We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fly by Knight Courtyard

Hostel | No. 6 Dengcao Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100010

87.7% Overall Rating

108 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Chia Yu Lin thinks…

"the staffs are very friendly and helpful and made my feel it's my home in Beijing."

Read all Fly by Knight Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.74

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Spring Time Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 84.3% 322 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
161 Hostel
19.44 USD

Hostel 94.4% 54 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 90.6% 118 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 81.6% 98 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

108 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fly by Knight Courtyard'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuntung Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 May 2012 Yuntung would recommend this property

Liked: First impression is beautiful house. really beautiful, nice, and very stylish. and then I see it's very clean as well as friendly. In fact I am surprised to see such a good quality hostel in China. They also have the best beds and common area that I have stayed in. It is not a typical party hostel and all other travelers are very mature and nice to talk to. it has a very easy going vibe. I love it, and I recommend everyone to book early, because they are always full.

Disliked: I originally booked for the hostel for just one night, and hope to stay longer, but when I extended I found out that they were full so I can only extended 2 nights, and moved to a different hostel nearby. I wish that they have more beds for travelers who like to experience first then decide.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2012

Liked: Having really easy subway access Being in a Hutong was really interesting and there were lots of food options to eat the way the locals eat (although be warned that the Beijingers eat a lot of greasy food) There is a supermarket store with lots of local AND international items close by

Disliked: No shoes in the room - this would be easier if the bathroom floors weren't always wet! The showers are in the bathroom (not in an enclosed part of the bathroom) so the floors to the toilet and sink are almost always wet. They refused to provide an extra towel to dry these areas. Plus "no shoes" is hard when it's COLD in the rooms. All the noise! A lot of the comments about this hostel talked about it being quiet, but when I was there, it was only quiet until about 9 PM and then it was really noisy 9 PM - 2 AM on 3 of the 5 nights I was there. A lot of the staff did NOT speak good English. No one seemed to be able to help with bus routes so I often had 30 minute walks to get back to the hostel or back to the subway when I ended up in places not near the subway (such as Forbidden City exit)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jing Yang

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Jing would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed, nice staff!

Disliked: Should get a T V in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ada Ip

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 April 2012 Ada would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, friendly and very helpful staff.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The morning after booking this hostel I had a friendly and personal email from Daniel, the owner. This was reassuring. Throughout my stay Daniel and his staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Fly by Knight is the perfect balance between the special atmosphere of a more up-market hutong-style hotel but with the friendliness and informality of a hostel. This suited me very well and I'm sure would suit others. It's a beautiful small, traditional courtyard property with character and atmosphere. As good as I'd hoped in every respect. It was reassuring that the reviews I read did indeed describe well the very good experience of staying at this place.

Disliked: The room was smallish with not much room for hanging clothes, but this is to be expected from such a traditional property. There is also a rather public feel because all the rooms face into the courtyard, but again this is part of the hutong experience (but perhaps not the place for a romantic hide-away!). It made me think of what traditional life was like living this way!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ade Ary Simatupang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Ade Ary would recommend this property

Liked: It's really clean.

Disliked: I was told by Garret that if we want to shower, we could use the shower inside, although, it is a bit weird as the shower and the toilet are in the same small area with glass partition separating them from the washbasin and the mirror. Moreover, there was no hot water from the shower outside. So, we used the one inside. But, on our last night, there was this guest (new roommate) complaining about how the tissues were all wet because we used the inside shower. I was gone when she complained but my cousin was there. And Garret just turned off the heater of the shower inside. It became very inconvenient for us as we need the hot water to shower. And, no one in the hostel had the courtesy to inform us about it. That is why we left really early in the morning as we felt uncomfortable with the situation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristy Kure

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Kristy would recommend this property

Liked: Its charm of its historic Chinese architecture and style.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about except that it is not easy to find the first time visiting at night due to the lack of street lighting in the area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keith MARTIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Although I have stayed in hostels all over the world, this is my first experience of hostels in China and I can't praise this place too highly. The six-unit dormitory was spotlessly clean with its own en-suite shower and toilet facility. The linen was as crisp and as clean as I have had anywhere and the staff are quite simply outstanding. This has really set the bar for the other hostels I will be staying in on this trip. I believe I have quite possibly already stayed at the best . . .

