HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Three Legged Frog Hostel Beijing Hostel

27 Tieshuxiejie, Qianmen, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 77%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 77%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Showing 11-13 of 13 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: This is the first time I have ever gotten to a hostel and immediately turned around and left to find somewhere else to stay. The dorm floor was covered in garbage. The toilet was clogged and overflowing and nobody was doing anything about it. The staff was completely unapologetic about this.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Historical features. Nice common area.

Disliked: Wifi only works in common area. At least 1km away from the subway. Bed is rock hard, the hardest throughout my trip. Overpriced drinks. Most of the staff do not speak English.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place! Lovely relaxing athmosphere, close to shopping and touristic attractions but still with a true cultural charm. The couryard is great if you just want to rest or hang out with friends and have a beer. You can alo get a beer for a few yen in the reception bar! :) The rooms were clean and the staff was really helpful. The hostel manager is Swedish and speaks both fluent English and mandarin, which is great if you need a translator. She was really helpful and gave us alot of useful tips regarding the culture, prices and how to get the best bargain to what to see and where to go in a large part of China. She used to be a full time tourist guide. She also arranged a tour for us on the Chinese wall, far away from the touristic chaos. Absolutely amazing! 3h walk/climb without another tourist in sight. I can highly recommend this place.!

Disliked: Nothing really. It is not the fanciest place, but I only wanted a cheap an comfortable accomodation. So I got more than I asked for. The best hostel I've been to in Beijing so far.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Stayed in a 10 man dorm, which was very cheap but with 10 people can get a bit loud. Dorm has it's own private bathroom which is clean but could get crowded. Lockers provided are big and staff is great about setting up tours and calling taxis. The courtyard is nice to hang out in. Good location in a rebuilt hutong. Go anywhere off the main street to find some more local food and cheaper services and such.

Disliked: The dorm bed was a little hard. Wifi available in courtyard and lobby but not room.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice hostel with friendly staff and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: The beds are hard as rocks! I had to move to another hostel for my last two nights because I was getting a permanent headache. If it wasn't for the beds, I would recommend this hostel any day.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The private tour was fantastic! We got put into a private 3-bedroom, even though we had booked the 10 bed dorm, without having to pay for the difference. Good location, cute courtyard, and friendly, helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is in a great location within walking distance of the forbidden city, Tiananmen Square, restaurants shops and a train ticket booking office and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: As above

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super nice place, perfect location。I also did a Great Wall tour with the hostel that were excellent, no other people only our group !

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very well located, helpful stuff, very good wifi with working Gmail and Google Maps :).

Disliked: There was no real heating system in the room, the only warm air source was air conditioner. We lived in a double with a private bathroom, but the shower room wasn't heated at all... and Beijing was really cold this December. It's a decent place for sleep, but I wouldn't recommend it for someone from warm countries for the Chinese winter.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is awesome!

Disliked: The heater would not work. The bathroom was not clean. The bed was horrible. It is ok if the bed is hard. We are in China after all, but the mattress was old and was hurting my back. It is better to be hard and soft and painful.

Check Availability