HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky Family Hostel

Hostel | 12 Xinsi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100007

87.5% Overall Rating

162 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

Victoria Kesselman thinks…

"The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was great too. When we stayed there we met a lot of people, like business man, students, families, travellers... And we stayed hours chatting…"

Read all Lucky Family Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
13.79 USD

Hostel 82.5% 170 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dragon King Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 91.8% 108 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 90.7% 75 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
37.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

162 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky Family Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 140 of 165 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ernst-Jan van Weijen

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Ernst-Jan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great

Disliked: It's old

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, and value

Disliked: Staff very unfriendly. Not very helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, quiet area, good public transport opportunities nearby

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Ponton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is so helpful, the room was really clean.

Disliked: The smell in the bathroom is really strong. The wifi doesn't work sometimes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Victoria Kesselman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was great too. When we stayed there we met a lot of people, like business man, students, families, travellers... And we stayed hours chatting and drinking beer in the common areas. The location was good, there's a subway station 5 minutes walking.

Disliked: The only negative thing was the bathroom cleanleness, but it's not so bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Hynes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, safe, friendly staff

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, quiet environment

Disliked: Some staff.aren't so friendly...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Campbell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: LFH is set back in a lovely, quiet hutong and yet is but five minutes from the metro. It's also about a ten-minute walk from the Confucius and Lama Temples. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, pleasant, and quiet. I loved that all I could hear in my room on the third floor was the wind in the trees.

Disliked: This isn't even a big complaint since it turned out not to be a problem, but if you have a private room with a shared bathroom, there is only one shower, and it's on the second floor. I was told there are bathrooms on the second floor, as well, but I never found them and had to use the one on the first floor instead, which is great for some extra exercise!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anisa Zoubeiri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Anisa would recommend this property

Liked: good place, internet free breakfast

Disliked: Anisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Morina

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and even led us to the hospital cause our son had a conjunctivitis. The location was very good, in the hutong area, 5 minutes from the next subway station and lots of restaurants around. Also very close to the Forbidden City and other monuments. Free breakfast from 7 to 9 am and free tea and coffee all day were very appreciated.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Liam Dye

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common rooms, the shower was warm and with good water pressure.

Disliked: The internet was really poor, web pages took a long time to load.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near some of moslem resaturants and other shops.

Disliked: Hidden in a small street, but actually the location is good, near some subway stations, bus stations, and some markets.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vaclav Tmej

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: It was OK

Disliked: Vaclav left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lidia Bizhik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything. There's coffee and hot water. Free simple breakfasts (toasts, peanut butter, jam and butter), milk and oatflakes. Staff is friendly and people are nice))) The best place so far I am going to come back not once

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work properly but it is a common Chinese problem. Location is good but you need to check the map in advance))

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Anthony

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the hostels I have stayed at with you, I liked this one best! It was a very pleasant experience fro start to finish. It was easy to get to, next tot he metro, clean, breakfast was good, beading was clean and the staff was awesome. It was also FAMILY friendly so no bar or loud music until all hours. Thanks for this place, we will stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location.

Disliked: Old towels.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joy Gee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Joy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, quiet location but close to MTR, Wanfujing and restaurants

Disliked: Common areas were small; WiFi was slow

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teemu Rahkola

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Teemu would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location close to metro and peaceful area. Better to stay here than in busy street... Good choice.

Disliked: Teemu left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 16 days in Beijing- 2 weeks at LFH and 2 nights in a Holiday Inn 4* hotel, where I am a platinum member. At LFH I was within walking distance of everything I needed, met lots of cool travelers, had immensely friendly/helpful staff, and free breakfast, and COFFEE anytime I wanted. This was for $7 per night. In the Holiday Inn ($75/night, luckily I didn't have to pay) I got a really hot room (AC is broken in whole building), no free breakfast or coffee, and far from most things. Next time I'm in town it's probably worth it to me to stay here instead. Lots of really good places to eat at (insanely cheap to very expensive), close to Lama Temple and Confucius Temple, and Chinese Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences. One of best hostels I've stayed at!!

Disliked: A couple nights there was a girl in my room with body odor, but that's not the hostel's fault. She left, luckily.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s central. Easy to get to. nice atmosphere.

Disliked: no nice view.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Location to Zhangzizhonglu station (very close; directions provided were spot on); - Free, if rudimentary breakfast (toast, jam, coffee, tea); - Free hot water - Free wi-fi

Disliked: - Bathrooms dirty - Housekeeping did not change sheets, despite repeatedly leaving the "Please make my room" sign outside my door - Only 1 shared bathroom / shower - Toilet is on the ground floor while the shower is on the second floor (no toilet on the second floor) - One of the staff tried to push an expensive Great Wall tour package instead of explaining how to get to the less trampelled areas on your own steam, for much less money.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Greg Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice guesthouse. Staff very friendly and always willing to help. Superb location, really fun wandering around the hutongs and some great places for a dirt cheap breakfast around there. Near to Ghost Street though we found it to be overpriced, preferred to eat at some smaller cheaper places on the road before you turn into the first hutong. Room was clean and well furnished. Cheap beer!

Disliked: Wet room isn't great - I have no problem with wet rooms but the water just didn't drain away. Shower head desperately needed to be descaled or something as water sprayed everywhere. Common rooms behind closed doors were not ideal but not a huge issue

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything Ok!

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erika carolina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 erika would recommend this property

Liked: all good and love to stay here again if someday i back to beijing

Disliked: bit bored for the breakfast menu only bread and cereal with peanut and strawberry jam

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Picariello

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the metro and bus lines! Friendly staff, plenty of hot water, free breakfast! everythng you need is rght there!

Disliked: location was difficult to find the first night upon arrival but after that no problem.