HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky Family Hostel

Hostel | 12 Xinsi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100007

90.9% Overall Rating

145 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Lidia Bizhik thinks…

"I liked everything. There's coffee and hot water. Free simple breakfasts (toasts, peanut butter, jam and butter), milk and oatflakes. Staff is friendly and people are nice))) The best place so far…"

Read all Lucky Family Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 84.6% 166 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 90.1% 98 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.10 USD

Hostel 67.4% 82 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.19 USD

Hostel 90.4% 70 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
32.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
11.34 USD

Hostel 84.2% 318 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

145 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky Family Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 128 of 149 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent breakfast, wide selection of rooms. Snacks, drinks and wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia Felgner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, quiet in a Hutong but close to the Metro. The breakfast is simple, but is it nice to have something in the stomach before starting off :-) The staff is very nice and the rooms are spacious and clean. I will definitely go there again when I am in Beijing!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great value for the money!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

S A

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 S would recommend this property

Liked: The lovely staff! Warm & helpful. The free computers.

Disliked: One toilet & One shower cubicle. No wifi in rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely friendly, it is a great place to stay, near to the subway

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We missed our train to xi'an and returned to the hostel but it was full, so they rang another hostel for us and then one of the staff walked us to the hostel carrying my heavy bag all the way.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Lambert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere- All the staff were lovely and so willing to help. I was waiting for my teaching position to start, and so was travelling alone, but I met amazing new people everyday in the common rooms at breakfast and dinner. At first the surrounding area doesn't look pleasant, but the more you explore, the most beautiful it is. The tiny back streets are filled with traditional Chinese houses intertwined with brand new buildings. It's only a short walk to the subway station, and taxi's from the airport are not expensive. There are loads of lovely, clean little restaurants near by and there are always people at the hostel who will want to eat with you. Free Wi-Fi in the hostel was absolutely fantastic (though sometimes a little erratic) and toast for breakfast was a dream.

Disliked: The communal shower and toilet makes for a fun waiting game. I recommend getting a room with a private bathroom, though the communal facilities are not bad at all. There's hot water in the shower, and a western toilet!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lianne Hollinshead

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Lianne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Great atmosphere nice and chilled great location staff are excellent and speak perfect English very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qinfei Tang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Qinfei would recommend this property

Liked: It's quiet all the day so you can have a good rest here.

Disliked: Qinfei left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qinfei Tang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Qinfei would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, great shower. The hostel is about 5 minutes walk from the subway Line 5. You can find it easily with the direction.

Disliked: Qinfei left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are SOOOO clean! bfast is simple, till ok. there are computers for use (free)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ma. Sonia Pastrana

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Ma. Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful english-speaking staff, free breakfast, nice clean rooms, they upgraded our room to a triple room when we arrived!!! :)

Disliked: The streets going to the hostel is quite dark at night, not enough lights around but it was safe.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near to the subway station 3 minutes by foots. Friendly staffs.

Disliked: I stayed for 6 days total but they didn't change bed linen and bath towel before I checked out. Single room was too small and has no private bath room and no shower. Neighborhood did something and made a big nise from the ealy mornig (4 a.m.) everyday!!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staffs

Disliked: Single room, too small and no private bathroom and shawer. They has not changed a bed linen and a towel before you checked out if you stayed for 3 days, no discout.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

perihan saleh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 perihan would recommend this property

Liked: It's a 5minute walk to the metro even though its in a tiny back street, the staff were so nice, I didn't have their currency to pay the cab, she offered to pay for me as a favor it was lovely. The price is good for the room size (single room) and it was clean with a Tv! They have free coffee n tea all day which I liked. The common rooms were cosy and the whole place is home like :) Over all I give it facilities of a 3star hotel which is pretty amazing for a hostel

Disliked: The bathrooms are limited though I found no problem using them their were always empty. The floors are a bit noisy but the calm street compensates that. The hostel is in a hutong (alley) which means cabs sometimes will drop u off at the Main Street n u walk to the hotel (2mins) but its nice for cultural exposure. I wish they had a bigger sign of their hotel cuz it was hard to find (they said we have red lanterns, I looked for them... Every place has red lanterns so you might need another landmark)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Goran Vogrinc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Goran would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, very nice and friendly!

Disliked: Contruction work going in the same time while I was there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: noisy construction works nearby

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Kellner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very good location and the stuff is very friendly. I stayed there for about 2 weeks and it was a awesome time in Beijing and also in the Hostel. The selection for the breakfast wasn't that much but itt was ok.

Disliked: Nothing ;-) there are no complainings.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Hackett

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: I live near Beijing and have stayed in a lot of hostels in Beijing, this is one of the best i've stayed in for value for money. It is cheap, close to transport links, subway/bus to the Sanlitun area. The free breakfast and all day coffee is an added bonus and the staff were extremely helpful. My mother wasn't allowed carry her bag up the stairs or down the stairs while there and they organised a really nice trip to the wall for us.

Disliked: Only negatives is the lack of atmosphere, and no kitchen. Only food available is breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonja Lindberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and a nice variety of guests.

Disliked: They ripped me off when they ordered my taxi to the airport. I was leaving at 5 AM and they charged 150RMB to order a taxi. The next morning, another couple was leaving for the airport at 5AM also. They put us all in the same taxi, but we all paid separate prices. I was not very happy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position and low cost

Disliked: cleanliness and rooms space

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Conneely

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast, common room areas, warm rooms, friendly staff and quiet location are great.

Disliked: They had to do some sewage maintenance while we were here. Also the shower in our room leaves alot to be desired. To avoid water running into the bedroom, you have to shower on the toilet and the shower head has a massive crack so half of the water flies across the room. But it's warm, so it does the job! What do you expect for €4 a night!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

francois debain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 francois would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice place, breakfast OK, computer are working well, mastress confortable, Bathroom inside the 4 bed room

Disliked: Price are higher that they show on internet and they are aware of that (not very honest). Poor organization (sometime they have to change people to an other room).

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was great. It has two common rooms where guests get to have breakfast, surf the internet (free wifi..signal is a bit weak though), hang out with friends and plan for next days trip together. Very nice decoration and toilets and bathrooms are clean, or so they seem. Local is not bad only about a 3 minute walk from the Zhangzizhong subway station. Free breakfast is provided but with very very limited variety. They provide brollies for guests and free tea and coffee. Overal it's great value for money.

Disliked: 1. staff there tend to get OVERFAMILIARIZED with a few guests who have stayed in their hostel for months on end. So their service has to suffer a bit. 2. A few guests literally LIVE at this hostel for months. They know each other well..so new comers might find their roomates to be a bit exclusive. And some of them are rather loud and keep talking til very late with little consideration as to whether you have to get up the next morning or not. 3. Wifi connection downstairs in the common rooms is fine. But it's awfully slow upstairs. And I don't know why even the website www.google.co.uk is inaccessible when people can access this site throughout the rest of China.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chang Fei Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Chang Fei would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and met a lot friend.

Disliked: Chang Fei left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...