We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 90 Tieshu Xiejie, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100053

70.4% Overall Rating

235 out of 268 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2013)

Rebecca Anderson thinks…

"It is such a waste of what could be a great hostel/hotel in a good area (portected hutong*sp). The reception is very large and nice and that is the ONLY good thing about the hostel."

Read all Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Lu Song Yuan
75.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 66.7% 40 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Qianmen Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 79.8% 364 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 80.1% 245 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 85.0% 209 reviews
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
33.79 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Best Hotel
47.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.4%

Overall Rating

235 out of 268 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
60.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 180 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bismarck Flores

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Bismarck would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: The restrooms... they should clean more

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Slow and unfriendly staff with poor english skills. Beds weren't made untill we asked several times. Beds are hard and rooms noisy. Route directions were wrong.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rebecca Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013

Liked: It is such a waste of what could be a great hostel/hotel in a good area (portected hutong*sp). The reception is very large and nice and that is the ONLY good thing about the hostel.

Disliked: 1) The given directions on the website states that there is a sign that should direct you to the hostel, this sign is not on the main road but is actually directly outside the hostel which defeats the purpose of the sign as you can see the hostel in front of you. FOR THOSE GOING TO BOOK - FOLLOW THE SIDE STREETS INTO THE MAZE AND EVENTUALLY YOU WILL FIND THE HOSTEL. 2) All that can be said of the staff is that they are arrogant and extremely disrespectful with an attitude that should never be experienced by anyone. 3) There is a clear health and safety issue with damp in the basement dorms, the kitchen is poorly equipped for 'making' meals. The bathrooms are 'wiped' clean rather than actually cleaned each day. All in all I pity anyone who has to stay here and I have submitted a complaint to the Chinese Tourist Office with specific attention relating to the staff and the manner in which they fail to show the true ideology of the Chinese people I had the pleasure to deal with in so many other locations. I have already had a responce that has stated that they (Chinese Tourist Office), will send an inspection party to the hostel to follow up my complaint.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johann Peter Gies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Johann Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi zone and large lockers

Disliked: Sometimes loud

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Catherine Brasselet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013

Liked: room and beds good.15mns walk from the centre. In busy street with lots of shops and cafes.

Disliked: the girls at the front desk hardly spoke English, were nearly rude(when asked which bus to take to town said no bus, you walk). No internet (broken they said, but it was so for the 4 days there), no map in English (only in Chinese), not even a phonebook.In the evening , the guys at the front desk seem more helpful but did not speak English either.when I decided to book through hostelbookers, their page had advertised breakfast included and it was not.(It was not written on my confirmation email either)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Austin King

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, in a back alley near central Beijing's main attractions and plenty of restaurants. A shop across the street rents bicycles for ¥10 per day (¥200) deposit.

Disliked: The cafe/bar is wildly overpriced, several times what you pay off-site. The reception staff was curt and had only rudimentary english skills. The travel agency in the main building is also overpriced. The lounge and the cafe are in the basement with no natural light. You would do better at one of the smaller hostels on the same street, as I did after a couple nights.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2012

Liked: The bar staff were all friendly

Disliked: How dirty and smelly the toilets and showers were. The attitude of the guy behind the desk was awful!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good location close to a metro station and a Hutong area, with plenty of restauants and shops nearby. You can easily walk to Tianamen sq from the hostel. There is a noodle place next door that serves good cheap food and beer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap and quiet

Disliked: to stay in the lounge you have to buy something to drink or eat! there were no other possibilities to eat somothing instead the kitchen. but there is only one table with 3 chairs!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brooke Giles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: 10 minute walk to subway. Good-sized lockers in rooms and ours had only four single beds, no bunks. Adjustable A/C. Free internet in lobby. Although I didn't give a great rating I would still stay here again (and did, this was my second stay).

Disliked: Staff are generally impatient and rude. Dryers didn't work!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christian voekt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel isnt very close to the metro, but it is in an older part of beijing and the neighbourhood is amazing.

Disliked: the stuff was unable to call a taxi for us. This was the only bad thing i can tell about the stuff. Most of them are very nice and helpful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quick check-in

Disliked: Rooms located in basement. Modern buildig in an old hutong district.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent tour desk, really tried! Good value. Busy re-furbing right now.

Disliked: It was quite worn, and some rooms were a bit grubby. The showers leak.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Juliet Stubbington

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2010 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were really well appointed and clean - the showers (we had bathroom attached) we clean and included shower gel and shampoo and towes.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny and there is hardly any cutlery, crockery or cooking pots etc. Although they advertise a self catering kitchen it would be really hard to cook and eat a "proper" meal there other than instant noodles. We used our own cutlery and both ate out of the same pan we cooked our pasta in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for nanluoguxiang and lama temple. right next to tube. not too busy and used quite a lot by chinese travellers who tend to stay in the massive non-air conditioned 16 bed dorms. other dorms are great though

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010

Liked: nothing -

Disliked: I really disliked everything about this property - the dorms are really cheap but they are windlowless depressing boxes in the basement nderground. the staff are unfriendly, they will help you book tickets but charge 50 yuan each. you pay for everything - pool in the bar, tablefootball, you have to buy something to use the wi-fi, which never works, its definitely the worst place i have stayed in China, infact in Asia.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marek DURBAS

20 May 2010 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: hutong atmosphere

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly Swenson

08 April 2010 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: The Far East Youth Hostel is in a GREAT location - very close to Hepingman metro. It's far enough into the hutong (alley way) that I wasn't able to hear the noise from the main street around us. Lots of markets around the hotel and very - VERY - easy to find the place.

Disliked: Molly left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a nice clean room with an ensuite bathroom for a very good price. The location was great - right in the Hutong near Tiananmen Square. The staff had limited english(if any) and were not always helpful. The 'kitchen' only has a microwave and 1 hot plate so not great. There was a fridge, a tv and a kettle in our room which was good. Wouldn't reccommend the 'far east' restaurant but the bar downstairs is nice - free table football but no free internet. Beware they charge for everything - saftey deposit, luggage, internet, cutlery etcOne tip - take a student card to beijing if you can and take the TRAIN to Badaling Great wall as it is far far far cheaper than the tour bus. It leaves from Beijing North station in the morning(you can get the 919 bus back for 12Y if the train times dont suit).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Philip Wiemer

18 February 2010

Liked: sorry to say, that the personal was totally uninformed. We had a room downstairs under the ground. And the restaurant personal tried to cheat us with the breakfast. Trying to force you taking the flatrate.But the washing water war very hot and the rooms at all were pretty clean.

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 October 2009

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Preede

21 October 2009 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nothin much to say, nice place for such small amount of cash..The facility was great, they had everything you need (bar, restaurant, chillin lounge with pooltable)

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Very nice bar. Good location for Tiananmen and Qianmen subway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

KC Christoffersen

10 October 2009

Liked: Nothing really impressed me.

Disliked: KC left no negative feedback.