HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky Family Hostel

Hostel | 12 Xinsi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100007

87.1% Overall Rating

166 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

izabela klimaszewska thinks…

"Excellent hostel! It was clean, safe, great location very friendly staff and it was cheap! Absolutely great atmosphere!!"

Read all Lucky Family Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 82.3% 171 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dragon King Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 91.4% 111 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
35.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

166 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky Family Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 171 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I got a really good rate on my room. I'd paid that much for a nasty place in s slightly better location. There was even a flat screen tv in the room!

Disliked: Nothing, really. It was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kerschbaumer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was so helpful and they knew everything. You can book trips for the three different tourist places for the Great Wall, rent bikes and also a breakfast is included. Compared to other hostel in Beijing renting a bike is cheaper.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, and large clean room. Able to book a great wall tour which was as described and value for money. Common room and free breakfast good with free tea and coffee all day a bonus.

Disliked: Laundry service was pricey. Toilet/shower leaking meaning floor near bathroom seemed spongey/wet underneath.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hutong area was great to stay in, very quiet but only a few steps from the subway, good restaurants and shopping. Handy to the the Forbidden City. The staff were very helpful, arranged tours, tickets to the shows and gave excellent advice on the sights to see. They were always approachable. My thanks to Helen and Vickie. The breakfast was simple and plentiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kirstin Hodgson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Kirstin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a quiet traditional hutong in the Doncheng district. It is quite hard to find and we found ourselves walking around confused for 30 minutes trying to find it when we arrived. The directions from the hostel tell you to go down Dongsishiertiao alley but there are actually several streets called Dongsishiertiao alley, the one you need to go down has a big yellow 'no entry' sign for cars. We booked 2 beds in a 6 bed shared dorm with private bathroom. The hostel wasn't that busy so we actually had the room to ourselves for 2 nights of our stay. The toilet and shower are separate rooms within the room but the sink is actually in the room itself which makes in difficult to wash your hands/face late at night without waking everyone up. The hostel itself was clean and the staff were friendly and spoke adequate English. Breakfast ( toast and jam/peanut butter) was included in our room rate but it was only available from 7-9am which is a bit too early. Wifi was temperamental especially in the evenings and we couldn't get it in our room. The hostel had a number of tours available but we booked our Great Wall trip through Beijing Downtown backpackers as it was cheaper and had better reviews. This other hostel felt better situated (down a busy hutong) and had more amenities, although Lucky Family was away from the main tourist areas and the local food was much cheaper because of this.

Disliked: Kirstin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Geer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpful staff, OK breakfast. The take-away restaurant they recommend is fantastic and is really handy on rainy nights - they deliver!

Disliked: Wifi only worked in half the building. Ours didn't although it should have - we asked many times and they said they couldn't fix it, it only needed to be plugged in. We booked a Great Wall tour with them and it was a serious rip-off. Everyone else on the tour paid 100 yuan less for the same thing. Don't book tours through them - read the information and book yourself.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located inthe hutongs-vers nice atmosphere! Staff is vers friendly and helpful! Although we didn't book a tour with them they offer lots of trips. Nice place to stay! Free tea and coffee 24/7!

Disliked: During breakfast they sometimes ran out of jam or bananas and theere wasn't enough space to seat all the people but hey...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, free breakfast, cheap (and really good) beer. Location is really good, always kept clean. Really good hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa-Sophie Ebers

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Lisa-Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: Lisa-Sophie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good with homely common areas and friendly staff.

Disliked: The shower and doors well worn and didn't work that well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was close to the Metro station, the room was clean and the staff was really friendly and helpful. Of course the free breakfast is very nice!

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find the hostel in the night. But we found it, so it isn't a true negative point.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice, cosy and traveller friendly place, possibly best hostel you can find in Beijing, located in a very quiet hutong district, very close to subway station. Decent breakfast and free coffee/tea is a huge advantage. Would definitely come back when in BJ.

Disliked: Krzysztof left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, good and convenient location, clean rooms, very basic breakfast in the morning - but at least there was a breakfast, it's convenient when you wake up early. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Bathroom was tiny and it was kind of built in the room (behind the matte glass) - actually it was not a problem for us, but some people may find it weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Nascimento

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: good location right near the subway. Friendly staff who are helpful and can write things down for you in chinese (very necessary when booking trains etc!!) Good day trips to the wall, etc. great free toast and coffee in the morning to help you get going.

Disliked: strange bathrooms, really hard beds.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

grainne kilroy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 grainne would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap beer, free breakfast and good WiFi and also computers. Near the subway.

Disliked: It is down an alleyway but does not feel unsafe.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, Clean bathrooms, laundry service, lockers in rooms,free wifi, free breakfast, great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great, the atmosphere really relaxing and the other travellers pretty cool.

Disliked: The bathrooms were in the bedroom with shower and toilet in one room. They are however very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: gorgeous little hostel in the Hutongs. the room was really clean and nice, great for our first couple of days in China. the staff were extremely helpful and spoke very good English. great that Breakfast is included. we really enjoyed our stay there.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent breakfast, wide selection of rooms. Snacks, drinks and wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia Felgner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, quiet in a Hutong but close to the Metro. The breakfast is simple, but is it nice to have something in the stomach before starting off :-) The staff is very nice and the rooms are spacious and clean. I will definitely go there again when I am in Beijing!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great value for the money!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

S A

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 S would recommend this property

Liked: The lovely staff! Warm & helpful. The free computers.

Disliked: One toilet & One shower cubicle. No wifi in rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely friendly, it is a great place to stay, near to the subway

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We missed our train to xi'an and returned to the hostel but it was full, so they rang another hostel for us and then one of the staff walked us to the hostel carrying my heavy bag all the way.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Lambert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere- All the staff were lovely and so willing to help. I was waiting for my teaching position to start, and so was travelling alone, but I met amazing new people everyday in the common rooms at breakfast and dinner. At first the surrounding area doesn't look pleasant, but the more you explore, the most beautiful it is. The tiny back streets are filled with traditional Chinese houses intertwined with brand new buildings. It's only a short walk to the subway station, and taxi's from the airport are not expensive. There are loads of lovely, clean little restaurants near by and there are always people at the hostel who will want to eat with you. Free Wi-Fi in the hostel was absolutely fantastic (though sometimes a little erratic) and toast for breakfast was a dream.

Disliked: The communal shower and toilet makes for a fun waiting game. I recommend getting a room with a private bathroom, though the communal facilities are not bad at all. There's hot water in the shower, and a western toilet!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lianne Hollinshead

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Lianne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Great atmosphere nice and chilled great location staff are excellent and speak perfect English very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Nothing