HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Leo Hostel Beijing Hostel

A Lai Ke Zhan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Qianmen, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 73%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 29.98USD
  • Breakfast 1.50USD

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE*
Please note that Chinese guests can only stay in private rooms (not dorm rooms).
Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 73%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Good location, Good bar, bathrooms well kept.

Disliked: heat pump didn't work efficiently

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I left my wallet at their cafe at the great wall. I only noticed when I arrived at the hostel, and I immediately talked with the reception. There, our tour guide said they already knew there was a lost wallet, but they thought it belonged to a chinese (there was no other group at the wall, plus my wallet had my cards with my name...). He called the cafe and said I had to pay 800 rmbi for the taxi to bring my wallet. They basically made my wallet hostage until I paid 500 rmbi which was all the money I had.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location of Leo is excellent. It is on a very popular hutong street with bakeries and shops. It is a 10 min walk to 2 metro stations and Tiananmen square. It has a nice feel to it and has a great bar/restaurant with well priced western food if you need a break from rice or noodles. They have a pretty good tour to the Mutanyu section of the Great Wall.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi is the worst we encountered in all of China. It is so unstable it only works for short periods of time so be prepared to use your data. The rooms on the main floor are right next to the bar and lounge spaces so if you plan on sleeping you need earplugs. The ground floor is also open air so if you are here in late fall, winter or early spring it is very cold. Our particular room, 529 was between the restaurant and lounge and had many problems besides its noisy location. It is a very small 4 bed dorm with little space to put bags. The washroom desperately needs renovations as the toilet seal is broken and so it leaks from the bottom when you flush which generally makes the entire room smell like a sewer. There is no where dry to hang anything in the washroom. There are drain pipes behind the beds.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is well located, few mins away from forbidden city. The installations are clean and qute well for chinese standards. The staff speaks english quite well and are very friendly

Disliked: There's something about the atmosphere...even though there is a bar downstairs nobody really spends time in there or chats with others, but I think this is something related to the city more than the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The friendly staff and good location! There is always a chilltout atmosphere and relaxed good organised staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was very good

Disliked: No soap in the WC

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I really like the hutong atmosphere and young, foreign crowd. Also, it is close to the subway and easy to get to other parts of Beijing from there.

Disliked: It was good all around

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice and freindly stuff...

Disliked: Dirty rooms, slow internet, small amounts of food served in restaurant and very not safe to leave anything in the room...

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff. .great location

Disliked: Bad wi fi... cold water in ensuite room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location to get around, short walk to subway, a lot to see in the surrounding hutong.

Disliked: A bit cold, but you can't expect western standart in Beijing if you don't pay western prices

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability