HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dragon King Hostel

Hostel | No.78 Dongsi Jiutiao, Beijing, China 100010

91.7% Overall Rating

104 out of 107 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

"Was a very nice hostel, very friendly and chilled. Bar/food was excellent. All the staff were very lovely and willing to help with anything. One of the best ive ever stayed at, cannot recommend it hoghly enough."

Read all Dragon King Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.46
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 90.7% 75 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 82.5% 170 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lucky Family Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 88.0% 165 reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 83.5% 319 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

104 out of 107 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragon King Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a very nice hostel, very friendly and chilled. Bar/food was excellent. All the staff were very lovely and willing to help with anything. One of the best ive ever stayed at, cannot recommend it hoghly enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Allan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this place on the absolute pleasure of the staff alone! They were incredibly helpful and always happy to do so. It was great for us, as it offered tours of the city and the Great Wall, which is exactly what we wanted to do. There were others which we will have to try next time we stay! Dumpling Party was awesome - made lots of new friends! Just really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptional staff, the bar/restaurant is really good with nice food well priced. Located 5 minutes from a Metro station. Clean, Safe and was good value when we booked.

Disliked: We had a private double room and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable (the same as the previous hostel we stayed in China so we were not surprised).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and serviced everyday, ensuite bathrooms, wifi everywhere, helpful directions to reach it and helpful with onward travel, many Western tourists (unlike several hostels with mostly Chinese residents), large beds and lockers!

Disliked: No common area! Only common space is bar, which closes at night! No other TV (for the World Cup) unless you have a private room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it there! The staff was super friendly and very eager to help with any problem. Booking tours is easy there, nice bar+bistro where you can mingle with other travelers. Dumpling party is another opportunity to meet fellow travelers. Room was big and comfortable.

Disliked: Sometimes it took very long for the shower to provide hot water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Kendall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible friendly and welcoming. The directions to find it were great and we loved the location in the city.

Disliked: No complaints!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Claire Asher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay at Dragon King. My room was nice and clean and the bathroom facilities were good. The bar downstairs is great - good atmosphere and friendly people. Good offers on too and the staff were always friendly. I didn't book any but the hostel also offered lots of tours which other people said were good.

Disliked: The place was a little difficult to find at first but actually in a fairly good location for the subway etc. The shower always covered the entire bathroom floor in water.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, really friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: No common area, had to pay to use computers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Arazue Foroozan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Arazue would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was great to meet people and staff was helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Nothing in particular... I guess the open bathroom doors, but no big

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ulanowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Somewhat hard to find, but location is good - plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Staff is friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and modern. Bar area is a great place to hang out with travellers and meet people. Food is decent, but a little overpriced. Safe and secure. Dorm rooms are clean and comfortable. Overall a great choice!

Disliked: Initially very hard to find, but that was partly our fault!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: * the extremely helpful and kind staff, no matter what they always did their best, for them it's not just business as usual, they really care about each guest and think about what each person MIGHT need. Plus they were always in a good mood. *the fact that they do not just offer linen and towels but also shampoo and body wash in the shower and soap at each sink, which can not be taken for granted in China at all *each room plus the reception has an electric water kettle *the heating worked very well, they did not save costs at the guest's expense * the awesome choice of food in the café/ bar / restaurant – especially the pizza is amazing and the use of spices for the dishes really shows passion for cooking!

Disliked: No washing machine, and no washing bowls / powder available

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Bruns

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bar, and beds

Disliked: In winter there is not a really good place to sit and meet people in the hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Miller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Dragon King is in a great location, you can get anywhere you need from the nearby subway. The bar is great for meeting other travellers, and the rooms are clean and comfy.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Boatwright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay in Beijing. I highly recommend this hostel. The staff were super friendly and the location and facilities are great!

Disliked: It was a little hard to find, the directions are actually simple. After you leave the subway just go left, left, then left down the small alley. The hostel is actually behind the subway exit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Hegazy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

05 January 2014 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: cleanness

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING STAFF

Disliked: NO KITCHEN

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Loads of food around in the hutongs. Subway just round the corner. Excellent value. Nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rea Belton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 December 2013 Rea would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, ended up staying for an extra two nights. Beds are basic, but very comfortable and clean. Staff were excellent - polite and kind. Very helpful with us when they booked our train tickets to our next destination. Would definately recommend this hostel to people who want to stay somewhere safe/comfortable and at a good price. So nice to see the hostel make the effort and put up Christmas decorations!

Disliked: The bar area was lovely - but a communal room would of been an advantage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma archer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2013 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing was really good, the dorms were comfortable and the staff were really friendly and nice. The location is only a few mins from underground and nearby shops and restaurants. Also everything seemed very new and was clean.

Disliked: Just the beds were uncomfortable, with flat mattresses.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amy Colvin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Considering we paid £2.50 p.p.p.n, approx 25Yuan it was great value for money. Its a 2 minute walk to the subway which gets you almost anywhere for 2 yuan one way and there are plenty of restaurants, a bakery and several convenience stores. It was also really warm which was perfect and the heating was on all day. The rooms were also clean but the showered could have been a little cleaner.

Disliked: The only downfall was that the bar and food was quite expensive, especially given the restaurant opposite charge 4 yuan for a beer and it was 20 at the hostel (10 during happy hour)... You could also grab really good soup and a drink for 12 yuan round the corner in comparison to the 100+ food at the bar. However, the atmosphere was great and the dumpling party was a real laugh. I would still recommend the hostel, as they have weekly offers and you can always eat elswhere and enjoy the atmosphere afterwards.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: No safe

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Candice is an angel. She is initiatively helpful; when we arrived in Beijing at 7am and where staring at the Chinese signs outside the subway station, she approached us strangers and offered to help, only to discover we were actually staying at her hostel.

Disliked: There is no safe in the rooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joelle Boulet

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Joelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. The room is clean and spacefull. The location next to a subway and bus stop is perfect. I highly recommand this hostel. The food is also good.

Disliked: Absolutly nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Barbuto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly during our stay, offering to translate everything into Mandarin for us such as train tickets so we could buy them ourselves and not get ripped off, and even a free map with locations for tourists circled for us was provided. The hostel has a great atmospehere overall, bunk bed rooms very spacious and we were allowed to transfer into a private section of the 8 bed dorm (there are two beds separated into another room) for no additional charge. Free, clean towels and sheets provided, bar staff were very nice and food was amazing for a hostel although not that cheap, but what can you expect for a "western" restaurant at a hostel, so it was worth the price! The location can be far for some but we found that the street we were on connected to places easily if you were up for a walk and the subway is right around the corner. My fiance and I also loved the computer room since we could go down into the front lobby area when the bar was closed and watch movies on our laptop while not being pestered or worrying about disturbing anyone. The reception was also open 24 hours and always nice! We already have our next stay booked at Dragon King Hostel!

Disliked: Nothing :) Perhaps location for some, but the subway is 2 minutes away and close to other stops.