We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heyuan International Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.1 ZHI QIANG BEI YUAN, WEI HUI YUAN LU, HAI DIAN DISTRICT Beijing, China -

88.5% Overall Rating

87 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/01/2014)

"Helpful, nice and mainly english speaking staff. Nice building in general. A lot of services offered at affordable costs. Close to a central subway station. Affordable."

Read all Heyuan International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
16.24 USD

Hostel 81.7% 123 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Houhai Courtyard Guest House
12.99 USD

Guesthouse 67.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 553 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 77.5% 25 reviews
INNer City
12.99 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

87 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heyuan International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a single room. They cleaned it every day.

Disliked: It's a little hard to find and not in the center of Beijing, although close to metro.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, nice and mainly english speaking staff. Nice building in general. A lot of services offered at affordable costs. Close to a central subway station. Affordable.

Disliked: Overpriced food in the bar, no place to dry washed clothes indoors or in a dryer which becomes a problem in the winter.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and clean, I felt at home from the second I got there.

Disliked: It was hard to find the way to the hostel for the first time, since it is in an alley.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, pretty mch close to many sights (Forbidden City, lakes, hutongs...).

Disliked: nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendra Moran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Kendra would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places we stayed in Beijing. Double room was large with nice furniture, a kettle for coffee/tea and a nice bathroom. Rooms are cleaned daily. Bed was hard as expected but slightly more comfortable than some others we've experienced in china. Large chill bar area and a courtyard.

Disliked: Somewhat quiet when we were there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Rus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpfull. The wi-fi is good. The prices are good.

Disliked: No credit card accepted. The restaurant closes very early in the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Murphy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: There is so much going on for this hostel its hard where to begin!the location is great,very near to a subway,shops and food places plus a lovely night street market selling diif street foods...the hostel itself is lovely,quiet and full of chracter...great WIFI,a nice bar with a pool table and good drinks at very reasonable prices...also a good breakfast menu and snacks menu There is free dvd rentals,a tv in each room with a good choice od channels and the beds are soft and the furniture from IKEA...thus smart and practicle. I loved my stay here and will def be returning here again...Its very relaxing andthe staff are wonderful.

Disliked: Nothing!It was a great stay and the beautiful courtyard with flowers and trees was a totally lovey and realxing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Antonio De Biase

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 April 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: very nice courtyard, big bar with poole table.

Disliked: nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The courtyard is a very pleasant area in a crowded part of the city. The location is very convenient and the staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: It's a bit hard to find, but the directions are quite good.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012

Liked: The room size

Disliked: The staff dont know to speak english and some of them are rood, the rooms are dirty and the doors always open, its a shame that the guests need to pay money for toilet paper in yha hostel, when i came i booked doorms with bathrooms and when i came they said they dont have place in this kind of room, the resturant menu is very low and expenssive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel - the rooms were small but clean and looked very nice, the staff spoke good English, and it has a great feel. There is a lovely little bar/cafe and a nice courtyard area too, and everyone was very helpful. It is also only a few minutes walk from the metro, so you can travel around Beijing really easily from there - I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The area itself doesn't really have a lot to do - if you go here, you'd probably be best off getting on the metro and going to a different area for restaurants/bars, etc. Also, the Internet was painfully slow, but this is just a small thing compared to how good the rest of it is,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibley helpful and the architecture is very traditional and beautiful. The private rooms are very comfortable and clean, the dorms have lockers inside.

Disliked: The internet and public computers were incredibly slow, and there were 2 common areas - one without A/C, and the bar with. The bar/cafe, however, was usually packed and blaring a poor mix of music. It's a bit of a walk to the subway station also.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything except for the location.. lastly, the good halal restaurant for muslims..

Disliked: location..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohammed Ridha Ahmad Fawzan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2011 Mohammed Ridha would recommend this property

Liked: everything except for the location.. lastly, the good halal restaurant for muslims..

Disliked: the location.. its 1km from the nearest subway station..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the nice staff, the beautiful chinese yard. the cozy little bar... everything in Heyuan

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sunny G

Alone

Romantic getaway

22 June 2011 Sunny would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff,free billiards,comfortable be,characteristics of beijing garden.

Disliked: NO

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aland cheng

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 June 2011 aland would recommend this property

Liked: A very special garden,clean room,very comfortable bed.

Disliked: no

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Hadley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 May 2011 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The value was incredible--the accommodations were really nice for the price of the room. Also, I really appreciated the bar, which serves coffee in the morning.

Disliked: The location--it's pretty far from most places foreigners would go, also it is extremely difficult for cab drivers to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful house, english speaking staff

Disliked: internet provided slow and often doesn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I did not espect such a clean and very nice and friendly hostel and I was very positively surpised. We had a room for two persons, which had more and small hotel standard than a hostel standard. I was in many hostels before and this was one of the better ones. Whenever I´m again in Bejing I will go back there again. It is laying in a more chinese area with also more chinese travellers, so maybe meeting people is less than in other hostels. But we met some nice people. Breakfast was not provided (like in many other hostels, but you can have a nice coffee (important for me:) in the morning. We travelled some days in CHina and left our bigger baggage in the hostel and spended also the last days of our trip there because we liked it very much. It is laying not far from subway line 2, which is an excellent point to explore the City and you can walk to Ho Hai. There is also a big Supermarket near the subway station in the shopping center.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and very friendly staff

Disliked: only one western toilet in the shared bathroom and that was extremely small!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double room which was much nicer than we expected, more like a cheap hotel room. Bathroom could have been cleaner though.

Disliked: We did one of their great wall tours, breakfast is included but this is just a burger & coffee from Mcdonalds! I suppose this is ok if you're not a vegetarian :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the Heyuan IYH were excellent especially Dadong and Lixin. The people I met here provided wonderful suggestions on places to see in Beijing and throughout China.

Disliked: The location could have been more desirable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the second time we have stayed in this hostel. Great staff; friendly and very helpful. Good food available. Good laundry facilities. Only 5 minute walk from the nearest subway station.

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christine Andrews

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

08 October 2010 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Food stalls down the street near YH. Muslim restaurant nearby was also very good. The bar and lounge room is nice, great music.

Disliked: The shower flooded on the first day which caused the water to flood outside the bathroom door. It was fixed a bit after having complained, but we still had to have a towel down near the door to stop it from leaking out the door.