HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Three Legged Frog Hostel Beijing Hostel

27 Tieshuxiejie, Qianmen, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 77%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 77%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The common area looked excellent, although on my particular stay I had no use for it. Great places, indoors and out, to hang out and chat with people. The manager was friendly enough and knowledgable about what I needed (train stations), the bed comfortable enough. The wifi worked. There was bottled water for sale in the lobby.

Disliked: I think most Chinese hostels combine the toilet and shower into one small room. That and the tile floor right outside made it hard to keep clean and dry.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Great Staff. Lots of fun

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice place to stay. Most of the staff and cleaners are friendly and helpful. Really great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Street was easily flooded in rainy season

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: free wifi, nice communal area, great location. 10 bed dorm was basic but clean and had secure storage lockers.

Disliked: Staff while friendly don't speak great english and aren't overly helpful with answering questions. But equally my fault as i can't speak chinese!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean LocationAs advertised

Disliked: Wifi not always working, when it did it was slow

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway

Liked: location and price

Disliked: Very dirty, moldy, sheets were dirt, had grease stains and holes on them, floor has not been cleaned for years there were dead bugs and trash everywhere, bath was a nightmare - not cleaned for a decade, some strange slime everywhere, door was falling apart, toilet water was running during the whole night and making a lot of noise... During the whole week we were there, the was no cleaning, no changing of bed sheets or towels...Nightmare stay....

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely hostel in a traditional chinese courtyard! The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, which is especially rare in china. The staff was very helpful and the nice Swedish owner gave me tons of good advice to go to the Great Wall for cheap:)) I loved the friendly atmosphere in the common room where u can have a drink and also watch cool movies in a giant screen in the evening. My best stay in china so far! I highly recommend!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the staff, very friendly. Also the location is ideal. High-speed internet. A quiet courdyard.

Disliked: The rooms are basic, but definitely worth the value.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely courtyard which is nice to sit out in, great location in the hutongs and only a short walk to Tiananmen Square and Quianmen subway

Disliked: Could have been a little cleaner e.g lots of rubbish under the beds and sheets weren't the nicest but generally fine

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The courtyard is nice and a good place to hang out and meet other travellers. However, as the rooms are all around the courtyard it can be hard to catch sleep if people stay up partying there. The bar/lounge area is alright, but quite small.The location is ok, it's right at the end of a long pedestrian street full of cheap restaurants and shopping.

Disliked: There's one shared toilet, but it's somewhat hard to find, so guests may presume that the room toilet is the only available option. This may disturb sleeping guests if room mates stay up drinking. It wasn't a problem for us though.Their breakfast is expensive, we always went for steamed buns just across the street. The room was alright but the en suite toilet was dirty, smelly and mouldy, the wooden door had rotten down by the floor. The beds were the hardest we have had during our 4 weeks trip all over China. The mattress was around 5 cm thick and consisted of what felt like straw. The ceiling lamp didn't work until after a few days when they changed the bulb. The cleaning staff emptied the trash bins once a day but that's all the cleaning they did in the dorm, so the floor got really dirty. The last night at 11 pm when a girl was already asleep one guy from the staff came in and started to fix the lock on one of the lockers in the room. He made a lot of noise and later even the manager came in. She switched on the lights and they talked loudly. We don't see the point why the lock had to be changed in the middle of the night and he actually wasn't able to fix it so he gave up and left the locker undone. The staff wasn't at all service minded and just sighed when asked for something. We got the feeling that we bothered them each time we had a question. They also mistook our payments, so if I hadn't calculated myself how much the room should cost, we would have paid too much. One girl of the staff was especially weird and had trouble understanding and being understood and wasn't at all cooperative and just acted really strange. Other guests also had similar feelings about her. We mostly avoided her. Hostel is quite far from the closest metro station which is just south of Tiananmen Square. You easily stroll there, but as most of the attractions are north of Tiananmen Square, it's a lot of walking every day to get to points of interest (if you don't catch a taxi). There are other hostels in the same neighbourhood, and we would have changed hostels if they weren't all fully booked by the time we arrived. The place is alright for a night or so, but we can't recommend it for any particular reason.

Check Availability