HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel Beijing Hostel

NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Such a clean hostel! I think they clean the common areas at least three times a day. Although the rooms and bathrooms are small, that's to be expected in Hong Kong. Great location as there are a lot of good options nearby, and about a <5 minute walk to the wan chai subway station.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff was really nice. The courtyard in the hutong was also nice. I felt bad we were not going to be there for the noodle dinner, but it was our last night to have peking duck. In retrospect I would have booked the Great wall tour through the hostel instead of the company I did.

Disliked: Other than not taking credit cards nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small and friendley pplce

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Character, quite, friendly staff

Disliked: Location too far down the alley

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This place has so much beauty and character. I didn't have much time to relax on this particular trip, but I could easily imagine spending hours outside in the courtyard on a fall afternoon, drinking tea under the guihua tree. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating of my rushed schedule (I had to leave very early in the morning to catch a train).

Disliked: Don't expect 5-star bathroom facilities...but hey, it's a hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: A small and friendly hostel fairly close to the centre. It's a low key but sociable place to stay while in Beijing.

Disliked: It doesn't have the polished facilities of somewhere like Happy Dragon, but felt more authentic and homely.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My friends and me we had a very good time at the hostel. The rooms were clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. The free dumpling night was great. Moreover, we liked the cheap beer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed here in 2010 and loved it, so it was a no brainer to come back. Its the most beautiful hostel I've ever stayed in, sociable and easy to meet other travellers in the comfy common room. The staff were also absolutely brilliant yet again and couldn't do enough to help. Leo in particular was first class! I wish every hostel was as good as Chinese Box. If / when I come back to Beijing I'll come back here.

Disliked: Its so nice in the hostel you almost don't want to go out to explore Beijing!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The atmosphere was the best place about this hostel. Everyone I met was friendly, warm, and enthusiastic, including the staff. The free breakfast and communal areas were great ways to meet other travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly Hostel

Disliked: Nothing to dislike but nothing exceptional compared with other hostels

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability