We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of 161 Hostel

Hostel | No. 161, Li Shi Hu Tong, Dong Si Nan Da Jie, Dong Cheng Qu Beijing, China 100010

94.2% Overall Rating

51 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2013)

"Very friendly personnel, helpful. Nice furniture, mix of western and chinese. Not expensive for what you get. I will for sure book again this hotel when I visit Beijing."

Read all 161 Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

All reservations will be held valid until 6 pm Beijing time and will be automatically cancelled unless guaranteed with the first day's room cost paid to the hostel for no-show.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
8.13 USD

Hostel 81.6% 97 reviews
Beijing City Central International Youth Hostel
9.27 USD

Hostel 72.9% 457 reviews
Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.14 USD

Hostel 87.7% 116 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
16.26 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Yuanjia International Apartment
41.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Hostel
8.13 USD

Hostel 84.3% 321 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

51 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '161 Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly personnel, helpful. Nice furniture, mix of western and chinese. Not expensive for what you get. I will for sure book again this hotel when I visit Beijing.

Disliked: Hard to find for the first time. Had to ask around before we could find it, because it`s in the entrance of a Hutong. Look first at google maps or Baidu before you go.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, level of English is okay, really nice atmosphere. For sure focused on guests from Western country`s, and it`s well done.

Disliked: It`s a bit hard to find. A better map or directions in English would be helpful. Not so convenient for wheelchair users, because there are no elevators.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. The staff can speak very good englisch and is very helpful in giving advices. The is a really lovely café in the hotel lobby and it is very quiet.

Disliked: That the café was closed the first days of our stay. :) At least we had it for the last two days!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, central location, friendly staff

Disliked: single room was in the "cellar"

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are friendly and provide good information for a tourist. The place is clean and quite well located near Dongsi metro station. I highly recommend this place for a traveller.

Disliked: It is not too close to the Tian An-men area, perhaps more than a walking distance. But since the metro station is nearby, this should not be a problem. The pricing of the food is a little on the higher side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yongqi chang

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

19 July 2012 yongqi would recommend this property

Liked: According to the line, it was easy to find, subway line 5, grabbing the stand, the C mouth, LiShi alley, you can see the sign 161 hostel. The young man is very good, communication is very happy. The next few days, give me a lot of help, they are willing to help me. The room price is cheaper, the room also is very quiet, where I rest well, location of the hotel is very good, travel is very convenient. Especially take the subway travel. They provide the ticketing service, is very convenient. Hostel breakfast and coffee, is I like 161 hostel reason, also like hostel lovely employees, I would recommend to my friends, hope you have been very good!

Disliked: Beijing roast duck, I don't like

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great , friendly , lovely

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xuelian han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 xuelian would recommend this property

Liked: Position is very great, from the subway is very near. Service is very warm, very patient, it was very good. I like environment, is I need hotel, I would recommend it to my friend. I love their coffee and sandwiches. This is my journey unforgettable hotel, where very wonderful night.

Disliked: There is a little episode, my room card, I can't find it, I look for a long time, I put it, throw in her room, to open the door to need to check a lot of information

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uttam Gogoi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 May 2012 Uttam would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcome,helpful,obliging ,well furnnished ( except for a full length looking glass in the room) & neat and clean

Disliked: Sprayer required in toilet.One or more common bathroom required.The Wify speed ranges from 2Mb to 20 Mb maximum , very very poor network.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlijn Olde Reuver of Briel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Carlijn would recommend this property

Liked: bedroom

Disliked: Carlijn left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really helpful and very close to the subway which gets you to the forbidden city in ~10 for 2 RMB

Disliked: Hard to find

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bohus Michalko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Bohus would recommend this property

Liked: pretty much everything

Disliked: turkish-style toilette..might be common in China or Asia generally but can't get used to it..otherwise nothing to complain about

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For it's price, location, proximity to the train station, helpfulness of the staff, it would be hard to beat.

Disliked: The bed's a bit hard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Menendez

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: good location an staff

Disliked: ---

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean. There was ONE bathroom, but it was clean the entire time. The rooms were decent as well. Staff was attentive.

Disliked: No Western toilets. Bad internet throughout the night. Bed was literally hard as a rock, I'm not joking. Laying on the floor would have been more comfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra Kenny

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The cafe is very comfy and homely - great after a long day.

Disliked: Very bad internet, not availible in most rooms and difficult to do skype video call even in lobby. One shower and no western toilets But for the price I wasnt complaining

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnieszka Poznanska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in the city centre, close to metro station. The rooms are clean and cosy. They sell snack and coffee, and the lobby is a really nicely decorated area - makes you want to stay here for along time. Internet works without problems.

Disliked: i Only one shower, however, I never really had to wait.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Tam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: secure, safe, and affordable.

Disliked: Everything is fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Uku Soot

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Uku would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and great value for only 60rmb per person one night.

Disliked: Uku left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the location near the metro, WuMart, bakery and McDonalds. Two computers near the entrance are very nice to check your email fast. Different trips available at the hostel to the great wall for example. In the room we had a very good working airco with cold and warm airflow (very nice to fell asleep with 30 degrees of Celsius). Very clean hostel.

Disliked: WiFi was not working with our cellphones. We felt the springs of the mattress. There was only 1 shower for everyone, but this was not a problem for us because we haven't been waiting at all. There were two shared toilets which were gaps in the ground (not so nice for number 2).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noelie Mertens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Noelie would recommend this property

Liked: location, very central. bathrooms very clean. very helpfull staff; very nice atmosphere in the lounge bar.

Disliked: - we booked "double room or twin". I confirmed by email 2 weeks before that we wanted the double bed. But when we arrive the staff said that they would do their best in the coming days but the double bed was not available. During the 5 nights after no double bed available neither :-(. - bar a little bit expensive, but very good ( nice Mojito :-) - only one shower for shared bathroom... sometimes need to do the queue...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff.

Disliked: Common toilet.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sirik Honing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011

Liked: I liked the atmosphere in this hostel. It looks like a really lonely planet type of place.

Disliked: Part of the staff was really rude. The girls who were present during the day are really nice, but the guy in the evening is a disgrace to himself. Very unfriendly, he misses empathy for his customers and was even wispering behind our backs when we were using the internet. An awful person, which made us leave the hotel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all was almost OK

Disliked: in our room WiFi was so bad, we must take notebook and go to the lobby to talk by Skype. And, of course, only 1 bathroom cabine - it's so uncomfortable... :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean.safe.good location.

Disliked: i never heard of the word, kind of hello,thankyou,byebye,sorry... from the all of staffs. also they looks like upset of something. never smile. if i could i'd like to give to them 'haha'. and doing like police officer when i was check-in. the room is really cold. and if you get a room at the undergrond you can hear all of water and flush sounds from the bathroom. oh. sometimes it's really convenience. you don't need to check when you are going to take a shower. just open your ears. there's only ONE shower room.