We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Peking Yard Hostel

Hostel | 28 Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsi Beidajie, Dongcheng District Beijing, China 100007

90.1% Overall Rating

79 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2015)

Julianna Francis thinks…

"Beautiful hostel, very well layed out and decorated with a very chill reception area and amazing natural surroundings."

Read all Peking Yard Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Happy Dragon Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 84.2% 328 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.16 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 90.1% 132 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.66 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
13.05 USD

Hostel 83.2% 175 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 90.6% 195 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
65.27 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

79 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Peking Yard Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Julianna Francis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015

Liked: Beautiful hostel, very well layed out and decorated with a very chill reception area and amazing natural surroundings.

Disliked: The staff were extremely unaccomodating and unapologetic. We were frequently sent away or told no which as a traveller on a tight time scale and budget is very frustrating. They refused to serve us alcohol until 19.30 and took there time making a simple cocktail when it was time. We ask for a taxi and they told us no we should walk, ignoring our request and sending us away. We asked for our washing to be done (advertising a washing service) and they told us it was too late, it was only 17.00. Finally we were playing pool talking to a few more travellers and they told us the pool table had to close and were adviced to go to bed. A seemingly sweet old man sits and judges you for having a few drinks while a snotty young later looks down on you and offers very little in warmth or help. Overall the staff were abundant but unreceptive and unhelpful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very nice common area and the food was good. Wifi was okay, not bad for Beijing.

Disliked: Staff wasn't too helpful. The woman at the desk wasn't very forthcoming to help. I had a broken locker and she didn't offer anything to help, instead I just had to carry around my valuables. Also, as an early-twenties female I was put into a room with all men thirties or older. Didn't seem like a bad place, perhaps I had a bad experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yanzhen Chen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Yanzhen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff in this hostel is very nice, they patiently answer every question no matter how busy they are. They make it feel like a home. And of course the environment contributes to this as well. Peking Garden is walking distance to Nanluogu Xiang. It's also quite close to Houhai, where the bar street locates.

Disliked: Wifi is only in the lobby. But that's not a big problem because the lobby is atmospheric to sit.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonardo Coura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location. Close to everything without being in to much of a busy area. The place is really cozy and comfortable as well.

Disliked: There were only to problems. The wi-fi will only work in the common area. That's really bad and inconvenient and could be solved really easy with some signal repetitors or something. The other thing is that the shower would get boiling hot out of nowhere. According to the hostel staff it's an issue with the water pressure of the area. Anyway stil a bit unconfortable but manageable and not a big issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area was great! They have a nice and friendly staff. They were always helpful, especially with booking of train tickets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Graeme Harper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: it was a nice place to stay. very easy to find which in china can be a godsend. i would recommend in terms of finding a place that is centrally located and easy to navigate around. chill out area is great too

Disliked: wifi was terrible. i had just arrived and i dislike moaning about wifi as it is not something i need very often when travelling around but as i have 6 weeks in china i really want to plan my trip and i wanted to do a bit of research. i was hoping to sort it out in beijing but it was near impossible. evenings is a waste of time and really don't expect to Skype family either. everything else was fine so i would still recommend

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antoni Riady Lewa

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Antoni Riady would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in many hostels around the world. I must say this one has one of the best ambience! Really love the 'homey'/'cozy' feel at the lobby

Disliked: Sometimes the WiFi becomes a bit slow

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, lovely lounge area wuth comfy sofas, staff happy to book train tickets (with 30 rmb charge). Did the great wall hiking tour from here. 260rmb for transportation and entry, you get three hours to hike and they collect you the other end. Great sun terrace at hostel which was empty every day, very eeasy to find from metro. About 15 min to walk to hutongs by bell tower. Area felt very safe and clean.

Disliked: My dorm room was with 4 others across the alley from the main building, good rooms and quiet so no real problem, but only 2 showers for about 20 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dirk Stender

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: A green oasis in a buzzling city with excellent, helpful staff. Situated in a hutong yard in central Beijing this hostel offers apart from the usual amenities in its inside an inviting lounge with a lot of greenary and a nice pool billiard table. Regular activities organized from the staff (e.g. hot pot). Because of the more quiet environment this hostel attracts more mature backpackers, families and also senior citizen. I extended my stay for a couple of days and I can recommend anyone a stay there.

Disliked: Both menu and kitchen hours could be a little bit more enlarged. But this is only a minor minus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vanessa jorge

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is perfect, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, the lounge is conforting and lovely. We loved our stay!!

Disliked: vanessa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aizhan Bestembayeva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2013 Aizhan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff. They speak very clear english and very friendly. I had couple of queries and all of them were fulfilled. I would certainly describe it as a very friendly and cosy place.

Disliked: I did not really like the smell of the flowers in the hall. It is very strong.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area is chilled and comfortable. Just lovely.

Disliked: For what it offers - a dorm bed - it is pricey.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful courtyard and reception area, friendly and helpful staff, nicely tucked away in a hutong away from street noise, food at the hostel is good, went on an amazing great wall tour offered through the hostel

Disliked: rooms are quite small, if your room is on the ground floor you can hear everyone in the yard and it can get noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is ver nice

Disliked: No place for cook and water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and comfortable place.

Disliked: You have to pay for soap.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ADAM TOWNSEND

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 ADAM would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable and beautiful interior. A well restored traditional hutong.

Disliked: having to ask staff behind counter to boil water for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was comfortable and the staff was helpful.

Disliked: The taxi to the airport seemed a bit expensive, as they call someone they have an arrangement with. However, for the convenience of it arriving on time and not having to stand around on the street at 6 in the morning with my bags trying to flag someone down in -15C weather, it was worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful common area, full of flowers. Very nice staff! Cosy and warm atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, close to forbidden city, great wall tour to jinshanling! - this tour is a must ;)

Disliked: maybe a bit cold in the bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Peijing Lin

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2012 Peijing would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very friendly and it's close to subway

Disliked: Peijing left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mohammad alsanea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 mohammad would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is realy nice and quite .. it feels like staying at home.

Disliked: For me in general i really liked this place. for others who want to be in the center the location might not be ideal although i must say that theres a nearby metro and i usually walk to tge centre ..its a longer but safe walk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Noka Prihasto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Noka would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is really nice, with good wifi connection, comfy chairs and a pool table. Location is on Line 5 which is close to the Forbidden City and Sanlitun street. The 6 bed-room that I stayed in was quite comfortable for a good rest.

Disliked: Noka left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tina carpenter

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 tina would recommend this property

Liked: Our family of 5 stayed in the Peking Yard Hostel for 4 nights, then did a wall adventure and then booked another hostel in Beijng for the last two nights. We cancelled out stay at the other hostel and continued to stay at the Peking Yard, as is what so nice and the staff incredibly helpful. So safe, helpful staff, wonderful common areas, clean rooms, and good staff! Would definietely stay here again. Definitely the best hostel in Beijing!

Disliked: NOthing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a little pricey - but it's really more boutique hotel than hostel. the lounge is like a really nice bar, and they serve cocktails.... this would make a good romantic destination... very lovely roof terrace too

Disliked: our bathroom smelt of damp - very badly - we were in the end room on the corner