HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Peking Yard Hostel Beijing

Hostel

No. Jia 28, Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsibei Street, Dongcheng Disctrict, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.63USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Curfew
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful hostel, very well layed out and decorated with a very chill reception area and amazing natural surroundings.

Disliked: The staff were extremely unaccomodating and unapologetic. We were frequently sent away or told no which as a traveller on a tight time scale and budget is very frustrating. They refused to serve us alcohol until 19.30 and took there time making a simple cocktail when it was time. We ask for a taxi and they told us no we should walk, ignoring our request and sending us away. We asked for our washing to be done (advertising a washing service) and they told us it was too late, it was only 17.00. Finally we were playing pool talking to a few more travellers and they told us the pool table had to close and were adviced to go to bed. A seemingly sweet old man sits and judges you for having a few drinks while a snotty young later looks down on you and offers very little in warmth or help. Overall the staff were abundant but unreceptive and unhelpful.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It has a very nice common area and the food was good. Wifi was okay, not bad for Beijing.

Disliked: Staff wasn't too helpful. The woman at the desk wasn't very forthcoming to help. I had a broken locker and she didn't offer anything to help, instead I just had to carry around my valuables. Also, as an early-twenties female I was put into a room with all men thirties or older. Didn't seem like a bad place, perhaps I had a bad experience.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff in this hostel is very nice, they patiently answer every question no matter how busy they are. They make it feel like a home. And of course the environment contributes to this as well. Peking Garden is walking distance to Nanluogu Xiang. It's also quite close to Houhai, where the bar street locates.

Disliked: Wifi is only in the lobby. But that's not a big problem because the lobby is atmospheric to sit.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is in a great location. Close to everything without being in to much of a busy area.The place is really cozy and comfortable as well.

Disliked: There were only to problems.The wi-fi will only work in the common area. That's really bad and inconvenient and could be solved really easy with some signal repetitors or something.The other thing is that the shower would get boiling hot out of nowhere. According to the hostel staff it's an issue with the water pressure of the area. Anyway stil a bit unconfortable but manageable and not a big issue.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Common area was great! They have a nice and friendly staff. They were always helpful, especially with booking of train tickets.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it was a nice place to stay. very easy to find which in china can be a godsend. i would recommend in terms of finding a place that is centrally located and easy to navigate around. chill out area is great too

Disliked: wifi was terrible. i had just arrived and i dislike moaning about wifi as it is not something i need very often when travelling around but as i have 6 weeks in china i really want to plan my trip and i wanted to do a bit of research. i was hoping to sort it out in beijing but it was near impossible. evenings is a waste of time and really don't expect to Skype family either. everything else was fine so i would still recommend

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've stayed in many hostels around the world. I must say this one has one of the best ambience! Really love the 'homey'/'cozy' feel at the lobby

Disliked: Sometimes the WiFi becomes a bit slow

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, lovely lounge area wuth comfy sofas, staff happy to book train tickets (with 30 rmb charge). Did the great wall hiking tour from here. 260rmb for transportation and entry, you get three hours to hike and they collect you the other end. Great sun terrace at hostel which was empty every day, very eeasy to find from metro. About 15 min to walk to hutongs by bell tower. Area felt very safe and clean.

Disliked: My dorm room was with 4 others across the alley from the main building, good rooms and quiet so no real problem, but only 2 showers for about 20 people.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A green oasis in a buzzling city with excellent, helpful staff. Situated in a hutong yard in central Beijing this hostel offers apart from the usual amenities in its inside an inviting lounge with a lot of greenary and a nice pool billiard table. Regular activities organized from the staff (e.g. hot pot). Because of the more quiet environment this hostel attracts more mature backpackers, families and also senior citizen.I extended my stay for a couple of days and I can recommend anyone a stay there.

Disliked: Both menu and kitchen hours could be a little bit more enlarged. But this is only a minor minus.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Hostel is perfect, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, the lounge is conforting and lovely. We loved our stay!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability