We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

Hostel | No.52 Xi Si Bei 2 (er) Tiao, Xi Si, Xi Cheng District, Beijing, China 0

89.4% Overall Rating

131 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/10/2013)

"A small and friendly hostel fairly close to the centre. It's a low key but sociable place to stay while in Beijing."

Read all Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

INNer City
12.99 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House
16.24 USD

Hostel 90.3% 67 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House
17.87 USD

Hostel 91.2% 51 reviews
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 553 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
63.84 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

131 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 128 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is by far the best hostel in China. The free dumpling parties and the free breakfast every morning were always amazing. Joe (the owner) and staff are always extremely helpful and fun to talk to. The cats here are also an extra bonus! With the new subway line close to the hostel it makes getting to very easy. I will keep coming back to this amazing hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Wurm

17 January 2010 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Super Personal. Tolle Gemeinschaft aller Gäste. Gutes Abendprogramm. Leckeres kostenloses Frühstück.

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Birgit Wagner

15 January 2010 Birgit would recommend this property

Liked: I loved to stay at this hostel. The social area was great. I got to know many people from all over the world. I was travelling alone but staying at this hostel felt like being with my family and friends :) Especially the staff was very helpful and friendly and if there was noone around they did not hesitate to chat with you. I never felt lonely a single second.Although i don´t really like cats, i have to say that these cats are sooooooo lovely and cute. But really don´t be afraid that there will be the hair of the cats everywhere. That is totally NOT the case. Everything is soooo clean and nice. Especially the beds are very confortable. Also if u are travelling during the winter time, you definitely don´t have to freeze. The heater is on everywhere u go which makes it very nice to lean back and relax. During the cold days in winter u can stay easily in the hostel, cause they also sell like many drinks and food. So in the evening u can just sit in the social area with a beer and chat with people all over the world. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone. Especially for these people who are travelling alone is this a great place to get to know a lot of people. Have fun! :)

Disliked: Birgit left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff , hostel very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yoke siang liew

12 December 2009 yoke siang would recommend this property

Liked: the staff here is very friendly and helpful.good place to stay here.

Disliked: yoke siang left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful and friendly staff. Close to the subway. Awesome atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Nguyen

08 December 2009 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Great place in many ways: met plenty of other travellers and the staff were also so very friendly - Joe (the owner/manager) is extremely helpful and seems to be well travelled and gives good advice for venturing to other parts to China. Would definitely come here again, no questions asked.

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jun Chen

30 November 2009 jun would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff. clean facilities. awesomely friendly cats

Disliked: jun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Megan Smith

06 November 2009 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Chinese Box is FANTASTIC. Hands down my favorite hostel in China. The people are lovely, very helpful and friendly. The rooms are pretty minimal and basic, but the common areas are spacious and homey and everyone hangs out each day over breakfast and dinner and shares stories and makes plans and it's a great place to meet people. I enjoyed it so much I extended my stay a few days; several other people also did the same. Only good things to say.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Octuber 2009,best place, most friendly stuff, goog conected to public transports, I will come back to this place for surenobbtherobb

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily bakes

14 October 2009 emily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really fantastic, it has to be the best I've ever stayed in. The atmosphere is great for meeting people, the staff are lovely and the rooms are clean and tidy. Nice hot showers, free breakfasts, dumpling parties and bbqs. Stay here, you won't regret it!

Disliked: emily left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt comfortable atmosphere like my house. Although my english is not so good, we could communicate many things. They were kind and very helpful for me. Thanks for their kindness!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in the world

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is AMAZING. I've stayed in hundreds of hostels at this point, and this place is by far the most hospitable place I've been to yet. The hostel staff is friendly and charismatic, they go out of their way to make sure you have a good day, to help you arrange activities, train fares, etc. They arrange group activities for the people there (dumpling party last night?), they offer free tasty breakfast, free internet, free... it's just incredible. Safe, clean, spectacular!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDREW WILSDON

06 July 2009 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed, calm and comfortable atmosphere. Very helpful staff and free breakfast. Location is interesting, unique and quiet in a good way. Walk 10 minutes to get the bus to to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, bus takes about 15 / 20 minutes. It would have hired a bike ( I can't remember the price but it was was very reasonable) at the hostel and cycled if it hadn't been so hot.

Disliked: ANDREW left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia WU

06 May 2009 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: A really traveller friendly hostel. Had a good time here. Staying in the traditional hutong in BJ, I loved the sunshine in the courtyard with flowers and cats. Staff are really helpful, and I am looking forward to coming back soon.

Disliked: Lydia left no negative feedback.