HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of No. 161 Hostel Beijing

Hostel

No. 161, Li Shi Hu Tong, Dong Cheng Disctric, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

All reservations will be held valid until 6 pm Beijing time and will be automatically cancelled unless guaranteed with the first day's room cost paid to the hostel for no-show.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 23:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Safe, clean with helpful staff members and within easy walking distance to the metro or bus stops or commercial centres.

Disliked: The only real complaint was that the directions to the hostel are too basic and we got lost trying to find it! It is also in an alley way which didn't help. *it would have also helped to have the directions written out in Chinese characters in case we needed to ask anyone where it was!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice staff, clean rooms and great location

Disliked: Not so much options for breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly personnel, helpful. Nice furniture, mix of western and chinese. Not expensive for what you get. I will for sure book again this hotel when I visit Beijing.

Disliked: Hard to find for the first time. Had to ask around before we could find it, because it`s in the entrance of a Hutong. Look first at google maps or Baidu before you go.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff, level of English is okay, really nice atmosphere. For sure focused on guests from Western country`s, and it`s well done.

Disliked: It`s a bit hard to find. A better map or directions in English would be helpful. Not so convenient for wheelchair users, because there are no elevators.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is very good. The staff can speak very good englisch and is very helpful in giving advices. The is a really lovely café in the hotel lobby and it is very quiet.

Disliked: That the café was closed the first days of our stay. :) At least we had it for the last two days!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice atmosphere, central location, friendly staff

Disliked: single room was in the "cellar"

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The people are friendly and provide good information for a tourist. The place is clean and quite well located near Dongsi metro station. I highly recommend this place for a traveller.

Disliked: It is not too close to the Tian An-men area, perhaps more than a walking distance. But since the metro station is nearby, this should not be a problem. The pricing of the food is a little on the higher side.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: According to the line, it was easy to find, subway line 5, grabbing the stand, the C mouth, LiShi alley, you can see the sign 161 hostel. The young man is very good, communication is very happy. The next few days, give me a lot of help, they are willing to help me. The room price is cheaper, the room also is very quiet, where I rest well, location of the hotel is very good, travel is very convenient. Especially take the subway travel. They provide the ticketing service, is very convenient. Hostel breakfast and coffee, is I like 161 hostel reason, also like hostel lovely employees, I would recommend to my friends, hope you have been very good!

Disliked: Beijing roast duck, I don't like

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great , friendly , lovely

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Position is very great, from the subway is very near. Service is very warm, very patient, it was very good. I like environment, is I need hotel, I would recommend it to my friend. I love their coffee and sandwiches.This is my journey unforgettable hotel, where very wonderful night.

Disliked: There is a little episode, my room card, I can't find it, I look for a long time, I put it, throw in her room, to open the door to need to check a lot of information

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability