HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Leo Hostel Beijing Hostel

A Lai Ke Zhan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Qianmen, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 72%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 85%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.65USD
  • Breakfast 1.63USD

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE*
Please note that Chinese guests can only stay in private rooms (not dorm rooms).
Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 72%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 85%

Value 82%

Showing 21-24 of 24 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and secure rooms. Lots of trips on offer and a good atmosphere in the restaurant/bar.

Disliked: Food is terrible in the restaurant, authentic chinese dishes are very poorly done. Reception staff were nice on the whole but I had the worst customer service encounter I have ever had with the morning receptionist on 10/8. She was rude, had an attitude and I literally couldn't believe how she was acting. Left a sour taste after a pretty decent stay.


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your great comments.

Everyone enjoys our Secret Great Wall tour - with very few tourists and a long walk along the Wall. Many other hostel/hotels join our tour. For reviews please see our website.

Our cafe/ 24hr bar is also very popular - its easy to make friends.

We are working on a new menu so it should be better next time.

We asked the rude staff to leave - we are sorry for the problems!

See you next time!

Leo Hostel :)

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Centrally located (but it makes it a bit overcrowded and busy, outside as well), nice (but pricey) restaurant, good wi-fi. I've stayed in better places in Beijing, but this one is not to complain about - neither a bummer or a bargain.

Disliked: Common bathrooms and toilets on the floor could be a bit more well maintained, they were pretty stuffy and stinky, as no air circulation existed over there. Upper bunk beds had very little space in some rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your comments.

We have a great central location. Our bar is usually quite busy, including visitors from other hostels/hotels. Outside is a busy market street, which most guests love too.

We are working on the dorm shower ventilation system, so it should be fine on your next stay.

See you next time!

Leo Hostel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great friendly hostel in a good location close to Tienanmen Square and the metro station.Great bar/restaurant with some dancing monkeys that are always on hand to get down to the somewhat bizarre musical choices on offer... Good selection of booze on offer and half price offers to loosen you up for some street food with topless locals and cheery ex-pats.Beds are a little hard but with a little imagination you can create a tent and whisk yourself away to the Dutch countryside.Lots of travellers from around the world to hang out with and explore the city. The Netherlands came up trumps again, providing the most hospitably and attractive of guests.Also beware of 'friendly locals' inviting you for tea. £70 later and you'll wish you had stayed in for a cup of PG!

Disliked: My bed was a little on the hard side but after a quick steam in the shower I found it easy to get to sleep!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Both the location and the atmosphere of the communal areas are what I liked most about this hostel.

Disliked: Dorm room got very hot despite air-con.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is a hostel value for money. Cheap, spacious rooms and the best of all is the location. 10 minutes walk to Qianmen subway station and a fair walking distance to Forbidden City. If you are traveling on a tight budget, I really recommend staying here.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and tidy, helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: THis place is awesome, the best hostel iv stayed in ever, the staff are fun and happy, the bar/ restaurant is comfortable and warm and the dumpling parties rock!!

Disliked: Nothing ! Though the food was never the same ha!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: everything! The service was great

Disliked: The heat in our room did not work

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: My room was very comfortable and most of the staff were quite helpful with trying to help me find different places around Beijing. They have a really cool theatre room with lots of movie selection.

Disliked: I ended up paying 160 rmb a night for my room which I feel is quite expensive since I was traveling alone, and I thought overall that the hostel was quite average.

Check Availability