We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dragon King Hostel

Hostel | No.78 Dongsi Jiutiao, Beijing, China 100010

91.1% Overall Rating

113 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Irma Mutuc thinks…

"The location was very good. It's a longish walk to the subway station and there were many restaurants around the area plus a 24-hour convenience store around the corner of the hutong. It's nice that…"

Read all Dragon King Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lucky Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 84.3% 321 reviews
Ming Courtyard
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

113 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragon King Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Loads of food around in the hutongs. Subway just round the corner. Excellent value. Nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rea Belton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 December 2013 Rea would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, ended up staying for an extra two nights. Beds are basic, but very comfortable and clean. Staff were excellent - polite and kind. Very helpful with us when they booked our train tickets to our next destination. Would definately recommend this hostel to people who want to stay somewhere safe/comfortable and at a good price. So nice to see the hostel make the effort and put up Christmas decorations!

Disliked: The bar area was lovely - but a communal room would of been an advantage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma archer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2013 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing was really good, the dorms were comfortable and the staff were really friendly and nice. The location is only a few mins from underground and nearby shops and restaurants. Also everything seemed very new and was clean.

Disliked: Just the beds were uncomfortable, with flat mattresses.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amy Colvin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Considering we paid £2.50 p.p.p.n, approx 25Yuan it was great value for money. Its a 2 minute walk to the subway which gets you almost anywhere for 2 yuan one way and there are plenty of restaurants, a bakery and several convenience stores. It was also really warm which was perfect and the heating was on all day. The rooms were also clean but the showered could have been a little cleaner.

Disliked: The only downfall was that the bar and food was quite expensive, especially given the restaurant opposite charge 4 yuan for a beer and it was 20 at the hostel (10 during happy hour)... You could also grab really good soup and a drink for 12 yuan round the corner in comparison to the 100+ food at the bar. However, the atmosphere was great and the dumpling party was a real laugh. I would still recommend the hostel, as they have weekly offers and you can always eat elswhere and enjoy the atmosphere afterwards.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: No safe

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Candice is an angel. She is initiatively helpful; when we arrived in Beijing at 7am and where staring at the Chinese signs outside the subway station, she approached us strangers and offered to help, only to discover we were actually staying at her hostel.

Disliked: There is no safe in the rooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joelle Boulet

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Joelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. The room is clean and spacefull. The location next to a subway and bus stop is perfect. I highly recommand this hostel. The food is also good.

Disliked: Absolutly nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Barbuto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly during our stay, offering to translate everything into Mandarin for us such as train tickets so we could buy them ourselves and not get ripped off, and even a free map with locations for tourists circled for us was provided. The hostel has a great atmospehere overall, bunk bed rooms very spacious and we were allowed to transfer into a private section of the 8 bed dorm (there are two beds separated into another room) for no additional charge. Free, clean towels and sheets provided, bar staff were very nice and food was amazing for a hostel although not that cheap, but what can you expect for a "western" restaurant at a hostel, so it was worth the price! The location can be far for some but we found that the street we were on connected to places easily if you were up for a walk and the subway is right around the corner. My fiance and I also loved the computer room since we could go down into the front lobby area when the bar was closed and watch movies on our laptop while not being pestered or worrying about disturbing anyone. The reception was also open 24 hours and always nice! We already have our next stay booked at Dragon King Hostel!

Disliked: Nothing :) Perhaps location for some, but the subway is 2 minutes away and close to other stops.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellen and spoke v good English. Coffee was good and the bar area was excellent well designed and friendly atmos

Disliked: Not much!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with the bar in the main level... Met a ton of amazing fellow travelers. The staff was helpful, cheery and polite. The rooms were clean with a large storage locker. Near good food options and the metro.

