HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dragon King Hostel

Hostel | No.78 Dongsi Jiutiao, Beijing, China 100010

91.8% Overall Rating

105 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

"Was a very nice hostel, very friendly and chilled. Bar/food was excellent. All the staff were very lovely and willing to help with anything. One of the best ive ever stayed at, cannot recommend it hoghly enough."

Read all Dragon King Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.42
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
16.21 USD

Hostel 90.7% 75 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
13.78 USD

Hostel 82.5% 170 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lucky Family Hostel
12.97 USD

Hostel 87.1% 168 reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel
12.97 USD

Hostel 83.5% 319 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

105 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragon King Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 107 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Barbuto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly during our stay, offering to translate everything into Mandarin for us such as train tickets so we could buy them ourselves and not get ripped off, and even a free map with locations for tourists circled for us was provided. The hostel has a great atmospehere overall, bunk bed rooms very spacious and we were allowed to transfer into a private section of the 8 bed dorm (there are two beds separated into another room) for no additional charge. Free, clean towels and sheets provided, bar staff were very nice and food was amazing for a hostel although not that cheap, but what can you expect for a "western" restaurant at a hostel, so it was worth the price! The location can be far for some but we found that the street we were on connected to places easily if you were up for a walk and the subway is right around the corner. My fiance and I also loved the computer room since we could go down into the front lobby area when the bar was closed and watch movies on our laptop while not being pestered or worrying about disturbing anyone. The reception was also open 24 hours and always nice! We already have our next stay booked at Dragon King Hostel!

Disliked: Nothing :) Perhaps location for some, but the subway is 2 minutes away and close to other stops.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellen and spoke v good English. Coffee was good and the bar area was excellent well designed and friendly atmos

Disliked: Not much!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with the bar in the main level... Met a ton of amazing fellow travelers. The staff was helpful, cheery and polite. The rooms were clean with a large storage locker. Near good food options and the metro.

Disliked: Just a bit hard to find. We arrived at night and we didn't know the hostel was down a dark alleyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Mason

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: My stay with Dragon King, in a twin private with ensuite bathroom, was amazing. All of the staff speak English very well and are very helpful and kind. The Dragon King has the atmosphere of a hostel (young, friendly staff, and a bustling bar full of social travelers), the amenities of a hotel (daily room cleaning, reasonably priced restaurant on site, etc.), and all at an affordable price. Location was perfect--approximately 200 meters from the metro. There were several good restaurants within walking distance as well. The hostel held a few events while I was there that were very fun. The dumpling party is free and gives residents the opportunity to make and eat their own dumplings. The Dragon Courtyard, a sister hostel just down the road, also put on a Halloween party for the residents. It was so much fun. I HIGHLY recommend the Dragon King Hostel to all travelers and will definitely stay there again if I'm ever in Beijing in the future!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Jeffrey PLATE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Allan Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Attention to detail, nothing is to much ttouble

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Hutchens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013

Liked: It's good value for money and it's located in a local area, which is fun. It was also close to the things I needed in the west side of Beijing.

Disliked: Nowhere to lock your stuff The door didn't lock to my room There seemed to be people always in and out of the room randomly, who were not guests.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Booked for 2 nights, ended up staying much longer. Great hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely consider booking your trains through the reception for a good price and convenience. The other travellers staying at the hostel were top quality too - all seemed very friendly, open and trust worthy. Located right next to the underground line 5 and lots of restaurants and shops.

Disliked: The only downside is the lack of a common room. There is a really cool bar/restaurant downstairs, but you sort of feel like you need to buy something to sit there. Though I did sit there a few times without buying anything and no-one said anything.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jose Daniel Valdivia Navarrete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Jose Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good around the Hutong area and there is good atmosphere with people often hanging out, talking and enjoying around the main door. Staff was kind and helpful.

Disliked: After 30 days trip in China and more than 12 cities visited, this hostel had the typical problems of a hostel in China: room not to big and with basic facilities, toilet not working perfectly and a little smelly, old room and not best at cleanliness... but as I said, nothing specially bad over what you are gonna find in any hostel around.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Kempson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I could not recommend this place more. Great atmosphere, great guests from all over the world and great value for money. The staff are exceptional, particularly in the bar and reception. Wanted to say a big thanks to Apple and Amy in the bar as they always people very welcome and provide excellent service. I'm living in Beijing now and still go back about once a week to catch up, have a few drinks and meet other westerners.

Disliked: Only non smoking bar in Beijing but that's probably a good thing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Petya Petkova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Petya would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful - the best of all! The atmosphere was nice and the location in the neighborhood.

Disliked: The hostel was near only to one subway station, so the traveling was always with transfers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a great location.

Disliked: Hard beds!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lin zhu

Alone

City break

24 September 2013 lin would recommend this property

Liked: Dragon King Hostel was the best hostel i have been to in Beijing, great location , 10 mints walking from the subway station, very friendly and helpful stuff,and it's very clean, towel is provided which was very thoughtful,very well sound proved , highly recommended

Disliked: the combination of the shower and toilets is awkward then you are using toilet and others are talking shower, not so convenient.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edwin Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Edwin would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms are very clean, with large comfortable beds and towels provided. There is a very nice (if slightly overpriced bar) at the back of the hostel, and they sell cold water at reception.

Disliked: It is rather difficult to find, being on a small unsuspecting back street in what is a lready quite a hard city to navigate. The bathroom was not really adequate for the number of people (although fairly nice) and the tours they operate out of the hostel seemed to be difficult to arrange and pretty expensive (we didn't go on one in the end.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean hostel, decent location, would recommend to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing ad to report

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff, their maps and advice, hot water, aircon, hutong, many restaurants nearby

Disliked: no wireless internet in rooms, you have to go to the common area to use it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orla Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Orla would recommend this property

Liked: It is located literally right beside the subway.it has the feel of a hotel but with All the friendliness and services of a hostel. We changed our dates of stay twice and they were highly accommodating. The great walk tour to Mutanyiu was brilliant.we got cooked breakfast at tge hostel An air conditioned bus with an English speaking tour guide, plenty of time to explore the wall and an excellent lunch at the wall in a restaurant. This was 280 yuan with the entrance fee included. Great value for money. You should stay here!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Raashad Hasan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Booked train tickets for us and tours. Spoke good English and were very keen to help. Cheapish breakfast and free towels! TV in our twin room

Disliked: Rooms were very old and need refurbishment. Bathroom smelt really really bad, toilet often wouldn't flush and wasn't expecting wet room rather than shower cubicle.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food wasn't cheap but it was very nice and great quality. The dorms are small but have all you need (lockers and reading light) The staff were VERY friendly and helpful, couldn't fault them!

Disliked: There are very few restaurants around the area. The staff didn't seem to know too much about the area which didn't help in finding something. Some of my laundry was lost but they replaced it without delay. Not much atmosphere in the bar

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice, simple hostel that was quite tidy and clean based in a well situated area of town. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. I chose to go on one of the advertised tours and enjoyed myself immensely.

Disliked: The hostel could really benefit from a social area that isn't the bar/cafe - it was difficult to meet other people or have a nice place to relax. The air conditioning was somewhat useless in my room, but this wasn't a major problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Christian Seiffert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were big and you had room for your luggage.

Disliked: The cleanliness in the bathroom was not that good. The prices for breakfast and drinks were really high compared to other facilities we spent time with. There was no nice room to meet other people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed one night at Dragon King Hostel passing through, but if I ever come back to Beijing I will definitely come back here. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and spoke English very well. The hostel itself was really clean and in a good location- just a short walk to the metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

cedric reculé

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 cedric would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was always helpful. They also provide good tours to the great wall. The rooms were very clean and the food in the restaurant was very good (except for the ceasars salad, which included only salad and tomatoes).

Disliked: Although the hostel is located in a quiet hutong-style street, with a subway nearby, the connection to visit the most important touristic attractions was not that good. Also there were quite alot of problems with the internet when we stayed at dragon king hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people I met! Taking a shower for the first time in two weeks!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, felt very secure, and really friendly staff.

Disliked: Not sure if the bathroom in our dorm was cleaned much during our three-day stay...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hostel itself draws a good number of interesting travelers.

Disliked: Nothing really. It was a really great place.