HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fly by Knight Courtyard

Hostel | No. 6 Dengcao Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100010

87.7% Overall Rating

108 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Chia Yu Lin thinks…

"the staffs are very friendly and helpful and made my feel it's my home in Beijing."

Read all Fly by Knight Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Spring Time Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 84.3% 321 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
161 Hostel
21.58 USD

Hostel 94.2% 53 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 91.4% 111 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 79.7% 93 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

108 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fly by Knight Courtyard'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chia Yu Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Chia Yu would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are very friendly and helpful and made my feel it's my home in Beijing.

Disliked: maybe the bathroom can be cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Noleen Loughran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Noleen would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Clean and really comfy beds.

Disliked: Drains in bathroom smell a little.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kasztejna

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great hutong charm! Staff goes above and beyond to help you.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helen Elmore

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, traditional place to stay. The ladies who worked there were incredibly helpful and couldn't do enough to help us find bank/travel agency/restaurant.

Disliked: Under the bed didn't seem that it had been cleaned in months - it was thick was dust and fluff. The room was also quite drafty as there was a crack between the window and wall but we had a heater that warmed up the room in about 45 mins.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean and and the staff is extremely helpful.

Disliked: It was kind of hard to find. On the site it says you'll find it by seeing big red doors but there are big red doors everywhere! I came during the day time so I can only imagine it would be very difficult trying to find this place at night.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013

Liked: Good location but very difficult to find. Helpful staff

Disliked: They over charge for tours, other hostels are cheaper and the breakfast included is McDonald's. they also charge a lot for breakfast, no vegetarian option, and do not clean the rooms well. For the price there are much nicer hostels in Beijing.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013

Liked: Location and the character of the property.

Disliked: Attitude of the staff, lack of help and lack of facilities. The staff here were even unable to book a taxi for me to go to the airport very early in the morning - I therefore had to go out onto the main street (a fair walk through the hutongs) at 0500 to find my own taxi. This was despite the fact that I had repeatedly asked for a taxi to be booked to take me to the airport - I first asked 2 days before I needed it. The room was also incredibly dirty - unusually dirty.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aisling Bird

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: Let's get the technical stuff out of the way first - western toilet (you'll be glad of these once you've encountered the 'squatty potty'), spacious room (myself and my boyfriend were in a twin room), amazingly comfortable beds, air conditioning, quiet atmosphere at night. The hostel is located in the Dencao Hutong which is centrally located to restaurants, shops and the Dongsi subway line, which in turn is centrally located to a lot of the main attractions (Beijing is massive so it still takes awhile to get around). As for the personal experience, we loved it. Daniel and the staff were so nice and helpful. Any questions we had were answered. Just in case you wanted a taste of home, breakfast was a western styled fry and was a great way to start the day. We had kung fu lessons at the weekend in the courtyard so for a martial arts nut (make that two), it was an amazing way to finish our stay in China. We went home happy! The hostel had a wide range of customers, from families with babies to older couples, singles and the younger travelling couple like ourselves. I would certainly recommend it and definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Aisling left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful and their English was really good - I can compare to other hostels and Hotels in China and they were surely among the best. Also, the place is very neat and clean. The female bedroom (6 beds) is really nice. Drinks, breakfast, maps, tours can be purchased at/through the Hotel. The Location is great - Walking distance to most inner City sights (although might take 30-60 minutes by feet). There are lots of nice, very local and affordable places to eat around. Around ten minutes to the next Metro Station and half an hour Walking distance to the rail Station. The courtyard is great for community - everyone's out there and since you share tables you get into conversations easily.

Disliked: Unfortunately our shower head in the private bathroom fell off, but there is still the common shower that is huge (admittedly, you have to go through the courtyard to get to the common shower). Also, the bathroom has been worn off on the edges, but still clean in comparison to other places.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sok Nee Lim

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: Quite

Disliked: For the same value i can get even a better courtyard hostel such as decorations wise, more classic and more ancient feels.... At the same area Dongxi... The price is kind of expensive and not worth of that kind of pricing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and cleanliness

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joern Binnewies

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 June 2013 Joern would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed by the atmosphere of the historic building and the friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Joern left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bregtje Venema

As a family with children

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Bregtje would recommend this property

Liked: It was a GREAT place to be!!

Disliked: Bregtje left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Vikström

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 June 2013 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The greatest experience in a bussy city like Beijing. Kind and helpful staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast and nice environment in the surrounding neighburhood. I would recomend this hostell for everyone.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013

Liked: Easy to get talking to other guests. Cleaner than most hostels in china.

Disliked: The staff were very friendly but there seemed to be more staff members than guests, and sometimes there would be nowhere to sit in the common area by reception because of all the staff playing on their laptops. Also, one staff member tried to claim that an ipad left by a guest belonged to her - when he returned for it, she said "oh we were just wondering whose that was." Hopefully this was just an isolated occurrence! The drain in the dorm bathroom was very slow so showering would fill the bathroom with water for a long time. The computer doesn`t have a soundcard so you can`t use skype. The tour to the wall was overpriced at the hostel - other guests on the same tour who had booked via other hostels had paid 100 RMB less for the same thing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and extremely helpful staff

Disliked: The lack of kitchen for guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever! Really great location in Beijing city, easy to get to every where with the city subway. The rooms are super clean, friendly service. Travelers are nice and mature here, had great time meeting people. I will come back here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No complaints!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Johnson

Alone

City break

14 April 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, they give you a free cooked breakfast too :) They will help you book a tour to the Great Wall (one that doesn't involve endless shopping stops - which is very common on other tours). The Courtyard style is quite unique! I was very impressed.

Disliked: Bit of a walk from the subway. Some of the lights need fixing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik van Kerkhof

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, clean, nice beds, no complaints

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yee Kai Poo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Yee Kai would recommend this property

Liked: If you are reading this and thinking whether you should be booking this hostel, well then go on and read this and here's why: this is quite possibly not just a hostel, but an institution into which one can learn about the Beijing way of life as well as bits of China. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the area in Beijing. Place is clean, I mean very clean, the courtyard is a lovely place and the common area was one place where we had excellent conversations about the philosophical notions of life, modern culture, international relations and so on. If you want a place to stay, close the page and book another place. If you want an experience, go on and book it. My only disclaimer would be that you have to be a fun loving person.

Disliked: Yee Kai left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013

Liked: The staff were amazing, the property was so sweet, the breakfast was...funny but filling.

Disliked: Tea and coffee should be free

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ching Ching Tse

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Ching Ching would recommend this property

Liked: You can meet people all around the world as there is a nice common area. Staff are nice.

Disliked: A little far from the subway station.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful,oldchinesestyle

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is easily one of the top ten hostels in the world, at least for me. Lots of detail thoughts, really caring services, three or four times a day they clean the room and toilets to maintain cleanness and quality. Great building and beautiful rooms. Lots of culture. I am surprised that they are not on lonely planet yet! Best hostel in china for sure!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.