HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fly by Knight Courtyard

Hostel | No. 6 Dengcao Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100010

87.7% Overall Rating

108 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Chia Yu Lin thinks…

"the staffs are very friendly and helpful and made my feel it's my home in Beijing."

Read all Fly by Knight Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Spring Time Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 84.3% 321 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
161 Hostel
21.58 USD

Hostel 94.2% 53 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 91.4% 111 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 79.7% 93 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

108 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fly by Knight Courtyard'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and approachable. The communal area was comfortable and a nice place to sit and chat with fellow travellers.

Disliked: Location was a little difficult to find at first. Once there though, it's a great location to base your travels around Beijing from

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wish I can give more than 100% for this hostel! Everything is more than perfect! I met the friendliest staff and they really took good care of me. Best room I've ever seen and really comfortable bathroom (not common in china!). They also have a lot of culture activities and many international artists stay here long term. Really fast wifi, free cooked breakfast and nice hot shower. I simply love it here! Btw, they have the cutest puppies ever!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corina Schönenberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2012 Corina would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Fly by Knight Courtyard was very nice. Thes taff is friendly and helped me to book a awesome trip to the great wall. The breakfast is a nice plus. The hostel is easy to get to and close to a metro station and sights ain't far away either. There are also some nicce restaurants in the area surrounding the Hutong.Oh, and their two puppies are very sweet!

Disliked: Corina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Wauman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really perfect! À bit difficult to find but when you have found it it's just perfect. Great authentic location , very good beds , everybody is so nice and helps you for everything. They also organised a trip to the great wall for 700rmd with 4 people and it was pretty impressive. It's about 5 minutes from the subway and 30min walk to the forbidden city . It's a very safe hostel if you want à drink , you take it and just put the money on the table , very honest system. They have a computer where you can use Facebook.

Disliked: Bathroom is a little bit weird but more than ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its Unique and Chinese character.

Disliked: Taxis really struggle to find the hostel, even using the map provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, the atmosphere is great, I will definitely go back there if I visit Beijing again.

Disliked: N/A

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and efficient staff...spoke good enough english and very pleasant Quiet neighborhood

Disliked: Overpriced.. Double room with very little space... new bathroom was nice. Found Courtyard Hotel Sihe around the corner.. much classier and only $84 on Agoda!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Set in a lovely old courtyard with very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and a western toilet even though in the hutong. This was the second time I stayed here and if I return to Beijing again I'll certainly look to book in here. Bacon and eggs breakfast too!

Disliked: Very little for me to dislike, the only thing really being no wi-fi access in my dorm. I would also say that there are often two puppies in the courtyard (not on the hostel description) so if you don't like / are allergic to dogs then it may not be for you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cyril Gueret

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Cyril would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel located in a Hutong and fairly close to a subway station.

Disliked: Cyril left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret McDougald

Alone

Business / conference

22 October 2012 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff exceptional. Nice atmosphere in common room. Breakfast always served promptly with a smile. Roos absolutely spotless. Beds very comfortable (which i gather not always the csae in China!) . Chnace to tgry Kung Fu with staff. NNice and quiet adn tucked away inBeijing with real falvour of real China - which I much appreciated as was attending conference. Trips and taxis organised by staff. No shoes on domrs so recommend some slippers as floor little bit cool! Staff all spoke English which I found out from my own experience is not the case in big, impersonal hotels because the staff do not interact with the visitors and have little opportunity to improve.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike = always had good accomodation via hostelbookers but I think this was the best yet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Vivian

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had loads of character and great staff. The courtyard was very traditional and added 100% to our stay in Beijing.

Disliked: The building is extremely old (600 years) so the plumbing it not so good. We had booked a private room with its own bathroom and the whole bathroom would flood with each shower and take a few hours to completely drain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lilly quinn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 lilly would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This was the first hostel I stayed in in China. Everything was great, the staff are really helpful and everything was clean. I thought the location was really good, it was on a hutong so you really felt you were in China, 5-10 minute walk from Donsi subway, I walked to Tiananmen square and Forbidden City. I went on the Great Wall tour that the hostel organised, the driver was really funny and after walking the wall I was so tired I was glad I could just crash out in the car rather than worrying about how to get a bus back. Really good hostel to meet people too, met loads of people here. Oh and access to facebook. Towels and breakfast included.

Disliked: Nothing! If you don't like dogs I probably wouldn't stay here as I had a doggy doo doo on my flip flop one day! They were really cute little puppies though. And some privacy curtains on the bed would be quite nice.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diana Blaikie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed the communcal hutong outdoor sitting area which is easy to meet other people.

