HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky Family Hostel

Hostel | 12 Xinsi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100007

88.0% Overall Rating

160 out of 165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

Victoria Kesselman thinks…

"The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was great too. When we stayed there we met a lot of people, like business man, students, families, travellers... And we stayed hours chatting…"

Read all Lucky Family Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
13.78 USD

Hostel 82.5% 170 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dragon King Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 91.7% 107 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 90.7% 75 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
37.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

160 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky Family Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 140 of 164 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Maria Ramos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Lucia Maria would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a typical location in Beijing, a hutong, where you can feel the local aspect of the Chinese Culture.

Disliked: The common area is not so big and comfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel run by a chinese family. It's located inside a hutong, which is an experience by itself, and yet you always feel absolutely safe walking there, even very late at night. Location is amazing, not because it's close to attractions, but because it has a subway stop about a block away, which is SO comfortable in a city like Beijing. Staff is friendly and attentive, especially the little guy that's sometimes at front desk. Rooms are simple but OK, perhaps a bit small, but everything works just fine. Highly recommended as an inexpensive and friendly spot from which to explore Beijing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chrysi Avgousti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 Chrysi would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly staff, they also organize trips to the Great Wall and visits to shows.

Disliked: Breakast is very basic (toast, butter, jam, tea and coffee), not very good internet connection in our room, a bit noisy at night due to other guests, could be cleaner.. The shower in our room (4 person - private bathroom) was actually a shower head between the toilet and the washing basin without a curtain or any variation of the surface level. so when one person had a shower others had to step in the water when entered the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! the staff were really really nice! we got there early for our check-in and we could hang in the common rooms with free coffee, tea and wifi! Overall a great experience at this hostel :)

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Owen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Lucky Family is a small but cosy hostel, with a great, relaxed atmosphere. Just a 5 minute walk from the subway means that you're connected to the entire city. Felt safe, clean, and peanut butter at breakfast was a big bonus!

Disliked: The one drawback was that the cleaners came in very early to change beds, so a lie-in was out of the question. But when you stay in a hostel you kind of expect this anyway, so it's not a major issue. Plus, as one of the few hostels to boast breakfast, the cleaners make sure you're awake in time!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

London Summers

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 London would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel made my trip truly amazing. Not only were the staff friendly, but the common rooms were just cuzy enough to make friends and hang out, without being to wild. The area around the hostel was fun to walk around.... and a riot on New Years.

Disliked: The breakfast of Toast Bananas and oatmeal was more the sificent, however I feel like Boa is cheap enough in the area that they could buy a load of it each morning and not brake the bank.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the better hostels I've stayed at in China. Our double room had a lot of windows and light.

Disliked: Internet doesn't work well, shower temperature was hard to regulate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and good location (close to big food street and metro). Breakfast (not the best, but its free) and Tea/Coffee all day (also free).

Disliked: When we arrived they said they couldn't give us the rooms we booked, which was quite annoying because we had to discuss with them. At first the wanted to give us rooms in a sister hostel, not as good as this hostel, but we should pay the same. Then they gave us two triples (we booked triple and double). This is a situation we had in several hostels in China. They always try to give you dorms or rooms in sister hostels. Just insist on what you've booked and the will have space for you in the end.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikolas Fischer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Nikolas would recommend this property

Liked: The free Breakfast. You can print your own postcards.

Disliked: The language on the computers is chinese. So it's hard to work with them...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location - walking distance to the forbidden city and ghost street, very helpful staff, free breakfast and coffee/tea, pretty good WiFi in the common rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAI KEUNG CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 WAI KEUNG would recommend this property

Liked: comfy environment, helpful staff and right next to subway

Disliked: n.a.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MEI JUN CHEW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 MEI JUN would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and would give you advice on the area you need help to go. They have hairdryer which you can borrow too.There were 2 small common rooms to hang around. It is always crowded at night. My ensuite toilet in the triple room is always clean up.

Disliked: The hutong (alley) to the hostel is dark at night. Can be abit scary. But i am solo traveller and i felt safe. theres abit of transport to get to certain places. I came from beijing south railway. So need to take 3 trains in total. But the hostel is very near to the station 5min walk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Manuel Lopes Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very nice. Lots of foreigners ready to help.

