HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Beijing Leo Courtyard Beijing Hostel

Zhushikouxi Dajie Shanxixiang22, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 81%

Safety 71%

Staff 74%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 41.83USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 62%

Location 81%

Safety 71%

Staff 74%

Value 72%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Building has lots of character and is really close to lots of shops, markets, and places to see

Disliked: staff didn't feel approachable hostel is hard to find

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Old shikumen :)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The twin room is a much better option than the double. It is a much larger room!

Disliked: The staff was very unhelpfull and disinterested in our questions and requests. We did our bookings and got our questions answered at the sister hostel, Leo Hostel, up the road.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cheap Nice Location close TO center

Disliked: Staff does not talk much,

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The courtyard us really a nice place to seat an relax. The bar is quite nice to meet people, even it's mostly used by the staff. Anyway they are great to talk to.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Location is quite handy, but there are several other hostels that are slightly better located - within 5-10minutes walk of this hostel.

Disliked: The information says it has 24 hour reception. THIS IS NOT TRUE. So if you have a late check-in you may find that there is no one there! I sent an email advising them of my late check-in and they responded. So I showed up - and NO ONE was there to check me in. There is a small sign that advises you to go to the bar if the reception is unattended - THE BAR WAS CLOSED TOO. The showers are barely hot enough, you have to turn it all the way to the hottest it can go - and its about lukewarm. The hostel is dusty, dank, dirty, and disorganised. Smells bad. People smoke in all the common areas, including the reception staff smoking in the reception area. No atmosphere. Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything. plumbing seems all jury rigged. You can at least run the air-conditioner, but the air that comes out of it smells bad.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good hostel

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price

Disliked: stairs to bathrooms

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely place with really helpful staff. Location is good but not as good as leos sister hostel but this is a great back up with good value for money, staff were really friendly and helpful

Disliked: It is abit out of the way down a dodgy alley but beijing is very safe so not an issue! The hostel is really aimed at chinese people but are very helpful to foreigners. It makes a great last resort(as it was for me!) But it wouldnt be my first choice had i have had other options

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The young lady who helped us with various issues (changing rooms, booking additional nights, booking tours, finding taxi) was superb. She was the most competent, helpful and friendly staff person we have met on our trip.We liked that it was close to what we wanted to see, and also in an area of cheap and good street food -very good introduction to China for us.We did stay in the dorms as well as in private rooms - and the beds were clean and made up well.

Disliked: There were some cleanliness and maintenance issues with the place overall - not unusual for where we've stayed in hostels across China. In one room the air conditioner dripped condensation onto my bed so I had to put a towel beside me to soak it up. The toilets had some mechanical issues (one had continously running water - a simple fix but a bit irritating. One of the dorm rooms overlooks a street cookery and smells of stale grease, so they should keep the window closed all the time.. And the air conditioner wasn't working. But overall, we were ok with the facilities and extremely happy with the effort put in by the onsite staff.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability