We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fly by Knight Courtyard

Hostel | No. 6 Dengcao Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100010

87.7% Overall Rating

108 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Chia Yu Lin thinks…

"the staffs are very friendly and helpful and made my feel it's my home in Beijing."

Read all Fly by Knight Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.74

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Spring Time Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 84.3% 322 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
161 Hostel
19.44 USD

Hostel 94.4% 54 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 91.1% 116 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 81.6% 98 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

108 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fly by Knight Courtyard'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

geoffrey roberts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, welcoming, helpful with advice,suggestions for bus, tube and, if they didnt know the answer, they were great at trying to find it online or through contacts.

Disliked: nothing disliked

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012

Liked: Situated in the Hutongs, the property had bags of character. You really got a feel of living in real China. The staff were friendly and enthusiastic.

Disliked: FIrstly, the hostel was not well sign posted and was difficult to find despite being able to read English and Chinese. We found out upon arrival that the price displayed was price per person, not per room, which doubled our cost. The problem with courtyard hotels is that our room was right beside the courtyard and we got to hear every conversation that kept us up until very early hours in the morning. Breakfast was included, but small and poor. It consisited of 1 hash brown, 1 bacon , 1 small sausage and an egg. The vegetarian option was the bacon and sausage scraped off the plate. We had a private bathroom and this was simply dangerous. There was a live socket just above the shower head and the water tank was right above that. Anyone could be electricuted from this - I'm not sure what the Chinese regs are, but common sense could see that this could cause a fatality. I hope that this hostel is able to take this comment seriously.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, also the location is nice.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harald Buchmann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2012 Harald would recommend this property

Liked: Great Kungfu classes every weekend for free. Very lovely renovated traditional courtyard in an area where people live the traditional Hutong life rather than touristic shops. The common area closes around 11pm, which is great to get some good sleep at night.

Disliked: It's more for the mature traveller who cares about culture, Chinese traditions and history, rather than the party-person who mostly wants to get drink beer and chat with travellers all night long.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Hyduk-Kiefer

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Daniel, the manager, and all of his staff were friendly doing everything possible to ensure your stay was enjoyable. Arrangements were made to visit the Great Wall and attend a Kung Fu show. Suggestions were given for places to enjoy a meal and also find a grocery store. The private rooms were wonderful-we booked rooms for my husband and I and our two adult children. The beds were unbelievably comfortable. The decor was wonderful as well. We met many interesting people while we enjoyed our stay. The Kung Fu lessons were fun too.

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSUAN WU

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2012 HSUAN would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy and warm hostel with friendly staff and great travelers.

Disliked: HSUAN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super cute, full of character, and completely clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christine Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice and is like a retreat out of the busy Beijing. It is nice to stay in a Hutong and you have lots of restaurants, shops around as well as seeing the local people in their neighbourhood. The staff is friendly and there is a relax atmosphere although some of the staff English is minimal but that makes it fun. I met some great people around the dinning table or outside in the main courtyard.

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach my room but this is not major and the fact that it is difficult to stay late at night talking in the courtyard as you are near to other bedrooms. But overall it was great hostel to stay and I would recommend it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the traditional atmosphere of the courtyard house. Daniel, Tina, and company were super friendly and helpful with arranging activities in and around Beijing. There is a real sense of family and community among the travelers, but also enough comfort for those accustomed to a hotel (I usually stay in hotels for privacy and comfort, but am glad I made an exception in this case). I even took a free Kung Fu lesson! I would highly recommend Fly By Knight to travelers looking for a "home away from home" in the hectic environment of Beijing.

Disliked: I understand most hostels require you bring your own towels, which is not the case with Fly by Knight--which was good, because I didn't bring any! I would recommend to bring slippers or some indoor wear, since they have a "shoes-off" policy in the guest rooms but don't provide disposable slippers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A charming place to stay with a very good atmosphere and many many small and thoughtful touches. An oasis in the center of Beijing. We travelled with a 9 month old baby and everyone was very helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: There isn't much to dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -great location, great people running it, great atmosphere! -staff goes the extra mile each time you need it (help with laguage, shower well after checkout). -no hesitation to fully recommend it!

Disliked: -a bit on a pricey side (card payment option would be welcome!)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The courtyard style gives a very nice feeling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maija Zvirbule

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Maija would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was located in a fantastic old courtyard in the hutongs. Had very good internet access and even served free breakfast, if you wake up early enough. Very clean, nice atmosphere, helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing really, but might be a bit hard to find at first, though impossible to get lost once you find it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: placeholder

Disliked: placeholder

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Naomi Murphy

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and relatively easy to find.The hostel is located in the quietest area Ive stayed in,in Beijing,and thus I had a fanatastic nights sleep and also due to the fantasticly soft beds!The staff were extremely friendly and helpful,they booked my train ticket from Beijing to Hohhot and I recieved it the same night...superb,the manager,Daniel,was extremely good and organised and the whole feeling was one of care,consideration and a casual laid back chill to the mornings and evenings,the breakfast was very good and I liked the communal feel to the breakfast and the chatter between new and old friends alike.

