HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1 Beijingzhan, Qianjie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100005

74.4% Overall Rating

372 out of 439 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

"Incredibly easy to get to from the subway; Line 2, Beijing Railway station, go out Exit A, you'll see it before you finish climbing the elevator. I had a 4 bed mixed dorm, didn't have bunk beds, plenty of space for a…"

Read all Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

161 Hostel
26.38 USD

Hostel 94.2% 53 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 79.8% 91 reviews
Beijing New dragon Hostel
17.64 USD

Hostel 70.3% 176 reviews
Super 8 Wangfujing Hotel
24.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.04 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 113 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 88.3% 24 reviews
Yuanjia International Apartment
40.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.4%

Overall Rating

372 out of 439 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
67.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 287 of 300 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and the location very good.

Disliked: Bar area wasn't very nice. Some of the staff did not even try to speak English when I needed help.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly easy to get to from the subway; Line 2, Beijing Railway station, go out Exit A, you'll see it before you finish climbing the elevator. I had a 4 bed mixed dorm, didn't have bunk beds, plenty of space for a hostel. Super cheap.

Disliked: Kitchen only on level 3 (I didn't use it). Bought a bottle of water and coffee, they were very expensive for crap coffee from a thermos (10 RMB) and not that great bottled water 500ml (8 RMB, total rip off). So though the bed was super cheap, better to buy food etc elsewhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to Beijing Zhan (train station) Friendly & helpful staff Clean, comfortable guest room, shower and toilet facilities Reasonable price

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to Beijing Zhan (train station) Friendly & helpful staff Clean, comfortable guest room, shower and toilet facilities Reasonable price

Disliked: Nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, convenient.

Disliked: Size of room

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013

Liked: The location. The rooms were ok too, actual beds rather than dorm beds, but very hard. The washing machines were reasonably priced.

Disliked: It was dirty and dingy, with very little natural light. The Internet was very flaky, and turned off at midnight, for some reason. The bar was dirty and dark, cigarette ends all over the floor. They played terrible music very loudly making it impossible to Skype. There was a communal kitchen, but it was industrial and not very clean. I wouldn't want to prepare food there. There was an overpriced breakfast available, but I didn't want to eat in the dirty bar. Staff could hardly speak English and were pretty rude. I would never stay here again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dipak Shah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Dipak would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the cleanliness

Disliked: the attitudeof the staff

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

bat-el benjamin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013

Liked: Close to the subway

Disliked: The staff was not nice. The bartender was rude. The feeling was that they don't want you tu stay In the bar. After 11 pm there is no wifi!!! Definitely the worst hostel I stayied in. If you stay more then a night and want a nice hostel With good atmosphere this is not the right hostel!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Pieter Marinus Schaaf

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Pieter Marinus would recommend this property

Liked: Twin rooms are fairly big. Bar on third floor occasionally hosts some small art exhibitions.

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't very well maintained. Broken locks on some showers and leaking toilet lead to a feel of uncleanliness in spite of frequent cleaning by staff. Music in bar was pretty loud at times.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's position

Disliked: I was told my door would be fixed that night but it wasn't and I slept with it open. If I tried to close it the alarm was activated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

City break

17 August 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Ms. Chen (at the front desk). She remains charming and wonderful even if some crazy guy off the street is yelling in her face. Also the hostel is very big, and very clean. And no bunk beds -- you get your own space to look at the ceiling, which is nice.

Disliked: The Bar. It's where you go to use the internet, but the setup is sort of awkward, and there's no place you really want to sit. At night people would come, order a beer and then leave, but rarely stay for two. Maybe they could try moving the pool tables to the back and cleaning out that storage area, idk, just my opinion. The bigger bartender is sort of a lout.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located is very convenient and easy to get to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jenny Karlsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013

Liked: I stayed here because it was central and close to the airport shuttle. If you are only staying a few nights and are just waiting for a flight or a train (It's right opposite the train station) it is an ok hostel. If you are staying longer find another hostel.

Disliked: Beds hard as usual in China, the shared bathrooms closest to my room had two western toilets, one you couldn't lock and the other one was dark. Same for the showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gorka MADARIAGA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Gorka would recommend this property

Liked: Buenísima localización y muy limpio.

Disliked: Es igualito que un hotel, no tiene ambiente de hostel y las zonas comunes son pocas, sencillas e incluso cutres.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and the location is right next to a subway stop which is great. A 10 minute walk away from Starbucks and Burger King is also great.

Disliked: The walls are thin so sometimes you can hear everyone walking in the hallway when it's busy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BHARAT LOTWALA

Alone

Business / conference

18 May 2013 BHARAT would recommend this property

Liked: Location great

Disliked: cleanliness of Toilets.Wifi should be upgraded.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

nabhasporn saengpayap

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013

Liked: The location is superb and easy to access the train station. The bed sheet is very clean and no smoking smell.

Disliked: 1. I stayed room 4005 on 13/04/2013, there was a small rat running in my room. I informed the staff next morning but she acknowledged and looked like this is normal thing in the hotel. 2. The common toilet is so dirty, no flush. 3. some staff behave to the customer without friendly manner like chasing the guest to wait at the other floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, value for money, and helpful staff.

Disliked: The bar / social area is uninviting and the staff are very RUDE.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: They were unfriendly and not service minded. Did not talk much english. The breakfast was bad and overpriced. They ignored that we had prepaid a deposit(10%)..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

alain naour

Alone

City break

06 February 2013 alain would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, It is easy to book online and the value is alright but...

Disliked: ...Hostel is very noisy, some people spit on the floors, run and yell 24/7 .Guests should be told to be quiet from 10pm until 7am . There needs to be big signs in CHINESE and enforcement from staff. Some guests don't know how to use western toilets and leave a mess behind. Same goes for showers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sara Mejias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms. The rooms were clean.

Disliked: The beds are rather hard. The toilets really smell. The shared showers are also smelly and FULL of hair. The staff are not very nice or helpful. They only had Wifi in the bar. When I asked about internet on a computer then acted like i was strange for not having my own wifi device. Later I found that only next door was a huge very nice super fast internet cafe 6yuan per hour. They easily could have told me this but for what ever reason did not.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ezra meallem

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 ezra would recommend this property

Liked: close to the train station, subway and also the airport shuttle bus. The room was first class

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location right next to the train station and metro, good wi-fi but only in the common room. Spacious rooms and well kept.

Disliked: The kitchen was filthy, but we didn't plan to cook fortunately! Overpriced bar, but we've seen that everywhere in China hostels. Unexpected room-mate in the form of a cute mouse.