We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

85.1% Overall Rating

306 out of 331 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

Stephan Faulhammer thinks…

"! I stayed there for 5 nights in a 6-Bed dorm. It was pretty cool, that every bed has a curtain, so you have privacy. I took the pick up service from the airport to the hostel, as I arrived during…"

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
7.84 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
15.68 USD

Hostel 90.1% 81 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 89.4% 136 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
62.73 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 82.1% 176 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 90.7% 199 reviews
Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard
20.39 USD

Hostel 87.7% 118 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

306 out of 331 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 320 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephan Faulhammer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2015 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: ! I stayed there for 5 nights in a 6-Bed dorm. It was pretty cool, that every bed has a curtain, so you have privacy. I took the pick up service from the airport to the hostel, as I arrived during the night. The arrival was not perfectly organised, because my bed wasn't prepared, but I got a private room for that night! The staff speaks englisch and is very helpful. They helped me to book train tickets and showed me directions. The location is perfect! Right beside a subway station, all sights are easily to reach. I did the Tour to the Great wall, it was perfectly organised and the trip was really impressive! The hostel has a restaurant with western food, where you can meet a lot of western travellers! Best hostel I stayed in during my China Travels!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sebastian Huebers

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2015

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Very run-down and outdated. For the price (double room 50 Euros), I would have expected a much better room and facilities. The area is rather run-down, too, and gloomy at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coffee shop on site! Very friendly staff that even helped lug my heavy bag up the stairs (lower level rooms available too).

Disliked: Communal area is the on-site resaurant/coffee shop forcing visitors to purchase. There's some construction next door however it's not noisy, didn't have a detriment to the location aside from slighly foreboding.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice!

Disliked: Maybe it is difficult to find the first time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Fischer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2015 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was super friendly and helpfull. Location was amazing, with good cheap and authentic restaurants and a street market near by, close to the metro too. Rooms are clean and nice, Great value for what you are getting, especially for chines or asian standarts.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good blankets

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evahn Derkley

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 December 2014 Evahn would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area, helpful staff

Disliked: Evahn left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is super super super friendly!! They are very helpful and the trips they organize are good and cheaper than if somebody would do it by theirselves. Also, the location is just great, 20 minutes walk from the forbidden city.

Disliked: room standard could be better and the surrounding area looks a bit trashy, but it is still a good value for money.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff with good English knowledge; great location

Disliked: Small common area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Helpful, friendly staff. Good food and tours on offer. Printing, laundry, and other services available.

Disliked: No social area- we could sit in the restaurant but wasn't quite the same. The shower door was almost broken, and there was also construction works going on outside which was noisy. But the latter wasn't the hostel's fault at all.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No common room at all, you can sit in the bar/restaurant but its dark and hot. Mattresses are extremely hard. There is construction going on directly across the street, noisy from 0430h til 1900h, location is really not that close to attractions, need to take taxi/metro etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near subway

Disliked: construction infront the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Whyte

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 January 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location, Friendly Staff!

Disliked: Showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michelle challens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, who couldn't help enough! Comfortable accommodation that was convenient and clean. Excellent atmosphere, didn't want to leave, I felt so at home and cared for! Loved everything about it! Superb value for money!

Disliked: Stairs up to the rooms, but a kind member of staff helped me take my case down, I didn't even ask him!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shane Griffin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Located near the subway and within walking distance of Tian'anmen Square and Forbidden City.

Disliked: WIndow in room would not close fully and also the heater was not working.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Lee

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 January 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: near to everything you needed

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful, and the location is alright close to the public transport easy to get it from the train station.

Disliked: The bathroom was clean but the odors from the sink was horrible, it stank.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. Their tours to the wall are worth the money.

Disliked: The food at the bar is not so good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chantal Patton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: The bar/restaurant area's small but really nice. Food and drinks are decent and pretty cheap. The dorm had a locker for each person, so you can keep any valuables safe. The hostel's slightly tucked away, so it's relatively quiet, but it's still close to a main shopping street and the night markets.

Disliked: The shower over the toilet is a little odd, but not really a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Keys

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The bar, the helpful staff and the activities on offer

Disliked: The bathroom is tiny

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and had lots of information for travellers. Staff were very helpful, they were happy to provide advice and assist with questions. The dorm was well suited to people travelling on their own with each bed having individual lights and plug sockets so you could continue reading without keeping the whole room up. The location was very central and there was even an early morning market outside selling, clothes and food I enjoyed the tours provided particularly the acrobatics and it was nice having them available. Think it was a very good value place.

Disliked: Not much, would have liked to stay longer. I felt the bar lacked a bit of atmosphere, perhaps as you were unable to bring outside food/drinks and people where going outside to get Chinese food as only western was available. This is the only real communal area. The room was quite dark as the only window opened out to the corridor Also think some of the activities and tours are no longer available so the website should be updated to reflect this.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very kind and helpfull. and the room is cleaned every day!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013

Liked: Easy to reach from subway

Disliked: Very small rooms and tiny bathrooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: The deluxe double room had the most uncomfortable bed that we have ever slept on, and it was actually two beds pushed together.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was always very helpful and spoke very good English, always willing to help when you needed it

Disliked: The restaurant was a bit overpriced, showers are literally right over the toilet