Disliked: Nothing really,its a wonderfully quiet,relaxing and beautiful place.No dislikes at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels that I've ever been to. It's quiet, realxing and very friendly, and the staff help you with everything that you need. I made friends and had a lot of fun. Excellent location in the centre of Beijing but tucked away in a quiet location. And the hostel itself is beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing at all. Wish I could have stayed longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the most clean hostel I have ever stayed at. and it's really nice and quiet. I always get good night sleep here, and all travelers are very friendly and mature. good location, close to subway, nice local hutong. great tastes in decoration and many authentic display of Chinese culture/arts. also, very happy to wake up with full breakfast. also the good coffee machine they have is a nice touch.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the hutong was amazing and the beds were very comfortable for china. Also it was a great hostel to meet many different people. The common areas, the bathrooms and the rooms were modern and new which was really nice to see.

Disliked: No wifi in rooms, but that seems to be pretty common in most hostels. Also the breakfast was rather small and had a lack of variety.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nikky Tsang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Nikky would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were really friendly and extremely helpful. Dorms and common area were clean. no need for a kitchen as there are plenty of food shops close buy offering cheap and tasty food. Really liked that they set you up with other travellers in the hostel to go to the great wall, a section not as touristy as badaling.

Disliked: My bed was really creaky and the person sleeping above was trashing about so it kept me up, but that's hardly the hostels fault. I guess just fix the creaky bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very well-maintained, authentic houtong. Staying there turned my hostel experience back into positive after staying at others in China. All the guests were nice and respectful and I think that the place brought about this.

Disliked: no dislikes!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing property in an authentic chinese hutong house. You have to walk through the hutong which is great. Beds are super soft and comfy, towels are massive and awesome, staff is friendly, breakfast is tasty, wifi is good.

Disliked: Sometimes it can take a bit of time to get to where you're going since you have to walk 5-10 minutes or so to get to the main street and more like 10-15 minutes to get to the subway, but usually it's nice walking through the hutong anyway. Can't really hang out in the evenings since the sounds travels far within the area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The courtyard is set in a quiet Beijing hutong and provides a uniquely beautiful home to return to after trekking across the giant city. The traditional Chinese architecture is only part of the cultural draw since the hosts have also created and encourage an appreciation for the art of Kungfu with free Kungfu lessons for those interested. One of my favorite parts of my trip to Beijing was sitting in the courtyard enjoying the cool breeze with a good book or fellow travelers. Having come from another large city in China, it was surprisingly quiet at night and the other travelers were respectful and friendly. This was encouraged by the relaxed tone set by the owners and and workers themselves. I enjoyed conversation with both the hosts and other guests and joint travel ventures were encouraged by the hostel. If they don't already know how to get where you want to go they will gladly help you figure it out. The hostel is only a 5 minute walk from the Dongsi subway station (I found this the easiest/most affordable way to get around the city) and has both Chinese and Western food restaurants available around the block. Other positively practical things included how clean the rooms were, as well as the amazing mattresses! I could not have slept better. I was also very glad femal dorms were offered for the privacy aspect. Breakfasts were good, basic and full of protein. It was nice not to have to scavenge for food every morning and were definitely an added value to the price of the stay.

Disliked: Although rather slight, the only suggestion I would have would be to remind/explain to guests upon arrival all of the services offered (or give them a list). There was a lot there that I gradually figured out during my stay. Ex: can book masssages, requesting to have your breakfast made in the morning, etc, etc, etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Patricia Isidoro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The house is very beautiful and it is a nice place to meet people.

Disliked: They ask to take our shoes before going into the room but the floor is not that clean. So this is not pratical.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hsiao Wei Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Hsiao Wei would recommend this property

Liked: This place is beyond excellent!! Location is perfect for us, 10 to 15 min distance to most of sites. Spotless room, and they have so many bathrooms to share (and clean!!!!), I never have to wait to shower again! Both their room and common hall are so stylish, it makes me feel like I was staying in a luxury Chinese house. A perfect soft bed also add to the value, and to wake up with freshly cooked breakfast, only to find out that it's also included. I can not imagine a better place! Book here, the staff will surprise you with their service!!

Disliked: Hsiao Wei left no negative feedback.