Disliked: No negative comments at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull and kind!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

PRAPHAT CHUNGYAMPIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 PRAPHAT would recommend this property

Liked: the great to stay here with helpful staff. and environment quite good with unique place. another services are good

Disliked: quite far from the subway. i walked along with tried i throught this is a quite bad point for this hope more than 15 mins to arrive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a wonderful place to stay. The siheyuan (old Chinese house) is beautiful and the surrounding hutongs are a great insight into life in Beijing. The staff are the most patient and helpful hotel staff I have ever come across and they even anticipated our needs (eg. they gave us a free mobikle phone to use during our stay which made a HUGE difference). The rooms are very clean and the bed is more comfortable than my bed at home. One of the best hotels I have stayed at

Disliked: I hate to say anything bad but the bathroom can be a bit whiffy because it is in an old hutong with old plumbing. But if you make sure you plug up the basin and bath sinks and close the toilet lid it is not a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Edgar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. As soon as you walk in you're a friend. The hutong location is amazing, real Chinese life happening around you. Rooms are clean and spacious. How much do I write, it was just a pleasure to stay there.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I picked this hostel because of its rating and introduction, and I am happy about my choice. I can not imagine a better hostel in Beijing, or in CHINA. it is easy to find, staff are friendly, and really, really clean rooms. I want to bring their comforter home because it's the MOST comfortable one I have ever seen. the free breakfast definitely added their value, I am glad to have some real breakfast in Beijing. and oh my god their coffee, I am so glad to have good coffee again. I can not wait to go back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Jennings

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were a great help, and the communal area, especially at the free breakfast was a great spot for catching tips from other travellers. The hostel also has an old world charm.

Disliked: Just a warning to other travellers, it is hard to find but we had organised a pick up through the hostel from the airport so the taxi driver dropped us at the right spot. Once you find it once you should be okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so clean! I've never seen a hostel so clean as this before. located just a short walk from the subway this is an authentic courtyard in a traditional hutong neighborhood - great setting for their FREE kung fu classes. really comfortable beds and quiet neighborhood make for a great nights sleep. 24/7 hot water is a plus. also free breakfast in the morning is a great way to start the day. Cannot say enough about this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great traditional courtyard in great location at the center of Beijing, with lots of character. Dorm room was nice and warm at night to sleep, and the beds are so soft and comfortable! Super clean as well. The breakfast is included and is very filling. The staff are so friendly and will help you with anything, I tell all my friends about this place!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tony Bonnaud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location 5 minutes from Dongsi subway station. Traditional hutong courtyard house with character. A roof to dry clothes in the winter sunshine! Unusually good cooked breakfast and proper coffee included.

Disliked: Very cold rooms, everyone wearing coats even in the only public space (breakfast room). There are radiators but they were not in use; a tiny electric heater didn't cut it when it was -10℃ outside and bedroom doors open to the outside with 1cm gaps in the door.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to stay in an organised and authentic Hutong hostel with friendly people. A good price in a clean hostel with a cooked breakfast and good facilities.

Disliked: It was pretty cold using a bathroom in another room (the one in the dorm was broken) and unless you are under the covers also cold in the dorm. You cant have everything I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Hardy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is damned fine! it has comfortable beds and brilliant staff (great english). Everything is kept clean and they provide some free food (breakfast, some snacks). Stayed over christmas and they put on a massive christmas dinner. Definately stay here if travelling to Beijing.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Vande Cotte

Alone

City break

04 January 2012 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: - Friendly staff - Close to a metro station

Disliked: - As it's winter, the rooms are very cold. We had a little heater AC but it couldn't really heat the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They don't get amazing reviews for nothing, definitely the best hostel in China! Good location in traditional hutong, feels like you are living among the locals. Friendly team of staffs that not only help with your questions but look after you as part of the family. Comfortable, clean and cosy warm room that makes the cold winter of Beijing a lot more bearable. Will definitely return and recommend to all!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Set in a traditional house hidden in the small preserved alleyways of the Hutong Area, the hostel is a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of Beijing. The hostel is small enough to feel familial but has all of the resources of a large hostel. Good internet connection, plenty of movies to watch and books to read, hot water 24/7, very comfortable beds, both cold and hot drinking water, and a filling breakfast each morning. Daniel and his staff are extremely helpful and nice, willing to call and make any type of reservation for you and answer any questions you might have. They also look out for all of the visitors. Without me asking, one of the staff members warned my tour guide to the Great Wall that I was allergic to peanuts (which proved very useful during lunch) and I was even invited to partake in a farewell lunch for one of the staff members. One of the best hostels I've ever been too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tyson lovett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 tyson would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 2 months in china and I can honestly say, fly by knight hostel Daniel, Tina and all of the staff were the shining gem of my hosteling experience. It's not that other hostels in China were bad, its just that fly-by-knight is that good. It is the perfect place to come home to at the end of the day. They offer travel advice, will assist in booking tickets (not all hostels will) and you'll always feel welcome.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, friendly and hospitable. The location is in the old part of Beijing, just about 20 minute brisk walk to Forbidden City. Rooms are very clean, very comfy beds, clean ensuite, strong shower and radiator heating, which is important in winter... they seem to AC for summer also. We also hired bikes which was a great way to get around. There is a free internet access also...

Disliked: The common area is small- but since we were out all the time, it didn't really matter to us. The bedroom could have a closet ( wardrobe) in it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Acton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and understanding, the staff are looking out for you and welcome you into a beautifully and sensitively renovated hutong courtyard hotel. A wonderful place to meet fellow travellers, great recommendations for food. Clean, comfortable and secure. Daniel and his team go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Disliked: Nothing, although free wifi to rooms would be nice but is available in communal area.