HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel Beijing Hostel

NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 85%

Showing 11-9 of 9 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly welcome even at late hour of check in, accessible to anywhere you want to go around Beijing, English speaking staff are very helpful

Disliked: the drain at shower room & sink was clogged

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Courtyard accommodation; free food (breakfast and pancake night)

Disliked: We were there in March and the bathrooms plus communal areas were very cold

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I'm sure I wasn't the first or won't be the last traveller to walk down the hutong for the first time wondering what on earth I had been thinking to book a place here - but you really shouldn't be intimidated. The location is classic Chinese and really very easy for visiting many of the attractions in the centre.The staff provide a free dumplings night, pancake night and a paid family dinner. They are all helpful and welcoming, and the quieter atmosphere makes meeting people easier.

Disliked: If you came in winter then the shower room is pretty chilly.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the setup of the hostel -- it's a traditional courtyard style. Staff was amazing and so helpful, and really enjoyed the free breakfast.

Disliked: Having to walk outside in the cold to get to the bathroom wasn't ideal (pretty cold in Feb.) and the rooms could've been better heated.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: My feelings about the hostel are really positive. As soon as I entered there, I felt I was respected, liked and helped by all the staff in order to discover the city and get ready for trips around the capital. I cannot count how many times the staff was helpful with me, especially the Manager who was such a great person! Since the hostel is in a traditionnal area of Beijing, I felt the deep culture and the architecture of the place. Showers, bathrooms, communal room were all great. Open you heart and you will enjoy one of the best place in Beijing to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed in double room, it was very comfortable. Hostel was quiet but it is small and had an intimate and relaxed atmosphere that makes meeting other travellers and 'family night' was great when the dozen or so people staying at the hostel sat around a large table in courtyard eating Chinese dishes and exchanging travelling stories.

Disliked: The location is 5 mins from metro and about 15 mins from Beihei Park but the area itself didn't have a lot to offer (not that we discovered anyway)

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Exotic Chinese atmosphere, quiet at night if you want to get quality sleep at night. Well air conditioned in the hot and humid summers.

Disliked: Lots of mosquitoes. Staff may or may not be helpful depending on who's in charge that day. Not all staff speaks English. No free maps.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel was AMAZING. The atmosphere, location and cleanliness are the best. The staff was really wonderful. They went more than the extra mile to help people. There was a woman who had a medical problem and they helped her get to a hospital, one of the women sat with her all night in the hospital and then later in the week the owner of the hostel went back with her to follow up. This place has so much charm and is an easy walk to the subway station. Make sure when walking from the station you take the 2nd alley, not the first. The food here is delicious. They will make you food most of the day and evening.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location. Close to a subway station bit in a hutong.

Disliked: Expensive for what it is.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is so close to subway station. I walked 20 minutes to Forbidden City also. It's in a tradition chinese house with courtyard, located in a nice Hutong. Very spacious. Staff is the best, really friendly and helpful, really special. Very clean, I'm so glad I stayed here, I saw so much of Beijing with their help, they also organise tours for you if you need. Also very safe and secure, they have big lockers in each dorm. I have stayed in over 300 hostels, this is definitely one of the best.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability