We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dragon King Hostel

Hostel | No.78 Dongsi Jiutiao, Beijing, China 100010

89.7% Overall Rating

131 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

"Our room was large and clean (though was right next to the balcony so we could always hear everyone that was up there, including the cleaning staff in the mornings) and the bed was comfortable compared to a lot of very…"

Read all Dragon King Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 46.71
  • Breakfast USD 3.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
7.78 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
15.57 USD

Hostel 90.1% 81 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
12.46 USD

Hostel 82.1% 176 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 90.7% 199 reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel
9.34 USD

Hostel 83.3% 330 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.90 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Spring Time Hostel
62.28 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

131 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragon King Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 134 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was large and clean (though was right next to the balcony so we could always hear everyone that was up there, including the cleaning staff in the mornings) and the bed was comfortable compared to a lot of very hard Chinese beds. The bar was also very friendly and had good deals.

Disliked: I did feel the place lacked a little character, but the bar made up for this.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roy van Kerkhof

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2015 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in middle of the Hutong. Clean big room and nice bar in the hostel. Go to the restaurant in front of the hostel for delicious Chinese meals! Cheap en excelent cooked.

Disliked: Prices for drinks and food in the bar are much overpices. Almost western europe prices for your drink en breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HUNGLING CHEN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2015 HUNGLING would recommend this property

Liked: Good laundry service

Disliked: charge too much for booking train tickets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere cheap beer and close to metro!

Disliked: Other keys opened my locker - not good, food in the bar is really hit and miss!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

paul adam kallenberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2015 paul adam would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, very helpfull staff

Disliked: paul adam left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Dale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff who speak good english, good location 2 mins from subway. Great Wall tour was a well organised and enjoyable day. The hostel bar is open all day and is great place to meet people if you're travelling alone! I would stay again if in Beijing!

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for visiting the city's attractions (many within walking distance). Close to a metro station. The staff were very helpful (this is key in China if you don't speak Mandarin as it can be tricky to get around). We organised through Dragon King to make an excursion to the Great Wall (Mutianyu) which was fantastic, and good value. Nice bar which served great breakfasts. Beds were comfortable with privacy curtains and each had its own nice bright reading light and power socket. Lockers were big enough to take a full-size backpack which is a plus for me.

Disliked: Very central location, but a little hard to find. The fact that it is on a nice quiet little alley street is a good thing though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

christopher coleman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated, very clean and very helpful and pleasant staff.

Disliked: The internet was a bit hit & miss. Minor really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Ridgway

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It's freindly and clean

Disliked: The bar closed at 11pm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerry Wise

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2015 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: Really fantastic service - some of the nicest people I've encountered at hostels

Disliked: It's in a traditional hutong so it is dark at night and at first seems kind of sketchy but it's not. It's totally safe

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Big beds with each an own socket - Good lockers - Many good restaurants in the surrounding area

Disliked: - Hostel bar only offers western food, and the prices are for Chinese standards a little bit high

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! The staff are so amazing and very helpful we had the best time staying with them over Christmas! We were so sad to leave Si and Lisa especially! We miss you all!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Freudenthaler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 February 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, good food in the bar.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sierra Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2014

Liked: The location is good, close to the metro and a relatively easy walk to some of the major sites. The front desk staff was helpful as well.

Disliked: You cannot bring your own food or drink into the bar area, and there are no other areas with tables or comfortable spots to hang out. Therefore, you are forced to eat/drink at the bar or go out elsewhere. Further, the female bartender at night was not friendly, often rude. The bathrooms left a lot to be desired. Finally, the wifi is just awful. This may have something to do with China in general (wifi is not great anywhere is China), but it also had to do with their service/bandwidth. The wifi at Dragon King was some of the slowest we encountered in our time in China.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. It was easy to meet other travellers and the tours that the hostel organized were good value for the money.

Disliked: I stayed in a 6 bed dorm but someone needed to have their key in the switch for the power to work. This created some awkward moments when you try to go to the bathroom at night, realize there is no key in the switch so you can't turn the light on. Then you need to come out, find your key in the dark and then go back in. They should just have an extra key in the switch at all times.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Irma Mutuc

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2014 Irma would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good. It's a longish walk to the subway station and there were many restaurants around the area plus a 24-hour convenience store around the corner of the hutong. It's nice that it's in the midst of a hutong so you can really see people going about their daily lives. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they all speak English - BRUCE was particularly very helpful and every morning he went through my subway and bus routes with me. He even wrote my bus stops in Chinese so it will be easier for me to get directions if I get lost (but I never did, thanks to him!). Bruce rocks! :) There's a bakery right across the street when you get to the main road and many small and affordale restaurants when you turn left (facing the main street). There are also two banks a few meters to the left of the bakery across the street and a small takeaway stall where you can buy mini crusty custard pies for 2 yuan a piece.

