HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Leo Hostel

Hostel | Guang Ju Yuan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Beijing, China 100051

78.7% Overall Rating

205 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2014)

pui lung chun-laine thinks…

"The location is convenient. in small street in old area."

Read all Beijing Leo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.43
  • Breakfast USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that Chinese guests can only stay in private rooms (not dorm rooms). Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Three Legged Frog Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 68.9% 39 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 81.5% 357 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 85.4% 199 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
74.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
43.46 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.08 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 70.4% 268 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

205 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Leo Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 175 of 184 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

cristian delucchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

21 August 2011

Liked: I think that this hostel is only good marketing, excelent location and lobby.

Disliked: Male and female toilets are togheter and very very dirty. Respect to beds... is better the hard sleep beds in the train than the hostel!!! trust me!!!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

NADAV ITAI

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room does not give the feeling of clean. No hot water. Toilet did not flash, guest smoke in public areas

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice neighborhood.

Disliked: The Great Wall Tour for 260 yuan Is not good. The guide is not really a guide, just a guy who leads the way, giving no information. Of course I still enjoyed the tour, being at the wall is truly magnificent. I would rather share a taxi with 3 more people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

simon miller

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Leo has a very atmospheric courtyard area and a good big-screen with plenty of movies to choose from. They have thought of most things a traveller needs and there are some decent food choices on the menu.

Disliked: It really was poorly cleaned and maintained - that aspect really let the Hostel down and would be the one reason I would hesitate to recommend it. We had a mouse in our Dorm and they unblocked a toilet with a mop (even though there were plungers in the hostel as we saw the next day).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for one night but it was a decent, nice hostel which I have no problem recommending

Disliked: The facilities are not all new and moderne but for the price it's a pretty good option

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: air con worked in rooms. the bed was soft and big for a double bed room. huge movie selection and the food was not bad. a lot of travellors to mingle with.

Disliked: The room did not have a warm ambiance to it, very plain....very depressing looking. the room was damp from the humidity. our room had a musty smell to it. Also, the staff told us it takes 1 hr to get to the airport with no traffic but it only takes 30 minutes with no traffic if you go early morning like we did. you can probably find a taxi on your own for cheaper instead of booking it with the hostel and paying 240 yuan.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great-close to the metro, Forbidden City, and markets.The desk staff were friendly and helpful along with the cleaning staff. The bed was comfortable and the air con. worked. Desk staff encouraged us to give ourselves 3hrs to get to the airport. Early morning flights only took 1/2 hour to get there and we should have hired our own taxi as the 240 charged at the hostel was high, but we were told it would take an hour to get there.

Disliked: In the double rooms/with bath- the floors were always wet and gave the rooms a urine odor.One female wait staff from the kitchen was often rude.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: there is not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Jamieson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location Delicious food Friendly English speaking staff

Disliked: A little run down. I got trapped in the dormitory room because of a stiff door!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Orla Brennan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011

Liked: the staff were nice an helpful

Disliked: The room was cold,there was only a little plug in heat that wasnt really good, the tiles on the floor in both the bedroom and bathroom were all cracked,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would be an ideal place to stay in the summer time! Location is brilliant lovely area and very near Quan de Ju peking duck restaurant.

Disliked: The directions from the subway to the hostel are non existent, a little direction or where to exit the subway would of helped enormously. It is actually very close to the the subway, maybe a 5 minute walk through a pedestrianised area. Also the pick up price from the airport is extortationate compared to other hostels. The had lost my reservation and then put me in a filthy room which looked like it had not been used in a long time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Colleen OBrien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and very nice. The big tv in the main room was really nice to relax at night, but took away from the atmosphere of the place. Overall had a really good stay though.

Disliked: There was a huge piece of mold right by where my head was supposed to be sleeping.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and culture in buildings

Disliked: no pay by credit card

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liudmila Takayshvili

17 November 2010 Liudmila would recommend this property

Liked: All was very nice

Disliked: Liudmila left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Erin Pryor

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common room with a great selection of movies. Given a locker upon check in, which was nice. The great wall tour was awesome~we were the only ones on it. Nice area~close to the forbidden city.

Disliked: Beds were hard, and the rooms needed a little love. Seems a little pricey

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

GIRIRAJ SINGH

Alone

26 October 2010 GIRIRAJ would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location, friendly staff, great atmosphere

Disliked: the room was kind of smelly.. hard beds..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Faith Matranga

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

27 September 2010 Faith would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I must've asked about 50 questions. It was really easy to meet people in the bar and courtyard areas. The locker was big enough to fit my large hiking pack and the outlet inside the locker was great for being able to charge my electronics.

Disliked: Room 210 does not have a locking door (but the large locker did) and a few of my toiletries went missing. You have to pay in cash because they do not take credit cards (I found it rare that places did in Beijing). Linens and a towel are free but you have to leave a 20rmb deposit for the towel and a 50rmb deposit for the room/locker key.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.. close to metro. Staff speak good english and can help with a range of tasks including booking train tickets. Is quite western but a good starting point if just arriving to China.

Disliked: The dorm rooms are a little dirty as I dont think they get cleaned that much.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location and reasonably priced. Also a great communal area for watching DVDs, having a beer and meeting other people.

Disliked: Cleanliness not the best, beds in dorms quite uncomfortable and we saw a mouse on one occassion.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rob Freeman

Alone

08 September 2010 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Good traveler atmosphere. Easy to meet people. Great location on atmospheric heritage street a short walk from Tiananmen Sq. Forbidden City etc. Excellent idea to have large lockers with power sockets in them so you can charge your laptop etc. in your locker, in your room

Disliked: Not set up to wash your own clothes or eat your own food. I don't smoke so would prefer no smoking in common area. A few mosquitoes.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcin Janiszewski

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

22 August 2010

Liked: Nice location.

Disliked: Do you travel to watch tv at the hostel? I don't. The tv is so noisy that it is hard to talk in the lobby. Can you call it atmosphere? The dorms are poor. You even don't get your own lamp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tessa Beckman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2010 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. The rooms are realy good, there is a nice bar to hang out and you can eat realy good there. The most staff can speak English and they will help you always. They will tell yo how you can go to the hot spot things and give you a good subway map with high points on it. It´s also in a good place. Near to the forbitten city, thebig squars, the subway and a shoppingdistrict. When I come back to Beijing I stay there again!

Disliked: The beds are a little bit hard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arleigh-Anne Holzgen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Arleigh-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and nice. Connie especially was smartand organized.

Disliked: The common room was too loud and dark. Also the coffee was too expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location near tianneman and a whole street of cheap restaurants.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.