We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Three Legged Frog Hostel

Hostel | 27 Tieshuxiejie, Beijing, China 100052

82.7% Overall Rating

33 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2014)

"Lovely hostel in a traditional chinese courtyard! The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, which is especially rare in china. The staff was very helpful and the nice Swedish owner gave me tons of good advice to…"

Read all Three Legged Frog Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 66.7% 40 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 80.1% 245 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 79.8% 364 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 84.8% 207 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
75.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
40.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 70.4% 268 reviews
WC Hotel
21.12 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

33 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Three Legged Frog Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

06 April 2014

Liked: location and price

Disliked: Very dirty, moldy, sheets were dirt, had grease stains and holes on them, floor has not been cleaned for years there were dead bugs and trash everywhere, bath was a nightmare - not cleaned for a decade, some strange slime everywhere, door was falling apart, toilet water was running during the whole night and making a lot of noise... During the whole week we were there, the was no cleaning, no changing of bed sheets or towels...Nightmare stay....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Location As advertised

Disliked: Wifi not always working, when it did it was slow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel in a traditional chinese courtyard! The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, which is especially rare in china. The staff was very helpful and the nice Swedish owner gave me tons of good advice to go to the Great Wall for cheap:)) I loved the friendly atmosphere in the common room where u can have a drink and also watch cool movies in a giant screen in the evening. My best stay in china so far! I highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff, very friendly. Also the location is ideal. High-speed internet. A quiet courdyard.

Disliked: The rooms are basic, but definitely worth the value.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to Tiananmen Square and easy access to subway.

Disliked: I dont really have anything negative about the hostel. But the air quality in Beijing was really bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Historical features. Nice common area.

Disliked: Wifi only works in common area. At least 1km away from the subway. Bed is rock hard, the hardest throughout my trip. Overpriced drinks. Most of the staff do not speak English.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely courtyard which is nice to sit out in, great location in the hutongs and only a short walk to Tiananmen Square and Quianmen subway

Disliked: Could have been a little cleaner e.g lots of rubbish under the beds and sheets weren't the nicest but generally fine

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cole Roche

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: This is the first time I have ever gotten to a hostel and immediately turned around and left to find somewhere else to stay. The dorm floor was covered in garbage. The toilet was clogged and overflowing and nobody was doing anything about it. The staff was completely unapologetic about this.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Fredrik Boström

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: The courtyard is nice and a good place to hang out and meet other travellers. However, as the rooms are all around the courtyard it can be hard to catch sleep if people stay up partying there. The bar/lounge area is alright, but quite small. The location is ok, it's right at the end of a long pedestrian street full of cheap restaurants and shopping.

Disliked: There's one shared toilet, but it's somewhat hard to find, so guests may presume that the room toilet is the only available option. This may disturb sleeping guests if room mates stay up drinking. It wasn't a problem for us though. Their breakfast is expensive, we always went for steamed buns just across the street. The room was alright but the en suite toilet was dirty, smelly and mouldy, the wooden door had rotten down by the floor. The beds were the hardest we have had during our 4 weeks trip all over China. The mattress was around 5 cm thick and consisted of what felt like straw. The ceiling lamp didn't work until after a few days when they changed the bulb. The cleaning staff emptied the trash bins once a day but that's all the cleaning they did in the dorm, so the floor got really dirty. The last night at 11 pm when a girl was already asleep one guy from the staff came in and started to fix the lock on one of the lockers in the room. He made a lot of noise and later even the manager came in. She switched on the lights and they talked loudly. We don't see the point why the lock had to be changed in the middle of the night and he actually wasn't able to fix it so he gave up and left the locker undone. The staff wasn't at all service minded and just sighed when asked for something. We got the feeling that we bothered them each time we had a question. They also mistook our payments, so if I hadn't calculated myself how much the room should cost, we would have paid too much. One girl of the staff was especially weird and had trouble understanding and being understood and wasn't at all cooperative and just acted really strange. Other guests also had similar feelings about her. We mostly avoided her. Hostel is quite far from the closest metro station which is just south of Tiananmen Square. You easily stroll there, but as most of the attractions are north of Tiananmen Square, it's a lot of walking every day to get to points of interest (if you don't catch a taxi). There are other hostels in the same neighbourhood, and we would have changed hostels if they weren't all fully booked by the time we arrived. The place is alright for a night or so, but we can't recommend it for any particular reason.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Lovely relaxing athmosphere, close to shopping and touristic attractions but still with a true cultural charm. The couryard is great if you just want to rest or hang out with friends and have a beer. You can alo get a beer for a few yen in the reception bar! :) The rooms were clean and the staff was really helpful. The hostel manager is Swedish and speaks both fluent English and mandarin, which is great if you need a translator. She was really helpful and gave us alot of useful tips regarding the culture, prices and how to get the best bargain to what to see and where to go in a large part of China. She used to be a full time tourist guide. She also arranged a tour for us on the Chinese wall, far away from the touristic chaos. Absolutely amazing! 3h walk/climb without another tourist in sight. I can highly recommend this place.!

