HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heyuan International Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.1 ZHI QIANG BEI YUAN, WEI HUI YUAN LU, HAI DIAN DISTRICT Beijing, China -

88.5% Overall Rating

87 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/01/2014)

"Helpful, nice and mainly english speaking staff. Nice building in general. A lot of services offered at affordable costs. Close to a central subway station. Affordable."

Read all Heyuan International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
16.24 USD

Hostel 81.7% 123 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Houhai Courtyard Guest House
12.99 USD

Guesthouse 67.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 550 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 77.5% 25 reviews
INNer City
14.62 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

87 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heyuan International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 86 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephanie richards

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely courtyard! staff friendly and helpful. bloody good sandwhiches

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice traditional Chinese style building. Good selection of guide books to borrow

Disliked: Internet service not always working. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner and there was a bad smell coming from the drains.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ross Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: This place looks beautiful, is spotless, is in a great location (Just out of town centre but trust me because its next to a street food area its ace.), has great staff (Rex in the bar and Lishin at reception are great.). Actually as hostels go this place is hard to believe.

Disliked: This like so many modern hostels suffers from the curse of omni present WIFI. Although we all want it, the sea of people sitting behind laptops in the bar area not talking is frankly boring. And this place suffers particulaly badly from it (Thus the less than average fun atmosphere.). To make things worse the bar area plays overlly chilled out music late into the night, like a hotel lounge not like a bar. The clothes washing facilities are rubbish, for a huge hostel it has only one washer and dryer. Obviously cretin guest pack the washer with clothes which never dry in the dryer and the schedule gets behind. This often means you end up with wet clothes and no way to dry them. The staff should take more responsibility and control of this and buy a couple more machines.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: lots of mosquitos

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisandro Cristia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2010 Lisandro would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas, bar, wi-fi

Disliked: Staff service

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They all speak perfect english, always available for any help, gentle and kind, live their hostel not only like managers but like people who want to have fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm now back home from Heyuan, and I still miss there and the experience with the people there. I've got a lot of fun in Heyuan, and next time if I go to Beijing, I'll live in Heyuan again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The courtyard.

Disliked: The private bathroom of our room was not cleaned. The location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very great place. The cleanest hostel we had in our round tour of China. Friendly staff too.

Disliked: A little bit far from the metro station Jisuitan (about 10 min walk)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a really nice garden where you can relax and have breakfast.

Disliked: The cleaning lady will wake you up in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wireless internet is fast,helpful staff,good location

Disliked: So far everything is good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice, clean hostel, with helpful staff and very nice rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuan Zuo

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa

21 August 2010 Yuan would recommend this property

Liked: it's realy fine in Heyuan. i can take the subway very easily and go to anywhere that i like! and i love the garden there, at the evening back to Heyuan i could take some small things to eat and talk with my friend, or read something in Internet. how if i could get such a garden in the future in my own family! the room is also very clean and comfortble. i've slept in a one-bed room and it's very fine. and the staff here are very friendly! i must specially say thank you to Dadong, you've really brought me a nice stay here in Beijing! and next time i'll come to Heyuan again!

Disliked: Yuan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the building and the atmosphere, the common area was great and the staff were really helpful, and it was very clean.

Disliked: The wifi was useless (no connection in the rooms, weak connection in the common area)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony and Janice Gidora

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

18 August 2010 Anthony and Janice would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the friendly, helpful staff, the restaurant/bar and the overall ambience of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing - okay, a bit of a walk to the subway

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jasmine Chew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is splendid! Although a little away from main attractions (i.e. imperial palace/tiananmen square - required to take subway) it is no trouble navigating in/out. Indeed, good location to take in the sights of local lifestyles - away from the tourist areas.

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious place, staff helpful and with a half price mojito night!!

Disliked: Not easy to find the location

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Granger

With my spouse / partner

08 August 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the subway and buses. The inner-court-yard is beautiful with many places to sit. The environment feels open and spacious, but relatively quite, even with lots of people. The rooms are very clean and modern. We spent over a week and it was great.

Disliked: While the staff is very friendly, but they are very busy and don't seem to have time to talk about travel or suggestions of things to see. The restaurant food is good, but western dishes are limited.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good modern hostel. Excellent facilities etc.

Disliked: 10 minute walk to the subway.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessamyn Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Jessamyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are for the most parrt friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are pretty clean as are the public bathrooms. The common areas (the lounge, the bar and the courtyard) are very comfortable for lounging, watching tv and meeting people.

Disliked: Minor problems- the door latch was a bit sticky and the bathroom was a bit moldy. The internet was slow a good deal of the time- but its china.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty building, bar and food, calligraphy and seal making, pool table.

Disliked: there was no kitchen for guests to use, one would be nice. the dorm rooms are very noisey take earplugs!. one night the staff allowed a group of several to stand in the courtyard facing all the rooms drinking, laughing, playing music and talking loud till we complained at 2.30am. one member of staff tried to overcharge us for booking a train ticket. toilets are mosquito infested make sure you have repellant, cubicles very small and the floor always wet, be careful its very slippy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaleb Bollen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010 Kaleb would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best value for money. Great people, feels very safe, very helpful staff and a relaxing environment to escape to.

Disliked: The only problems I had was when they had ran out of big towels (which i got the next day) and the pool table pockets were too small :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great stuff, great guests

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mads emil jacobsen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2010 mads emil would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice hostel. Beds and especially the pillow and cover were great. Nice bar with reasonable prices, were meeting other travellers is easy. from the hostel it was easy to go anywhere of interest in Beijing, and their description on how to arrive there was very excact and easy to follow. Would definately stay there again.

Disliked: The breakfast offered was expensive and not good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shoon-Ling Chow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Shoon-Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Apart from the beautiful court yard, there is plenty of other spaces to socialise or chill out. The ample free internet is a god-send for the road-hardened traveller who moves around without a laptop. The food was simple and cheap. The street food outside was awesome... but only for those with strong stomachs. The staff were the most friendly and helpful people I met in Beijing. The guests were a mix of old, young and families, visitors and Chinese alike which made the whole experience even more enjoyable. This is the place for you if you're sick of 18-25 party hostels where you'll only meet people from English-speaking countries.

Disliked: Mosquitos... You can keep from being bitten by turning up the AC at night. This is when sharing with people from cold countries would be a bonus.