HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Beijing Far East Youth Hostel Beijing

Hostel

No. 90 Tieshu Xiejie, Xuanwu District,, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 59%

Location 81%

Safety 78%

Staff 48%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.82USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 59%

Location 81%

Safety 78%

Staff 48%

Value 74%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: wifi didn't work properly it was cut for a day sometimes. everyone can live without internet, but when you have important things to do on it and they can't help you to find an alternative solution like a cybercoffee that's why I was dissatisfied

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was close to the shopping district and tinanmen square.

Disliked: Upon arrival they were unable to initially locate our booking, which was a bit of a pain. We finally got checked in and sent to our rooms, we were on the basement level with no natural light and everything looked a little worse for wear!Dorm 007 is directly opposite the mens bathroom and constantly stank of urine which you could smell throughout the room!Toilets for females on this level were only long drops, but on the 1st floor there was western toilets to use.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff

Disliked: The restrooms... they should clean more

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Slow and unfriendly staff with poor english skills.Beds weren't made untill we asked several times.Beds are hard and rooms noisy.Route directions were wrong.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good wifi zone and large lockers

Disliked: Sometimes loud

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: room and beds good.15mns walk from the centre. In busy street with lots of shops and cafes.

Disliked: the girls at the front desk hardly spoke English, were nearly rude(when asked which bus to take to town said no bus, you walk). No internet (broken they said, but it was so for the 4 days there), no map in English (only in Chinese), not even a phonebook.In the evening , the guys at the front desk seem more helpful but did not speak English either.when I decided to book through hostelbookers, their page had advertised breakfast included and it was not.(It was not written on my confirmation email either)

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is such a waste of what could be a great hostel/hotel in a good area (portected hutong*sp). The reception is very large and nice and that is the ONLY good thing about the hostel.

Disliked: 1) The given directions on the website states that there is a sign that should direct you to the hostel, this sign is not on the main road but is actually directly outside the hostel which defeats the purpose of the sign as you can see the hostel in front of you. FOR THOSE GOING TO BOOK - FOLLOW THE SIDE STREETS INTO THE MAZE AND EVENTUALLY YOU WILL FIND THE HOSTEL.2) All that can be said of the staff is that they are arrogant and extremely disrespectful with an attitude that should never be experienced by anyone.3) There is a clear health and safety issue with damp in the basement dorms, the kitchen is poorly equipped for 'making' meals. The bathrooms are 'wiped' clean rather than actually cleaned each day.All in all I pity anyone who has to stay here and I have submitted a complaint to the Chinese Tourist Office with specific attention relating to the staff and the manner in which they fail to show the true ideology of the Chinese people I had the pleasure to deal with in so many other locations. I have already had a responce that has stated that they (Chinese Tourist Office), will send an inspection party to the hostel to follow up my complaint.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is great, in a back alley near central Beijing's main attractions and plenty of restaurants. A shop across the street rents bicycles for ¥10 per day (¥200) deposit.

Disliked: The cafe/bar is wildly overpriced, several times what you pay off-site. The reception staff was curt and had only rudimentary english skills. The travel agency in the main building is also overpriced. The lounge and the cafe are in the basement with no natural light. You would do better at one of the smaller hostels on the same street, as I did after a couple nights.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A good location close to a metro station and a Hutong area, with plenty of restauants and shops nearby. You can easily walk to Tianamen sq from the hostel.There is a noodle place next door that serves good cheap food and beer.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The bar staff were all friendly

Disliked: How dirty and smelly the toilets and showers were. The attitude of the guy behind the desk was awful!

Check Availability