HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of THE DRUM - Specialist Capsule Hostel & Hotel Beijing

Hostel

No.51 JiuGuLou Da Jie, XiCheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 84%

Staff 74%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 84%

Staff 74%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and modern

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the capsule room. Having your own space. The restaurant/bar was nice too. The main guy who worked behind the bar all the time was very nice and friendly. The flags were cool and it was cool you can sign them and the TV was good.

Disliked: The door to the capsule room was very loud and so everytime someone went through that door it slammed. Meaning you were woken up late at night and early in the morning a lot. The cleaners slammed all the doors to the room as they cleaned them so if you needed to nap during the day it was very unsettling. And the price for laundry was unacceptable.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Loved the capsule rooms, such a good idea, nice to have my own private space for such a low price, was great to have an opening window too. Obviously newly furnished and kept very clean. Never had to wait for the shower, and I think my floor was almost full of people on that weekend. Good location near to the metro, and the hutongs spreading out from the Drum/Bell tower area. I didn't spend much time in the hostel as I was only in town for two days visiting friends, but there were a few places on each floor to sit as well as the bar area and reception downstairs.Although I normally don't like places that only have a bar/cafe as the common area, a good attempt to get people socialising is the free drinks at 8pm. I didn't go because I was out all day.Also the nicely priced coffee is good. I treated myself to a western breakfast on the Sunday, it was ok, but really if you're on holiday go out and get some jiao zi (dumplings) from one of the local places near the Drum tower!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great comments! We are a specialist capsule hostel, which means all dorm guests get to stay in their own private capsule (aka "hobbit-hole"!). It is a little more pricey than the average dorm but it's almost like a mini single-room, making it great value for money. The cafe-bar is a great place to hang out, meet other guests and play one of the many games. Guests can also pick up our Great Wall tour brochure and free Beijing travel map when they arrive. All the best! The DRUM

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really can't say enough good things about this place. The location is amazing, right by the bell tower, hutongs, houhai and steps away from lines 2 and 8. The bar is amazing value and most of the staff are super nice - especially Yanyan who is amazing. The little capsule rooms are lovely and give you your own private space (try to get one with a window - especially on the 5th floor where you can stand up in the room if you're not too tall). All in all a great place which i would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Maybe its TOO good?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you very much for your comments. We are really happy that you enjoyed our modern design. All dorm guests have their own capsule with private door. We offer cheaper capsules (1.3m height - larger than a normal bunk bed space) and also larger capsules (1.7m height). Our pizza-cafe is a great place to meet new friends or chat with the staff. And, of course, our location is the best in Beijing - 200m from subway lines 2 & 8 with easy access to all the sites. See you next time!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I loved the little capsule rooms! Very cozy and cute. The staff were all really helpful. Special thanks to coco and those who helped with my phone. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The room was a bit too warm at night for me. Lack of windows.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello

Thank you for your comments. Our capsule rooms are very popular now, so please book in advance as we head into the summer. Please note that all dorm capsules have open window grates to the corridor, so you can get fresh air. If it is too hot for you (it is winter so we worry about coldness ;) please tell reception. We look forward to seeing you next time! Regards, ~The Drum~

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price, the fact that the capsules are closed so you can leave your valuables there unlike in a dorm,but most of all the location, near Beijing s greatest Hutongs, all so beautiful , already dream of going back

Disliked: If you have big luggage , capsules are too small to hold them

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was clean and comfortable. The district is really nice, next to the Drum tower which is a very beautiful historical building.

Disliked: There was no breakfast offered.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, and thank you for your comments. You stayed right after our new renovations. Our private rooms and capsules are very popular, and we now have a very friendly pizza cafe/bar. We look forward to seeing you next time! Regards, ~The Drum~

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, new toilets and showers, nice communal area

Disliked: Room is only half height (can't stand up) and only a bit bigger than a single-bed

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location. So close to Houhai and Guloudongdajie where there are really cosy places to hang out.

Disliked: The fact that the crew was incapable of speaking english. I speak a little Chinese, but at some point I reach my limits. I was tired from a long day, came home late and got told that "We're very sorry, by tomorrow morning 8 all customers must leave the Hostel". Neither was there any indication of a reason nor any form of compensation, nor was the staff ready to help you over playing cards with each other.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I love the location. Most everything I planned to do was in the Hutong area so I couldn't have been happier. Plus, anything away from that area was easily accessible because of the metro nearby. Couldn't e happier.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. The dorm rooms were about average but that's to be expected when staying in a cheap hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability