HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of BackHome Beijing Guest House Beijing Hostel

No.58 Xisi Bei Wu Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 79%

Location 76%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.25USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 79%

Location 76%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 84%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Locate in the old hutong area of Beijing, close to a subway station,[the subway is amazing] and close to many attractions. It is a great cultural experience just walking the hutong streets/alleys, greeting residents and eating at the local cafes/resturants. The food is so good and so cheap. Staff have limited English but enough to get by and were friendly and helpful. It has a court yard with rooms off the court yard, the traditional Beijing guesthouse.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place in a great location, not too far from the train station. The atmosphere was great. We booked the mutiniya great wall trip (no shopping or tombs), went on a weekday and it was unbelievable!

Disliked: We left a "key deposit" even though there no keys. We changed our travel plans late and had to get a train early in the morning which meant that given not wanting to wake up the dude, we never got the deposit back...pretty annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had a certain character and the only guy who spoke English was very helpful. It was in a quirky and a bit dodgy neighbourhood though.

Disliked: They tried to put me in a bed linen that had not been changed (!) and althought on their website they say the breakfast was included in the price of my room - it wasn't.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Good price, interesting neighbourhood. Very helpful staff, great deal on getting your laundry done! One of the most comfortable beds we had.

Disliked: A bit of a walk from the metro and places to eat. Cab drivers did not want to drive here, even though we had directions in Chinese script. You have to be adventurous and wanting to stay in a hutong! We thought there would be Mike, the owner and english-speaking man, at the property. However, he was not there, and we had to communicate with the helpful staff via computer (translation website). No breakfast available, though it was advertised. We did get a 15 yuan/day rebate though.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful communal space, friendly staff, decent clean toilet & room, and a really comfy bed.

Disliked: Tv didn't work, really dodgy wiring so couldn't use most of the plugs. Noisy aircon kept us awake. Lock on door didn't work & had to be fixed while we were there, couldn't close misshapen windows. Area boring, nothing interesting all the way to the metro by either route.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cute courtyard, friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Mike at the reception was very cool and helpful. THX Mike for all!First I stayed there alone, but all my friends who had reservation in other hostels slowly all moved here, leaving behind their already paid rooms - this tells everything:) Apart from this the place is clean, simple, friendly and calm. The food in the nearby restaurant is very good, and you can order directly to the hostel - reception will help you.

Disliked: Only 1 thing: when staying in the dorm, the common bathroom is pretty cold in winter time. Should not be a problem in summer though.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location nice palace

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were extremely kind, helpful and welcoming. They helped us arrange trips to some of the tourist attractions and gave useful tips when we were planning days out. We stayed over Chinese New Year and the hostel held a party with home cooked food and fireworks. We were made to feel like part of the family. The hostel has plenty of character and the room was cosy and clean although small. The shower was hot and powerful and the heating in the bathroom was a bonus. The aircon warmed the room up well. The bed was big and comfy. The hostel has a good common area and although there isn't an in-house restaurant you can order tasty food to the hostel from a local restaurant. Tea and toast is available at breakfast time.

Disliked: The hostel is not centrally located but it is only a 10 minute walk to two subway stations.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's clean. It's a good price. The staff are great and funny. Talk to them. One of their mothers came for spring festival and made dumplings with all of us. Also they offer good tours that are a good deal. If they tell you that you are going to get ripped off going to the great wall by yourself, you should probably believe them.

Disliked: It's a little cold in the bathroom...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability