HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Three Legged Frog Hostel Beijing Hostel

27 Tieshuxiejie, Qianmen, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Showing 11-9 of 9 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The courtyard is nice and a good place to hang out and meet other travellers. However, as the rooms are all around the courtyard it can be hard to catch sleep if people stay up partying there. The bar/lounge area is alright, but quite small.The location is ok, it's right at the end of a long pedestrian street full of cheap restaurants and shopping.

Disliked: There's one shared toilet, but it's somewhat hard to find, so guests may presume that the room toilet is the only available option. This may disturb sleeping guests if room mates stay up drinking. It wasn't a problem for us though.Their breakfast is expensive, we always went for steamed buns just across the street. The room was alright but the en suite toilet was dirty, smelly and mouldy, the wooden door had rotten down by the floor. The beds were the hardest we have had during our 4 weeks trip all over China. The mattress was around 5 cm thick and consisted of what felt like straw. The ceiling lamp didn't work until after a few days when they changed the bulb. The cleaning staff emptied the trash bins once a day but that's all the cleaning they did in the dorm, so the floor got really dirty. The last night at 11 pm when a girl was already asleep one guy from the staff came in and started to fix the lock on one of the lockers in the room. He made a lot of noise and later even the manager came in. She switched on the lights and they talked loudly. We don't see the point why the lock had to be changed in the middle of the night and he actually wasn't able to fix it so he gave up and left the locker undone. The staff wasn't at all service minded and just sighed when asked for something. We got the feeling that we bothered them each time we had a question. They also mistook our payments, so if I hadn't calculated myself how much the room should cost, we would have paid too much. One girl of the staff was especially weird and had trouble understanding and being understood and wasn't at all cooperative and just acted really strange. Other guests also had similar feelings about her. We mostly avoided her. Hostel is quite far from the closest metro station which is just south of Tiananmen Square. You easily stroll there, but as most of the attractions are north of Tiananmen Square, it's a lot of walking every day to get to points of interest (if you don't catch a taxi). There are other hostels in the same neighbourhood, and we would have changed hostels if they weren't all fully booked by the time we arrived. The place is alright for a night or so, but we can't recommend it for any particular reason.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: This is the first time I have ever gotten to a hostel and immediately turned around and left to find somewhere else to stay. The dorm floor was covered in garbage. The toilet was clogged and overflowing and nobody was doing anything about it. The staff was completely unapologetic about this.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Historical features. Nice common area.

Disliked: Wifi only works in common area. At least 1km away from the subway. Bed is rock hard, the hardest throughout my trip. Overpriced drinks. Most of the staff do not speak English.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place! Lovely relaxing athmosphere, close to shopping and touristic attractions but still with a true cultural charm. The couryard is great if you just want to rest or hang out with friends and have a beer. You can alo get a beer for a few yen in the reception bar! :) The rooms were clean and the staff was really helpful. The hostel manager is Swedish and speaks both fluent English and mandarin, which is great if you need a translator. She was really helpful and gave us alot of useful tips regarding the culture, prices and how to get the best bargain to what to see and where to go in a large part of China. She used to be a full time tourist guide. She also arranged a tour for us on the Chinese wall, far away from the touristic chaos. Absolutely amazing! 3h walk/climb without another tourist in sight. I can highly recommend this place.!

Disliked: Nothing really. It is not the fanciest place, but I only wanted a cheap an comfortable accomodation. So I got more than I asked for. The best hostel I've been to in Beijing so far.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Stayed in a 10 man dorm, which was very cheap but with 10 people can get a bit loud. Dorm has it's own private bathroom which is clean but could get crowded. Lockers provided are big and staff is great about setting up tours and calling taxis. The courtyard is nice to hang out in. Good location in a rebuilt hutong. Go anywhere off the main street to find some more local food and cheaper services and such.

Disliked: The dorm bed was a little hard. Wifi available in courtyard and lobby but not room.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice hostel with friendly staff and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: The beds are hard as rocks! I had to move to another hostel for my last two nights because I was getting a permanent headache. If it wasn't for the beds, I would recommend this hostel any day.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The private tour was fantastic! We got put into a private 3-bedroom, even though we had booked the 10 bed dorm, without having to pay for the difference. Good location, cute courtyard, and friendly, helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is in a great location within walking distance of the forbidden city, Tiananmen Square, restaurants shops and a train ticket booking office and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: As above

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super nice place, perfect location。I also did a Great Wall tour with the hostel that were excellent, no other people only our group !

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very well located, helpful stuff, very good wifi with working Gmail and Google Maps :).

Disliked: There was no real heating system in the room, the only warm air source was air conditioner. We lived in a double with a private bathroom, but the shower room wasn't heated at all... and Beijing was really cold this December. It's a decent place for sleep, but I wouldn't recommend it for someone from warm countries for the Chinese winter.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability