HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Haina Hostel

Hostel | Building 14-8 Dong Zhi Men, Inner St. Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China 100007

79.2% Overall Rating

43 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/10/2012)

Karen Gilhespy thinks…

"The position is very convenient for the airport, and not too far away from the metro."

Read all Haina Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
32.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lucky Family Hostel
11.33 USD

Hostel 90.9% 150 reviews
Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.02 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 84.6% 166 reviews
Beijing Lama Temple Youth Hostel
17.80 USD

Hostel 67.6% 20 reviews
The Classic Courtyard
24.92 USD

Hostel 81.6% 431 reviews
Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 84.6% 374 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

43 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Haina Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Gilhespy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The position is very convenient for the airport, and not too far away from the metro.

Disliked: There was nothing I took a dislike to.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

arie meshulam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012

Liked: nothing,but the location

Disliked: see above

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Asif Quadri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Asif would recommend this property

Liked: Location is close to Dongzhimen Station where the airport train terminates. Somebody onsite 24 hours. Staff spoke basic english and were very helpful in arranging alternate accomodation.

Disliked: If you have a late arrival be careful. The airport train stops at 11pm. The shuttle buses for 16RMB are highly disorganized, come at no set schedule, people will push and jump the queue. Cab drivers were ridiculous and wanted 400RMB when the hostel said normal cost is 75RMB. I got to the hostel by 3am and they said they dont have a room for me, even though I had emailed someone called Angie to tell them I was arriving late and showed them the printout. The lady arranged a nearby hostel for me and told the cab driver how to get there, for the same price less the cost of the hostel bed. I didnt get to stay at Haina, and even though the staff were helpful, make sure you have written confirmation from them if you are arriving after midnight and be careful with airport taxis trying to rip you off. I had to argue with several and eventually got one for 100RMB but he get driving around in circles and couldnt find the hostel when I kept telling him to just let me off at the Dongzimen station. I got him to call the hostel eventually

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011

Liked: not a lot. bathroom seemed clean but the towels were old

Disliked: broken glass in the window used as a hole for the air-con tube, no common area, noisy with people going in and out of rooms, sheets were washed but had make-up stains on them still, room was dirty, everything i put on the tables got covered in dust.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010

Liked: BIG ROOM

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to Airport Express (a five minute walk away)

Disliked: The staff were sullen almost to the point of rudeness. Perhaps this was because it was Oct 1st (a national Chinese holiday) and they were having to work. Nonetheless, having stayed at several other hostels in central Beijing, I know you can do much better in terms of ambience and value for money. The only thing to recommend about Haina Hostel is its close proximity to the Airport Express.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arne Bittermann

16 January 2010 Arne would recommend this property

Liked: A special thanks to the lady running the hostel - VERY helpful and friendly.Poor English of the hostel staff but also very willing to help.Clean and heated rooms, warm water - perfect conditions.

Disliked: Arne left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I chose the hostel because is very close to the airport express and subway stations

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it`s a somking hotel and they have really hard bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We especially liked the very helpful and friendly staff! Also Haina hostel had a good location, very close (5 min walk) to a handy subway line, restaurants and supermarkets. The room wasn't as nice as it seemed on the internet but still met our needs (we stayed in a private double ensuite). Would stay again though! :) - Julia from Finland

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in Beijing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nopt espensive. Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, not far from the Airport Express.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location right off of airport express and other connecting lines was nice. The staff were helpful when I asked for recommendations although sometimes I felt like I was interrupting their computer games.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Richard Greenwood

26 August 2009 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful, walked to the nearets travel agency to help book our train tickets. Location was very good, easy access to 3 tube lines made it very easy to access all the places of interest.Booked the great wall and ming tombs trip through the hostel for 180RMB, trip was well organised, but too many trips to "Factories", Jade Factory, Ming vase Factory and silk factory. This meant the ming tombs was far too rushed. If you book this excursion I'd try and get everybody to agree on missing the Jade factory and silk factory and just have a more relaxed time at the wall and the tombs as that's what you paid to see. You have to go to the ming vase factory as that's where you have lunch, a very nice lunch by the way.Room was ok, fine for the price and location, clean towels every day, fresh bedding every 2 days, Internet connection fine for surfing, but very up and down speed wise for any downloading or uploading - at times as low as 3kbs sometimes 300kbsWould recommend as a great hostel for travellers looking for a reasonably priced room in a good location with very helpful staff.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktor Braat

25 August 2009 Viktor would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff, they even let us take a shower after we checked out, i tought that was really, because they don't have dorms..

Disliked: Viktor left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked it. And we also booked a trip to great wall through the staff and got it pretty cheap compared to others. Some had paid 480 juan for it, we paid 200. Highly recommend, restaurants down the street are just perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great hostel more like a hotel, it was really easy to get around the city by subway, bus or bicycle, a lot of 24-hour-open restaurants were nearby, and the receiption also offered 24-hour service.Great location, Great staff, I like them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really wonderful and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hai na hostel has a good location and friendly stuff. You can easily reach to every historical place (metro is close), plenty of restaurants on the same street, also 7 eleven - you can take away good hot local food. Small minishop at the hostel helps with the drinks and first-aid-food. Stuff booked for us Simatai Great Wall tour - the best place to be! Actually there were more attractive tours but we run between tempels, ancient observatory, visited new planetarium.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed, great location and helpful staff. Highly recommend haina hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull and friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Freek van Kreij

10 July 2009 Freek would recommend this property

Liked: we had a great time. the people were very helpful and the room was perfect the only thing is there is not really a good place to meet people. but you are close to the subway you are at the airport in a flash by subway and you can get to the tian'an men square in about 3 minutes. (subway costs like 25 cents).

Disliked: Freek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel, a computer free for the guests in lobby,.Very good location which is close to metro stations, on a busy but not crowded street, banks, 24-hour restaurants and shops are around.Very helpful staff who can speak good English. Highly recommend to tourists.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Oliver Radcliffe

28 June 2009 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: The location is walking distance to the Dongzimen subway station, although on hostelbookers map it shows its location near Tiananmen Sq, so check the directions before you book as Beijing is a big city!Staff are really friendly and helpful, free internet in room

Disliked: Oliver left no negative feedback.