We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sweet Garden House

Hostel | No.19 Dongsi Qi Tiao North of, Chaoyangmen Beixiaojie, Dongcheng District Beijing, China 100007

63.5% Overall Rating

60 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2010)

"The staff were fairly friendly but the windows did not lock at all and there was a roof outside so that anyone could climb in. When I told the staff they were nice about it but in the end they couldn't fix it and I just…"

Read all Beijing Sweet Garden House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Dragon King Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 116 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 84.3% 321 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Spring Time Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.5%

Overall Rating

60 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sweet Garden House'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
76.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 54 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Marriel Emersic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2014 Marriel would recommend this property

Liked: its convenience

Disliked: quite dirty

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Michael Jennison

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The hostel cancelled our booking without informing us because they assumed we wouldnt turn up. When we arrived they said we should have called before 6pm - which we had no idea about. They smiled and found the fact that we no longer had anywhere to stay at 8pm on a bank holiday evening funny.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 May 2014

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: I've stayed in my share of shabby hostels in the last 10 years, but never anything so absolutely FILTHY as Sweet Garden House. It's in a terrible location and is nearly impossible to find. This is the kind of place where you could very well be cleaner skipping your shower than using one of the two grotty, horrible bathrooms available for everyone in the dorms. The toilets were so bad that I took to using the public ones in the houtong instead. None of the doors had locks and neither did the windows. And the room was so cramped I had to sleep with my backpack on the bed with me. The kitchen was so far beyond uclean that the only thing that was more fetid was the toilets. The only good thing about this place is that the wifi is good enough to find alternate accomodation. STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: first my train to beijing was late 4 hours, so arrived in beijing at 8pm..not to loose my booked room i even called the sweet garden huse to inform that i will arrive later...finally at the sweet garden house we find out that they gave our room to someone else..let us wait and claimed that they had another hostel close which would take us..instead of the romantic hutong area we had to accept an hostel in the backyard of a huge hostel in next to an highway entrance in the sixth floor without an elevator...that night was especially important to me because i spent the last night with my vietnamese boyfriend before i had to go back to europe after studying for one year in china..so result i ended up in a room with really nothing not even a doublebed, dirty, like a prison cell and shared toilets and bathroom ...but had to pay the same price as in the sweet garden house for a double bed room with private bathroom...i just can call it a really bad joke..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010

Liked: The staff were fairly friendly but the windows did not lock at all and there was a roof outside so that anyone could climb in. When I told the staff they were nice about it but in the end they couldn't fix it and I just got told that "no-one's been robbed before". I padlocked my bag and chained it to the radiator but the worst thing as a woman travelling alone wasn't the worry of being robbed whilst I was out but lying in bed at night not feeling that the room was secure. Also the shower was pretty gross, with mud and hair all over the floor. And with only one bathroom for each gender, you often had to stand shivering in the corridor waiting for the loo as someone was in the shower. The lights in the room weren't dim like someone else said, they were fine to read by. The rooms were a little cold in my stay in September, but not too bad - I wouldn't recommend it in the winter. Oh yes and a lot of the noise from the corridor comes in to the room. It's not a terrible place to stay but it wasn't great and I wouldn't stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in traditional hutong, near subway staion, very quiet, and friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets a little bit dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: The bathrooms were really dirty

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the subway, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Matthew Long

11 October 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is a great guy and makes a lot of effort to keep everyone happy, and enjoying their stay in Beijing. As everyone says, the bathrooms are very average and dirty. Other than that though, this is a nice hostel, centrally located, and in a nice hutong. I would happily stay here gain.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely nice and helpful with arranging tours. They provided a complimentary breakfast each morning and picked us up at the airport for a small price. We really had a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freindliness of the other people on holidays.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff, great value, awesome location, real china experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. One English spoaking person. Help with chinese wall trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pauline Fallowell

23 September 2008 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful and it had a really good atmosphere about it

Disliked: Pauline left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mister Shu is cool!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Carl Brooks

02 September 2008 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Quite location with fresh bread around the corner. Relaxed atmosphere and staff are laid back.

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anita Meppelink

29 August 2008 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: we liked the atmosphere. the people who work there are very friendly and helpfull. some of them even became friends. it felt very safe. i would not have any problems sending my 13 year old daughter there, because it is so safe. it also felt like being at home. this was a very nice hostel.

Disliked: Anita left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location in quite back streets but close to all

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

will george george

17 August 2008

Liked: friendly helpful staff

Disliked: will george left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap, aircon.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are friendly, and you can rent bikes there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Daisy Moranga Boula

20 March 2008

Liked: i could say it nothing ! oh yeah just one thing after the first when i decided to pass the second night in an other hostel they give me back a part of my money really easily !

Disliked: Daisy left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, typical atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Speers

07 October 2007 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff - Location (right in the middle of one of Beijings oldest Hutung)

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.