We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Leo Hostel

Hostel | Guang Ju Yuan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Beijing, China 100051

80.1% Overall Rating

207 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

Robert Juerges thinks…

"I loved the atmosphere in that hostel. A great place to meet people, to talk and to chill out. The very best thing about that place :-) I stayed at the 14 bed dorm, which was ok. Pretty crowded all…"

Read all Beijing Leo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that Chinese guests can only stay in private rooms (not dorm rooms). Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Three Legged Frog Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 66.7% 40 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 79.8% 364 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 84.8% 207 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
75.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
40.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.12 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 70.4% 268 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

207 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Leo Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 186 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Juerges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 August 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere in that hostel. A great place to meet people, to talk and to chill out. The very best thing about that place :-) I stayed at the 14 bed dorm, which was ok. Pretty crowded all the time. If you guys are thinking about that hostel or 365 inn, you have to go to that place! It is way more private and not completely open to the road! The location in general is pretty good, close to Tian'anmen square. The staff was good, when you are there ask for peter, he is the coolest one. He does a great job there! You have to check out the Snake Vodka.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Pleczynska

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and kept in a really nice hutong like style. Cafe area and patio are great. Also ejoyed very comfrtable bed and nice clean bedsheets.

Disliked: Bathrooms are too old.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, outgoing people. Great location. Good price.

Disliked: Could be cleaner (shower) but it was still ok.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice bar and great food!! Nice people

Disliked: Very dirty common bathroom

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014

Liked: The location is convenient. in small street in old area.

Disliked: The room is very dark and dirty, the pillow is dirty, the bed is uncomfortable, bad air circulation. Some staff work there six hours per day without any income at all. Very small toilets, and very small shower rooms. and only one water basin can use for brushing teeth, the other is unable to use. The staffs are very unhelpful. They refused me at first for saying there is no bed, but I have done reservation, anyway, they do have beds. The price CNY50 is 25% higher than nearby 3 stars Hotel Kings Joy which costs only CNY40, that hotel offers very spacious room with private bathroom with windows with good view, good air circulation and clean. Many guests who have stayed in both hostels, all prefer very much the KINGS JOY HOTEL!!!!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandre Bento Freire

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: I was there also 2 years ago, and I see they did some improvements. Toilets and Dorms are much better than before. Thumbs up for that. At that time I was there for 2 weeks, this time only one night. The location is the best, is right on center of all the action.

Disliked: This time I was too short to detect any unpleasant things, it all went very smooth even very late check-in. 2 years ago they had some annoying things like Toilets and the dorms, but it seems now they are much better.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alexandra Barbuto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013

Liked: We enjoyed the cheap price of beer...but besides being treated like crap by the clueless staff, we never will return. Oh and perhaps try listening to these reviews for once Leo management instead of paying someone to write good reviews of an AWFUL hostel (that goes for the tour review books as well).

Disliked: Everything. The hostel staff were under poor management, leading them to commit almost clueless acts of poor customer service(particularly the night staff). Taking our orders after 9 were a big bother to the person behind the bar despite it saying food served until 11. We had countless confrontations about not being able to eat in the main hostel room, yet no other area is supplied to eat or lounge in after hostel bedtime, so you either argue with the staff or eat in your dark dorm. We had complained about the staff shutting off the lights on us after 12 am, even when the bar was full, and were met with an array of excuses such as "you didn't order anything" (hence the yellow signs now on the bar tables). Even after attempting to purchase drinks however we were often told the bar was closed because the bartender in question wanted to sleep. You can even enjoy the lovely experience of seeing said staff members sleeping about in the bar if you come down late at night. The place seemed more interested in losing money than having basic customer service. Leo, I sincerely hope you start taking control of this management issue. We met you the first or second night of our stay, and to see your employees bringing you down like this was enraging. Sort out your management, listen to the reviews and fix basic things that should have been fixed before (i.e. the washroom door handles).

