HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Leo Hostel Beijing Hostel

A Lai Ke Zhan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Qianmen, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.00USD
  • Breakfast 1.50USD

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE*
Please note that Chinese guests can only stay in private rooms (not dorm rooms).
Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 23 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to stay!!!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I loved the atmosphere in that hostel. A great place to meet people, to talk and to chill out. The very best thing about that place :-)I stayed at the 14 bed dorm, which was ok. Pretty crowded all the time. If you guys are thinking about that hostel or 365 inn, you have to go to that place! It is way more private and not completely open to the road! The location in general is pretty good, close to Tian'anmen square.The staff was good, when you are there ask for peter, he is the coolest one. He does a great job there!You have to check out the Snake Vodka.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, and thank you for your great comments! We are probably Beijing's most sociable hostel, and now we are also the cheapest hostel - so welcome all! We also welcome all guests to buy Peter more Snake Vodka - "itssss good for you!" ;) Regards, LH

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good location and kept in a really nice hutong like style. Cafe area and patio are great. Also ejoyed very comfrtable bed and nice clean bedsheets.

Disliked: Bathrooms are too old.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you next time!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere, outgoing people. Great location. Good price.

Disliked: Could be cleaner (shower) but it was still ok.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for your review. We hope to see you next time for another great stay!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice bar and great food!! Nice people

Disliked: Very dirty common bathroom

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for your comments. We have changed our cleaning rota. All guests can now see a cleaning chart outside all common toilets/showers. See you next time!

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is convenient. in small street in old area.

Disliked: The room is very dark and dirty, the pillow is dirty, the bed is uncomfortable, bad air circulation. Some staff work there six hours per day without any income at all.Very small toilets, and very small shower rooms. and only one water basin can use for brushing teeth, the other is unable to use.The staffs are very unhelpful. They refused me at first for saying there is no bed, but I have done reservation, anyway, they do have beds.The price CNY50 is 25% higher than nearby 3 stars Hotel Kings Joy which costs only CNY40, that hotel offers very spacious room with private bathroom with windows with good view, good air circulation and clean.Many guests who have stayed in both hostels, all prefer very much the KINGS JOY HOTEL!!!!!


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your comments.

Next time please tell reception that you would like to change rooms. Also, please remember that there are toilets/showers at the other end of the hostel too.

Regards

LH

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was there also 2 years ago, and I see they did some improvements.Toilets and Dorms are much better than before. Thumbs up for that.At that time I was there for 2 weeks, this time only one night.The location is the best, is right on center of all the action.

Disliked: This time I was too short to detect any unpleasant things, it all went very smooth even very late check-in.2 years ago they had some annoying things like Toilets and the dorms, but it seems now they are much better.


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your comments.

We hope to keep improving for you.

Regards

LH

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We enjoyed the cheap price of beer...but besides being treated like crap by the clueless staff, we never will return. Oh and perhaps try listening to these reviews for once Leo management instead of paying someone to write good reviews of an AWFUL hostel (that goes for the tour review books as well).

Disliked: Everything. The hostel staff were under poor management, leading them to commit almost clueless acts of poor customer service(particularly the night staff). Taking our orders after 9 were a big bother to the person behind the bar despite it saying food served until 11. We had countless confrontations about not being able to eat in the main hostel room, yet no other area is supplied to eat or lounge in after hostel bedtime, so you either argue with the staff or eat in your dark dorm. We had complained about the staff shutting off the lights on us after 12 am, even when the bar was full, and were met with an array of excuses such as "you didn't order anything" (hence the yellow signs now on the bar tables). Even after attempting to purchase drinks however we were often told the bar was closed because the bartender in question wanted to sleep. You can even enjoy the lovely experience of seeing said staff members sleeping about in the bar if you come down late at night.The place seemed more interested in losing money than having basic customer service. Leo, I sincerely hope you start taking control of this management issue. We met you the first or second night of our stay, and to see your employees bringing you down like this was enraging. Sort out your management, listen to the reviews and fix basic things that should have been fixed before (i.e. the washroom door handles).


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your comments.

We have changed our manager.

Regards

LH

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, very central and with lots of shops and food places close by! The dorm was really big, there is definitely enough space for all your stuff!

Disliked: The shower and bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but it was still alright

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your great comments.

Our hostel does just what it says on the box! We have a great location, very close to the subway and Tiananmen Square, and we are also inside some ancient market streets.

We are happy that you liked the big dorm - its very spacious, with windows and fresh air. However, when we are very busy it is difficult to always keep the toilets/showers spotless - we will try harder!

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Take care

Leo Hostel :)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice amosphere

Disliked: Our 4-bed room had neither window nor aeration.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your comments.

We are very happy that you liked the atmosphere in our big cafe/bar. We offer food/drink specials throughout the week & are perhaps Beijing's busiest hostel bar. If you are feeling lazy/hungover, you can also just chill out in the Leo Movie World.

All of our 4 bed dorms have windows. We are are sorry that you perhaps thought they could not be opened?

See you next time for an even better stay!

Leo Hostel

Check Availability