HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing Hostel

No.6 DengCao Hutong, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 35.48USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: O

Disliked: O

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Well the location is great, and it's a lovely characterful courtyard building, relatively easy to find in an old, preserved hutong. Efficient lady who was in charge (spent a lot of time helping and advising people with their travel plans, train tickets etc... Comfortable beds, expensive but very good coffee. But....

Disliked: .... I stayed here a couple of times three years ago and it was just better then. The friendly owner was always around and the staff seemed a lot more sociable. This time the atmosphere just wasn't there, and it just didn't seem very busy, despite a lot of the rooms being full. One of the great things they used to do was do a free breakfast for everyone. That had the effect of getting everyone to the big shared table around the same time, then people would make plans for the day, or plan to meet in the evening for dinner. I understand it costs money for the sort of breakfast you used to do, but baozi and green tea cost next to nothing and it would make for a good start to the day. Plus, now a lot of hostels have much better equipped rooms - ie. individual sockets, lights etc, even in the old buildings I've stayed all over China; the paintwork on the beams and bed frames in the dorm I was in was peeling, under the bed was so dusty.... Sorry but based on how good it was before, I just can't give a better score....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was beautiful. Like stated by some other reviewers, it was a little hard to find at first but if you ask around, people can lead you the right direction, and it is easy to find later on. It was very clean and cozy. The staff was friendly from the start and helped me with all of my needs (I had lots of questions). They helped me research things for the Great Wall without me even asking, they helped me figure out Metro stops, how to get to the airport, etc. They were very kind and hospitable. The room was great as well. I stayed in the female dorm but had the room to myself for two nights. The beds were so comfortable that I slept better than I do at home! The only complaint was that the first night the AC in one room was broken so I had to take the second-choice room/beds, but they fixed the AC the following day. My only complaint is the guests who checked in at 2am and kept me up until at least 3. Of course, that isn't the hostel's fault. They have many snacks and other services offered for an amazing stay. I would stay here again and recommend it to a friend.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staffs are very friendly and helpful and made my feel it's my home in Beijing.

Disliked: maybe the bathroom can be cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff. Clean and really comfy beds.

Disliked: Drains in bathroom smell a little.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hutong charm! Staff goes above and beyond to help you.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Beautiful, traditional place to stay. The ladies who worked there were incredibly helpful and couldn't do enough to help us find bank/travel agency/restaurant.

Disliked: Under the bed didn't seem that it had been cleaned in months - it was thick was dust and fluff. The room was also quite drafty as there was a crack between the window and wall but we had a heater that warmed up the room in about 45 mins.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel is very clean and and the staff is extremely helpful.

Disliked: It was kind of hard to find. On the site it says you'll find it by seeing big red doors but there are big red doors everywhere! I came during the day time so I can only imagine it would be very difficult trying to find this place at night.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location but very difficult to find. Helpful staff

Disliked: They over charge for tours, other hostels are cheaper and the breakfast included is McDonald's. they also charge a lot for breakfast, no vegetarian option, and do not clean the rooms well. For the price there are much nicer hostels in Beijing.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and the character of the property.

Disliked: Attitude of the staff, lack of help and lack of facilities. The staff here were even unable to book a taxi for me to go to the airport very early in the morning - I therefore had to go out onto the main street (a fair walk through the hutongs) at 0500 to find my own taxi. This was despite the fact that I had repeatedly asked for a taxi to be booked to take me to the airport - I first asked 2 days before I needed it. The room was also incredibly dirty - unusually dirty.


The property's response is

Dear Charlotte: are you sure you left the review to the correct Hostel? we are Fly by Knight Beijing, reading from your comment, I think that it might be a mistake review, thank you.

Check Availability