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very central and with lots of shops and food places close by! The dorm was really big, there is definitely enough space for all your stuff!

Disliked: The shower and bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but it was still alright

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice amosphere

Disliked: Our 4-bed room had neither window nor aeration.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Weir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013

Liked: Great location and secure rooms. Lots of trips on offer and a good atmosphere in the restaurant/bar.

Disliked: Food is terrible in the restaurant, authentic chinese dishes are very poorly done. Reception staff were nice on the whole but I had the worst customer service encounter I have ever had with the morning receptionist on 10/8. She was rude, had an attitude and I literally couldn't believe how she was acting. Left a sour taste after a pretty decent stay.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and stafgf

Disliked: Shower arrangement

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located (but it makes it a bit overcrowded and busy, outside as well), nice (but pricey) restaurant, good wi-fi. I've stayed in better places in Beijing, but this one is not to complain about - neither a bummer or a bargain.

Disliked: Common bathrooms and toilets on the floor could be a bit more well maintained, they were pretty stuffy and stinky, as no air circulation existed over there. Upper bunk beds had very little space in some rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Robins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly hostel in a good location close to Tienanmen Square and the metro station. Great bar/restaurant with some dancing monkeys that are always on hand to get down to the somewhat bizarre musical choices on offer... Good selection of booze on offer and half price offers to loosen you up for some street food with topless locals and cheery ex-pats. Beds are a little hard but with a little imagination you can create a tent and whisk yourself away to the Dutch countryside. Lots of travellers from around the world to hang out with and explore the city. The Netherlands came up trumps again, providing the most hospitably and attractive of guests. Also beware of 'friendly locals' inviting you for tea. £70 later and you'll wish you had stayed in for a cup of PG!

Disliked: My bed was a little on the hard side but after a quick steam in the shower I found it easy to get to sleep!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Sammarco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Both the location and the atmosphere of the communal areas are what I liked most about this hostel.

Disliked: Dorm room got very hot despite air-con.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aizad Azmi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Aizad would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hostel value for money. Cheap, spacious rooms and the best of all is the location. 10 minutes walk to Qianmen subway station and a fair walking distance to Forbidden City. If you are traveling on a tight budget, I really recommend staying here.

Disliked: Aizad left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Myles Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Myles would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, helpful staff.

Disliked: Myles left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joseph Giardalas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 January 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: THis place is awesome, the best hostel iv stayed in ever, the staff are fun and happy, the bar/ restaurant is comfortable and warm and the dumpling parties rock!!

Disliked: Nothing ! Though the food was never the same ha!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! The service was great

Disliked: The heat in our room did not work

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 January 2013

Liked: My room was very comfortable and most of the staff were quite helpful with trying to help me find different places around Beijing. They have a really cool theatre room with lots of movie selection.

Disliked: I ended up paying 160 rmb a night for my room which I feel is quite expensive since I was traveling alone, and I thought overall that the hostel was quite average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Covert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: The Great Wall tour was excellent - beyond what I expected. I highly recommend it for some quality time alone on the Great Wall of China.

Disliked: Gina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gerald Dehn

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2012 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: Eigentlich alles in Ordnung bis auf das Badezimmer.

Disliked: Das Klo war allen Furz lang verstopft.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice courtyard hotel. relatively cheap for a good location

Disliked: the rooms look empty. the tv s do not work. there is no soap in the bathroom (or any kind of toiletry goods- expected with a hostel but not when you pay hotel price).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The toliet and bathroom smells and had frequent difficulty in flushing. The rooms with the shared bathroom is too close to the beds and was poorly designed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Housiaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The authentic surroundings. Great wall trip.

Disliked: That hostelbookers had messed up the booking system (according to the hostel) and the hostel was well overbooked. Was told they have sold my room and I could sleep in the bar at 11pm when it closed, went back at 10.50pm and they found me a bed in a private room which wasn't bad when I paid for a dorm.