We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1 Beijingzhan, Qianjie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100005

71.5% Overall Rating

388 out of 461 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2015)

Yana Yout thinks…

"It's very close to the train station - it made us easy to collect all tickets we have booked in advance. It's very easy to go there from the airport - even in the middle of the night no taxi was…"

Read all Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

161 Hostel
22.29 USD

Hostel 94.4% 55 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
10.91 USD

Hostel 84.2% 103 reviews
Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard
20.26 USD

Hostel 87.7% 118 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
62.34 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Yuanjia International Apartment
39.43 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
44.26 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
9.35 USD

Hostel 83.3% 330 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

388 out of 461 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
49.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
60.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 322 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great location -- the subway is literally right outside the front door, making it easy to get anywhere in the city. Alternatively, it's only a 15 minute walk to the Wangfujing/Oriental Plaza area. There are numerous supermarkets around, so you'll never be in want of noodle bowls and Coke (or Tsingtao, as the case may be)! Right across from the train station, so it't convenient if you're traveling that way. The internet in the room (ethernet, not wireless) was free and worked great.

Disliked: The front counter was always busy, making it difficult to check in/out or take care of any such business in a timely manner. Although the staff were generally nice and spoke decent English, they were frequently overwhelmed by guests and thus didn't take the time to be overly friendly or helpful. I felt like the bathroom could've been a bit cleaner. Also, there was a strong smell of smoke, even in non-smoking rooms. Not a lot of restaurants or nightlife around (unless you want to eat McDonald's and KFC all the time). I anticipated more Western guests, but most are Chinese staying here to be close to the train station. That meant there were few opportunities to meet other English-speaking foreign travelers, and I was subjected to frequent ogling by the more provincial Chinese guests.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas van Buuren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Low price, location

Disliked: Lack of character, no wifi on room, not very helpful staff.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Good breakfast,

Disliked: Staff in the bar were not able to understand few english words.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalie Verbeke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

20 July 2011

Liked: The rooms don't all have bunk beds which is nice so you have some space in your room.

Disliked: The washingmachines didn't work properly, my laundry was soaking wet after washing. The dryer didn't work ok either, was supposed to take 2 hours but ended within an hour with my laundry still wet. Luckily when you ask about it they give you a new coin, but having to do that twice is not nice. And they barely spoke English.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had little problem while registering myself .I gave my ref number but it seems they wanted me to pay more but then I printout the copy ,what I have to pay and then they agree.Overall it is a very nice hostel for everything.my score 100%

Disliked: nothing really

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011

Liked: the size of the room was good. The location is also good, not for attractions but for being located right next to the metro and station, so is easy to find.

Disliked: the service, friendliness and helpfulness of staff is shockingly poor, non existant. unless you are looking to purchase one of their expensive tours, they do not help you at all, are very cold and unfriendly and do not speak any english. The travel desk, other than selling their tours, is clueless, unable to provide any basic city knowledge other than giving a map, and misdirected us several times. The shared bathroom facilities are woefully inadequate: there was only one working western toilet and one asian toilet for a floor of maybe 20 dorm rooms. The walls were also paper thin and our whole dorm was woken several times during our two night stay by drunken people running around the corridors singing and talking loudly, again which reception or management did nothing to prevent. The lock on the lockers was so small that none of our small or normal size padlocks could work, and none are provided, so one has to search to buy one suitably small enough. Also, wifi is only available in the bar and not in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and very accessible to public transportation

Disliked: incorrect information on their record. It shows 15 person reserved under my name

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yu Ji Fang

Alone

Family Holiday

10 May 2011 Yu Ji would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient to stay over night

Disliked: Reception Staff should be able to handle Calls in English, absolutely below expectations, Staff does not understand Basic Conversations. Staff was to lazy to connect a important call to my Private Room, Poor performance of Reception Staff!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap hostel with good location

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Travelers Lounge where you can hangout with friends a & meet new people from all over the world after a tiring day touring beijing!

Disliked: Doorman who doesn't help guests carry their bags inside

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Zero charm

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011

Liked: The only good thing is the reception staff spoke a little english. But really nothing else, dont stay here!!!

Disliked: One of the worst hostels I ever stayed at. The beds were so hard and terrible I couldnt sleep all night which is the main thing you want to be able to do in a hostel/hotel. The bathrooms were horrible. In the winter they dont warm them up so it is freezing cold when you go to take a shower. No toilet paper in the bathroom. Just a horrible place. I'm happy I had just booked one night because we spent half a day here and were happy to leave!!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Big clean rooms.

Disliked: Smoking in the hostel allowed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Easy access to transportation.

Disliked: Staff entered room after it was cleaned.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

11 November 2010

Liked: Location was great. Suttle bus just opossite and metro station just outsite the hotel.

Disliked: Dirty. Bathroom very old with black "shit" in the lavatory and shower. When showering water goes everywhere outside the shower. A lot of dust and more "shit" in all the corners of the room and under beds.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Edward Stewart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break

01 November 2010 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: it was okay.

Disliked: it was just okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and clealiness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Huge bar on the third floor to meet anyone to go out for a meal/excursions/drinking with if the people in your room aren't too much fun.

Disliked: Not alot.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Service

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010

Liked: location great, price is good

Disliked: staff not very helpful, no atmosphere whatsoever, bad place to meet people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rather clean rather cheap. hearest metro station just 1 minute walk from hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: self kitchen a bit ordinary

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Banks

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Beijing Train Station with excellent facilities. Very large common room with WiFi.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Simon Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2010

Liked: Close to train stationGood shower

Disliked: Rude staff Slow air-con

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elke De Fauw

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 August 2010 Elke would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: nothing