We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

Hostel | No.52 Xi Si Bei 2 (er) Tiao, Xi Si, Xi Cheng District, Beijing, China 0

89.4% Overall Rating

131 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/10/2013)

"A small and friendly hostel fairly close to the centre. It's a low key but sociable place to stay while in Beijing."

Read all Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

INNer City
12.99 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House
16.24 USD

Hostel 90.3% 67 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House
17.87 USD

Hostel 91.2% 51 reviews
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 553 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
63.84 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

131 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 128 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really well decorated- quirky Chinese traveller style. I loved the cats! There are about 8 big fat Beijing moggies, most of whom love human attention which was a great touch of home. The staff were friendly and you could hang out with them (and the cats) at night when there were no other guests. The home cooked food available at the 'family dinner' and 'dumpling party' were delicious. I got the dumpling party for free which was nice. And the toilets, although 'outhouses' are really well heated and the warmest place at the hostel! I plan to stay there again in July.

Disliked: The main building was really cold in the evenings (it was the end of December and Beijing was litterally freezing). It was cold even wearing a hat and coat- an extra radiator or two might make all the difference.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HARRY BILBAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 HARRY would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: HARRY left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm rooms are a good size and they offer really large lockers (big enough to fit a rucksack in) which is something I haven't seen before. Also the beds are really comfortable and long (I am 6'3 and even fit in the bunk bed which is unusual). This is a good place to meet people if traveling alone. The tour they offer to the great wall is excellent. It is a good price and the 3 hour journey there and back is well worth it.

Disliked: The hostel certainly isn't new and shiny and it could do with a bit of a renovation but the staff are very friendly and they have great dumping and pancake parties which are very good for meeting people. It isn't the cleanest hostel either, but I guess this is china so perhaps my expectations are a little above Chinese standards. The hostel is on a bit of an intimidating lane way, but once inside it is a lot nicer that it Looks on the outside. It can be a bit tricky to find, make sure you take the second (not the first) lane way when going from the metro exit A (the street names are all very similar). The Internet is touch and go here. It works sometime and not other time which is a big annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the rooms are nice and warm, the atmosphere is almost like staying in a family. It's a quiet area, there's absolutely no traffic noise. Maybe the description of the neighborhood is a bit too enthusiastic, but it's hard to name the perfect location in beijing. The facilities are nice, clean and well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nils Locher

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Nils would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very helpful

Disliked: nothing. everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAI KUAN CHIN

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 WAI KUAN would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, cosy and the atmosphere was serene. But most of all the staff was very accommodating. Here I also met other travellers whom are very nice and made new friends. Highly recommended place to stay.

Disliked: The only thing which I find uncomfortable was the shower. The water was very slow and the holder of the shower head was spoilt and cant hold the shower head, thus very inconvenient. Should be repaired. Other than this everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAI KUAN CHIN

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 WAI KUAN would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, cosy and the atmosphere was serene. But most of all the staff was very accommodating. Here I also met other travellers whom are very nice and made new friends. Highly recommended place to stay.

Disliked: The only thing which I find uncomfortable was the shower. The water was very slow and the holder of the shower head was spoilt and cant hold the shower head, thus very inconvenient. Should be repaired. Other than this everything was perfect.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quiet location just a short walk from XiSi metro station. My room was ok

Disliked: My room was very dark as the lighting wasn't bright enough. The only other problem was horrible drain smells coming from the sink - but that problem could be eliminated by leaving the sink with the plug in and filling it with water. Given the length of my stay I would have liked them to empty the rubbish bins every day (they were only emptied when I asked)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christopher Nener

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! love the cats. Everyone is friendly and it's a great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: The showers were very weak and didn't work so well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, always ready to help and give advice. Speaking good English. There's a BBQ on Mondays, family dinner on Wednesdays and on Fridays there's a dumpling party. Nice common area where there's always guests around

Disliked: The beds are clean, you get fresh linen when you arrive, but the rest of the bedrooms could be cleaned more properly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Moffat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so helpful and patient. Great help booking trains, and giving directions. Family dinner and dumpling party are a great way to meet other travelers and get tips on where's best to go.

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Cable

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 September 2011 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: ideal location for the metro into the tourist spots of Beijing, Don't make a judgement on forst impressions, the alley way to the hostel looks like a dump, and i thought whether i had made a huge mistake in chosing this hostel, but once inside the gates, the welcome is very charming, free first drink, lovely breakfast, free monday night BBQ. I travelled on my own to Beijing but met many in my situation and socialised with these people.

Disliked: The first alley way walk to the hostel, yr first impression is totally incorrect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly staff, lovely location with lots of hutongs around.

Disliked: Can't think of anything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for lone travelers and backpackers, and the staff are amazing. Very clean facilities and beds, breakfasts are very good as well (best mosly in beiging by my account). Dominant advantage: staff give off wonderful tips for touring through Beijing's less renowned sights.

Disliked: Not the cheapest option on the list. Them Hutong alleyways leading to the hostel ain't the prettiest, though the neighbors're quite friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gary LeCerf

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly.Location great.Not far to the subway system which is the only way to travel around Beijing.

Disliked: Need a new fridge as the beer was not cold.Common areas could have overhead fans installed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two days I spent there was like being with friends. If you needed something you got help. If not you did not have a feeling like you bought in. Just your place. Secure, clean, private.

Disliked: Disliked nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dan Antonov

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 August 2011

Liked: The staff was most helpful, the breakfast is nice touch.

Disliked: The location is too remote from the center, and also 15min walk from the subway. The Hutong it is located at is not really nice...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lee-Ann Woon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2011 Lee-Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Private room was wonderfully decorated. The cats were charming. It was clean. The dumplings served at the Friday dumpling party were fantastic. Most of the staff was helpful. It's a chilled out hostel, perfect for relaxing and getting away from the hustle.

Disliked: My friend rang the hostel a few times asking for me but they said I wasn't there, even though I was sitting in the living area and they saw me there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Lear

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere - full of other backpackers, great place to meet people because of the layout of the hostel (courtyards, common area and events like free dumpling party on Friday, family dinner (29yuan) on Wed - DELICIOUS and totally worth it!) The staff are the best, they are AWESOME!!! Great Wall Tour (the 6AM one!) was so worth it - 260yuan, and the section of the Wall that they take you to (Jinshanling) is partially reconstructed one direction, reconstructed the other direction so you can get a feel for how it looked. VERY worth it!! The rooms are great - fantastic A/C, very comfortable beds! The coffee and noodles with egg/tomato are both delicious, and the free breakfast is nice!! I also liked that it was very safe, the front door is accessible with an electronic key card. We didn't even bother using our lockers in the room or closing the door to our room! Great location - close to Forbidden City, metro, shops, and restaurants, about 20 min away in a taxi from Sanlitun. Good internet connection - Skype with video worked perfectly, and they have computers with their own VPN. We actually stayed at Chinese Box twice - we had to leave after 2 nights because they were full, and checked into 1 Hai Inn, then came back to Chinese Box as soon as we could because it was worlds better!! Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone and everyone!!

Disliked: A bit tough to find at first, as it is down a small street, but look for the big red doors!! :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is very charming and the staff are so amazing. They are so sweet and helpful. The Great Wall Tour they put together for Mutianyu is awesome and I loved the group dinners they put together, which make it really easy to meet other people, plus the food was always delicious (still thinking about the duck we had at family dinner). The location, while not walking distance to any major sights, was still only a 10-15 minute ride from the major sights and it's a really close walk to the MTR station (like 5 minutes or less). Really glad I chose this hostel over a so-so hostel with a little bit more central location....it was definitely worth it. The bathrooms were nothing spectacular but were ten times better than any other hostel I have stayed at in China. The hostel has a very friendly and relaxed vibe and people are all game to meet one another.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kris Mampaey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location , nice stafe and common aera

Disliked: Nice place , but a bit expensive for china

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Conor Devlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and many interesting people staying there. Good standard of accomodation. Really nice common area. Good range of facilities such as tours, bike hire, laundry. Friendly cats. The muesli breakfast option was really delicious.

Disliked: Slightly expensive but it is a very nice place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: peaceful courtyard, helpful staff, interesting location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Pavanello Rossi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, a lot of hospitality to make you feel home.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My second stay was as nice as my first.

Disliked: Nothing