We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky Family Hostel

Hostel | 12 Xinsi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100007

88.5% Overall Rating

172 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

Jade Joass thinks…

"The staff were very friendly and helpful, answered all of our questions and made us feel very welcome."

Read all Lucky Family Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 82.3% 171 reviews
Ming Courtyard
9.75 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.9% 113 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
42.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

172 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky Family Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 179 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MEI JUN CHEW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 MEI JUN would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and would give you advice on the area you need help to go. They have hairdryer which you can borrow too.There were 2 small common rooms to hang around. It is always crowded at night. My ensuite toilet in the triple room is always clean up.

Disliked: The hutong (alley) to the hostel is dark at night. Can be abit scary. But i am solo traveller and i felt safe. theres abit of transport to get to certain places. I came from beijing south railway. So need to take 3 trains in total. But the hostel is very near to the station 5min walk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Manuel Lopes Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very nice. Lots of foreigners ready to help.

Disliked: Didn't like that they try to convince us to get a very expensive taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Um hostel pequenino, com duas salas de comuns sempre quentinhas. O pequeno almoço é simples mas suficiente, cha, leite, café, banana, aveia, pao, manteiga, manteiga de amendoim e doce. Os lencois e as toalhas estavam limpos. A casa de banho não é muito pratica porque o duche não está dividido do resto e então fica tudo molhado, mas pelo preço que pagámos foi exelente! Com as indicaçoes fornecidas no site conseque encontrar-se facilmente o hostel depois da saída do metro, que fica a uns 5 minutos a pé.

Disliked: Rita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You directly get an impression of Beijing as you step out of the taxi and walk through the Hutongs towards the hostel. Friendly, english-speaking staff at 24h reception, useful information provided also on their board. Perfectly located as well for sightseeing, going out, either by metro or taxi.

Disliked: Breakfast is very continental - but hey, it is free and there is always enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room felt comfy, it was a quiet hostel, good aircondition. Would recommend it!

Disliked: The wifi could definitely be better

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jordan Hreljac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013

Liked: It was in a great location around a subway which made getting around super easy and was even within walking distance to a few of the attractions. The laundry service was great as we gave them our laundry at night and received it early in the morning which was lovely. The staff here are very nice and went out of their way to help us out!

Disliked: Our room was cold no matter what we did and the bathroom was absolutely freezing everytime you had to go in there. We also had a problem with the hot water heater and had to sit in the cold shower while someone came to check it out. He unfortunately said it just took a super long time to heat (and then minutes to use all of the hot water so don't plan on showering after anybody) so he had to bring me to another room while I was dripping wet and in my towel in order to shower. The wifi also kicked out quite often which wasn't very pleasant and the breakfast wasn't anything to write home about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay in Beijing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very good location and friendly staff! Plus for having a breakfast with toasts, some banana, tea, coffee and juice.

Disliked: Maybe the "quality" of the breakfast, but what can you expect when living at a hostel. It's definitely much better than having no breakfast, we ate there every day!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I got a really good rate on my room. I'd paid that much for a nasty place in s slightly better location. There was even a flat screen tv in the room!

Disliked: Nothing, really. It was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kerschbaumer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was so helpful and they knew everything. You can book trips for the three different tourist places for the Great Wall, rent bikes and also a breakfast is included. Compared to other hostel in Beijing renting a bike is cheaper.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, and large clean room. Able to book a great wall tour which was as described and value for money. Common room and free breakfast good with free tea and coffee all day a bonus.

Disliked: Laundry service was pricey. Toilet/shower leaking meaning floor near bathroom seemed spongey/wet underneath.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hutong area was great to stay in, very quiet but only a few steps from the subway, good restaurants and shopping. Handy to the the Forbidden City. The staff were very helpful, arranged tours, tickets to the shows and gave excellent advice on the sights to see. They were always approachable. My thanks to Helen and Vickie. The breakfast was simple and plentiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kirstin Hodgson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Kirstin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a quiet traditional hutong in the Doncheng district. It is quite hard to find and we found ourselves walking around confused for 30 minutes trying to find it when we arrived. The directions from the hostel tell you to go down Dongsishiertiao alley but there are actually several streets called Dongsishiertiao alley, the one you need to go down has a big yellow 'no entry' sign for cars. We booked 2 beds in a 6 bed shared dorm with private bathroom. The hostel wasn't that busy so we actually had the room to ourselves for 2 nights of our stay. The toilet and shower are separate rooms within the room but the sink is actually in the room itself which makes in difficult to wash your hands/face late at night without waking everyone up. The hostel itself was clean and the staff were friendly and spoke adequate English. Breakfast ( toast and jam/peanut butter) was included in our room rate but it was only available from 7-9am which is a bit too early. Wifi was temperamental especially in the evenings and we couldn't get it in our room. The hostel had a number of tours available but we booked our Great Wall trip through Beijing Downtown backpackers as it was cheaper and had better reviews. This other hostel felt better situated (down a busy hutong) and had more amenities, although Lucky Family was away from the main tourist areas and the local food was much cheaper because of this.

Disliked: Kirstin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Geer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpful staff, OK breakfast. The take-away restaurant they recommend is fantastic and is really handy on rainy nights - they deliver!

Disliked: Wifi only worked in half the building. Ours didn't although it should have - we asked many times and they said they couldn't fix it, it only needed to be plugged in. We booked a Great Wall tour with them and it was a serious rip-off. Everyone else on the tour paid 100 yuan less for the same thing. Don't book tours through them - read the information and book yourself.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located inthe hutongs-vers nice atmosphere! Staff is vers friendly and helpful! Although we didn't book a tour with them they offer lots of trips. Nice place to stay! Free tea and coffee 24/7!

Disliked: During breakfast they sometimes ran out of jam or bananas and theere wasn't enough space to seat all the people but hey...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, free breakfast, cheap (and really good) beer. Location is really good, always kept clean. Really good hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa-Sophie Ebers

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Lisa-Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: Lisa-Sophie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good with homely common areas and friendly staff.

Disliked: The shower and doors well worn and didn't work that well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was close to the Metro station, the room was clean and the staff was really friendly and helpful. Of course the free breakfast is very nice!

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find the hostel in the night. But we found it, so it isn't a true negative point.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice, cosy and traveller friendly place, possibly best hostel you can find in Beijing, located in a very quiet hutong district, very close to subway station. Decent breakfast and free coffee/tea is a huge advantage. Would definitely come back when in BJ.

Disliked: Krzysztof left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, good and convenient location, clean rooms, very basic breakfast in the morning - but at least there was a breakfast, it's convenient when you wake up early. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Bathroom was tiny and it was kind of built in the room (behind the matte glass) - actually it was not a problem for us, but some people may find it weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Nascimento

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: good location right near the subway. Friendly staff who are helpful and can write things down for you in chinese (very necessary when booking trains etc!!) Good day trips to the wall, etc. great free toast and coffee in the morning to help you get going.

Disliked: strange bathrooms, really hard beds.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

grainne kilroy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 grainne would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap beer, free breakfast and good WiFi and also computers. Near the subway.

Disliked: It is down an alleyway but does not feel unsafe.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, Clean bathrooms, laundry service, lockers in rooms,free wifi, free breakfast, great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great, the atmosphere really relaxing and the other travellers pretty cool.

Disliked: The bathrooms were in the bedroom with shower and toilet in one room. They are however very clean.