Disliked: It can get a bit noisy during the evenings because there are a lot of rooms and people come in and out during the night and early morning. They don't clean the bathrooms well and I have to be the one to tidy it up a little evey time I use it ( I stayed in a 4-bed mixed dorm with an en suite bathroom). They also don't clean under the bed so well and there was thick dust which my luggage gathered because I kept it under the bed. The light and electric socket on the upper bed is too high. It bothered me that I had to sit up to turn it off after reading or have to prop my phone with something when I'm charging it. The wifi is spotty. Every morning and evening I had to pass by the lounge to check my Viber messages. Good luck trying to call on Viber or Skype. I mean, wifi in China is generally bad but they can beef up the signal with maybe installing modems on each floor's corridor? The food in the cafe is ok but it was a bit expensive and there wasn't a lot of choices. The girls in the cafe were also not very approachable. It would have been nice if there was some small pantry/kitchen where people can make coffee/choco, toast bread or mix instant noodles. It might also be nice to have some social activities scheduled for more than just one night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly, helpful and good natured staff I have ever seen in a hostel. Things like shampoo and soap dispensers in the showers and free towels made the stay at an already comfortable hostel even more convenient and comfortable.

Disliked: This and all hostels should start to provide filtered drinking water dispensers, to cut down on the number of plastic bottles used, for the sake of the environment. Some hostels and hotels are already doing this. Hostel should remove the rap song that refers to women as bitches from their bar play list. In fact, I think as a precaution all rap songs should be removed, as so many of them are disrespectful of women.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent - lots of advice/trips. Common areas were clean, asmall were rooms and bedding.

Disliked: I was in a 6 bed dorm with own bathroom - the bathroom was filthy. Definitely wasn't cleaned in the time I was there. I refused to use it and used the shared bathroom on the second floor which was always spotless.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gillott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, especially Eileen and Candies, both remembered you, spoke to you, asked you what you did during the day. Although the location isn't that central it is only 3mins to the subway which is so cheap. Also lots of nearby cheap restaurants & places to buy water or beer. As a solo traveler it was easy to meet people which was important to me, especially that crazy dancer Brian from Ireland.

Disliked: I can't really fault this hostel at all, they treated me so well. No kitchen didn't really matter as its so cheap to buy everything easily nearby even if you're feeling lazy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jenifer Halili

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Jenifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 3mins walk to subway and very friendly and helpful staff with good English skills. Stayed four nights in a private room with ensuite bathroom. Towels and toilet paper were provided. Wifi connection was a bit slow in the rooms but overall good throughout my stay. Hostel has a bar that also serves food - great atmosphere and easy to get to know other travellers. I recommend to do the guided tour to the great wall at Mutianyu - breakfast and nice lunch are provided.

Disliked: Jenifer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good great wall tour. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: For anyone wondering whether or not to stay at this place.. JUST DO IT! Ive stayed here three times now and each time has been a very good experience. Since my last stay (February 2014) there have been some pleasant improvements to this place. Sadly in many hostels in China, the owners will try and milk as much profit as possible before putting the money back in, not in this place. Every time I go there are improvements, like the owners actually care more about customer satisfaction then the money they get in return (a rare thing in China). Things to note: 1. Very friendly staff, all speak good English. 2. Has a nice bar / restaurant (recently expanded - improvement no. 1) albeit a little expensive (but still worth it). 3. Easy trips to visit the wall (Suggest Mutianwu if you are not Chinese). 4. Wide variety of rooms. 5. Beds in dorms ALL have curtains giving extra privacy (Improvement no.2) 6. Quiet time well enforced. 7. Lots of informative signs about scams and tourist sites, helps keep you in the know.

Disliked: For a first time traveller is a little hard to find. But stick with it, its worth it in the end. - Internet can also be a bit 'iffy', but I would struggle to name places that don't have unreliable internet in China.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Remy Baracco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Remy would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel.I really liked the curtains around the bed, and each bed got an individual outlet. Bar was good, always had specials and the staff was nice. Also, great location. Llama temple is about 20 minutes away, and tianmen and forbidden city are walkable. Also on the walls they have lots of info about the big attractions so you can just take a picture or write it down if the staff is busy. The staff is really nice and helpful, especially Candice and the people who work at the bar.

Disliked: Great wall Matianyu tour is 240 yuan. It says cable car not included, but you have to take the cable car, which is 100 yuan. So it's actually 340.