HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of BackHome Beijing Guest house

Guesthouse | No.58 SiXi north 5th Alley, No.58 XISI Bei Wu Tiao, Beijing, China 100034

82.6% Overall Rating

18 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/12/2013)

Gregory Knight thinks…

"Locate in the old hutong area of Beijing, close to a subway station,[the subway is amazing] and close to many attractions. It is a great cultural experience just walking the hutong streets/alleys,…"

Read all BackHome Beijing Guest house reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
19.42 USD

Hostel 88.7% 131 reviews
INNer City
12.94 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Beijing Templeside Hutong House
16.18 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 64 reviews
Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House
17.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.4% 48 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Red Lantern House
12.94 USD

Hostel 89.8% 533 reviews
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
68.45 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

18 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BackHome Beijing Guest house'

Atmosphere
86.3%
Location
75.8%
Facilities
77.9%
Cleanliness
84.2%
Staff
88.4%
Value
82.1%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gregory Knight

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2013 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Locate in the old hutong area of Beijing, close to a subway station,[the subway is amazing] and close to many attractions. It is a great cultural experience just walking the hutong streets/alleys, greeting residents and eating at the local cafes/resturants. The food is so good and so cheap. Staff have limited English but enough to get by and were friendly and helpful. It has a court yard with rooms off the court yard, the traditional Beijing guesthouse.

Disliked: Gregory left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a certain character and the only guy who spoke English was very helpful. It was in a quirky and a bit dodgy neighbourhood though.

Disliked: They tried to put me in a bed linen that had not been changed (!) and althought on their website they say the breakfast was included in the price of my room - it wasn't.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Willson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place in a great location, not too far from the train station. The atmosphere was great. We booked the mutiniya great wall trip (no shopping or tombs), went on a weekday and it was unbelievable!

Disliked: We left a "key deposit" even though there no keys. We changed our travel plans late and had to get a train early in the morning which meant that given not wanting to wake up the dude, we never got the deposit back...pretty annoying.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, interesting neighbourhood. Very helpful staff, great deal on getting your laundry done! One of the most comfortable beds we had.

Disliked: A bit of a walk from the metro and places to eat. Cab drivers did not want to drive here, even though we had directions in Chinese script. You have to be adventurous and wanting to stay in a hutong! We thought there would be Mike, the owner and english-speaking man, at the property. However, he was not there, and we had to communicate with the helpful staff via computer (translation website). No breakfast available, though it was advertised. We did get a 15 yuan/day rebate though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dora Gyongyosi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Dora would recommend this property

Liked: Mike at the reception was very cool and helpful. THX Mike for all! First I stayed there alone, but all my friends who had reservation in other hostels slowly all moved here, leaving behind their already paid rooms - this tells everything:) Apart from this the place is clean, simple, friendly and calm. The food in the nearby restaurant is very good, and you can order directly to the hostel - reception will help you.

Disliked: Only 1 thing: when staying in the dorm, the common bathroom is pretty cold in winter time. Should not be a problem in summer though.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful communal space, friendly staff, decent clean toilet & room, and a really comfy bed.

Disliked: Tv didn't work, really dodgy wiring so couldn't use most of the plugs. Noisy aircon kept us awake. Lock on door didn't work & had to be fixed while we were there, couldn't close misshapen windows. Area boring, nothing interesting all the way to the metro by either route.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute courtyard, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely kind, helpful and welcoming. They helped us arrange trips to some of the tourist attractions and gave useful tips when we were planning days out. We stayed over Chinese New Year and the hostel held a party with home cooked food and fireworks. We were made to feel like part of the family. The hostel has plenty of character and the room was cosy and clean although small. The shower was hot and powerful and the heating in the bathroom was a bonus. The aircon warmed the room up well. The bed was big and comfy. The hostel has a good common area and although there isn't an in-house restaurant you can order tasty food to the hostel from a local restaurant. Tea and toast is available at breakfast time.

Disliked: The hostel is not centrally located but it is only a 10 minute walk to two subway stations.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean. It's a good price. The staff are great and funny. Talk to them. One of their mothers came for spring festival and made dumplings with all of us. Also they offer good tours that are a good deal. If they tell you that you are going to get ripped off going to the great wall by yourself, you should probably believe them.

Disliked: It's a little cold in the bathroom...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sam pang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 sam would recommend this property

Liked: good location nice palace

Disliked: sam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here was very friendly. The night attendant was very polite. His and the other receptionists' English was very good. The location was a short walk down a hutong and street to the Ping'anli and Xisi subway station's off of line four. I didn't get a chance to meet too many people (since I was late to bed and early to rise), but the ones I did meet over a breakfast of PB&J with some hot tea were very friendly and open. They also had a fair selection of tourist books and subway directions to a number of locations.

Disliked: The only thing that I had a problem with was that I couldn't read the Chinese on the heater remote. I didn't try the internet; so I can't really give an account for that.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is very cosy, you could imagine that it feels like this to live in a hutong... (including the inconviniences like coldness in the winter, small bathrooms etc...)

Disliked: A bit cold in the winter time, had to change our room halfway trough...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The local hutong feel was great. Also, the staff was helpful when I asked for assistance--though they mostly minded their own business.

Disliked: There are many prostitutes on the alley of the hostel. It doesn't feel sleezy, per say, but this may deter other travelers. Also, the guest house's showers and bathroom are not heated rooms. This may deter some winter travelers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yue chen

Alone

City break

01 December 2011 yue would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is really helpful and the stuff make our stay just like home. the guest house located in a old beijing hutong,8min walk to the metro station.and many temple around here

Disliked: yue left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yue chen zhang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 yue chen would recommend this property

Liked: good location with chinese style ,and hutong view if you want to try to be the real beijinger this would be the best choice

Disliked: yue chen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Poppy Zeff

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Poppy would recommend this property

Liked: Truly lovely little place. Really good value, lovely inner courtyard which feels welcoming, with a very comfy sofa! Felt like a home away from home. Beautiful interior. WiFi worked well, aircon etc. all good. Location is no problem, short walk to the tube station, also across the street down an ally is a great fruit and veg market.

Disliked: The rather unhappy looking tortoise under the coffee table...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very new, just opened couple of weeks ago. The staff very helpful and very friendly. Very nice atmosphere with chinese style..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.