Disliked: Mosquitoes at night are vicious!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time at Fly by Knight. The staff were very friendly and willing to help us as best they could. They arranged a trip for us to the Great Wall by taxi that was very helpful. Also fun activities organised in the afternoon (kung fu class, calligraphy). The property was very clean and we had a north american toilet in our room, which was nice. American type breakfast included with the room, subway at a 5 to 10 minute walk. All of this made our stay in Beijing one to remember! We would definetely stay at Fly by Knight again!

Disliked: As ou room was very close to the main common hall, it sometimes got pretty loud in the evenings when people were eating/talking in the main courtyard, but all of the ended around 11 or 12pm, so not really a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girls at Fly By Knight were so helpful, friendly and fun they made our stay in Beijing a pleasure. Really helpful (retrieving lost luggage, writing things in Chinese to help us ask for items in stores, giving wonderful directions and organising outings....). Their smiles, breakfasts and puppies brought joy to every day. Daniel was also exceptionally helpful in our pre-arrival arrangements. Charm of staying in a traditional courtyard house in a centrally located, residential hutong. Very clean and secure. Local food available in the surrounding hutongs, subway really close and main attractions in pleasurable walking distance. Just like they advertise! The hostel also attracted a lovely range of travellers, from families to young people, which was a relief for us travelling with children. A calm, social and safe environment. Directions provided by Daniel (make sure you take them with you) were spot on - easy for taxi driver and us to find.

Disliked: We stayed in private rooms and found the bathrooms a little hard to manage. They were always wet as a result of the shower being over the toilet and basin (we didn't realise they would be wet-room style) and the floors occasionally flooded to ankle deep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Burns

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The Flybyknight Hostel in Beijing is probably the best hostel in the world. Perfectly located in a safe hutong in central Beijing (near Dongsi subway stop). Incredibly friendly and wonderfully helpful staff who make you feel at home. My room (I had a single room on my first two visits and a double on my third visit) was spotless, comfortable and of a much higher standard than normal hostels. The common area was perfect with free internet, and hot and cold beverages and snacks available for a small charge, a great place to meet & mingle with the other guests. The breakfast was adequate and tasty. The reception staff looked after my baggage when I went on an overnight trip to Chengde I challenge anyone to find a better hostel anywhere.

Disliked: Nothing, I just wish I could have stayed longer.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma McCosh

Alone

City break

16 September 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful building/s. Staff very helpful with booking tours/dinners etc. Two puppies very cute. Great bike hire. Close to a subway station. Organised great wall tour for us.

Disliked: Bathroom set up in the girls dorm is a bit silly with the toilet behind the wet-room shower. Squeegies needed to be able to clear away water/hair etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joey Siyan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

16 September 2012 Joey would recommend this property

Liked: it's wonderful experience to stay. there is an ancient clam atmosphere during stay.the staff is friendly.i preey enjoy the moment.

Disliked: Joey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and VERY clean. Plus they had two pet puppies which were adorable!

Disliked: Only complaint would be that the directions to the hostel were a bit confusing and there is no big sign indicating where the hostel is located. I think they need signage to help tired tourists!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it is the best hostel in China. best location, best friendliness, best in comfortable level... the lists go on. I will definitely come back here again, and I will be telling everyone about this place. recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean (cleaned by the staff everyday) and the courtyard setting was beautiful! Since Beijing was pretty hectic for me at times, staying in a hutong area was a nice change of pace.

Disliked: There was no real common room/lounge area, so it was a bit hard to meet people as a solo traveller. It was initially quite hard to find at first and I ended up walking aimlessly for a while.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Winsor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely top choice!! Impeccably clean, friendly and conveniently located. I can't say enough good stuff, free Kung Fu lessons,The staff goes out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. free filtered water..the list goes on. I have been around the world 3 times, and I can say that Fly by Knight is in the top three of global hostels. Stay here!!

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Botham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay (I stayed twice), particularly after finishing 5 weeks of train travel through Russia and Mongolia: an atmospheric old courtyard building, down a genuinely old hutong street. Easy access with their instructions from the metro (remember to print these off!), and a 30-40min walk through down to the Forbidden City and Tiananman Square etc. Nearby are plenty of local restaurants and some places to drink. Daniel is helpful, as are all the other staff. You can even learn Kung Fu for free on weekend afternoons. One great thing here is the communal room (with honesty bar and proper coffee) where there's one long table which is a great way to meet people. I always intended to get a quick breakfast but ended up lingering and talking for much longer... Will stay there when I next go to Beijing.

Disliked: In the crazy storms the dorm leaked pretty badly. The hazards of staying in old buildings I guess!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything about this place. absolutely perfect in every way. great location, friendly staff members, and of course, clean! I love the fact that it's in a nice friendly hutong area, and the rooms are so comfortable. this is just perfect! would recommend to everyone!

Disliked: nothing!