We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing

Hostel | 103 Deshengmen Nei Da Jie, Xicheng District, Beijing, China 100035

81.7% Overall Rating

118 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

"The ensuite room we had was clean, and the hostel has a roof terrace just by the river"

Read all Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Houhai Courtyard Guest House
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 67.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Zaoyuanju
186.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 17 reviews
Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel
16.25 USD

Hostel 77.5% 25 reviews
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
68.73 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Heyuan International Youth Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 89 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

118 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ensuite room we had was clean, and the hostel has a roof terrace just by the river

Disliked: directions for guests coming from South Beijing RailS tation were not helpful at all, a lot of zig zag, walking from Jishuitan is easier for example

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Olga Carbin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2013

Liked: Excellent location by the lake and within easy reach of the Underground and a bus station. Quiet during the night time.

Disliked: A massive bar counter building was going on starting every morning at 7 am. Circular saw, hammering, dust and saw dust everywhere. The hostel was getting more and more messy and unkempt during my stay - squalid and unpleasant with stuff being piled up everywhere. No drinking water or hot water for tea were readily available. The staff was helpful but not forthcoming or enthusiastic and not trying to keep the disruption under control.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Raftery

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 July 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are unbelievably helpful; because of my travelling arrangements I had lots of awkward requests for them but they bent over backwards to accommodate, even keeping my suitcase for a week while I went travelling round other parts of China. The location is good, a 2 minute walk from Hou Hai and in the middle of 'Old Beijing'. The hostel has lots of character and lots of sofas and meeting areas. The only downside is that there isn't a central meeting place like a bar for people to gather. The double rooms are amazing value for money, 3* hotel quality, but the dorm rooms are more barracks-like with 2 bunks cramped into a tiny space. The lockers don't come with padlocks either so bring your own. I would definitely, definitely stay here again though because of the friendliness of the staff, I can't rate them highly enough.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerrit Plogmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Gerrit would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful. They helped us buying train ticket, organized a trip to the great wall and even made a reservation in a special restaurant for Beijing Duck. You can easily rent bikes and drive along the lakeside to the city center and it's 15 minuites walking to the Subway. For China it is a really quiet place, but you can also meet other travelers in the "lounge".

Disliked: Gerrit left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 January 2012

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: stayed in a private room that was really cold. there was no heating, so only the weak little aircon unit to warm the room. was very ineffective.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cristina Rusu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2011 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly and very helpful...the rooms are very basic, but ok. One of the girl from the hostel helped us in getting a train ticket - hard slpeer to Xian for the same day without any additional fee :), so they were really helpful!

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011

Liked: staff was quite helpful, but should be more math savvy -- the clerk couldn't give change for a $ 536 stay from $ 540!

Disliked: see comments above in question 2. this property needs major repairs and renovations. it is in very sad shape (condition)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's peaceful and quiet; It's clean.

Disliked: There are not many restaurants or stores in the surroundings; The food and hot drinks available at the hostel are a bit expensive.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: good common room, staff has overall good English, the character and atmosphere are good.

Disliked: Cons: not overly clean, no soap or toilet paper provided, train booking had ridiculous cover charge. And the shower was over the toilet. ( we tried to avoid using it!!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rikky Gunawan

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Rikky would recommend this property

Liked: all the staff are very kind, and especially hanna whom giving a clear direction where we wanna go. Like it so much and Big Thanks !!!

Disliked: just watch out by the mosquiotos,..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Fakhry

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: There were many pluses: lakeside location; lockers in rooms; clean double room that was very comfortable; helpful staff who spoke (relatively) good English. It had a nice lounge area filled with books, magazines, etc. Overall, a pleasant place to stay, honestly described and reviewed on this site.

Disliked: 1) Tour to JinShanLing part of Great Wall was a big draw for me. For some (stupid) reason, I was left behind by the minibus, but the staff eventually helped me resolve the issue with the company, and very satisfactorily at that. 2) Wifi access limited to reception area - didn't reach rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors. 3) It would have been even better value for money if it offered some sort of breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are so nice and helpful, and the common room really comfortable. the area is a local little area with a lake where the locals fish to walk around in the evening

Disliked: nothing, except it can be hard to explain to taxi drivers where it is, exactly. but the staff help out with that

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: evereything

Disliked: laundry service ruined my shirt and denied responsability.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location near the lake, was about 10 mins walk from a metro stop but a nice walk. Lovely area, esp at night.

Disliked: It was not centrally located ie by the forbidden city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Ward

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Clean fluffy towels, shower soap provided in the double room. Good coffee:)

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home cos of set up and staff. Quiet yet place and people readily accessible. . Counter cafe menu simple but good enough in spread and taste. Well done for the power sockets, no need for universal adapter, a few and different options. An idea, is to have a bulletin board that travellers can add their ideas and tips for touring around Beijing or nearby hostel st we dun miss out good off-beaten track places. Otherwise, we had a wonderful stay!

Disliked: Room could be more spacious and location and direction online could be more accurate and clearer especially arriving at night.Main problem is shower and basin water temperature not constant and wireless connection in room not strong and consistent. Be useful to have a more distinct hostel sign board that can be seen from afar and at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rudolf Van Schaik

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011

Liked: staff

Disliked: old, no maintainence, no tv

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elli Donajgrodzki

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Elli would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best place to stay in Beijing. The staff are so friendly and helpful and their English is amazing! It's not directly in the centre but that's a good thing, the lake is really pretty and the metro system is really efficient! We had a nice private double en suite and it was really clean with modern furniture. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: Nothing really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bernard Wright

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 March 2011 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are THE highlight. They seem to try to do everything possible to help travelers in what, for most, is a strange environment. They are friendly and help to make the facility a 'home' rather than an impersonal hotel.

Disliked: Nothing negative.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and willing to go to far lengths to help. Place was well located to major attractions. Place was clean and lockers are big enough to fit your rucksack. Internet was at a good speed and wifi was working. Bathroom had ample space. Showers were hot.

Disliked: Not much. The hot water ran out in about 10 minutes.. though there is a needle to indicate how much hot water is left so it's not a surprise when the water starts turning cold. Except if you get a room without an ensuite you may have to shower over a squat toilet in the common bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel march

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay. The rooms are very clean, and the staff are very helpful.

Disliked: Only negatives would be limited food on offer, and distance from main attractions.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Romantic getaway

04 September 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Over-officious staff-member

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location by the lakeCleaner than the average hostelHelps with booking tickets and eventsLarge lockers in dormsBeautiful staff

Disliked: Rooms are a bit small; the beds are large, as well as the lockers, but there's no room for a table or much open space

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For those looking for a budget accommodation while in Beijing I would definitely recommend this place.1. Staff was really friendly and helpful2. They served breakfast in the morning for a fair price3. Well stocked fridge for drinks (fair price) on the go or after you come back from sightseeing4. Beds were suitable in size for those Westerners (6'0)5. Douve blanket...so comfortable6. Standard toilet not a squat toilet

Disliked: If I had to complain 1. Subway was about a 10 minute walk 2. Drinks in the fridge could be colder after a walking in the hot sun 3. Taxi driver had a hard time finding the place from the airport. Bring a map ahead of time. 4. WiFi was not the fast and we could not access it from the 3rd floor 5. Rooms might be smaller than you expect 6. Quite a walk to the lakeside bar district (10-15 min)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Fridholm

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and peaceful location. Good coffee! =)

Disliked: They only had female/male-dorms, no information about this on hostelbookers.