HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1 Beijingzhan, Qianjie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China 100005

75.2% Overall Rating

377 out of 444 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/06/2014)

MO HAN ISABELLA KWOK thinks…

"I come from Hong Kong and was teaching in Australia & China. In fact I always stay in this hostel when I was/am in BJ. The location is EXCELLENT, easy to travel anywhere in BJ and other parts of…"

Read all Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

161 Hostel
26.99 USD

Hostel 94.2% 53 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 79.7% 93 reviews
Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.09 USD

Hostel 88.2% 115 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 87.8% 25 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Yuanjia International Apartment
41.04 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.09 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.2%

Overall Rating

377 out of 444 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
67.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 292 of 305 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: They were unfriendly and not service minded. Did not talk much english. The breakfast was bad and overpriced. They ignored that we had prepaid a deposit(10%)..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

alain naour

Alone

City break

06 February 2013 alain would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, It is easy to book online and the value is alright but...

Disliked: ...Hostel is very noisy, some people spit on the floors, run and yell 24/7 .Guests should be told to be quiet from 10pm until 7am . There needs to be big signs in CHINESE and enforcement from staff. Some guests don't know how to use western toilets and leave a mess behind. Same goes for showers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sara Mejias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms. The rooms were clean.

Disliked: The beds are rather hard. The toilets really smell. The shared showers are also smelly and FULL of hair. The staff are not very nice or helpful. They only had Wifi in the bar. When I asked about internet on a computer then acted like i was strange for not having my own wifi device. Later I found that only next door was a huge very nice super fast internet cafe 6yuan per hour. They easily could have told me this but for what ever reason did not.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ezra meallem

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 ezra would recommend this property

Liked: close to the train station, subway and also the airport shuttle bus. The room was first class

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location right next to the train station and metro, good wi-fi but only in the common room. Spacious rooms and well kept.

Disliked: The kitchen was filthy, but we didn't plan to cook fortunately! Overpriced bar, but we've seen that everywhere in China hostels. Unexpected room-mate in the form of a cute mouse.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: Very good location across the railwaystation, airbuts shuttelbuss and metro

Disliked: Staff is very rude, does not know good english, very complicated check in and check out procedure.no wifi in rooms. no credi card payment or cash in any other currency than the loca. no towels soap etc in the hostel rooms. some hostel rooms have no window, others are right in front of ther very noisy aircon. very unpersonal rooms, and quite grotty toilest and long aisel to get lost.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find from the airport or metro due to its location across from the main railway station, rooms are always clean, nice bar area with well-stocked bar and pool, hot and plentiful showers and toilets., good location about a twenty minute walk due west from Tiananmen Square

Disliked: Whilst it has hostel facilities (cooking, washing, dormitories) it's more like a standard hotel, resulting in a quiet atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to Beijing Train Satation and MRT Spacious room ( budget room with windows) Can extend checkout till 9:00 pm

Disliked: No WIFI

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel!

Disliked: Staff were a little busy at reception.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ANTONIO FERNANDO ZOGLIO

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 ANTONIO FERNANDO would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and safe.

Disliked: Shared bathroom need to be cleaned more times in the day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JB Joubert

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 JB would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central

Disliked: I did not like all of the homeless people lying on the streets outside of the hostel. You don't feel safe walking there at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Naomi Wills

Alone

City break

04 August 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The four person room I was in was nice! There were no bunk beds and there was enough space even when 4 people were staying (luggage and all)

Disliked: ROACHES IN THE KITCHEN!!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexandra Hooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location if you have limited time in Beijing but if you've got a bit longer there are nicer areas

Disliked: Facilties were definitely not what the website lead you to belicve but not bad otherwise. The girl on the information desk was unhelpful and openly rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Maycock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 July 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, no frills, clean.

Disliked: Sometimes (only sometimes) the showers are not very clean. Generally after a busy period. They could do with doing quick cleans during these times.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kateryna Kulyk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Kateryna would recommend this property

Liked: it was in a perfect location in the center and the metro station is just outside the door, very convenient

Disliked: no windows in the hostel rooms, only to the corridor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no character

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MICHAL RAC

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 MICHAL would recommend this property

Liked: I came late because of flight delay and my room was taken, even though I confirmed twice via email and called from the airport. Got there 4 AM and was told I came late. I asked for another room, but was told there is not same room, so I asked for another one, was told to pay more. Well, the difference was minor and I was willing to do that, but they made me (seriously made me) believe it is a bad deal to pay just for 2 hours a day price. Was told to wait until 6 AM to get a room and not to be charged. Probably you will not believe that, there is not much to do between 4 and 6 AM in Beijing after a 10 hour flight including 7 hour delay on the plane. Well I waited until 6 and was given a room, and was told they will come to clean it at 8 AM. Bloody h...! But I waited, they came at 7, fixed safe which was broken and after I logged to the internet via dodgy cable, I did not care any more. Since then, everything went smooth and will definitelly come back. Plase is not backpackery any more, mostly lower class (if this is in China) business people stay there. Generally you will start liking it at some point.

Disliked: no window on the room but the A/C did the job

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a very big hostel, nice room and very clean.

Disliked: only one staff speak english

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lyubov Volkova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Lyubov would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: The shower and the toilet are not very clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Beelaard

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Beijing Central Station and a subway station directly in front of the Hostel, making daytrips easy and convenient. On the 3rd floor in the "backpackers club" there was free Wi-Fi, some places to sit down, a bar, and two pool tables (costing 20 yuan per hour). In the budget hotel rooms there was free wired internet. Hotel rooms were clean but indeed very budget and dated, but you get what you pay for naturally. Door to the room was secured with a keycard and there was a safe in the room, a waterboiler, little table with 2 chairs, open closet, slippers, bathroom utilities, toilet, shower, sink, and service was good whenever we had an issue (not working phone, broken bathroom light, clean towel request). For 100 yuan deposit you can get an iron. Supermarket and fastfood right next door and many more around the corner. Staff at the reception spoke english very well, other staff including facility people couldnt speak any english, so all requests had to go through reception, and they took care of it.

Disliked: Backpackers club was pretty boring with nothing organized, drinks were commercially priced, barman was very lazy stuck behind his pc and not willing to speak English, pool tables cost money (and he only charged certain European tourists, others like Chinese got to play all night for free, even other guests noticed this and made remarks. After complaining to reception staff they said we had to take it up with the barman, and he refused to speak English and refused to give a payment receipt or any written rules about pool table costs and usage), kitchen is very dirty with insects and is therefore isn't really used as far as we could tell, unfortunately no refrigerator in the budget hotel rooms. Rooms were noisy with thin walls so you could hear your neighbors talk, spit and make other disgusting sounds when you were in the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Svetlana Valcukova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2012 Svetlana would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: They have propagation images with computer room and live club, but the reality is different... noise from the corridor all over the night. It´s a factory for money... The reality info on the webside of this hostel is horrible. The last upgrade was in year 2008 and they are wrong.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012

Liked: the location is perfect - subway, buses and main railway station is just around the corner you can buy breakfast for 18 RMB, but it´s the same every day :(

Disliked: NOISE a lot of Chinese people use this hostel too and as they are aload regardless the day time, the hostel is really noisy all day through and the walls of rooms are very thin so you can hear everything htat is going on in the bathrooms and corridors) beds are really hard

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: acustics are poor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jose Santos

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the room.

Disliked: Some toiletes doesn`t close. No internet.