We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel

Hostel | No 22, shaaxi xiang, qianmen beijing Beijing, China 0000

66.7% Overall Rating

23 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

"The courtyard us really a nice place to seat an relax. The bar is quite nice to meet people, even it's mostly used by the staff. Anyway they are great to talk to."

Read all Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Three Legged Frog Hostel
6.33 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 80.1% 245 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 79.8% 364 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
48.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Kings Joy Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.0% 209 reviews
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
33.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 70.4% 268 reviews
Beijing Best Hotel
47.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

23 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The courtyard us really a nice place to seat an relax. The bar is quite nice to meet people, even it's mostly used by the staff. Anyway they are great to talk to.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

31 October 2013

Liked: Location is quite handy, but there are several other hostels that are slightly better located - within 5-10minutes walk of this hostel.

Disliked: The information says it has 24 hour reception. THIS IS NOT TRUE. So if you have a late check-in you may find that there is no one there! I sent an email advising them of my late check-in and they responded. So I showed up - and NO ONE was there to check me in. There is a small sign that advises you to go to the bar if the reception is unattended - THE BAR WAS CLOSED TOO. The showers are barely hot enough, you have to turn it all the way to the hottest it can go - and its about lukewarm. The hostel is dusty, dank, dirty, and disorganised. Smells bad. People smoke in all the common areas, including the reception staff smoking in the reception area. No atmosphere. Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything. plumbing seems all jury rigged. You can at least run the air-conditioner, but the air that comes out of it smells bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Something of a 'love hotel' but great location and nice, mirrored rooms

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wang Mei

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Wang would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: Wang left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: stairs to bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louise edwards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 louise would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place with really helpful staff. Location is good but not as good as leos sister hostel but this is a great back up with good value for money, staff were really friendly and helpful

Disliked: It is abit out of the way down a dodgy alley but beijing is very safe so not an issue! The hostel is really aimed at chinese people but are very helpful to foreigners. It makes a great last resort(as it was for me!) But it wouldnt be my first choice had i have had other options

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The young lady who helped us with various issues (changing rooms, booking additional nights, booking tours, finding taxi) was superb. She was the most competent, helpful and friendly staff person we have met on our trip. We liked that it was close to what we wanted to see, and also in an area of cheap and good street food -very good introduction to China for us. We did stay in the dorms as well as in private rooms - and the beds were clean and made up well.

Disliked: There were some cleanliness and maintenance issues with the place overall - not unusual for where we've stayed in hostels across China. In one room the air conditioner dripped condensation onto my bed so I had to put a towel beside me to soak it up. The toilets had some mechanical issues (one had continously running water - a simple fix but a bit irritating. One of the dorm rooms overlooks a street cookery and smells of stale grease, so they should keep the window closed all the time.. And the air conditioner wasn't working. But overall, we were ok with the facilities and extremely happy with the effort put in by the onsite staff.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tomasz Wozniak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smell of sewage Condition of the room Noise from the courtyard Bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Nadezhda Zakharova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Nadezhda would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Oldes and drity rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Orlando Sanchez Montesdeoca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013

Liked: The place itself has character, old fashioned and with young travellers. It Is my first Stay in China, so I cannot compare. Good Patio With Sofas And Wifi. The Hutong Is Lively.

Disliked: I did not like the smell. It is not clean. The Room I Got Was Dark And Rusty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Can be noisy and not very clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Katherine Havard

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013

Liked: This property has such potential. The courtyard is beautiful, the location is very interesting and the staff are really helpful.

Disliked: So dirty! So much dust, there was dust balls flying around the room. The bathroom had hairs all over the floor and the shower curtain looked so disgusting it should be incinerated. The bed sheets were stained, you could see blood stains on them. The shower clogged up one morning, so I undid the shower drain - it was full of dirt, slime and hair. I left it out for the cleaners to see when they came in to change the bins (it was very obvious), they must have seen it but did absolutely nothing about it. I have stayed in many cheap hostels before but they have never compromised on cleanliness and there is no need for them to. This place though, was disgusting and I wouldn't recommend staying here. The food was mostly good, but dishes came out at random times and one day we ordered and had to wait an hour for the food to arrive. Several times we ordered and the dish had been changed to suit the cook (for example, an egg and tomato croissant turned into a salad, cheese and ham croisant, it was good but not what I ordered), without bothering to ask us. The quality of food also varied day to day-oneday I ordered porridge and it was delicious, the next day it was awful and nothing like porridge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wang aisuo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 wang would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Good if you want to make new friends and have some drinks. Staff were very friendly and helpful -- best I've met in China.

