HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing New dragon Hostel

Hostel | No.26, Shijia Huton, Dongcheng District, 北京东城区东单北大街灯市东口史家胡同26号 Beijing, China 0000

70.3% Overall Rating

127 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2011)

"It is very well located, in a nice quieter street near a very busy city center. Also, it was a very cheap dorm, one of the cheapest in China I've found. There is a hotel upstairs and I think, the hostel, although more…"

Read all Beijing New dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.28
  • Breakfast USD 2.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* Please note that once your booking has been processed, we highly recommend that you contact the property with which you have booked directly to confirm your booking so as to avoid any issues regarding price and reservations or potential cancellations. The contact details of the property can be found on the confirmation email sent to you after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.04 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 113 reviews
Super 8 Wangfujing Hotel
24.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Spring Time Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 88.3% 24 reviews
161 Hostel
26.38 USD

Hostel 94.2% 53 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 79.8% 91 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
11.33 USD

Hostel 84.2% 318 reviews
Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.09 USD

Hostel 67.4% 82 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

127 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing New dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
67.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 109 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELENA KUDRYAVTSEVA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: cheap)))))

Disliked: ok

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Timothy E Shelley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 Timothy E would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the location on the Hutong was very good.

Disliked: I thought that the staff were rude and very abrupt.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very well located, in a nice quieter street near a very busy city center. Also, it was a very cheap dorm, one of the cheapest in China I've found. There is a hotel upstairs and I think, the hostel, although more expensive has better standards.

Disliked: The hostel rooms are in the basement, ours was the last one in the corridor - opposite to the bar and next to the kitchen, and although there was no customers there, staff was very loud, waking us at 7 in the morning. But I think that the worst was the dirty bathroom, it seemed like nobody bothered to clean it during the 5 days we stayed there.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: I had to take the taxi back from a show that I wanted to see. I was supposed to be picked up and dropped off, however, I was the only one going. So they paid for my taxi. When the taxi was more than what they gave me, I showed the receipt and they reimbursed me. They also rebooked me for a tour since my original tour guide "forgot" to pick me up the morning of my tour.

Disliked: I had to ask more than three times for the bathroom to be cleaned. This was the shared bathroom for the dorm rooms. They never cleaned it. When I arrived, they had to change my bed, even though the people there before me had checked out earlier in the day. I also had to remind them to change the bed next to me. It took them until the next day to do so. When I ordered my food and had to get it to go, they put it in a used plastic back and no utensils. The place is not worth staying at and should be shutdown.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kari Rautiainen

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 June 2011 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: the location is best

Disliked: wc didnt work like it should do. after we complane they fix it. but twice.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Food and the Staff..

Disliked: Way to noisy , shouting and doors banging all through the night... Should display signs saying ....PLEASE BE QUIET AND RESPECTFUL TO OTHER GUESTS.. Doors should be hinged with dampers so they don't slam shut...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: heater very warm at winter time.

Disliked: toilet water overflow.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was located in a fairly good area, and it was easy to access the local subway.

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly and did not speak English to the degree we were led to believe by their add.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Harald Buchmann

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Harald would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Chinese Breakfest for 10RMB all you can eat

Disliked: Not very clean floors

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

28 November 2010

Liked: I traveled with my mom so I love how close it is to the subway. They have free wifi at the basement bar and you can use their PCs for free. It is very cheap to stay here.

Disliked: They are currently renovating the hotel so it's looking newer now. It doesn't mask the "old" smell though. The toilets stank. We were ready to go to another hotel after the first night but they moved us to the top floor (4th) which didn't smell as bad. The walls are paper-thin and we can hear other tourists in the other room. If you sleep before midnight, think first before booking here. Beds are also very hard, as with most beds in China.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap with good location close to subway, restaurants and shops.

Disliked: Doorkeys completely disfunctional, well for our dorm room anyway, but the staff were helpful with that. Didn't get clean bed linen during the week. Laundry price is overrated and apparently you can hassle the price down.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lai Hong Chin

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

18 October 2010 Lai Hong would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good. Very near to subway (walking distance less then 5 minutes). safe and very friendly staff. Near to shopping area and lots of restaurant and wet market. Near the traffic police station. The next trip to beijing, I will still choose to stay here. There is a small shop in front of the hostel which run by the staff, drinks are cheaper than other place... beer, orange juice etc.... I suggest those who wish to visit Great Wall to book the trip from the hostel... very reasonable price with great English speaking tour guide... value for money... provide private van and great lunch... Ask for discount if you are booking the family trip. Very good for family stay... we love the hostel

Disliked: I think is the toilet... clean but very smelly...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Family Holiday
Shopping

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near subway.

Disliked: 1) service slow. 2) equipment not integrity. 3) toilet dirty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

09 October 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the tube station. Nice atmosphere, very clean and excellent value for money. Will definitly stay there again.

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010

Liked: Staff spoke english. Breakfast was good. Hostel was quiet.

Disliked: We came by train and informed beforehand our arrival time, but hostel said that we have to first arrive at the railway station before they coming to pick up us. Therefore when we arrived at the railway station of Beijing, we waited at least for half an hour before they came (and it was raining...). When we were leaving we asked if the staff would called to taxi but they didn't do it. We wondered it because we knew that they called the taxi to some other clients. Service was unfair.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alba Vallejo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 September 2010

Liked: The man who booked our tickets for the opera, in a small desk near the front one, was really nice and helpful.The location was OK too.

Disliked: Lots of things: it was dirty, cold and wet. Many things were broken or didn't work, and the staff was not helpful at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Jantz

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

26 September 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very accomidating.

Disliked: It also advertised as a motel 8. I assumed it was a Chinese hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The breakfast was horrible!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010

Liked: -

Disliked: I was with my sister, when we arrived in the hostel, they told us to go in other hostel because it was full, so for one night we were in other hostel. We booked a doble room ensuite, and for one day we could not use a bathroom. room is not clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a dorm, it was big and very tidy, with just 3 wood beds, with several sockets with international socket. The bathroom was ok, a bit smelly at night but ok. With hot water! They have tourism information desk and a cool bar.

Disliked: The bathroom was not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Jiang

10 July 2010 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: I will stay here again the next time, for its cheap price and good location, nice staffs and cheap breakfast

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There is no any free number, but we've booked it :(

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The batheroom is clean and pretty and the bedroom is good despite its small size ; but the bed is really hard. The staff speaks english and the locqtion is pretty good next the subway et near the main sightseeing. You can go there but i think that Saga Hostel, which is next to this youth Hostel, is better, more beautiful and funnier too (according to what I saw).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

thadeus mazurkiewicz

17 June 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: thadeus left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap, but the bathroom are dirty and the staff noisy in the evening and the morning..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.