HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Leo Hostel

Hostel | Guang Ju Yuan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Beijing, China 100051

76.6% Overall Rating

202 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2014)

pui lung chun-laine thinks…

"The location is convenient. in small street in old area."

Read all Beijing Leo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.38
  • Breakfast USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Three Legged Frog Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 68.9% 39 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 83.7% 353 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 86.3% 187 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
46.14 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Tiananmen Courtyard
22.66 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel
12.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 30 reviews
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
45.97 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

202 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Leo Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 173 of 181 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014

Liked: The location is convenient. in small street in old area.

Disliked: The room is very dark and dirty, the pillow is dirty, the bed is uncomfortable, bad air circulation. Some staff work there six hours per day without any income at all. Very small toilets, and very small shower rooms. and only one water basin can use for brushing teeth, the other is unable to use. The staffs are very unhelpful. They refused me at first for saying there is no bed, but I have done reservation, anyway, they do have beds. The price CNY50 is 25% higher than nearby 3 stars Hotel Kings Joy which costs only CNY40, that hotel offers very spacious room with private bathroom with windows with good view, good air circulation and clean. Many guests who have stayed in both hostels, all prefer very much the KINGS JOY HOTEL!!!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandre Bento Freire

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: I was there also 2 years ago, and I see they did some improvements. Toilets and Dorms are much better than before. Thumbs up for that. At that time I was there for 2 weeks, this time only one night. The location is the best, is right on center of all the action.

Disliked: This time I was too short to detect any unpleasant things, it all went very smooth even very late check-in. 2 years ago they had some annoying things like Toilets and the dorms, but it seems now they are much better.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alexandra Barbuto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013

Liked: We enjoyed the cheap price of beer...but besides being treated like crap by the clueless staff, we never will return. Oh and perhaps try listening to these reviews for once Leo management instead of paying someone to write good reviews of an AWFUL hostel (that goes for the tour review books as well).

Disliked: Everything. The hostel staff were under poor management, leading them to commit almost clueless acts of poor customer service(particularly the night staff). Taking our orders after 9 were a big bother to the person behind the bar despite it saying food served until 11. We had countless confrontations about not being able to eat in the main hostel room, yet no other area is supplied to eat or lounge in after hostel bedtime, so you either argue with the staff or eat in your dark dorm. We had complained about the staff shutting off the lights on us after 12 am, even when the bar was full, and were met with an array of excuses such as "you didn't order anything" (hence the yellow signs now on the bar tables). Even after attempting to purchase drinks however we were often told the bar was closed because the bartender in question wanted to sleep. You can even enjoy the lovely experience of seeing said staff members sleeping about in the bar if you come down late at night. The place seemed more interested in losing money than having basic customer service. Leo, I sincerely hope you start taking control of this management issue. We met you the first or second night of our stay, and to see your employees bringing you down like this was enraging. Sort out your management, listen to the reviews and fix basic things that should have been fixed before (i.e. the washroom door handles).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very central and with lots of shops and food places close by! The dorm was really big, there is definitely enough space for all your stuff!

Disliked: The shower and bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but it was still alright

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice amosphere

Disliked: Our 4-bed room had neither window nor aeration.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Weir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013

Liked: Great location and secure rooms. Lots of trips on offer and a good atmosphere in the restaurant/bar.

Disliked: Food is terrible in the restaurant, authentic chinese dishes are very poorly done. Reception staff were nice on the whole but I had the worst customer service encounter I have ever had with the morning receptionist on 10/8. She was rude, had an attitude and I literally couldn't believe how she was acting. Left a sour taste after a pretty decent stay.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and stafgf

Disliked: Shower arrangement

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located (but it makes it a bit overcrowded and busy, outside as well), nice (but pricey) restaurant, good wi-fi. I've stayed in better places in Beijing, but this one is not to complain about - neither a bummer or a bargain.