Disliked: The room is little bit small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

bassin manfred

Alone

City break

18 January 2013 bassin would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, sparkling clean rooms, on a nice, quiet hutong far from the tourist area but just a very short walk from the subway. The staff here worked so hard to make sure that our stay was perfect. Can't say enough nice things about this hostel - best value in Beijing! Highly recommended!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to two main attractions (Temple of Heaven & Tiananmen Sq) by foot. Friendly staff and nice chill out place. Lots of friendly travelers to hang out with. Good food and bar selection.

Disliked: Shower and toilet rooms not so clean

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Valeria Esther Goitea

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012

Liked: Definitely not like the Hostel and not recommended.

Disliked: We had very bad experience with this Hostel. We booked a transfer to come and find us at Beijing airport upon arrival. I received an e-mail with conditions to accept, as I had to forward that email accepting these conditions for the transfer to be sent but never appeared Transfer. At 4 am I calling the Hostel. I did it three times and only in these three occasions I met a man who could not speak English and that because of that never failed to solve the problem. We had to take a taxi at the airport. It is very difficult to find an honest taxi driver taxi drivers there as false and fake around you to take a very high cost. When we arrived at the Hostel propose what happened at Reception of Hostel but nobody took over. We could only see two teenagers blamed each other for what happened .. Nobody took care of anything. All speak very bad English there. We asked a computer to use as this Hostel has a room with three computers but none works!!. At the reception you send to Leo Hostel to use their computers. In Leo Hostel we wanted to use a computer but have been treated very badly there too. When we went to Leo Hostel saw that there were also difficulties in using a computer. The receptionist told us that one of the computers was free to use for half an hour. So we use but along comes another girl's Hostel is accusing us of having taken the computer and to use it had to pay a deposit. We talked with the receptionist, who told us that it was free for half an hour, but the computer was using another hidden in the bar. We were treated badly, as if we were to steal something or not wanting to pay to use. I wanted to pay for the use of the computer. It was not serious but everything became complicated and cumbersome. Best to always carry the computer itself as it is an impossible situation in China.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jana Vanhoof

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, would go there again

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bien situé. Jolie architecture. Hall superbe. Leur excursion sur la grande muraille est à recommander (pas de touristes sur le tronçon choisi).

Disliked: Difficile à trouver à l'arrivée. Bâtiment assez vétuste derrière la beauté du lieu. Salle de bain microscopique (1m²), la douche consistait en une douchette sur lavabo.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It made you feel like you're in a part of Traditional Chinese atmosphere. Staffs were very nice.

Disliked: Inside the room didn't renovate, so it seems a bit old.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chng Sim Pheng

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Chng would recommend this property

Liked: I am actually living in past General house :-). Although the building is old but have a long nice history

Disliked: A bit off the main road but cos of that than it is cheaper

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011

Liked: Nothing, just a bed to sleep - not even comfortable

Disliked: Only one hostel in 4 months trip, where they steal your socks, good that only this.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rinat Istomin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Rinat would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the atmosphere, they are really nice! The staff is nice as well!

Disliked: I think it's better to provide visitors with fresh towels everyday.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Emily Fish

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: We only had to stay for one night

Disliked: The beds were rock solid, the bed sheets and duvet cover had holes in them, the bathroom was awful, very dingy. The shower was cold and there was nowhere to put your stuff. None of the electronic appliances in our room worked, e.g. night lights and TV.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Golan Scherman

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011

Liked: service and facilities

Disliked: cleanlines

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, down a quiet alley but walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. The courtyard itself is beautiful and the facilities in the adjoining Leo 2 Hostel are good. The staff are friendly and helpful and the place was kept clean. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times and the food is good value.

Disliked: We were lucky with the weather, but I can imagine it would be quite cold in winter time in the courtyard. Also, we were not so keen on their strict policy when we broke a glass - we were forced to pay over the odds for it but not compensated when they lost a sock of mine in the laundry. I asked them to check for the sock but wasn't going to complain as I was of the mind that accidents happen, but it's a shame they didn't think the same way.