We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

84.3% Overall Rating

299 out of 322 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

"The stuff is super super super friendly!! They are very helpful and the trips they organize are good and cheaper than if somebody would do it by theirselves. Also, the location is just great, 20 minutes walk from the…"

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 90.6% 118 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 82.2% 173 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

299 out of 322 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 311 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really looking for the needs of the guests, you are treated as a friend, the coffee in the bar is excellent, the location has its own charme

Disliked: there is no dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony Perri

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Happy Dragon was located in an excellent spot in Beijing with many tourist hotspots within walking distance.The subway (Dongsi) is only a 5 minute walk away. The staff a the property were very friendly and helpful especially Betty. I would definitely stay at this hostel again. The bar/restaurant also had amazing food, both Western and Chinese!

Disliked: As a note to the hostel, on your webpage you should inform guests that a 100 CYN deposit is require on top of the balance when checking in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, atmosphere and services were all amazing. The free dumpling making was especially interesting... I had a great time here

Disliked: A little bit old

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Harvey

Alone

Business / conference

09 August 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great if you're on your own

Disliked: Very busy and booked up during peak times

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and well-intention-ed.

Disliked: Didn't seem knowledgeable about how things worked in Beijing. For instance, we didn't want to go with the hostel tour to Jinshanling but they didn't know how to get there by public transport. We also wanted to know if we could pay the taxi driver with the Beijing Transportation Card and one said no we couldn't but we could (as we found out on our own).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: great location and value for money

Disliked: shower was right next to the toilet, but nothing else

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011

Liked: I booked a private room for two people and it's absolutely not worth the money. I should have stayed in a normal hotel for that money. The room was small, roof was leaking when it was raining, air conditioning was also leaking on our bed, during rain it was so noisy inside the room that I couldn't sleep well.

Disliked: No place to hang out, weak Wifi in rooms (or no signal at all). Better go to Courtyard Happy Dragon

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is a nice place to chill out, great for meeting new people and the food is good. The hostel seemed clean and they offer plenty of tours. The staff were also friendly. Good Wifi in the room we had.

Disliked: We ended up with a double room with no window which is why we moved on, probably wouldnt bother most people, I just personally need a window. There wasnt much in the surrounding area but the metro is close by.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keith Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 June 2011 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooms, bar and restaurant, and a great place to meet other guests. Very friendly staff with an excellent level of English.

Disliked: The location is a little tricky for walking anywhere. The surrounding area is relatively dull, so taxis are the best option.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shu wen wang

Alone

City break

23 May 2011 shu wen would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how many tours the hostel offered and recommend the Mutianyu Great Wall tour. The hostel was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bush george

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 bush would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel !! Cheap , clean and in a really good area as well ... Happy to stay there ! Hi to Rain!

Disliked: NOTHING

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room, which had a window. Near to the Dongsi Subway Station. Clean. Staff is very very friendly. Free Internet. Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall was good organized, provided lunch was very tasty.

Disliked: Description of location is weird, because "Happy Dragon Street" is actually "Longfusi Street".

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Chiba

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: We decided on this hostel because of its location. We paricularly like the lively surrounding; street market in the morning, lovely shops nearby, easy accessible to public transport to all the major sights.

Disliked: The room we had was rather small comparing to other hostels that we have had elsewhere in China.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice big bed, helpful staff.

Disliked: Couldn't use the air-con as it was faulty. Wasn't a huge problem though, we didn't need it. Be prepared that no toilet paper is to be flushed down the toilet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second visit to this hostel in six months and I went back deliberately because it offers, in my opinion, some of the best service that I've had.

Disliked: Not a whole lot to complain about. So I won't.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean rooms, nice stuff willing to help anytime.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bak Huay, Roz Ng

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2011 Bak Huay, Roz would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite toilet is clean and come with hot showers.

Disliked: Room a bit too small to move around and they don't change the linen daily.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were aways there to help with anything

Disliked: The room was small and the bar is v.dark and dingy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. Good location, friendly manager jiang and clean room. Go there!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharna Small

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Sharna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with great staff. Close to public transport and lots off activities on offer. John in the bar loves a game of darts but beware... he is a good player! The place is small but packed with character. Loved it.

Disliked: Liked everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good service.

Disliked: not many other travelers, misses a good vibe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and the bar was cute and reasonably priced.

Disliked: Sometimes the shower didn't have water and the service at the bar was slow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I stayed in whilst in China. Met amazing people; great location with easy walking distance to the Forbidden City and metro access almost on the door step. Also a great number of places to eat within walking distance. Can't wait visit again!

Disliked: I had few problems with Happy Dragon. The bathrooms weren't the best but it's a young hostel so there is room for improvement. There was a little confusion with the reception about my laundry but this seemed to be the exception.