HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Great Wall Courtyard Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.26 Chadaogucheng, Badalingzhen, Yanqing District Beijing, China 102112

94.6% Overall Rating

16 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2014)

John Dickey thinks…

"The property is a classic hudong - family residence compound. It has been fixed up so as to provide hostel-style (primitive) bedrooms, some with very basic showers. it's not for the mainstream…"

Read all The Great Wall Courtyard Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 56.85
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Cinderella Apartment
9.58 USD

Apartment 76.7% 7 reviews
PekingUni International Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 80.5% 69 reviews
Heyuan International Youth Hostel
12.18 USD

Hostel 88.5% 89 reviews
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 550 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
16.24 USD

Hostel 81.7% 123 reviews
Houhai Courtyard Guest House
12.99 USD

Guesthouse 67.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House
17.87 USD

Hostel 91.2% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Great Wall Courtyard Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.5%
Location
92.5%
Facilities
92.5%
Cleanliness
93.8%
Staff
97.5%
Value
91.3%
Safety
97.5%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Norman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for the great wall, very friendly staff, very nice rooms

Disliked: Not very busy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Dickey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: The property is a classic hudong - family residence compound. It has been fixed up so as to provide hostel-style (primitive) bedrooms, some with very basic showers. it's not for the mainstream tourist. But it is interesting from a historical perspective.

Disliked: It's primitive, but friendly. The rooms are small, with only the beds. The bath is minimal. It's in a historical residential neighbourhood near the train station. But it didn't bother me, because I didn't expect much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brioney Ferguson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Brioney would recommend this property

Liked: The owners really make you feel like part if the family. They are all very welcoming and friendly , the food is great and the rooms comfortable. I just want to come back and stay again, so I can spend more time with these wonderful people.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Moore

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: The ambiance and atmospere was great and the owners are lovely people.

Disliked: Frances left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is homey. I feel comfortable because the staff is accommodating.

Disliked: The place is quite far in the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grace was so friendly and helpful! She picked me up from the train station, booked my train ticket back for me and even made me a pot of tea on a cold night. The place was exceptionally clean and very close to the Great Wall. I loved it here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie OShea

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming and the staff were so helpful! Great location for the wall.

Disliked: Badaling itself doesn't have much going on after 7pm so 1/2 nights is enough.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were delighted with our stay at this hostel. The owner was kind and helpful and it made a lot of difference to our stay. The place was clean and you can see that there has been a lot of thought and care put into the upkeep of the place. There are a few day trips at fairly reasonable costs on offer which people should try to take advantage of. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend The Great Wall Courtyard Youth Hostel to those who want to make a trip to the Great Wall more than just a day trip.

Disliked: Not quite a dislike, but perhaps there could be more detailed explanation (eg photos) of the day trips on offer, eg the spa trip, though we had a lovely time, it was not the spa trip we had expected. Perhaps the computer could do with an upgrade? We also noticed on very rare occasions (once or twice) people smoking in the common area which we found a little off putting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very friendly, Chinese style breakfast is very good.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great...it felt like Grace could not do enough to help! There were some really fun people staying there, and the atmosphere was awesome. Not to mention the restaurant, which was absolutely delicious-we highly reccomend the mutton dish!

Disliked: The only thing I would dislike about the property were the high prices for day trips.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family run hostel that makes you feel well come, and introduces you to the couteious culture of the chinese people. Gracee has to be honestly one of the nicest people I have ever met. A picturesque hostel with friendly staff who bend over backwards to assist you in your stay. A goov kithcen that serve up great meals to please anyone's taste. A clean atmospheric establishment that represents the chinese culture. One of the best places to stay in for rest and relaxation. I can't give it enough complements.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good trip to the wall. The hostel was nice and relaxing with great customer service. The staff is super friendly and make you feel welcomed. They invited us to their hot pot dinner at no charge and we had a great time with the family there.

Disliked: I guess we went at a low season because it was myself and a friend staying there and then we only met one person there. But besides that it was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonie Parsons

22 March 2010 Leonie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff who went above and beyond expectations in making our stay special. Nie arranged a birthday party with fantastic food, a birthday cake complete with candles, fireworks and beer! The morning walk on the 'Broken Great Wall' after the recent snowfall and afternoon spent at the Hot Springs were fantastic. Thanks again.

Disliked: Leonie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely quiet courtyard hostel in an excellent location for exploring the wall at times when 100s of day trip visitors have set off back to Beijing. The broken wall trek was an excellent experience as we were guided alone across the rough terrain by an old Chinese lady who didn't speak a word of English but kept smiling the whole way. The trip to the "hot springs" is actually a indoor resort attached to a hotel and not an actual hot spring in the moutains as we had expected, was relaxing anyway. The hostel is very quiet at the moment as it has only been open a few months, it was a lovely place to spend a couple of nights away from the city, with very comfortable rooms and excellent hosts, the food was also very enjoyable and always fresh. A highly recommended place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.