Disliked: Didn't like that they try to convince us to get a very expensive taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Um hostel pequenino, com duas salas de comuns sempre quentinhas. O pequeno almoço é simples mas suficiente, cha, leite, café, banana, aveia, pao, manteiga, manteiga de amendoim e doce. Os lencois e as toalhas estavam limpos. A casa de banho não é muito pratica porque o duche não está dividido do resto e então fica tudo molhado, mas pelo preço que pagámos foi exelente! Com as indicaçoes fornecidas no site conseque encontrar-se facilmente o hostel depois da saída do metro, que fica a uns 5 minutos a pé.

Disliked: Rita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You directly get an impression of Beijing as you step out of the taxi and walk through the Hutongs towards the hostel. Friendly, english-speaking staff at 24h reception, useful information provided also on their board. Perfectly located as well for sightseeing, going out, either by metro or taxi.

Disliked: Breakfast is very continental - but hey, it is free and there is always enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room felt comfy, it was a quiet hostel, good aircondition. Would recommend it!

Disliked: The wifi could definitely be better

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jordan Hreljac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013

Liked: It was in a great location around a subway which made getting around super easy and was even within walking distance to a few of the attractions. The laundry service was great as we gave them our laundry at night and received it early in the morning which was lovely. The staff here are very nice and went out of their way to help us out!

Disliked: Our room was cold no matter what we did and the bathroom was absolutely freezing everytime you had to go in there. We also had a problem with the hot water heater and had to sit in the cold shower while someone came to check it out. He unfortunately said it just took a super long time to heat (and then minutes to use all of the hot water so don't plan on showering after anybody) so he had to bring me to another room while I was dripping wet and in my towel in order to shower. The wifi also kicked out quite often which wasn't very pleasant and the breakfast wasn't anything to write home about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay in Beijing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very good location and friendly staff! Plus for having a breakfast with toasts, some banana, tea, coffee and juice.

Disliked: Maybe the "quality" of the breakfast, but what can you expect when living at a hostel. It's definitely much better than having no breakfast, we ate there every day!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I got a really good rate on my room. I'd paid that much for a nasty place in s slightly better location. There was even a flat screen tv in the room!

Disliked: Nothing, really. It was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kerschbaumer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was so helpful and they knew everything. You can book trips for the three different tourist places for the Great Wall, rent bikes and also a breakfast is included. Compared to other hostel in Beijing renting a bike is cheaper.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, and large clean room. Able to book a great wall tour which was as described and value for money. Common room and free breakfast good with free tea and coffee all day a bonus.

Disliked: Laundry service was pricey. Toilet/shower leaking meaning floor near bathroom seemed spongey/wet underneath.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hutong area was great to stay in, very quiet but only a few steps from the subway, good restaurants and shopping. Handy to the the Forbidden City. The staff were very helpful, arranged tours, tickets to the shows and gave excellent advice on the sights to see. They were always approachable. My thanks to Helen and Vickie. The breakfast was simple and plentiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kirstin Hodgson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Kirstin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a quiet traditional hutong in the Doncheng district. It is quite hard to find and we found ourselves walking around confused for 30 minutes trying to find it when we arrived. The directions from the hostel tell you to go down Dongsishiertiao alley but there are actually several streets called Dongsishiertiao alley, the one you need to go down has a big yellow 'no entry' sign for cars. We booked 2 beds in a 6 bed shared dorm with private bathroom. The hostel wasn't that busy so we actually had the room to ourselves for 2 nights of our stay. The toilet and shower are separate rooms within the room but the sink is actually in the room itself which makes in difficult to wash your hands/face late at night without waking everyone up. The hostel itself was clean and the staff were friendly and spoke adequate English. Breakfast ( toast and jam/peanut butter) was included in our room rate but it was only available from 7-9am which is a bit too early. Wifi was temperamental especially in the evenings and we couldn't get it in our room. The hostel had a number of tours available but we booked our Great Wall trip through Beijing Downtown backpackers as it was cheaper and had better reviews. This other hostel felt better situated (down a busy hutong) and had more amenities, although Lucky Family was away from the main tourist areas and the local food was much cheaper because of this.

Disliked: Kirstin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Geer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpful staff, OK breakfast. The take-away restaurant they recommend is fantastic and is really handy on rainy nights - they deliver!

Disliked: Wifi only worked in half the building. Ours didn't although it should have - we asked many times and they said they couldn't fix it, it only needed to be plugged in. We booked a Great Wall tour with them and it was a serious rip-off. Everyone else on the tour paid 100 yuan less for the same thing. Don't book tours through them - read the information and book yourself.

The property's response is...