HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Wada Youth Hostel

Hostel | 8th Beimao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China -

77.7% Overall Rating

20 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"In between two subway line Good use of sun light on the second floor and the common room"

Read all Beijing Wada Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.74

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Houhai Courtyard Guest House
12.99 USD

Guesthouse 67.4% 5 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
INNer City
14.62 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 550 reviews
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
16.24 USD

Hostel 81.7% 123 reviews
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
24.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 133 reviews
Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House
16.24 USD

Hostel 90.3% 67 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

20 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Wada Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In between two subway line Good use of sun light on the second floor and the common room

Disliked: Every washroom smell, the vent for the washroom are not well designed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Far out of the Center. to reach the metro you need a bus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YENLIN CHEN

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2012 YENLIN would recommend this property

Liked: located within 2nd circle of Beijing, almost the city centre and quiet! Nice decoration and staff, make it as at home.

Disliked: YENLIN left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012

Liked: No

Disliked: People were smoking at the registration place. Too little toilets for shared rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, easy to get to on public transport.

Disliked: A bit noisy and dirty, but that is fine given how cheap it is.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient to subway and from there most places I wanted to see were easily accessed. It was in a nice quiet out of the spot

Disliked: The location down the alley made it difficult to find.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly chinese people

Disliked: Bit cold at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Karin van Dael

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: There was a great and welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: The toilets didn't t flush that well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent prizes, good area for local food, friendly staff, free wireless, hotpot-party, cool pets :)

Disliked: NA

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Stampfl

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 October 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: The Location

Disliked: Smoking in common room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is about 10 min from the subway stop Xin Jie Kou on line 4. It's not a terrible location, some small local restaurants nearby (you have to turn right out of the hostel and then right again on the first street and there you'll have lots of places to eat and eventually end up on the main road in about 10 min). The hostel was clean enough, though our room was never cleaned during the six nights we were there.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled and the room was always damp. We read this in another review and put it off because most of the bathrooms in China smell, but this one seemed much worse than typical. Also, only one staff member really spoke English and they didn't seem very helpful about telling us how to get places. However, they are friendly and do their best. The common area would have been nice, but it seemed like people were always smoking in it. :(

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Neville

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: Staff were friendly. Rooms were ok.

Disliked: Twice my room was entered without my permission. Once will I was taking nap in the afternoon, by one of the staff. I have no idea why she wanted to enter my room - but I wasn't impressed. The second time was when I was about to check out. I returned right at 12pm (check out time) to find my room wide open. The said the cleaner was in there making the bed etc. However when I got to my room there was no cleaner in sight. Just my belongings sitting there for all to see/steal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful and friendly. The room is good for the price.

Disliked: They advertise a Great Wall tour as being 'the new Jinshanling - Simatai' which is very confusing since they even showed us a leaflet about the real Jinshanling - SImatai walk. In the end we ended up in a completely different place very near Badaling. It was quite good thought, but still no what we expected. It did rain inside the hostel during a heavy storm in Beijing. The location is not bad but not good either (5 to 10 mintues walk from the metro, and not much to do around the place)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Patrick BOUNLIENG

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011

Liked: prices

Disliked: staff dirt

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011

Liked: The sleeping arrangements were fine. Communal area was fine...not air-conditioned though so very hot. Staff was friendly. Sandwiches are good. Rooms are cheap. Hot showers.

Disliked: They advertise free internet but the whole time I was there the communal computer was not working. When enquiring about email cafe and phone cards they could not help much ...Not a good place to meet fellow travellers as the majority of the people there (when I was there) were locals in Beijing on business or visiting family/friends....The food was extremely disappointing. On my first day I ordered a breakfast and a latte. The breakfast was pathetic and the latte was made from sour milk. On my last evening there I ordered a Chinese meal- which did not taste like Chinese food at all. I would describe it as a really bland western meal....The beer is overpriced

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and location pretty close to metro station. common area was a good place to have a beer and relax and talk to other people staying there

Disliked: could only get internet in the common area, bathrooms could be updated but weren't too bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jacques delmarre

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 jacques would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, great value for your money

Disliked: slow internet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corine Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

31 March 2011 Corine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really make this place special - they are so friendly and are willing to help you with any questions you may have. It is the nicest looking hostel I have seen out of about five of the same price range in Beijing. I wish WADA the very best of luck in the coming years and hope it maintains such excellence.

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpfull, Location is good, near mert station. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Computers in the lobby worked so-so, but the staff let us use their laptops, so not a problem really. The rooms were quite basic, not that I'd require anything fancier.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

25 January 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Charming setting, close to tube stop and plenty of choices of eatteries close by. Friendly staff and helpful service.

Disliked: Nothing