Disliked: Nothing really. It is not the fanciest place, but I only wanted a cheap an comfortable accomodation. So I got more than I asked for. The best hostel I've been to in Beijing so far.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Ross

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a 10 man dorm, which was very cheap but with 10 people can get a bit loud. Dorm has it's own private bathroom which is clean but could get crowded. Lockers provided are big and staff is great about setting up tours and calling taxis. The courtyard is nice to hang out in. Good location in a rebuilt hutong. Go anywhere off the main street to find some more local food and cheaper services and such.

Disliked: The dorm bed was a little hard. Wifi available in courtyard and lobby but not room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sisse Bertelsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Very nice hostel with friendly staff and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: The beds are hard as rocks! I had to move to another hostel for my last two nights because I was getting a permanent headache. If it wasn't for the beds, I would recommend this hostel any day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private tour was fantastic! We got put into a private 3-bedroom, even though we had booked the 10 bed dorm, without having to pay for the difference. Good location, cute courtyard, and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013

Liked: It is in a great location within walking distance of the forbidden city, Tiananmen Square, restaurants shops and a train ticket booking office and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: As above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fadzli Fauzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Fadzli would recommend this property

Liked: I love the courtyard. You can hang around there with buddies or other fellow travellers but you have to remember to keep the noise level low when it's at night.

Disliked: The internet is only good in the lobby. Would be great if it was good in every room too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIAOTAO LIU

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 XIAOTAO would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice place, perfect location。I also did a Great Wall tour with the hostel that were excellent, no other people only our group !

Disliked: XIAOTAO left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaroslaw Kupisz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Jaroslaw would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, helpful stuff, very good wifi with working Gmail and Google Maps :).

Disliked: There was no real heating system in the room, the only warm air source was air conditioner. We lived in a double with a private bathroom, but the shower room wasn't heated at all... and Beijing was really cold this December. It's a decent place for sleep, but I wouldn't recommend it for someone from warm countries for the Chinese winter.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Camila Fernandes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012

Liked: The location is awesome!

Disliked: The heater would not work. The bathroom was not clean. The bed was horrible. It is ok if the bed is hard. We are in China after all, but the mattress was old and was hurting my back. It is better to be hard and soft and painful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Staffan Hjalmarsson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 November 2012 Staffan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely situated in the hutongs of Beijing.

Disliked: Staffan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, courtyard

Disliked: Stayed in dorm room, beds had no mattress only a mat on a sheet of timber. extremely uncomfortable. had breakfast advertised but when I asked for it the girl at the counter just laughed at me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Norte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: spoke excellent English, great help

Disliked: Tiffany left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katharina Koch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very relaxed hostel, we enjoyed our stay there, just don't expect too much of it. They just had a bad flood there, so electricity was not working all the time and our room was quite moldy. Still the court yard is really nice and the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: The rooms are quite small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Burfitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012

Liked: Helpful staff, some are fluent in english. Really good (great) great wall tour. Location is in a very tourist friendly restaurants, lots of good restaurants and stores.

Disliked: Not many facilities, wifi but no computers, not really a place to hang out, just a decent place to sleep.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Przemyslaw Opalka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012

Liked: Directions description provided by the hostel to take after arrival.

Disliked: Our room, 5 bad dorm, was not cleaned before our arrival and after cleaning it looked pretty the same. The mattress was hard and with bugles, however I managed to fall a sleep after whole day of sightseeing :) There was only one key for the room so other travelers did not lock the room which means the room stayed unlocked for almost all of the time. Aaa and this what I dislike the most was the moisture felt everywhere in the room, it took me 30mins to get used to it each time entering the room. Sad to admit, but this was the worst hostel I ever stayed :( As in most hostels in China the stuff is rather interested to sell their trips than advise how to reach the places on yourown. They were not able to advise how to get to Mutianyu Great Wall, hmm surprising.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Good accomodation at reasonable rates!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.