HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

84.3% Overall Rating

298 out of 321 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

Aimee White thinks…

"Good location. Helpful, friendly staff. Good food and tours on offer. Printing, laundry, and other services available."

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.11 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 91.4% 111 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 82.3% 171 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 85.7% 173 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

298 out of 321 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 293 of 310 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good and cheap food, good location to meet other travellers, cleaning ladies come every day, central location, ask for the review book for the tours offered by the hostel to check out the comments of participants

Disliked: funny toilet paper, not so easy to find from subway station Dongsi (a little hidden and no signs on the way)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean Hanna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel on a round the world trip and I hope my other hostels are as good as this one. It was really easy to meet other travellers with their free parties and more or less any night in the bar, the staff were really helpful and booked my train tickets and its in a great location near the subway and major sights in the city centre. Wanted to extend my stay by an extra night but they were fully booked but they were really helpful in finding me another hostel and othering me a lift to the new hostel.

Disliked: not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Menzies

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful staff and cool atmosphere!

Disliked: Bit of a hike from the subway

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Internet, fantastic service from the girls at the desk. Ok coffee (terrible hot chocolate) rooms were adequate. Good value for money

Disliked: Directions are terrible to get there!! Shops changed and street names don't match up! Easier directions are: Train line 5 to dongsi, exit b, cross the road walking towards the big Chinese looking gate way, it's to the right of the post office. (no Kfc as directions suggest) walk through gateway, follow that street (longfu st) for 500m approx. Pass small shops on the way then a cinema. When you hit a carpark your almost there, turn right after the carpark down a little ally way (you will see happy dragon hostel sign from the corner) if you go under a overpass between two buildings you have gone to far on longfu st!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I told the staff that I was going to stay a few days, but they didn´t tell me until the next day that the hostel was fully booked.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good and quite cheap.

Disliked: The shower when used goes everywhere as no shower curtain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Egg Stimson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Tom Egg would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly English speaking staff and lots of tours on offer. Great place to stay and meet people. There's a bar downstairs and they often have cheap meal evenings which seem pretty cool.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar. Friendly staff. Laundry got done quickly. Booking of train tickets very convenient. Top location. Provides helpful map of facilities and stores in the vicinity.

Disliked: Room too cold. Shower did not give enough water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Carey

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff they were all very helpful, friendly and knew all the best places to go and check out!

Disliked: The heater in the room didn't work very well so it was a tad chilly at night...HOWEVER the staff was more then willing to give extra blankets!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's safe and cosy and cheap for the price. And the staff really do try and be helpful. Also near a train station and some alright hutongs.

Disliked: It's a place completely full of westiners. They try and upsell you on all their promotions and trips and food, but they do take no for an answer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albeth Cuenca

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Albeth would recommend this property

Liked: i like its unique atmosphere! its like you're just in your own place. its a departure from the usual accomodation. highly recommendable for travellers on a tight budget!

Disliked: its location, because its a little hidden. you have to really be attentive when locating it, especially when you arrive in the area at late night.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010

Liked: They gave us a refund

Disliked: Upon arrival, we were told that despite our prior booking that there was no space for us at that hostel. Workers then lied to us and took us to another hostel around the corner which was very dirty and depressing at after midnight, trying to convince us that it was their second building and we should stay there. Long story short we were left walking the streets of Beijing at 1am being minus 5 becuase they didn't deliver their service and couldn't care less about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had an awsome stay there - perfect location, a clean room, wifi, a great bar with daily events, bike rental, trainstation pick-up and helpful staff, 24 h reception...would totally recommend this place!

Disliked: nothing to complain about

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEY HOLLIDAY

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2010 ASHLEY would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay in Beijing! The staff were very helpful and the free dumpling and hot pot nights went down a treat. The bar was a great place to meet people and hang out. Rooms were very clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, clean and friendly. What more do you really need? Oh and the food is good and the beer is cheap too.

Disliked: Don't get a room on the street side unless you like to wake up early.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Morris Puegner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

30 November 2010 Morris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean place. Very helpful staff, although 'opening hours' is not their speciality. ;-) Very good, central location but Beijing is a huge city and you'll have to take the subway anyway

Disliked: Too loud during the nights

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful friendly staff, great little bar and very clean rooms and bathrooms. I woud definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is less than 10 minutes walk from a metro station. Some staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Some staff members were not as cheerful as one may hope for at such a place. It would be nice if oyu could bring a cup of coffee to your room from the bar and how about letting one substitute the free coffee (voucher) for a tea, I mean what's a tea bag cost?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

daniel march

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2010 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap, and a good place to meet people

Disliked: People are always smoking in the bar / restaurant. A major negative for a non smoker

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010

Liked: Great location. Good book exchange.

Disliked: Paper thin walls, loud sex next door. Bar too expensive. 10 yuan for a small beer is ridiculous.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice and clean and also a fun place to stay. There is a little pub in the hostel where you can get cheap beer but not so good gin & tonic. I definitely would recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff- they helped us a lot specially in booking our train tickets. Even though they don't smile a lot.. once you asked for help, they go out of their way to help. Most can understand and speak English. the CLEAN rooms.. love it!

Disliked: the walls outside the rooms...the doodles on the walls looked dirty ( but not really dirty) and sometimes scary..some looks like blood on the wall. The rooms though are kept clean everyday. If they do repaint the walls this hostel can be at par with some business hotels in the area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Starr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED staying at this hostel. With Beijing being my first stop I have found this place to be amazingly welcoming, accommodating and friendly. The staff are fantastic and a lot of love goes out to Amanda, John, Sally, Flower and Petal! Not to mention Lee the owner who treated us all extremely well on my birthday and during the hostel's 2nd year birthday.Bottom line is, if you're coming to Beijing come and stay here!!!

Disliked: The only minor thing that I'd change about this place is how hard the beds are. Kinda made my arms and chest ache as I tend to sleep in the feotal position. Other than this our stay was perfect.