HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel

Hostel | No51, Dongsi Jiutiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China Beijing, China 100007

82.5% Overall Rating

152 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"It was easily accessed by subway. The dorm rooms are pretty spacious. It has a cute Chinese decor!"

Read all Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Lucky Family Hostel
12.97 USD

Hostel 88.0% 165 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 91.7% 107 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ming Courtyard
10.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 90.7% 75 reviews
Happy Dragon Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 83.5% 319 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

152 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Babbage

Alone

City break

03 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: In a good place near the subway, has comfy beds and curtains around the beds, nice bar area etc!

Disliked: The glass door to the bathroom, not that see through, but still......

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, the courtyard space is great to relax in and the coffee in the bar is good. The metro stop is a few minutes away giving you easy access to the city.

Disliked: The showers were often dirty, I think because a lot of people use the one toilet block. The showers also had appalling pressure and changed temperature from boiling to freezing every minute or so.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff at the hostel were really helpful, with information about Beijing and booking onward train tickets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Taylor

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic helped with booking excursions and train tickets. Had a bar so it was esay to meet people. It is right next to shops banks and the metro.

Disliked: sharing 1 bathroom with 2 toilets in for the whole hostel that was only a small dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and clean rooms. I stayed in an dorm for 6 persons with a bathroom. The staff of the reception is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The cafe/bar was overpriced and the staff inside there was slow.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 July 2012

Liked: I liked that it was in one of Beijing's Hutongs and near the subway.

Disliked: The hostel was only surface clean, it definitely needs some upkeep and a solid deep cleaning. The beds were loud (squeaky) and there was a lot of noise from the courtyard. The restaurant in the middle takes a lot of the character away from the original courtyard feel. Staff was okay, be very careful when you're hiring a taxi to the airport through them (I booked and paid the night before, and then suddenly there were two more people, I demanded a partial refund and argued that the other two should not be paying full price either.)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Colleen Gillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, good food, many activities can be arranged through the hostel. Having been around to a few other hostels, the prices appear very acceptable.

Disliked: Doors are locked by padlock, which can be a pain and causes a problem for security. There are lockers though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and willing to help with anything. The hostel is really clean. You can order food or drinks at any time. Even if you are in a dorm you can have a little bit of privacy because the beds have curtains. That was unexpected and really nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely courtyard. Near to Ghost Street for some great food.

Disliked: Expensive drinks, and you couldn't bring your own food or drink to the only social space in the Hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cafe had very tasty food. I loved the book exchange, and the employees were very helpful with directions and booking issues. I loved the pond with the pet ducks, and the free WiFi.

Disliked: The cafe prices are very high, and the showers could use a little extra attention. The bathroom stalls are very tiny. It would be nice to have an alternative lock on the hostel dorm---having just a padlock to fasten on the outside made it difficult to feel secure sleeping in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really relaxed place and smiling staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great rooms

Disliked: public restrooms were a litttle janky...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and character

Disliked: Ants in bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10/10. Perfect location, friendly/helpful/English speaking staff, the place I'm going to stay next time I'm in Beijing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helped us out a lot. The athmosphere was really nice, since this hostel is located in a Hutong. The place was also great for meeting other travellers. The food served was excellent and the prices reasonable.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit moist and smelly, but this seems to be part of the Hutong experience, since usually the builsings are not connected to the city's water system.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very cheerful, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: A dusty, dirty area

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful and seemed genuinely interested in us. They spoke good english and were able to accurately deal with all our requests.

Disliked: Though the bedroom was a good size and the bed was comfortable (which in China is a real plus) there seemed to be a problem with damp. There was a automatic air freshner that gave the room a constant "synthetic perfumed" smell but which was unable to disguise the odour of damp. 2 other bedrroms we saw suffered the same problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything fine. We enjoyed it very much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mao Thygesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2012 Mao would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. Helped us out a lot with last min arrangements. Plus the coffee is good.

Disliked: Mao left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jamie Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool laid back vibe, really fun and friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: I'm afraid I'll have to echo many of the other comments: the room smelt pretty bad!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joao Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant was a wonderful place to spend extra time when not touring.

Disliked: The walk down the street to the hostel was hard, as the taxi did not drop me off at the door, but on the main street, which meant I had to walk for about 15 minutes with luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and always smiling. The bar/ cafe area was very welcoming, and the location is good, close to the subway and some excellent and very cheap restaurants.

Disliked: Quite cold in winter!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Albrecht

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2012 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: - situated in a good area - friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: - in winter it is quite cold, even the dorm / sanitary wasn't really warm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shannon Coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. We went on the Mutianyu Great Wall tour and had a wonderful time. The food at the hostel was nice and the staff are very friendly. Very close to the subway which is super handy for sight seeing. The dumpling party was also great fun.

Disliked: My only qualm with the hostel was our train tickets. The staff offered to book them for us after we asked where we could buy them (having done it ourselves in Shanghai). For 15Y extra they offered to do it for us. We thought it would be a good idea so we didn't miss out on seeing the city. Unfortunately, when we checked the tickets the next day they were for seven hours earlier than we had asked, and by then (as we were checking out) there was nothing we could do about it. We were told we would have to pay extra to change the time. We ended up having to spend a few hours commuting to Beijing South Station from our other hotel further out of the city to change the time of our tickets. All this after we paid extra not to have to do it ourselves. In the end it worked out but it would have been much easier to do it ourselves from the start.