We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

84.2% Overall Rating

304 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/05/2015)

"Coffee shop on site! Very friendly staff that even helped lug my heavy bag up the stairs (lower level rooms available too)."

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.16 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
16.33 USD

Hostel 90.1% 81 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 90.3% 133 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
65.31 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
13.06 USD

Hostel 83.2% 175 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 90.6% 195 reviews
Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.23 USD

Hostel 87.8% 117 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

304 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 299 of 317 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharna Small

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Sharna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with great staff. Close to public transport and lots off activities on offer. John in the bar loves a game of darts but beware... he is a good player! The place is small but packed with character. Loved it.

Disliked: Liked everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good service.

Disliked: not many other travelers, misses a good vibe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and the bar was cute and reasonably priced.

Disliked: Sometimes the shower didn't have water and the service at the bar was slow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I stayed in whilst in China. Met amazing people; great location with easy walking distance to the Forbidden City and metro access almost on the door step. Also a great number of places to eat within walking distance. Can't wait visit again!

Disliked: I had few problems with Happy Dragon. The bathrooms weren't the best but it's a young hostel so there is room for improvement. There was a little confusion with the reception about my laundry but this seemed to be the exception.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011

Liked: Facilities were as expected

Disliked: Didn't feel safe coming home at night via metro

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good and cheap food, good location to meet other travellers, cleaning ladies come every day, central location, ask for the review book for the tours offered by the hostel to check out the comments of participants

Disliked: funny toilet paper, not so easy to find from subway station Dongsi (a little hidden and no signs on the way)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean Hanna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel on a round the world trip and I hope my other hostels are as good as this one. It was really easy to meet other travellers with their free parties and more or less any night in the bar, the staff were really helpful and booked my train tickets and its in a great location near the subway and major sights in the city centre. Wanted to extend my stay by an extra night but they were fully booked but they were really helpful in finding me another hostel and othering me a lift to the new hostel.

Disliked: not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Menzies

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful staff and cool atmosphere!

Disliked: Bit of a hike from the subway

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Internet, fantastic service from the girls at the desk. Ok coffee (terrible hot chocolate) rooms were adequate. Good value for money

Disliked: Directions are terrible to get there!! Shops changed and street names don't match up! Easier directions are: Train line 5 to dongsi, exit b, cross the road walking towards the big Chinese looking gate way, it's to the right of the post office. (no Kfc as directions suggest) walk through gateway, follow that street (longfu st) for 500m approx. Pass small shops on the way then a cinema. When you hit a carpark your almost there, turn right after the carpark down a little ally way (you will see happy dragon hostel sign from the corner) if you go under a overpass between two buildings you have gone to far on longfu st!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I told the staff that I was going to stay a few days, but they didn´t tell me until the next day that the hostel was fully booked.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good and quite cheap.

Disliked: The shower when used goes everywhere as no shower curtain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Egg Stimson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Tom Egg would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly English speaking staff and lots of tours on offer. Great place to stay and meet people. There's a bar downstairs and they often have cheap meal evenings which seem pretty cool.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar. Friendly staff. Laundry got done quickly. Booking of train tickets very convenient. Top location. Provides helpful map of facilities and stores in the vicinity.

Disliked: Room too cold. Shower did not give enough water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Carey

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff they were all very helpful, friendly and knew all the best places to go and check out!

Disliked: The heater in the room didn't work very well so it was a tad chilly at night...HOWEVER the staff was more then willing to give extra blankets!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's safe and cosy and cheap for the price. And the staff really do try and be helpful. Also near a train station and some alright hutongs.

Disliked: It's a place completely full of westiners. They try and upsell you on all their promotions and trips and food, but they do take no for an answer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albeth Cuenca

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Albeth would recommend this property

Liked: i like its unique atmosphere! its like you're just in your own place. its a departure from the usual accomodation. highly recommendable for travellers on a tight budget!

Disliked: its location, because its a little hidden. you have to really be attentive when locating it, especially when you arrive in the area at late night.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010

Liked: They gave us a refund

Disliked: Upon arrival, we were told that despite our prior booking that there was no space for us at that hostel. Workers then lied to us and took us to another hostel around the corner which was very dirty and depressing at after midnight, trying to convince us that it was their second building and we should stay there. Long story short we were left walking the streets of Beijing at 1am being minus 5 becuase they didn't deliver their service and couldn't care less about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had an awsome stay there - perfect location, a clean room, wifi, a great bar with daily events, bike rental, trainstation pick-up and helpful staff, 24 h reception...would totally recommend this place!

Disliked: nothing to complain about

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEY HOLLIDAY

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2010 ASHLEY would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay in Beijing! The staff were very helpful and the free dumpling and hot pot nights went down a treat. The bar was a great place to meet people and hang out. Rooms were very clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, clean and friendly. What more do you really need? Oh and the food is good and the beer is cheap too.

Disliked: Don't get a room on the street side unless you like to wake up early.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Morris Puegner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

30 November 2010 Morris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean place. Very helpful staff, although 'opening hours' is not their speciality. ;-) Very good, central location but Beijing is a huge city and you'll have to take the subway anyway

Disliked: Too loud during the nights

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful friendly staff, great little bar and very clean rooms and bathrooms. I woud definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.