HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jade International Youth hostel

Hostel | No.5 north Zhi De Alley, Beiheyan Street, Dongcheng Dist Beijing, China 100006

77.3% Overall Rating

442 out of 465 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/01/2013)

maja vestergaard jørgensen thinks…

"very good location, close to city center and the forbidden city. the staff was helpfull and (most of them) understood english. we took the "no shops"-tour to the wall, and the experience at the…"

Read all Jade International Youth hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.16
  • Breakfast USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you want us to pick you up from the airport, please let us know in advance the flight number and you will find our telephone number once you confirmed your hostel reservation. It costs 200CNY with max 3 people *IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
68.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard House
16.22 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 167 reviews
Little Mao's Hostel
9.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Beijing Best Hotel
47.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Yuanjia International Apartment
41.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House
16.22 USD

Hostel 89.9% 65 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.27 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Peking International Youth Hostel
21.08 USD

Hostel 87.5% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

442 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jade International Youth hostel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 323 of 333 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: Nice breakfast dining hall

Disliked: Breakfast was not restocked, ran out of coffee and refused to refill for paying guests. Items in room were moldy and the hair dryer broken. When we asked for it to be replaced or fix we were refused 3 times until we asked the right person.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maja vestergaard jørgensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 maja vestergaard would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, close to city center and the forbidden city. the staff was helpfull and (most of them) understood english. we took the "no shops"-tour to the wall, and the experience at the wall was very good, we had about 2-3 hours of walking/enjoing the scenary, but the bustransfer was not so good; first we got picked up by a minibus and drowe around for 20 minutes before we were dropped of to wait for a big bus - which is okay, but on the way back, the big bus stopped at the metro and the guide told everyone that they should get off and take the metro home, even though we all had paid for transfer - however some of us stayed in the bus and the minibusses returned to drive us all the way - so just be sure to stay on your rights and insist on getting what you paided for.

Disliked: the dryer for clothes is very small and disfunctional: it could not dry 1 machinewash even though it had 4 hours.. so wash elsewhere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katharina Blondeau

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: Beds and showers were good, location was very good in the centre of Beijing and price/quality was fine! Helpfull staff if you asked questions they had a good answer to it. Fresh towels every day. Watercooker in the room.

Disliked: Room wasn't that clean when we first entered it, the bed was clean, but the floor and bathroom still had many hairs on it that weren't ours. Wasnt cleaned during our 4 night stay. Wifi was available but very slow. We had to activate the key of the room twice, as it didnt work one time at day 3 and 4.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: In a good area

Disliked: The restaurant closed before the time they had put in their information.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Montserrat Roca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Montserrat would recommend this property

Liked: Location and frienly staff

Disliked: Breakfast not included when for the same price one coulc find this offer in the area and a buffet breakfast too.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Adnan Husein Sutedja

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Shopping

04 May 2012 Adnan Husein would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are responsible and very helpful

Disliked: the location is not familiar for taxi driver and very far to nearest subway station, it about walking 30 minutes to subway station

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The thing I like the most has been its location, perfect for the travellers who visit Beijing

Disliked: The wifi was not good

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathleen Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012

Liked: This property is in walking distance to Wangfujing, Tiananmen Square, and the Forbidden City. Buses run nearby that can take you directly to the Olympic Stadium, Hongqiao Pearl Market, and the Temple of Heaven. The subway is in walking distance, but be prepared to walk for a while. The staff speaks excellent English, and can exchange certain currencies.

Disliked: This was my second stay at this hostel, and I won't be returning. My first stay was excellent, the second was terrible. 1. According to the website, breakfast was included in the private room rate. This was stated on the website when I booked the room and when I arrived. However, while at the breakfast buffet my first morning, I was informed breakfast was no longer included with hostelbookers.com reservations, and I was charged 40 RMB. After speaking with several employees, I asked to speak to the manager. He refused to speak to me. Two days later, one of the employees told me the manager would allow myself and my roommate to eat breakfast for free the next day. However, the breakfast buffet is awful. We were able to have our money refunded two days after the incident. (The breakfast buffet price was increased the same day this happened, now it it 30 RMB per person). 2. I was locked out of my room everyday for four straight days. If the room was cleaned, I had to go back to the front desk to have my card reprogrammed. In addition, the hotel was loud and construction was being completed nearby. 3. I booked an acrobatic show with the hostel. The employee who helped me book the show told me that I would have roundtrip transportation and be provided tickets to the Tianqiao Acrobatic Show. However, when I was dropped off at the show, I was told that transportation wasn't provided, and I needed to find my own way home. I'm an American but study in China, so I speak a small amount of Chinese. Therefore, this wasn't that big of a problem. But for a tourist who can't navigate the city well, this could be a huge problem. Further, the tickets provided were not for the Tianqiao Acrobatic Show, but rater something called the Legend of Jingsha. I particullarly wanted to see the highly regarded TIanqiao Acrobatic Show, so this was disappointing. The show I saw was pretty boring, and I wouldn't recommend it. Most of all, I was incredibly frustrated that the hostel never informed me of any of the changes to my booking. 4. The hostel has two laundry machines and two dryers. They take about 3 hours to completely wash a medium size load of clothes. The hotel charged me 22 RMB for use of the machines and soap. After drying my clothes, they smelled like I had spent the evening in a smoke filled room. I believe someone washed a cigarette butt in the machine (I do not smoke), and therefore the machine took on its odor. Ultimately, while traveling with a tour I had a great experience at this hostel. However, when I travelled with a friend I had many problems. I would caution any traveller who is considering staying at this hostel with out a tour group to be prepared for anything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012