Disliked: Just a bit hard to find. We arrived at night and we didn't know the hostel was down a dark alleyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Mason

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: My stay with Dragon King, in a twin private with ensuite bathroom, was amazing. All of the staff speak English very well and are very helpful and kind. The Dragon King has the atmosphere of a hostel (young, friendly staff, and a bustling bar full of social travelers), the amenities of a hotel (daily room cleaning, reasonably priced restaurant on site, etc.), and all at an affordable price. Location was perfect--approximately 200 meters from the metro. There were several good restaurants within walking distance as well. The hostel held a few events while I was there that were very fun. The dumpling party is free and gives residents the opportunity to make and eat their own dumplings. The Dragon Courtyard, a sister hostel just down the road, also put on a Halloween party for the residents. It was so much fun. I HIGHLY recommend the Dragon King Hostel to all travelers and will definitely stay there again if I'm ever in Beijing in the future!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Jeffrey PLATE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Allan Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Attention to detail, nothing is to much ttouble

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Hutchens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013

Liked: It's good value for money and it's located in a local area, which is fun. It was also close to the things I needed in the west side of Beijing.

Disliked: Nowhere to lock your stuff The door didn't lock to my room There seemed to be people always in and out of the room randomly, who were not guests.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Booked for 2 nights, ended up staying much longer. Great hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely consider booking your trains through the reception for a good price and convenience. The other travellers staying at the hostel were top quality too - all seemed very friendly, open and trust worthy. Located right next to the underground line 5 and lots of restaurants and shops.

Disliked: The only downside is the lack of a common room. There is a really cool bar/restaurant downstairs, but you sort of feel like you need to buy something to sit there. Though I did sit there a few times without buying anything and no-one said anything.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jose Daniel Valdivia Navarrete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Jose Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good around the Hutong area and there is good atmosphere with people often hanging out, talking and enjoying around the main door. Staff was kind and helpful.

Disliked: After 30 days trip in China and more than 12 cities visited, this hostel had the typical problems of a hostel in China: room not to big and with basic facilities, toilet not working perfectly and a little smelly, old room and not best at cleanliness... but as I said, nothing specially bad over what you are gonna find in any hostel around.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Kempson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I could not recommend this place more. Great atmosphere, great guests from all over the world and great value for money. The staff are exceptional, particularly in the bar and reception. Wanted to say a big thanks to Apple and Amy in the bar as they always people very welcome and provide excellent service. I'm living in Beijing now and still go back about once a week to catch up, have a few drinks and meet other westerners.

Disliked: Only non smoking bar in Beijing but that's probably a good thing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Petya Petkova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Petya would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful - the best of all! The atmosphere was nice and the location in the neighborhood.

Disliked: The hostel was near only to one subway station, so the traveling was always with transfers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a great location.

Disliked: Hard beds!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lin zhu

Alone

City break

24 September 2013 lin would recommend this property

Liked: Dragon King Hostel was the best hostel i have been to in Beijing, great location , 10 mints walking from the subway station, very friendly and helpful stuff,and it's very clean, towel is provided which was very thoughtful,very well sound proved , highly recommended

Disliked: the combination of the shower and toilets is awkward then you are using toilet and others are talking shower, not so convenient.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edwin Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Edwin would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms are very clean, with large comfortable beds and towels provided. There is a very nice (if slightly overpriced bar) at the back of the hostel, and they sell cold water at reception.

Disliked: It is rather difficult to find, being on a small unsuspecting back street in what is a lready quite a hard city to navigate. The bathroom was not really adequate for the number of people (although fairly nice) and the tours they operate out of the hostel seemed to be difficult to arrange and pretty expensive (we didn't go on one in the end.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean hostel, decent location, would recommend to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing ad to report

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff, their maps and advice, hot water, aircon, hutong, many restaurants nearby

Disliked: no wireless internet in rooms, you have to go to the common area to use it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orla Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Orla would recommend this property

Liked: It is located literally right beside the subway.it has the feel of a hotel but with All the friendliness and services of a hostel. We changed our dates of stay twice and they were highly accommodating. The great walk tour to Mutanyiu was brilliant.we got cooked breakfast at tge hostel An air conditioned bus with an English speaking tour guide, plenty of time to explore the wall and an excellent lunch at the wall in a restaurant. This was 280 yuan with the entrance fee included. Great value for money. You should stay here!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Raashad Hasan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Booked train tickets for us and tours. Spoke good English and were very keen to help. Cheapish breakfast and free towels! TV in our twin room

Disliked: Rooms were very old and need refurbishment. Bathroom smelt really really bad, toilet often wouldn't flush and wasn't expecting wet room rather than shower cubicle.