HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of China Element Apartment

Hostel | No. 1616, Chinese Classical, Furniture Street, Gaobeidian, Chaoyang District Beijing, China .

76.7% Overall Rating

6 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2013)

Jennifer Komorowski thinks…

"The hostel is in a quiet, somewhat residential neighborhood. Although the onsite assistant speaks very little English, Joan the manager speaks it fluently and is VERRY helpful. I ended up in the…"

Read all China Element Apartment reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Ciderella Hotel Shifoying
8.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Beijing Perfect Inn
16.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.1% 7 reviews
Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 84.6% 374 reviews
Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.03 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.81 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel
9.23 USD

Hostel 74.4% 439 reviews
Beijing New dragon Hostel
17.65 USD

Hostel 70.3% 176 reviews
Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.05 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'China Element Apartment'

Atmosphere
74.3%
Location
57.1%
Facilities
77.1%
Cleanliness
65.7%
Staff
91.4%
Value
88.6%
Safety
82.9%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jennifer Komorowski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a quiet, somewhat residential neighborhood. Although the onsite assistant speaks very little English, Joan the manager speaks it fluently and is VERRY helpful. I ended up in the deluxe room which is just beautiful. Kind of a treat that there's a separate shower in the bathroom too! I really enjoyed coming back to that room at night!

Disliked: The neighborhood is outside of downtown Beijing, and taking the subway in Beijing is not that much fun. Area seemed very safe, but my first night there the street lights weren't on, and as a woman travelling alone I wasn't sure about going out at night, even though Asia is safer than the US, so I erred on the side of caution. I never tried taking a cab there, but make sure to print out and the Chinese instructions Joan will send with your confirmation-- I did not! And as with all of Beijing, sometimes the neighborhood has a strong smell. Luckily the deluxe room seemed to be the one that kept the smells out!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, convenient location in nice area close to city center and hutongs. Very quiet at night. Many convenient stores close by, one in the same building even. Water boiler and soap/schampoo in room. Towels and toilet paper.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very lovely and did everything to answer our questions and help us with whatever we needed. We liked the area and the fact that the hostel was a bit outside. It takes you 20 minutes by subway to get downtown. There's plenty of small shops, eateries and of course traditional chinese furniture right at your doorstep. What else could you ask for?

Disliked: Could have been a little cleaner.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fred Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: HUGE room, with great westerner bathroom. Cheap Washing machine. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The bed is very hard, but it's common in China. Although it's located in a good neighborhood, it's a little bit far from the train station and city center, so the metro is always full. The on site manager doesn't speak English.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luciana Musumeci

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013

Liked: The price is afordable, at least the tatami room. The place was secure and in general quiet. As it isn't located in the city center, there's almoast no traffic sound. In general it's clean, the personal clean everyday.

Disliked: We had a Tatami room that was extremely hot as we came during the summer and had just a little fan. We really didn't know anything about this until the day before arriving, that we wrote an email just to inform our arrival time, during the night. Joan was very kind on her reply, tough, but suggested us to go somewhere else. Not only because of the heat but also because she said it was too hard to find at night, even for a local. But it was too late to find another hostel, so we went anyway. For the taxi driver was not hard at all to find. The next morning, a girl from the staff knocked at our door several times until we open and paid for the day or the hole stay… we were really tired, and just wanted to have a rest! By the way, the staff in general don't speak english, only Joan whom you can contact by phone or email.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were initially staying in the centre of the city but because of the May Public Holiday we were struggling to find further last minute accommodation in Beijing within our budget - after searching on the internet we came across the 'China Element' which was in the suburbs. We took a leap of faith and I'm glad we did. The China Element is great alternative to the hustle and bustle of the city - its about a 20min ride on the metro (at a very tiny cost of 2yuan, ie;less than 20p) and then followed by a nice picturesque quiet walk down the river. The entrance doesn't really do the place justice - but once your up the stairs you soon realise that this isn't a typical Beijing accommodation. Each of the rooms are tastefully decorated and are very modern, ours is french inspired with a splash of the oriental magic. Alot of thought and attention to detail has been put into each room and it certainly makes a difference. Also, the China Element has laundry facilities, constant hot water, nice showers, comfy beds and a roof terrace (some rooms over look the river too) - compared to other budget places and courtyard hotels/hostels in downtown, this is luxury. Being out of the city and in suburban Beijing has also been a great experience - the place is in the furniture district. The manager/owner Joan is a star - she really made us feel welcomed and has been invaluable during our stay in Beijing. She made great recommendations on where to go, helped us with transport and at times has acted as translator as her english is fantastic. We can't thank her enough.

Disliked: China Element is in the suburbs but this is more than compensated by the quality and price. The suburbs also give you the opportunity to see a different side to Beijing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Storm

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 November 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: - Warm and reassuring pre-welcome email following booking - Compared to any other hostel I've stayed in, Elements rooms were very clean and very comfortable (e.g. even standard rooms have a desk and chair!) - Good individual and shared facilities e.g. each room has kettle, cups, towels, etc. Shared facilities include free wi-fi, shampoo, "massive" balcony etc Elements doesn't feel like a hostel - it feels like a home

Disliked: Location slightly far from centre, but adds to it's peaceful and relaxing atmosphere

The property's response is...