. Head south towards the centre of Beijing crossing over the ring road and the 2 sliproads (a compass is a good idea). Turn right into the park (entrance marked by 5 semi-circular coloured hoops in the ground). Walk through the park for approx. 330 paces (the park is only 10 metres wide and there is a small side road running parallel to it on the left). You should then find a road crossing the park. Turn left and you should see the new red electric sign to the hotel 60 paces down the road. Walk to the sign and the alleyway to the hotel is on the left. The hotel also has a new red sign outside the door.People who we met had taken a taxi from the airport to our hotel and been asked to pay twice before they could get their bags. The taxi driver took 1.5 hours trying to find the hotel?Good points about the hotel - Friendly, helpful staff who spoke English. Breakfast cooked to order. Wonderful, traditional décor. Situated in the best part of Beijing (most of Beijing is highrise but there are still a few traditional Hotong areas), this being one. Close to subway.General points - We booked a private car at reception to take us to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. It cost 1000yuan (£100), which was a little expensive but worth it.. We left at 8am and were back by 12:30. A good idea is to take the cable car up; walk for about 1km along the wall and take the toboggan down again. Go early and miss the weekend to avoid crowds. (the hotel can book you a full day trip to the wall and tombs for 280yuan per person.) The best restaurants were the very basic ones where all the locals eat. We can recommend one where we eat several times. We never paid more than 100yuan (£10) for a meal for 2 with 2 large beers. They don't speak much English but have a menu with picture and descriptions in English. To get there don't turn right at the park but carry on down the main Anding Men Nei Dajie (road) towards the centre of Beijing. After approx. 430 paces you can either turn left across the road under an arch towards the Confucius Temple or turn right down a side road. The restaurant we used was the first on the right down the side road (picture included).We can also recommend going to the Confucius Tea Rooms (opposite the Confucius Temple). For 120yuan (£12) per person, they explain the tea ceremony and let you sample 3 different teas and lots of snacks.Some guidebooks state that you can enter the Forbidden City from the north. Wrong, you can only get in from the main southern entrance at Tian'an Men Square.Overall - We recommend you visit Beijing before all the old parts of the city are redeveloped. The subway was very easy to use and we felt very safe all of the time. We can recommend this hotel because, even with its minor faults, It really gives you a feel of old Beijing.

would recommend this property

10 Apr 2013 43%
With my spouse / partner City break Shopping Sightseeing & culture

Traditional Chinese Shi He Yuen

Read all Imperial Courtyard reviews

Ming Courtyard 80%

Ming Courtyard

Hostel
No.34 XinTaiCang Hutong, DongZhiMen, Beijing
Atmosphere
80%
Cleanliness
90%
Facilities
75%
Location
78%
Safety
88%
Staff
75%
Value
80%

6 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ming Courtyard

10 Jul 2015 86%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Beautiful Courtyard to chill out or to have a drinkFriendly staffCheap beer and good meal

would recommend this property

30 Apr 2015 49%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Clean with 24 hr reception and fairly quiet.

Read all Ming Courtyard reviews

PekingUni International Youth Hostel 80%

PekingUni International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No 150, Cheng Fu Road, Haidian District
Atmosphere
76%
Cleanliness
77%
Facilities
74%
Location
87%
Safety
85%
Staff
82%
Value
81%

19 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend PekingUni International Youth Hostel

02 Apr 2015 20%
With friends / other travellers Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

Nothing!

27 Dec 2013 97%

All good. Downstairs is the bus station, from the subway station is not far, go to.

would recommend this property

Read all PekingUni International Youth Hostel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Beijing hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Beijing. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Beijing

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Beijing. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!