We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Leo Hostel

Hostel | Guang Ju Yuan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Beijing, China 100051

81.0% Overall Rating

214 out of 253 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

arvid Veltkamp thinks…

"The friendly staff and good location! There is always a chilltout atmosphere and relaxed good organised staff"

Read all Beijing Leo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.25
  • Breakfast USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that Chinese guests can only stay in private rooms (not dorm rooms). Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Three Legged Frog Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 83.4% 50 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.59 USD

Hostel 68.5% 42 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 79.5% 369 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 83.5% 223 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
72.66 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
44.38 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 67.4% 270 reviews
Jade International Youth hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 75.0% 468 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

214 out of 253 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Leo Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 194 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! The service was great

Disliked: The heat in our room did not work

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 January 2013

Liked: My room was very comfortable and most of the staff were quite helpful with trying to help me find different places around Beijing. They have a really cool theatre room with lots of movie selection.

Disliked: I ended up paying 160 rmb a night for my room which I feel is quite expensive since I was traveling alone, and I thought overall that the hostel was quite average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Covert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: The Great Wall tour was excellent - beyond what I expected. I highly recommend it for some quality time alone on the Great Wall of China.

Disliked: Gina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gerald Dehn

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2012 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: Eigentlich alles in Ordnung bis auf das Badezimmer.

Disliked: Das Klo war allen Furz lang verstopft.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice courtyard hotel. relatively cheap for a good location

Disliked: the rooms look empty. the tv s do not work. there is no soap in the bathroom (or any kind of toiletry goods- expected with a hostel but not when you pay hotel price).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The toliet and bathroom smells and had frequent difficulty in flushing. The rooms with the shared bathroom is too close to the beds and was poorly designed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Housiaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The authentic surroundings. Great wall trip.

Disliked: That hostelbookers had messed up the booking system (according to the hostel) and the hostel was well overbooked. Was told they have sold my room and I could sleep in the bar at 11pm when it closed, went back at 10.50pm and they found me a bed in a private room which wasn't bad when I paid for a dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to tiananmen square and metro station. Friendly and helpful stuff. Cheap cocktails.

Disliked: The great wall tour of the Leo Hostels!! Due to Simatai is closed, they drove us to a spot close to Badaling and not as provided to Jinshanling. We were only able to walk 1,5 km in one direction and back. Furthere more the wall wasn't very nice at this location, Anything between original and restored! This tour is currently not worth it's money (260 RMB)! There was no warm water in our double room! Room could have been cleaner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011

Liked: The location was good. The beer and food were cheap and nice enough. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: The room was not very clean - there was something that resembled, that may or may not have been blood smeared on the walls and bed sheets. Whatever you do, don't look under your beds as that area was filthy! The staff were unable to recommend any good places to visit at night as they were just as unfamiliar with Beijing as we were!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

cristian delucchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

21 August 2011

Liked: I think that this hostel is only good marketing, excelent location and lobby.

Disliked: Male and female toilets are togheter and very very dirty. Respect to beds... is better the hard sleep beds in the train than the hostel!!! trust me!!!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

NADAV ITAI

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room does not give the feeling of clean. No hot water. Toilet did not flash, guest smoke in public areas

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice neighborhood.

Disliked: The Great Wall Tour for 260 yuan Is not good. The guide is not really a guide, just a guy who leads the way, giving no information. Of course I still enjoyed the tour, being at the wall is truly magnificent. I would rather share a taxi with 3 more people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

simon miller

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Leo has a very atmospheric courtyard area and a good big-screen with plenty of movies to choose from. They have thought of most things a traveller needs and there are some decent food choices on the menu.

Disliked: It really was poorly cleaned and maintained - that aspect really let the Hostel down and would be the one reason I would hesitate to recommend it. We had a mouse in our Dorm and they unblocked a toilet with a mop (even though there were plungers in the hostel as we saw the next day).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for one night but it was a decent, nice hostel which I have no problem recommending

Disliked: The facilities are not all new and moderne but for the price it's a pretty good option

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: air con worked in rooms. the bed was soft and big for a double bed room. huge movie selection and the food was not bad. a lot of travellors to mingle with.

Disliked: The room did not have a warm ambiance to it, very plain....very depressing looking. the room was damp from the humidity. our room had a musty smell to it. Also, the staff told us it takes 1 hr to get to the airport with no traffic but it only takes 30 minutes with no traffic if you go early morning like we did. you can probably find a taxi on your own for cheaper instead of booking it with the hostel and paying 240 yuan.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great-close to the metro, Forbidden City, and markets.The desk staff were friendly and helpful along with the cleaning staff. The bed was comfortable and the air con. worked. Desk staff encouraged us to give ourselves 3hrs to get to the airport. Early morning flights only took 1/2 hour to get there and we should have hired our own taxi as the 240 charged at the hostel was high, but we were told it would take an hour to get there.

Disliked: In the double rooms/with bath- the floors were always wet and gave the rooms a urine odor.One female wait staff from the kitchen was often rude.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: there is not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Jamieson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location Delicious food Friendly English speaking staff

Disliked: A little run down. I got trapped in the dormitory room because of a stiff door!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Orla Brennan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011

Liked: the staff were nice an helpful

Disliked: The room was cold,there was only a little plug in heat that wasnt really good, the tiles on the floor in both the bedroom and bathroom were all cracked,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would be an ideal place to stay in the summer time! Location is brilliant lovely area and very near Quan de Ju peking duck restaurant.

Disliked: The directions from the subway to the hostel are non existent, a little direction or where to exit the subway would of helped enormously. It is actually very close to the the subway, maybe a 5 minute walk through a pedestrianised area. Also the pick up price from the airport is extortationate compared to other hostels. The had lost my reservation and then put me in a filthy room which looked like it had not been used in a long time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Colleen OBrien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and very nice. The big tv in the main room was really nice to relax at night, but took away from the atmosphere of the place. Overall had a really good stay though.

Disliked: There was a huge piece of mold right by where my head was supposed to be sleeping.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and culture in buildings

Disliked: no pay by credit card

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liudmila Takayshvili

17 November 2010 Liudmila would recommend this property

Liked: All was very nice

Disliked: Liudmila left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Erin Pryor

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common room with a great selection of movies. Given a locker upon check in, which was nice. The great wall tour was awesome~we were the only ones on it. Nice area~close to the forbidden city.

Disliked: Beds were hard, and the rooms needed a little love. Seems a little pricey