HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dragon King Hostel

Hostel | No.78 Dongsi Jiutiao, Beijing, China 100010

92.0% Overall Rating

112 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

"The most friendly, helpful and good natured staff I have ever seen in a hostel. Things like shampoo and soap dispensers in the showers and free towels made the stay at an already comfortable hostel even more…"

Read all Dragon King Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lucky Family Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 88.9% 182 reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 84.3% 321 reviews
Ming Courtyard
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

112 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragon King Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly, helpful and good natured staff I have ever seen in a hostel. Things like shampoo and soap dispensers in the showers and free towels made the stay at an already comfortable hostel even more convenient and comfortable.

Disliked: This and all hostels should start to provide filtered drinking water dispensers, to cut down on the number of plastic bottles used, for the sake of the environment. Some hostels and hotels are already doing this. Hostel should remove the rap song that refers to women as bitches from their bar play list. In fact, I think as a precaution all rap songs should be removed, as so many of them are disrespectful of women.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent - lots of advice/trips. Common areas were clean, asmall were rooms and bedding.

Disliked: I was in a 6 bed dorm with own bathroom - the bathroom was filthy. Definitely wasn't cleaned in the time I was there. I refused to use it and used the shared bathroom on the second floor which was always spotless.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gillott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, especially Eileen and Candies, both remembered you, spoke to you, asked you what you did during the day. Although the location isn't that central it is only 3mins to the subway which is so cheap. Also lots of nearby cheap restaurants & places to buy water or beer. As a solo traveler it was easy to meet people which was important to me, especially that crazy dancer Brian from Ireland.

Disliked: I can't really fault this hostel at all, they treated me so well. No kitchen didn't really matter as its so cheap to buy everything easily nearby even if you're feeling lazy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jenifer Halili

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Jenifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 3mins walk to subway and very friendly and helpful staff with good English skills. Stayed four nights in a private room with ensuite bathroom. Towels and toilet paper were provided. Wifi connection was a bit slow in the rooms but overall good throughout my stay. Hostel has a bar that also serves food - great atmosphere and easy to get to know other travellers. I recommend to do the guided tour to the great wall at Mutianyu - breakfast and nice lunch are provided.

Disliked: Jenifer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good great wall tour. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: For anyone wondering whether or not to stay at this place.. JUST DO IT! Ive stayed here three times now and each time has been a very good experience. Since my last stay (February 2014) there have been some pleasant improvements to this place. Sadly in many hostels in China, the owners will try and milk as much profit as possible before putting the money back in, not in this place. Every time I go there are improvements, like the owners actually care more about customer satisfaction then the money they get in return (a rare thing in China). Things to note: 1. Very friendly staff, all speak good English. 2. Has a nice bar / restaurant (recently expanded - improvement no. 1) albeit a little expensive (but still worth it). 3. Easy trips to visit the wall (Suggest Mutianwu if you are not Chinese). 4. Wide variety of rooms. 5. Beds in dorms ALL have curtains giving extra privacy (Improvement no.2) 6. Quiet time well enforced. 7. Lots of informative signs about scams and tourist sites, helps keep you in the know.

Disliked: For a first time traveller is a little hard to find. But stick with it, its worth it in the end. - Internet can also be a bit 'iffy', but I would struggle to name places that don't have unreliable internet in China.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Remy Baracco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Remy would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel.I really liked the curtains around the bed, and each bed got an individual outlet. Bar was good, always had specials and the staff was nice. Also, great location. Llama temple is about 20 minutes away, and tianmen and forbidden city are walkable. Also on the walls they have lots of info about the big attractions so you can just take a picture or write it down if the staff is busy. The staff is really nice and helpful, especially Candice and the people who work at the bar.

Disliked: Great wall Matianyu tour is 240 yuan. It says cable car not included, but you have to take the cable car, which is 100 yuan. So it's actually 340.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great bed! Friendly staff.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a very nice hostel, very friendly and chilled. Bar/food was excellent. All the staff were very lovely and willing to help with anything. One of the best ive ever stayed at, cannot recommend it hoghly enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Allan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this place on the absolute pleasure of the staff alone! They were incredibly helpful and always happy to do so. It was great for us, as it offered tours of the city and the Great Wall, which is exactly what we wanted to do. There were others which we will have to try next time we stay! Dumpling Party was awesome - made lots of new friends! Just really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptional staff, the bar/restaurant is really good with nice food well priced. Located 5 minutes from a Metro station. Clean, Safe and was good value when we booked.

Disliked: We had a private double room and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable (the same as the previous hostel we stayed in China so we were not surprised).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and serviced everyday, ensuite bathrooms, wifi everywhere, helpful directions to reach it and helpful with onward travel, many Western tourists (unlike several hostels with mostly Chinese residents), large beds and lockers!

Disliked: No common area! Only common space is bar, which closes at night! No other TV (for the World Cup) unless you have a private room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it there! The staff was super friendly and very eager to help with any problem. Booking tours is easy there, nice bar+bistro where you can mingle with other travelers. Dumpling party is another opportunity to meet fellow travelers. Room was big and comfortable.

Disliked: Sometimes it took very long for the shower to provide hot water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Kendall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible friendly and welcoming. The directions to find it were great and we loved the location in the city.

Disliked: No complaints!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Claire Asher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay at Dragon King. My room was nice and clean and the bathroom facilities were good. The bar downstairs is great - good atmosphere and friendly people. Good offers on too and the staff were always friendly. I didn't book any but the hostel also offered lots of tours which other people said were good.

Disliked: The place was a little difficult to find at first but actually in a fairly good location for the subway etc. The shower always covered the entire bathroom floor in water.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, really friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: No common area, had to pay to use computers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Arazue Foroozan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Arazue would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was great to meet people and staff was helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Nothing in particular... I guess the open bathroom doors, but no big

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ulanowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Somewhat hard to find, but location is good - plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Staff is friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and modern. Bar area is a great place to hang out with travellers and meet people. Food is decent, but a little overpriced. Safe and secure. Dorm rooms are clean and comfortable. Overall a great choice!

Disliked: Initially very hard to find, but that was partly our fault!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: * the extremely helpful and kind staff, no matter what they always did their best, for them it's not just business as usual, they really care about each guest and think about what each person MIGHT need. Plus they were always in a good mood. *the fact that they do not just offer linen and towels but also shampoo and body wash in the shower and soap at each sink, which can not be taken for granted in China at all *each room plus the reception has an electric water kettle *the heating worked very well, they did not save costs at the guest's expense * the awesome choice of food in the café/ bar / restaurant – especially the pizza is amazing and the use of spices for the dishes really shows passion for cooking!

Disliked: No washing machine, and no washing bowls / powder available

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Bruns

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bar, and beds

Disliked: In winter there is not a really good place to sit and meet people in the hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Miller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Dragon King is in a great location, you can get anywhere you need from the nearby subway. The bar is great for meeting other travellers, and the rooms are clean and comfy.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Boatwright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay in Beijing. I highly recommend this hostel. The staff were super friendly and the location and facilities are great!

Disliked: It was a little hard to find, the directions are actually simple. After you leave the subway just go left, left, then left down the small alley. The hostel is actually behind the subway exit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Hegazy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

05 January 2014 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: cleanness

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING STAFF

Disliked: NO KITCHEN

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Loads of food around in the hutongs. Subway just round the corner. Excellent value. Nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.