We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Spring Time Hostel

Hostel | No1, Dong Si South Street, (东四南大街一号), Beijing, China .

87.5% Overall Rating

24 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

Nicolas Pol Adle thinks…

"I had to change my reservation around and they did it without any trouble. When I came in, they gave me a toothbrush, comb, shampoo, soap (liquid and bar) and they replace it everyday (which I…"

Read all Spring Time Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.12 USD

Hostel 87.7% 116 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 84.3% 322 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 91.1% 116 reviews
Yuanjia International Apartment
41.10 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

24 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spring Time Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicolas Pol Adle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 August 2014 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: I had to change my reservation around and they did it without any trouble. When I came in, they gave me a toothbrush, comb, shampoo, soap (liquid and bar) and they replace it everyday (which I didn't know about). I was pleasantly surprised, it is quite do-able and affordable. I switched from a private to dorm room and the people were really nice and friendly, visitors and staff alike.

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tasha Hayes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Tasha would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the hostel for 5 nights with my mother and overall we were satisfied with our experience but that was mostly due to the amazing location and the helpful staff at the front desk. The hostel lacked a "hostel feeling" as we only saw other Chinese people staying there and the restaurant and bar area was closed, which we were counting on for breakfast. Luckily one of the guys who worked there told us about their sister hostel close by so we could go there. The rooms were big enough and had plenty of storage space and everything was new, maintained, and clean. The Great Wall tour and acrobatics tour booked through the hostel were great. My only comment on the Great Wall tour is that the included English guide really isn't a guide but an escort to bring you to the wall and tell you where to meet after. This was fine with us as we wanted to experience the wall at our own pace. The convenient location, directly next to the metro (which is fabulous) and the front desk people made the stay for us:)

Disliked: My biggest problems with this hostel were the fact that I only had 1 hot shower during my 5 night stay there. On the second night the hot water was broken and on the following night we had lukewarm water or hot water for 5 minutes and then no more. Second was that the shower floods the entire bathroom making it all wet and slippery. Warning, the beds are hard as a brick, maybe made with the same material as the Great Wall and the walls paper thin so we got to hear our neighbor have a loud Chinese conversation till 4am one night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Colville

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 February 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, right next to the subway stop. Nice rooms.

Disliked: It says they do breakfast and the hostel has a menu up but we were told they don't do it anymore. It's a bit annoying if you advertise it but don't do it. Also, I'm not sure what the difference is between the deluxe rooms and the normal rooms apart from the price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

26 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to subway station, easy travel around Beijing

Disliked: Although we booked a non-smoking room, the first room they gave us had obviously been smoked in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to subway station, v good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very nicely decorated and very clean,well maintained. Located conveniently literally next door to the subway station.

Disliked: Nothing really, at first I thought the bar area couldve been bigger and there shouldve been more computers but there was never a need for any more so there is enough! I was pleased.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Blesilda Makabali

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 November 2013 Blesilda would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: they do not accept credit cards

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and quite big. Hostel is just beside the subway station.

Disliked: Although there's a subway station just beside it there's nothing much around. You need to go somewhere else to eat or do whatever.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Schöner Eingangsbereich mit Bar und Café. Freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal. Gutes Frühstücksangebot. Eher westlich orientiert. Organisierte Tour zur chinesischen Mauer.

Disliked: Undichter Abfluss des Spülbecken.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

Disliked: The walls are paper thin and the beds are very hard.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Philippe Bourse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, good air con and good shower

Disliked: Staff were nice, but not very helpful. Felt like a hotel more than a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location directly at the subway station. We participated also the tour to great wall and the trip, good value for money, was well organised including breakfast and lunch. The young staff did their best to help us out with restaurant recommendations and questions about the sights. The room was basic and clean. Better quality than any hostel we have been to -more like a standard hotel.

Disliked: The rooms were not cleaned that well during our stay and in five nights you could expect the sink to be cleaned, but for the price this was ok. The breakfast wasn´t that special so we only had it the first morning as it wasn´t included in the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new and clean. Rooms get cleaned every day. The hostel is situated right next to a station for two subway lines which is really convenient.

Disliked: You can here people in other rooms if they are loud. Also the shower and bathroom is seperated from the main room only by dulled glass (in twin rooms at least).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel-grade for hostel price. Comfortable & clean enough for a very great 3-day stay with my 63-yr-old mother. Our twin room faced a temple in the back and was a peaceful break from hectic dirty Beijing. Wifi was good in the room, breakfast & coffee were pretty good. Very convenient right next to the subway exit, and across the street from a big local grocery store, banks, restaurants, bakery/cafes. We took the Great Wall Mutianyu tour and it was good quality with breakfast & a nice lunch, and a very good value compared getting picked up from the hostel instead of having to deal with getting to the public bus station super early in the morning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Reider

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 May 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: I was a bit hesitant about staying here being that it was a new hostel with not too many reviews, however it was as great as everyone says. I was traveling with my 69 year old mother so I wasn't looking for the traditional hostel atmosphere, which this hostel is PERFECT, affordable like a hostel but more like a hotel. Location is not in the middle of touristy areas, more off the beaten path however 2 subway lines are STEPS from the door so it is very very convienant to get around.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ishtiaque Ahmed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Ishtiaque would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent environment if you are looking for privacy and comfort. Very clean and looks like new. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice reception area.

Disliked: Though located near two subway lines but not good in terms of activities. No fun and only good for family travelers and those who enjoy privacy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for 4 nights in a 4 mixed dorm and I was really worthy for me to stay for five days. The room was super clean, comfortable considering the hostels I've ever visited (nearly 15 different places). A bathroom was located inside of the room, 24-hours of hot shower. Although I was satisfied with the room condition, unfortunately, I would have to write some drawbacks so that I can provide more information to this brand new hostel. There was no lock for the bathroom inside of the room more over the bathroom was somewhat translucent. Plus, there were only three wall outlet you can plug in. One is in the bathroom and others are actually for the TV and electric kettle.. However if you think these shortcomings are just a flaw in a gem, this hostel is for you.

Disliked: not enough wall sockets, no kitchen, no lock for the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location as it is right next to the subway, brand new hostel so hostel was clean

Disliked: new hostel so the character needs to develop. good hostel if you want clean and cheep and next to subway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Zhao

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 April 2013 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super nice, great location right next to metro, private rooms are big best value for money. i would recommend it for anyone who is visiting beijing as its very cheap and great location

Disliked: Good value and nice staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very good hostel. Location is very good, just 20seconds from the hostel to the subway station. It is in the city center near WangFujing, Forbidden City, Lama Temple. I will definitly stay here next time.

Disliked: Everything is good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spring time hostel is a new hostel just opened.I will stay this hostel again when i come back to beijing next month.Staff were so friendly and always trying to hlep me and gave me a lots of useful information.The hostel right next to dongsi subway station.Thank you very much for everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.