Disliked: Common bathrooms and toilets on the floor could be a bit more well maintained, they were pretty stuffy and stinky, as no air circulation existed over there. Upper bunk beds had very little space in some rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Robins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly hostel in a good location close to Tienanmen Square and the metro station. Great bar/restaurant with some dancing monkeys that are always on hand to get down to the somewhat bizarre musical choices on offer... Good selection of booze on offer and half price offers to loosen you up for some street food with topless locals and cheery ex-pats. Beds are a little hard but with a little imagination you can create a tent and whisk yourself away to the Dutch countryside. Lots of travellers from around the world to hang out with and explore the city. The Netherlands came up trumps again, providing the most hospitably and attractive of guests. Also beware of 'friendly locals' inviting you for tea. £70 later and you'll wish you had stayed in for a cup of PG!

Disliked: My bed was a little on the hard side but after a quick steam in the shower I found it easy to get to sleep!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Sammarco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Both the location and the atmosphere of the communal areas are what I liked most about this hostel.

Disliked: Dorm room got very hot despite air-con.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aizad Azmi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Aizad would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hostel value for money. Cheap, spacious rooms and the best of all is the location. 10 minutes walk to Qianmen subway station and a fair walking distance to Forbidden City. If you are traveling on a tight budget, I really recommend staying here.

Disliked: Aizad left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Myles Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Myles would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, helpful staff.

Disliked: Myles left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joseph Giardalas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 January 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: THis place is awesome, the best hostel iv stayed in ever, the staff are fun and happy, the bar/ restaurant is comfortable and warm and the dumpling parties rock!!

Disliked: Nothing ! Though the food was never the same ha!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! The service was great

Disliked: The heat in our room did not work

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 January 2013

Liked: My room was very comfortable and most of the staff were quite helpful with trying to help me find different places around Beijing. They have a really cool theatre room with lots of movie selection.

Disliked: I ended up paying 160 rmb a night for my room which I feel is quite expensive since I was traveling alone, and I thought overall that the hostel was quite average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Covert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: The Great Wall tour was excellent - beyond what I expected. I highly recommend it for some quality time alone on the Great Wall of China.

Disliked: Gina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gerald Dehn

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2012 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: Eigentlich alles in Ordnung bis auf das Badezimmer.

Disliked: Das Klo war allen Furz lang verstopft.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice courtyard hotel. relatively cheap for a good location

Disliked: the rooms look empty. the tv s do not work. there is no soap in the bathroom (or any kind of toiletry goods- expected with a hostel but not when you pay hotel price).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The toliet and bathroom smells and had frequent difficulty in flushing. The rooms with the shared bathroom is too close to the beds and was poorly designed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Housiaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The authentic surroundings. Great wall trip.

Disliked: That hostelbookers had messed up the booking system (according to the hostel) and the hostel was well overbooked. Was told they have sold my room and I could sleep in the bar at 11pm when it closed, went back at 10.50pm and they found me a bed in a private room which wasn't bad when I paid for a dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to tiananmen square and metro station. Friendly and helpful stuff. Cheap cocktails.

Disliked: The great wall tour of the Leo Hostels!! Due to Simatai is closed, they drove us to a spot close to Badaling and not as provided to Jinshanling. We were only able to walk 1,5 km in one direction and back. Furthere more the wall wasn't very nice at this location, Anything between original and restored! This tour is currently not worth it's money (260 RMB)! There was no warm water in our double room! Room could have been cleaner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011

Liked: The location was good. The beer and food were cheap and nice enough. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: The room was not very clean - there was something that resembled, that may or may not have been blood smeared on the walls and bed sheets. Whatever you do, don't look under your beds as that area was filthy! The staff were unable to recommend any good places to visit at night as they were just as unfamiliar with Beijing as we were!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

cristian delucchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

21 August 2011

Liked: I think that this hostel is only good marketing, excelent location and lobby.

Disliked: Male and female toilets are togheter and very very dirty. Respect to beds... is better the hard sleep beds in the train than the hostel!!! trust me!!!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

NADAV ITAI

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room does not give the feeling of clean. No hot water. Toilet did not flash, guest smoke in public areas