We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.51 JiuGuLou Da Jie, XiCheng District, Beijing, China 100009

77.5% Overall Rating

21 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

"The room was clean and comfortable. The district is really nice, next to the Drum tower which is a very beautiful historical building."

Read all Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Zaoyuanju
186.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 17 reviews
Citycourt Hotel
35.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.6% 21 reviews
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
31.51 USD

Hotel 4 star 80.7% 4 reviews
Home Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 72.3% 26 reviews
Peking International Youth Hostel
19.49 USD

Hostel 88.8% 25 reviews
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
16.24 USD

Hostel 81.7% 123 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
An Ding Men Hotel
16.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

21 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
71.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and comfortable. The district is really nice, next to the Drum tower which is a very beautiful historical building.

Disliked: There was no breakfast offered.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, new toilets and showers, nice communal area

Disliked: Room is only half height (can't stand up) and only a bit bigger than a single-bed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 July 2014

Liked: The location. So close to Houhai and Guloudongdajie where there are really cosy places to hang out.

Disliked: The fact that the crew was incapable of speaking english. I speak a little Chinese, but at some point I reach my limits. I was tired from a long day, came home late and got told that "We're very sorry, by tomorrow morning 8 all customers must leave the Hostel". Neither was there any indication of a reason nor any form of compensation, nor was the staff ready to help you over playing cards with each other.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

john pryke

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private double with ensuite on the 3rd floor. Lovely deck on our floor ( roof) A big room with lots of space. Good laundry facilities to wash and dry your clothes.

Disliked: There were roadworks nearby, that made it hard to get buses etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location. Most everything I planned to do was in the Hutong area so I couldn't have been happier. Plus, anything away from that area was easily accessible because of the metro nearby. Couldn't e happier.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. The dorm rooms were about average but that's to be expected when staying in a cheap hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marco Carlotti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 August 2012

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: The staff wasn't kind of helpful at all. They couldn't help us with trains even if it's one of their services (and they charge for it) and didn't want to tell us where was the train ticket office. They didn't want to tell us which one was the bus to the great wall saying that they could just help for the organized trip. And most of all we went in asking for 2 beds in a room and they kicked us out saying that there wasn't any left while hostelbookers website was showing 5 beds left! they were so so so so unpolite.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012

Liked: I didn't like it.

Disliked: A lot of things. It was dirty, or at least looked dirty. Many of the people in my dorm had been there for a long time so their stuff was therefore everywhere. My bedside lamp was broken and there was no ceiling light so the room was impossible to light at night. The staff was not accommodating. The hostel is only able to be booked on the internet. The majority of Chinese hotels are bookable by phone. This inconvenienced me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

roy ben shafrut

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

03 July 2012 roy would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly the location, but the public areas are nice too.

Disliked: Rooms are too small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! The building has a nice character, there is a roof where you can smoke on the third floor. There was a private bathroom, and I got a 4-bed dorm while I booked a 6-bed dorm. And we also could use the public bathroom, sweet! So no que in the morning :). If you want to party and crawl home not too far away, this is the place to be!

Disliked: The staff would be more pleasant if they take lessons in how to smile, have eyecontact and say please. Felt like I was at a counter in a public office where you're just another one in the row. If someone asks you to show your payslip as: Payslip! you feel like a cow. On the other side, what do you need more than a bed when you visit a city like Beijing? There was no window in my dormroom, which was pretty claustrophobic in a small room like that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent. next to subway line 2 and 'gulou' lake and shopping areas in walking distance

Disliked: rooms are a bit rough looking: stains on walls, no lock on window, bad smell from drain. but the rooms are clean! the drain smell disappeared after leaving the fan on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we liked this hostel so much, in such a good location in the hutong area, that we got here twice in two years....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Yosuke Deguchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Yosuke would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to walk around drum & clock tower area. Also there are a lot of restaurants and bars/pubs. Easy access from Guloudajie station. It's just 5 minutes walk. I recommend to catch #82 bus at bus stop in front of the hostel, you can access to Tiananmen, Qianmen and Olympic park easily.

Disliked: Some linens were not clean. Only 2 shower booths available.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Ashford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The ensuite showers were amazing, really nice and hot which was great after a days sight seeing in the freezing cold. Most of the staff spoke limited english and they helped me book a train ticket which was helpful as it can be a real pain. The hostel is about 5 mins from the subway which is great and if you turn right out of the hostel it is about 5/10min walk from a great French/Vietnamese restaurant called Little Saigon. The bar in the hostel isn't the liveliest but it sells Tsingtao on draft for 10RMB!!

Disliked: My room was a little drafty and you need to make sure that the window is shut properly or you will be cold at bedtime!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Erratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place. Good wifi.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the staff

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. Andd the location

Disliked: The rooms in the basement were horrible. The rooms on the other floors are really nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Philip Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and friendly. They helper us to book a flight and trip to the Great Wall and provided useful information for sightseeing. They also let us check in to our room early. Wifi worked fine.

Disliked: Our private room was in the basement and had no window. It smelled a little like mildew.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kenneth Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient. 5 minutes walk to the subway.

Disliked: Have to pay for internet when the website said it is free. The shower is not strong enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in communal area downstairs and rooms more like a B&B rather than hostel

Disliked: Shower was pretty rubbish

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location still o.k .

Disliked: the sleepingbed is very old and longtime, must have change new one .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAN LIN CHANG

11 June 2010 WAN LIN would recommend this property

Liked: I stay here from 29MAY to 03JUN.The hostel is new,,clean and bright in good condition. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Good for value definately. It's iin perfect locatin as well and easy acess. I leove it and ewill come back fpr sure!!

Disliked: WAN LIN left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Daisuke Kimura

07 June 2010 Daisuke would recommend this property

Liked: i need toilet paper!!!!

Disliked: Daisuke left no negative feedback.