HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Great Wall Courtyard Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.26, Cha Dao Gu Cheng, Ba Da Lin Zhen, Yan Qing District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 91%

Location 92%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 56.43USD
  • Breakfast 4.84USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 91%

Location 92%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The courtyard is a cosy and relax place. The location is very close to Badaling great wall. They serve very nice and high quality food. Even though I booked a dorm, I had a private room.For directions: when exiting the train station, do not go in the direction of the great wall. Instead go in the direction of "safaripark"/P3. After 200 meter you will find the sign " Chadao Folk Village" and can follow the original directions.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good for a visit at the Great Wall.

Disliked: When we arrived a there was no-one who could speak English to us. We had to wait for a while for someone who could help us.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect location for the great wall, very friendly staff, very nice rooms

Disliked: Not very busy

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property is a classic hudong - family residence compound. It has been fixed up so as to provide hostel-style (primitive) bedrooms, some with very basic showers. it's not for the mainstream tourist. But it is interesting from a historical perspective.

Disliked: It's primitive, but friendly. The rooms are small, with only the beds. The bath is minimal. It's in a historical residential neighbourhood near the train station. But it didn't bother me, because I didn't expect much.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Wonderfully close to the Great Wall, I'd been to a different part of the Great Wall before and didn't enjoy it. The part of the Great Wall that this hostel is close to is beautifully scenic, and not as busy as other parts of the wall so you can get some great pics. The hostel is in a pretty remote, but the staff are great and will help organise trips to hot springs and ensure you have an entertaining stay. Highly recommended.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owners really make you feel like part if the family. They are all very welcoming and friendly , the food is great and the rooms comfortable. I just want to come back and stay again, so I can spend more time with these wonderful people.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The ambiance and atmospere was great and the owners are lovely people.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is homey.I feel comfortable because the staff is accommodating.

Disliked: The place is quite far in the city.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very charming and the staff were so helpful! Great location for the wall.

Disliked: Badaling itself doesn't have much going on after 7pm so 1/2 nights is enough.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Grace was so friendly and helpful! She picked me up from the train station, booked my train ticket back for me and even made me a pot of tea on a cold night. The place was exceptionally clean and very close to the Great Wall. I loved it here.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability