HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Three Legged Frog Hostel

Hostel | 27 Tieshuxiejie, Beijing, China 100052

82.7% Overall Rating

33 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2014)

"Lovely hostel in a traditional chinese courtyard! The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, which is especially rare in china. The staff was very helpful and the nice Swedish owner gave me tons of good advice to…"

Read all Three Legged Frog Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 66.7% 40 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 80.1% 245 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 80.1% 362 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 84.9% 203 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
74.94 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
43.47 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 70.4% 268 reviews
WC Hotel
21.09 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

33 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Three Legged Frog Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 44 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Petty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: It's great, really friendly, nice and clean, a good courtyard area in the centre.

Disliked: Not much of a late night hostel, all closed up and fast asleep pretty early on.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 July 2012

Liked: good description of the location

Disliked: stinky room and bathroom, bathroom wasn't clean at all. Chinese run hostel are cheaper and cleaner. We booked a double room and got an twin.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012

Liked: Nice Terrace. The Double Room Istayed in was okay.  

Disliked: The room smelled like a wet dog. The staff gave us wrong information about public transport to the airport. (We missed our flight)They were not able to organize a transport to the airport.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clear directions for getting to the hostel, walking distance to the Forbidden City, shampoo and towels provided, majority of the staff speaks perfect English

Disliked: stinky room and bathroom (mould?), bathroom wasn't really clean, no wi-fi in the room (only the common area), very expensive breakfast (25 RMB per person), people were smoking in the inner garden and the smoke gets into the rooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: Pretty good location.

Disliked: Not terrible, but there are several much nicer hostels for the same price (or less!) in the same area that I would choose over the Three Legged Frog...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Andreja Pogacar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Chines standards for cleaninless are very low, this hostel is no exception.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice courtyard, nice staff and longterm residents

Disliked: Fantastic Axolotols in the courtyard pond, but sadly they were killed (changing tanks) during our stay. Very sad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very clean and comfortable rooms.

Disliked: They should organize more events/trips.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gil Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Gil would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just in the middle of BJ, in one of the liveliest hutongs. Staff is helpful and smiling. Very clean compared with other hostels in China and great all-you-can-eat western breakfast deal! Nice quiet courtyard inside where you can read books, and comfy lounge to sit and and talk with other guests. Awesome, non-touristy, great wall tour by the hostel and cool cooking course nearby by peekin' duck.

Disliked: Doesn't have western food apart from breakfast. Some other hostels offer sandwiches or something.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything except the overnite staff..he is not very helpful and appears to not want to be bothered especially when he was watching movies on his computer... i stayed a week as i like it so much....so clean...the girls at reception are most helpful and kind...

Disliked: see above comments on the male overnite staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Harry

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice courtyard for chatting. Set in an authentic hutong (old-style Chinese neighborhood)--authentic in that it wasn't made just for foreigners. However, a touristy area is a 5 minute walk away, for all the souvenirs and the like. A 10 or 15 minute walk to Tiannamen and the Forbidden City; 10 minutes to the subway. Very helpful, Swedish owner; aware of what foreigners want in a hostel. She gracefully helped us in backing up our pictures.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike; owner was very helpful and friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice setting in a hutong courtyard。 Very friendly English speaking staff。Decent location, about 1km from the Qianmen subway。 The hostel offers a good private tour of the Great Wall which is away from the mass tourists groups。 Our group of 10 people pretty much had the Wall to ourselves。

Disliked: The room was not cleaned everyday。 The toilet paper and towels were not replaced。

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice courtyard and interesting area. I'll will definitely come back to this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ben Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Location and dirrections were great. Helpful friendly staff and good value for money.

Disliked: Room was a bit dated and smelly at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Raeker

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quiet, alot of places nearby to eat at, very friendly &, helpful staff, spoke english well, rooms were clean, Free amenities ie.Towels, linens, luggage storage.

Disliked: Typical chinese hard beds.