Liked: The restaurant was OK

Disliked: There was no heat in the rooms due to the date; there was a horrible sewer smell requiring us to change a room with no compensation for our inconvenience from the manager even though we asked; the sheets were dirty; low water pressure and 10 minutes to get water to heat up; deadbolt in one room didn't lock.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Internet services, bathroom and matress.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, although a bit far from Metro. It is located near a supermarket, local restaurants and fast food. Staff is nice. Some of them, however, cannot understand English, but most of them are pretty good. Rooms are ok.

Disliked: Computers to access internet are really slow. You have to put a coin (1Y for 15 min), and the screen turns on, but before you can use it takes more than 3 minutes. when you have a shower, all the bathroom gets wet, and the matress are too slim.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air Conditioned rooms, Clean and good restaurant too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice,cheap place with good location!

Disliked: There are no free bikes promised in description

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hotstel, clean bathroom in the room, 4pax dorm, friendly staf.

Disliked: Quite hard beds, and lack of wi-fi signal in rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, within walking distance of Tiannamen Square and Forbidden City, Night Food Market and Shopping Area. Also quite close to the metro line (Tiannamen Square) where you can easily (and cheaply) travel around Beijing. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the hostel itself was really clean and more like a hotel.

Disliked: More like a hotel than a hostel so not much atmosphere but there is a restaurant/bar and communal area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well located, very clean, wifi inside the room

Disliked: it's rather a hotel than hostel so there is no typical hostel atmosphere

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shona Lusk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Shona would recommend this property

Liked: The property was large compared to some hostel room in China, ensuite bathroom was a decent size for two people. The location was relatively ok maybe a 20 minute walk to nearest subway an main shopping street.

Disliked: Lack of common area, there were seat at reception and a bar area which could be used but often lights were off which put you off entering. Only a kettle provided in room - no other cooking facilities. Wifi was also only accessable in the lobby not in the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern, clean well kepy

Disliked: near forbidden city but not near access point

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FAHRI KILICTURGAY

Alone

City break

20 September 2011 FAHRI would recommend this property

Liked: rien a dire

Disliked: J'ai eu de probleme avec le Cuvette du WC qui n'arrette pas de bloquer pendant 3 jours !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, great location, close to Peking International youth Hostel if you want to do their tours. Pretty much a hotel.

Disliked: Not for people seeking a hostel vibe. Hot water often just lukewarm.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Drew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very comforatble and clean. More like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: The food was pretty poor quality.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. The restaurant.

Disliked: Cleanliness could be better, but is ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant was great. Location was perfect, really in the center of Beijing...a litle bit far from subway, but you can walk 10 min and you are there.

Disliked: The cleanliness could be better, but is ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome, 5 minutes walk from Forbidden City and Tienammen Sq. Also near to pedestrian commercial street Wangfujing str. It's also 2 minutes from Peking Int'l, in case you booked some trips with them (I did). Atmosphere is ok, wireless works only in lobby and is waaaay slow but it works. Staff is available and kind, it also can exchange money which allows you to avoid going to Bank of China and queue hours (comparable rates). Doubles appear to always have breakfast included, you better ask at reception to be sure; breakfast is generally ok, you can eat conveniently for the rest of the morning :-) Double Rooms are clean, bathroom very clean.

Disliked: Hard to find because of unclear description into hostelbookers. Refer to the small street Zhi De Alley North, and you will find it. We got to the hostel by exiting at subway Dongsi, turning into west to Wusi street, and going south to Beiheyan street. You can find the hostel at 2nd street on right. They were a bit suspicious about my booking through hostelbookers.com, after some minutes they had grabbed my phone with the reservation into the manager office, they came to me with the conclusion 'ok, it is confirmed'. For the rest, everything was ok. It won't have a typical and cozy houton atmosphere as the BDBA or the Peking Int'l, but overall it's ok.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people

Disliked: Bathrooms in dorms aren't very nice