HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

Hostel | No.52 Xi Si Bei 2 (er) Tiao, Xi Si, Xi Cheng District, Beijing, China 0

88.8% Overall Rating

130 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/10/2013)

"A small and friendly hostel fairly close to the centre. It's a low key but sociable place to stay while in Beijing."

Read all Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

INNer City
16.24 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House
16.24 USD

Hostel 89.9% 66 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House
17.87 USD

Hostel 91.2% 51 reviews
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 91.2% 545 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
68.71 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

130 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 127 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kris Mampaey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: Small and friendley pplce

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character, quite, friendly staff

Disliked: Location too far down the alley

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A small and friendly hostel fairly close to the centre. It's a low key but sociable place to stay while in Beijing.

Disliked: It doesn't have the polished facilities of somewhere like Happy Dragon, but felt more authentic and homely.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has so much beauty and character. I didn't have much time to relax on this particular trip, but I could easily imagine spending hours outside in the courtyard on a fall afternoon, drinking tea under the guihua tree. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating of my rushed schedule (I had to leave very early in the morning to catch a train).

Disliked: Don't expect 5-star bathroom facilities...but hey, it's a hostel!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Regina Stadler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and me we had a very good time at the hostel. The rooms were clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. The free dumpling night was great. Moreover, we liked the cheap beer.

Disliked: Regina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here in 2010 and loved it, so it was a no brainer to come back. Its the most beautiful hostel I've ever stayed in, sociable and easy to meet other travellers in the comfy common room. The staff were also absolutely brilliant yet again and couldn't do enough to help. Leo in particular was first class! I wish every hostel was as good as Chinese Box. If / when I come back to Beijing I'll come back here.

Disliked: Its so nice in the hostel you almost don't want to go out to explore Beijing!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheri Pan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2013 Sheri would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was the best place about this hostel. Everyone I met was friendly, warm, and enthusiastic, including the staff. The free breakfast and communal areas were great ways to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Sheri left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Peter Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Hostel

Disliked: Nothing to dislike but nothing exceptional compared with other hostels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ika Widyarini

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

30 June 2013 Ika would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcome even at late hour of check in, accessible to anywhere you want to go around Beijing, English speaking staff are very helpful

Disliked: the drain at shower room & sink was clogged

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Courtyard accommodation; free food (breakfast and pancake night)

Disliked: We were there in March and the bathrooms plus communal areas were very cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Newnham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: I'm sure I wasn't the first or won't be the last traveller to walk down the hutong for the first time wondering what on earth I had been thinking to book a place here - but you really shouldn't be intimidated. The location is classic Chinese and really very easy for visiting many of the attractions in the centre. The staff provide a free dumplings night, pancake night and a paid family dinner. They are all helpful and welcoming, and the quieter atmosphere makes meeting people easier.

Disliked: If you came in winter then the shower room is pretty chilly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the setup of the hostel -- it's a traditional courtyard style. Staff was amazing and so helpful, and really enjoyed the free breakfast.

Disliked: Having to walk outside in the cold to get to the bathroom wasn't ideal (pretty cold in Feb.) and the rooms could've been better heated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel is a quiet and intimate hostel set in a traditional Beijing Courtyard. Public transportation such as the metro is about a 5 minute walk from the hostel. I stayed at the Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel around Chinese New Year 2012. During my stay in Beijing I got a flu. Fortunately, the staff took good care of me and gave me hot water and some food. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Sebastien Lamontagne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2012 Jean-Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: My feelings about the hostel are really positive. As soon as I entered there, I felt I was respected, liked and helped by all the staff in order to discover the city and get ready for trips around the capital. I cannot count how many times the staff was helpful with me, especially the Manager who was such a great person! Since the hostel is in a traditionnal area of Beijing, I felt the deep culture and the architecture of the place. Showers, bathrooms, communal room were all great. Open you heart and you will enjoy one of the best place in Beijing to stay.

Disliked: Jean-Sebastien left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in double room, it was very comfortable. Hostel was quiet but it is small and had an intimate and relaxed atmosphere that makes meeting other travellers and 'family night' was great when the dozen or so people staying at the hostel sat around a large table in courtyard eating Chinese dishes and exchanging travelling stories.

Disliked: The location is 5 mins from metro and about 15 mins from Beihei Park but the area itself didn't have a lot to offer (not that we discovered anyway)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012

Liked: Exotic Chinese atmosphere, quiet at night if you want to get quality sleep at night. Well air conditioned in the hot and humid summers.

Disliked: Lots of mosquitoes. Staff may or may not be helpful depending on who's in charge that day. Not all staff speaks English. No free maps.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel was AMAZING. The atmosphere, location and cleanliness are the best. The staff was really wonderful. They went more than the extra mile to help people. There was a woman who had a medical problem and they helped her get to a hospital, one of the women sat with her all night in the hospital and then later in the week the owner of the hostel went back with her to follow up. This place has so much charm and is an easy walk to the subway station. Make sure when walking from the station you take the 2nd alley, not the first. The food here is delicious. They will make you food most of the day and evening.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Close to a subway station bit in a hutong.

Disliked: Expensive for what it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is so close to subway station. I walked 20 minutes to Forbidden City also. It's in a tradition chinese house with courtyard, located in a nice Hutong. Very spacious. Staff is the best, really friendly and helpful, really special. Very clean, I'm so glad I stayed here, I saw so much of Beijing with their help, they also organise tours for you if you need. Also very safe and secure, they have big lockers in each dorm. I have stayed in over 300 hostels, this is definitely one of the best.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emily McLean

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful, location was great only 5min walk to the subway. Bbq was a great way to meet other travellers and the free breakfast was good.

Disliked: Pretty minor thing but the 6 bed dorm was a little cramped, especially as there were 7 people staying in it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is run by a couple. the lady is having her 1st baby. all the best to her baby and her. the hostel is cool recommended to everyone.

Disliked: the facilities are tiny bit outdated.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, peaceful atmosphere. Very chill.

Disliked: Our room could have been a bit nicer for the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very frendly and good service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were amazingly helpful, nice and accommodating! Cute cats, cozy common room, and free wifi! Felt like at home here:].

Disliked: Shower... had low water pressure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amiel Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Amiel would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs really helpful and friendly. They have heaters everywhere, in the rooms, next to the toilets, shower area, since it's so cold in winter, it is really nice that rooms are nice, warm, and clean.

Disliked: Water pressure is really low. Though the water is hot, it was hard to have a proper shower..