We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel

Hostel | No51, Dongsi Jiutiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China Beijing, China 100007

82.2% Overall Rating

155 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2014)

"Really friendly staff-they are all so lovely and happy to help. really close to the subway easy to get anywhere you need. Really enjoyable stay."

Read all Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Lucky Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 90.6% 118 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ming Courtyard
7.31 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 84.3% 322 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

155 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 169 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Albrecht

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2012 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: - situated in a good area - friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: - in winter it is quite cold, even the dorm / sanitary wasn't really warm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shannon Coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. We went on the Mutianyu Great Wall tour and had a wonderful time. The food at the hostel was nice and the staff are very friendly. Very close to the subway which is super handy for sight seeing. The dumpling party was also great fun.

Disliked: My only qualm with the hostel was our train tickets. The staff offered to book them for us after we asked where we could buy them (having done it ourselves in Shanghai). For 15Y extra they offered to do it for us. We thought it would be a good idea so we didn't miss out on seeing the city. Unfortunately, when we checked the tickets the next day they were for seven hours earlier than we had asked, and by then (as we were checking out) there was nothing we could do about it. We were told we would have to pay extra to change the time. We ended up having to spend a few hours commuting to Beijing South Station from our other hotel further out of the city to change the time of our tickets. All this after we paid extra not to have to do it ourselves. In the end it worked out but it would have been much easier to do it ourselves from the start.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Naazneen Samsodien

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Naazneen would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, happy, friendly, welcoming atmosphere, fairly spacious, rustic but very comfortable

Disliked: Toilets in some of the rooms had a musty smell after showering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our double room was warm and cosy and the ensuite bathroom was cleaned each day - which is a first for us in Asia....The bar staff are exceptionally friendly and always smiling and welcoming. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. All staff have a good level of spoken english.

Disliked: The huge radiators in the bed and bath rooms are just for show and don't work, but the room was warm anyway with the a/c and heater. We were there for New Years Eve and that was the only evening where there was not a party "atmosphere" the bar and no effort for any celebrations.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Rodrigue

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were always smiling and ready to help us out. The service at the bar was always friendly, and the front desk helpful with our weird reservation.

Disliked: Trying to find it is a little confusing at first, and the narrow street is a little hazardous whenever scooters drive down, but that's a fact of China

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

richard colbey

As a family with children

City break

23 December 2011 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and good value

Disliked: Tried to talk us into going on a tour we didn't want, heating in room didn't work very well

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The central courtyard bar and restaurant was comfy and relaxing. Staying in the hutong was also neat and pretty quiet.

Disliked: The washroom smelled a bit funky.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled atmosphere and friendly staff ready to help you

Disliked: Toilet and shower cubicles are tiny which can bea nuisance.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Astrid Hidajat

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (especially Keiki) was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful hostel with clean and spacious room and bathroom (stayed in private ensuite). It is within walking distance to subway station. The hutong it is located in may be too quiet at times after dark, but I suppose it's a safe neighbourhood as I saw children playing.

Disliked: I wish the room is better insulated against the cold. Other than that, I had no complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kraig Andrews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Kraig would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chun Kit Lo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 Chun Kit would recommend this property

Liked: Courtyard house is very beautiful in Beijing.

Disliked: Sometime it very quiet when u back late.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and knowledge of the staff was impeccable, always willing to give you more advice than is standard in many hostels. Great location, easy to get everywhere on the subway and right next to a subway station so not much walk with big backpacks!!

Disliked: Music in the bar was too loud considering there was no party atmosphere or people in there (off season), shared toilets sometimes smelt a little.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the subway station.

Disliked: Lots of smoking in the common room. Just makes it smell bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Marker

Alone

City break

13 November 2011 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Relaxing courtyard. Clean rooms. Worth every penny! Great environment .I loved this hostel .

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (full of restaurants and very close to the metro station)! Good place to meet new friends. Relaxing chill out zone.

Disliked: The dormitory doors make a bit noise! Toilet in common uncomfortable, ensuite ok!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was hard to get an available room on the nights we wanted, probably as it is a reasonably small hostel, but when we did eventually stay here it was very enjoyable. Friendly staff (especially in the bar), socialable guests and free BBQ and Dumpling nights etc and pretty cheap drinks. Book well in advance!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn McCoubrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great little bar/chill area!

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011

Liked: Free pc and free internet

Disliked: The parrot chained in the garden! and dirty... dirty ... dirty! the wc in the room partially flush into the shower water is spilling from tubes heathers are rusty wall are dirty sheets are dirty

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011

Liked: Very friendly staff. Exiting trip to Badaling and all the other stops on that tour. Good aircon in room, it was october and very cold outside but nice in the room. Good location but a bit ditchy alley.

Disliked: Very run down; wallpaper falling of in room and very dirty wallpaper next to bed. Toilet smelled horrible!!! Cold in bar/restaurant some times. Had to wait atleast 30mins on the food all the time, even for breakfast, on the last night I had to wait for an whole hour for my food! Kitchen should need an update since the only seem to be able to make food for one person at the time. Too little time at the wall at Badaling, hostelstaff told us that we would be there for 3hrs but we only got 1,5hrs there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cafe is lovely and has good food. A great place to meet people, but also calm and relaxed. And yes there is not so much room in the dorms, but you'll work it out, it's not a problem.

Disliked: no idea

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the cool and laid back atmosphere of the bar coupled with the traditional hutong architecture. The staff were young, friendly, and helpful, and most of the other guests were backpacker types. The location, very close to the metro, was great.

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning. It was a pretty nice place. I would go back.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful with booking tickets and giving advice. the rooms were clean and the bed sheets were changed every day. also supplied clean towels for free

Disliked: the showers could definately do with being updated, they never seemed to get cleaned and we stayed four days. there was also limited hot water.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hutong atrium atmosphere

Disliked: Room door security is below expectable, bathroom smelled a little b/c of drainpipe

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsea Montgomery

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 October 2011 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the metro which is great, especially when you are carrying heavy backpacks. It's near the center which is nice. Last time we stayed right in Tiananmen Square and going to the metro was a pain because it was so overly crowded. Here we could actually breathe in the metro and then just get out wherever we chose. It's really easy to get to from the train stations- only one line change. The staff was great!!! SO nice and helpful! They have the cheapest & best cocktails!! And the best burgers in China-my British friend loved them and then said he would trust it because I (an American) gave it a stamp of approval! We loved staying here and will defiantly be staying here again since we come into Beijing at least once a month.

Disliked: nada! loved it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food is pretty cheap. Themed nights - BBQ and dumpling party - but get there on time or u will miss out! Wireless and free laptop use is great, sometimes a lil slow Rooms are nice and clean

Disliked: Noisy at night and early morning, quiet only between about 2.30am and 6.30am so bring earplugs or prepare for little sleep! Great wall tour isnt really a tour, they just drive u there and order ur lunch, ur left to visit the wall without a guide but he told us all we really needed to know on the way up so would still recommend it